#1  
Old 07-13-2013, 11:20 AM
Knockahomalc Knockahomalc is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lake Charles LA
Years Playing: 1.2
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 35
Rule question?

If the disc lands and stays in the top of the basket, is this in or out? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2013, 11:23 AM
Johnny Conservative's Avatar
Johnny Conservative Johnny Conservative is offline
Cool dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ashland, KY
Years Playing: 4.2
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knockahomalc View Post
If the disc lands and stays in the top of the basket, is this in or out? Thanks.
Out...but it is not a penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2013, 03:35 PM
Curtis_Valk's Avatar
Curtis_Valk Curtis_Valk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rowlett, TX
Years Playing: 1.8
Courses Played: 29
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Conservative View Post
Out...but it is not a penalty.
True. On your next turn you mark your lie directly below the disc and drop it in. I'm always hoping the wind will blow it off and into the basket but I know that isn't going to happen!

Curtis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2013, 04:14 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 16.7
Courses Played: 119
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 2,108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curtis_Valk View Post
True. On your next turn you mark your lie directly below the disc and drop it in. I'm always hoping the wind will blow it off and into the basket but I know that isn't going to happen!

Curtis
Even if the wind did blow it off and into the basket, you still haven't holed out. You would replace it on top of the basket, mark underneath, and drop in.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-13-2013, 05:20 PM
Curtis_Valk's Avatar
Curtis_Valk Curtis_Valk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rowlett, TX
Years Playing: 1.8
Courses Played: 29
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Even if the wind did blow it off and into the basket, you still haven't holed out. You would replace it on top of the basket, mark underneath, and drop in.
Just my luck!

Curtis
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-13-2013, 06:12 PM
ohtobediscing's Avatar
ohtobediscing ohtobediscing is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: VW Vanagon
Years Playing: 34.9
Courses Played: 153
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Even if the wind did blow it off and into the basket, you still haven't holed out. You would replace it on top of the basket, mark underneath, and drop in.
Not if the disc falls in within a short[1-20 secs] time period after it lands on top. Had it happen on #4 Ann Mo doubles. The birdie counted.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-13-2013, 06:27 PM
ViolaBouquet's Avatar
ViolaBouquet ViolaBouquet is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Waterford, MI
Years Playing: 6.3
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohtobediscing View Post
Not if the disc falls in within a short[1-20 secs] time period after it lands on top. Had it happen on #4 Ann Mo doubles. The birdie counted.
Not exactly:
Quote:
802.02 Establishing Position
A. The thrown disc establishes a position where it first comes to rest.
B. A disc is considered to be at rest once it is no longer moving as a result of the momentum imparted by the throw. A disc in water or foliage is considered to be at rest once it is moving only as a result of movement of the water, the foliage, or the wind.
If it came to rest, and then falls in the basket after, most likely because of wind, it does not count.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-13-2013, 06:30 PM
ohtobediscing's Avatar
ohtobediscing ohtobediscing is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: VW Vanagon
Years Playing: 34.9
Courses Played: 153
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShawnBoucke View Post
Not exactly:


If it came to rest, and then falls in the basket after, most likely because of wind, it does not count.
My mistake for not being clear about what happened. The disc was bobbing on the edge of the top rim in the wind, and as I started walking towards the basket, it fell in[less than 10 secs]. As it had never established an "at rest" position, the basket counted.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-13-2013, 07:13 PM
ViolaBouquet's Avatar
ViolaBouquet ViolaBouquet is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Waterford, MI
Years Playing: 6.3
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 602
I think that would be at the discretion of the group. On page 24 of the rules it says:
Quote:
"The thrown disc establishes a position where it first comes to rest." That is an important concept which provides a basis for many other rules. Once a position has been established,
it remains even if the disc moves, no matter how that happens. The following rules
are now related to establishing position: disc above/below ground, broken disc, and disc in water or foliage.
I guess if your group decides that the disc was still bobbing from the throw itself and falls it counts as in, but if it was just rocking, and the wind blew it in it would not count. It's hard for anyone else to call it.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 07-13-2013, 07:58 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 16.7
Courses Played: 119
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 2,108
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohtobediscing View Post
My mistake for not being clear about what happened. The disc was bobbing on the edge of the top rim in the wind, and as I started walking towards the basket, it fell in[less than 10 secs]. As it had never established an "at rest" position, the basket counted.
If it's bobbing in the wind and no longer moving of it's own inertia, it's at rest.

Quote:
802.02 Establishing Position
B. A disc is considered to be at rest once it is no longer moving as a result of the momentum imparted by the throw. A disc in water or foliage is considered to be at rest once it is moving only as a result of movement of the water, the foliage, or the wind.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.