#11  
Old 07-13-2013, 08:11 PM
tampora tampora is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fargo, ND
Years Playing: 15.8
Courses Played: 26
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
If it's bobbing in the wind and no longer moving of it's own inertia, it's at rest.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
802.02 ... A disc in water or foliage is considered to be at rest once it is moving only as a result of movement of the water, the foliage, or the wind.
Note that this passage strictly deals with water and foliage, nothing else. This case in point is neither.

As a rulebook, this part should probably be expanded.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-13-2013, 09:51 PM
Rockiesfan4ever's Avatar
Rockiesfan4ever Rockiesfan4ever is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: KCMO/Nebraska
Years Playing: 2.6
Courses Played: 10
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 484
So I had this happen in a tournament and they counted it but I'm not sure. I putted and had my putt land on the top of the basket and when the next person holed out, the energy of them hitting the basket knocked my disc off the top of the basket and in.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-13-2013, 10:24 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 18.8
Courses Played: 114
Posts: 6,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampora View Post
Note that this passage strictly deals with water and foliage, nothing else. This case in point is neither.

As a rulebook, this part should probably be expanded.
That sentence does. But the previous sentence would presumably apply to the disc that comes to rest on top, and is subsequently blown off:

"A disc is considered to be at rest once it is no longer moving as a result of the momentum imparted by the throw."

That sentence is not limited to water.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-14-2013, 07:38 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 16.3
Courses Played: 112
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockiesfan4ever View Post
So I had this happen in a tournament and they counted it but I'm not sure. I putted and had my putt land on the top of the basket and when the next person holed out, the energy of them hitting the basket knocked my disc off the top of the basket and in.
Definitely should not have counted it. When a disc at rest is moved, it is returned to its original position. You don't get the benefit of interference like that.
Quote:
804.03 Interference
C. A thrown disc at rest that has been moved shall be replaced to its approximate position (see 802.02.E).

802.02 Establishing Position
E. If the thrown disc has moved after it first came to rest on the in-bounds playing surface, it shall be replaced to its approximate position. If it first came to rest elsewhere, the disc need not be replaced, and any determinations are made relative to where it first came to rest.
Since it wasn't on the playing surface, it does not need to be returned to the top of the basket. However, it is marked under the basket approximately below where it had come to rest on top of the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-14-2013, 11:17 AM
sonny's Avatar
sonny sonny is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rocky Mount, NC
Years Playing: 29.9
Courses Played: 28
Posts: 593
If a disc is seen to have entered the basket through the top of the chain assembly, it's not in even if it never came to rest.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-15-2013, 07:51 AM
joshmo65's Avatar
joshmo65 joshmo65 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Years Playing: 7.1
Courses Played: 101
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 616
What if it is an elevated basket above 2 meters where the two meter rule is in effect. Would this then be a penalty stroke?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-15-2013, 08:06 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 16.3
Courses Played: 112
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshmo65 View Post
What if it is an elevated basket above 2 meters where the two meter rule is in effect. Would this then be a penalty stroke?
Two meter rule does not apply to targets.
Quote:
806.01 Two-meter Rule
C. A disc supported by the target is not subject to the two-meter rule.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-15-2013, 09:55 AM
joshmo65's Avatar
joshmo65 joshmo65 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Years Playing: 7.1
Courses Played: 101
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Two meter rule does not apply to targets.


Even if it is another hole's basket?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-15-2013, 10:28 AM
Brall's Avatar
Brall Brall is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: ▐North Royalton, Ohio Ω
Years Playing: 5.6
Courses Played: 41
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,860


http://www.pdga.com/rule-changes-2011
Reply With Quote
 
  

  #20  
Old 07-15-2013, 11:37 AM
gvan's Avatar
gvan gvan is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Years Playing: 5.9
Courses Played: 105
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshmo65 View Post


Even if it is another hole's basket?
Another hole's basket is a basket, but not the target. It's only the target on its own hole.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.