#21  
Old 08-04-2013, 09:32 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 16.3
Courses Played: 112
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhattD View Post
You should look up the rules to make sure you know them before you post.

Section 3.3 B (13) of the Competition Manual which is "deliberately seeking to manipulate ones player rating through intentional misplay or withdrawal".

I'm not defending bailing without notifying the TD but it has nothing to do with what the 888 rule is supposed to address.
Perhaps you should read up before accusing others of not reading.

Ratings Manipulation Addressed
:
Quote:
Although not directly related to ratings manipulation, the 888 code can also be applied to players who DNF without giving the TD sufficient notice they would not be showing up for the next round. "Sufficient notice" is defined as at least 15 minutes prior to tee off assignment time. Players who DNF without such notice will be reported as an 888 code by the TD.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-04-2013, 11:02 PM
Swisher Streets's Avatar
Swisher Streets Swisher Streets is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Iowa
Years Playing: 10
Courses Played: 60
Posts: 1,010
What's the players current rating? Personally I wouldn't care if a td 999 or 888 me even if I had a reason but I guess I'm in the rare breed that doesn't give a damn about ratings.

Last edited by Swisher Streets; 08-04-2013 at 11:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-04-2013, 11:05 PM
PhattD's Avatar
PhattD PhattD is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Years Playing: 22.9
Courses Played: 25
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Perhaps you should read up before accusing others of not reading.

Ratings Manipulation Addressed
:
I got my quote directly from the competition manual where did you get yours?
Quoting a misrepresentation of the rules from a different thread doesn't make it a rule.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-05-2013, 12:26 AM
ejvogie's Avatar
ejvogie ejvogie is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
Years Playing: 5.6
Courses Played: 61
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhattD View Post
I got my quote directly from the competition manual where did you get yours?
Quoting a misrepresentation of the rules from a different thread doesn't make it a rule.
Did you even check his link? It goes directly to the PDGA website
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-05-2013, 07:11 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 16.3
Courses Played: 112
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhattD View Post
I got my quote directly from the competition manual where did you get yours?
Quoting a misrepresentation of the rules from a different thread doesn't make it a rule.
You accused me of not reading up before posting, and now you apparently didn't even click the link I posted? Geez. My quote isn't a misrepresentation from a thread, it's a quote from an article at PDGA.com written by the PDGA Tour Manager.

If that's not good enough, how about checking out the current version of the PDGA TD Report. On the Instructions tab of the spreadsheet, there is this line printed in red so that it jumps out at the reader:
Quote:
For 2013 a new code 888 has been added for TDs to indicate when a player has been confirmed to have been manipulating their score or did not complete the round to protect their rating.
In addition, enter 888 when a player does not play their next round and did not notify the TD in advance.
Are we done here?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-05-2013, 10:21 AM
CaptainAnhyzer's Avatar
CaptainAnhyzer CaptainAnhyzer is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albany, NY
Years Playing: 28.9
Courses Played: 77
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Are we done here?
I THOUGHT we were.........

I'll be talking with said player tomorrow at league and making my decision then.

He didn't speak to me personally about not playing the 2nd round but I did get word from others in plenty of time to adjust the cards. No problem there, IMO.

The only thing left to do is determine whether or not he bailed to save his rating
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-05-2013, 10:55 AM
curveball4's Avatar
curveball4 curveball4 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: earth
Years Playing: 3.6
Courses Played: 29
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by solomon.trenton View Post
Was he playing poorly and pulled out due to "injury"? If they quit to protect their rating then its an 888. Seems simple enough to me. If not then 999.
So I can get a 999 for not finishing because I'm injured? So I could quit every tourney, tell the TD I'm hurt, & my rating would skyrocket! What am I missing? I'm assuming there's something I'm not taking into account
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-05-2013, 10:58 AM
CaptainAnhyzer's Avatar
CaptainAnhyzer CaptainAnhyzer is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albany, NY
Years Playing: 28.9
Courses Played: 77
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by curveball4 View Post
So I can get a 999 for not finishing because I'm injured? So I could quit every tourney, tell the TD I'm hurt, & my rating would skyrocket! What am I missing? I'm assuming there's something I'm not taking into account
Your rating wouldn't move at all because you'd never have new rounds added to it.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-05-2013, 11:01 AM
curveball4's Avatar
curveball4 curveball4 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: earth
Years Playing: 3.6
Courses Played: 29
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainAnhyzer View Post
Your rating wouldn't move at all because you'd never have new rounds added to it.
So if the round doesn't get added what is the 999 for? And yes these are honest questions! I knew about getting a 888 if you quit but never heard of getting a 999. If it doesn't count why get anything?
Reply With Quote
 
  

  #30  
Old 08-05-2013, 11:03 AM
bradharris's Avatar
bradharris bradharris is online now
Banned From the Trilogy
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Merrimack, NH
Years Playing: 11
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 3,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by curveball4 View Post
So if the round doesn't get added what is the 999 for? And yes these are honest questions! I knew about getting a 888 if you quit but never heard of getting a 999. If it doesn't count why get anything?
It's a score code, not a rating assignment.

You're not getting a 999 rating for a DNF, you're essentially getting a score of 999 for that round with no rating.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.