#1  
Old 09-22-2013, 06:56 PM
Adontalis's Avatar
Adontalis Adontalis is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Twin Cites MN
Years Playing: 4.4
Courses Played: 56
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 36
Doubles rules and regs

Just wondering. In best shot tournaments, do they ever require a certain order to who takes each shot first? i.e. Do they force you to switch off first to tee off? Do they force you to have the player who's shot was not taken be the one to throw their upshot first?

Just wondering if there are any set rules ever or if the PDGA is looking at establishing such rules.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2013, 07:52 PM
JReynolds JReynolds is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Courses Played: 23
Posts: 503
Nope. In doubles, play in whichever order you and your partner are comfortable with
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2013, 09:33 PM
keith johnson keith johnson is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: east coast
Years Playing: 18.5
Courses Played: 168
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adontalis View Post
Just wondering. In best shot tournaments, do they ever require a certain order to who takes each shot first? i.e. Do they force you to switch off first to tee off? Do they force you to have the player who's shot was not taken be the one to throw their upshot first?

Just wondering if there are any set rules ever or if the PDGA is looking at establishing such rules.
In PDGA or Unsanctioned Events you can set the rules as you wish for different types of teeing orders.......In Worlds Mixed doubles they have it where one player can NOT tee off 3 times in a row bringing thinking into play.....
There are PDGA Rules for doubles of which Chuck or one of the other more savvy guys will or can give you a link to.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2013, 09:54 PM
coupe coupe is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by keith johnson View Post
In PDGA or Unsanctioned Events you can set the rules as you wish for different types of teeing orders.......In Worlds Mixed doubles they have it where one player can NOT tee off 3 times in a row bringing thinking into play.
Hmm ... in this thread, the TD for 2011 Mixed Doubles said the requirement was each player had to tee off a minimum of 6 times during the round. No mention of a "no more than twice in a row" requirement.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2013, 08:48 AM
araytx araytx is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 132
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by coupe View Post
Hmm ... in this thread, the TD for 2011 Mixed Doubles said the requirement was each player had to tee off a minimum of 6 times during the round. No mention of a "no more than twice in a row" requirement.
That's almost the same thing ... just spread out. It is a simple way of assuring that each team meet the minimum. If it is no more than twice in a row, then each player would be teeing off at least 6 times. Though I guess what you stated would mean it could be Player A /B could simply planning which ones to take and then they could in theory use A's tee shot holes 1-12, then use B's holes 13-18.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2013, 06:41 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 4.6
Courses Played: 56
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,707
If my partner is first up, and drains his putt, can I still putt also to avoid getting cold?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-24-2013, 06:44 PM
zenbot's Avatar
zenbot zenbot is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 10,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Ensor View Post
If my partner is first up, and drains his putt, can I still putt also to avoid getting cold?
That would be considered a practice throw.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2013, 06:48 PM
zenbot's Avatar
zenbot zenbot is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 10,086
http://www.pdga.com/rules/doubles

Quote:
If you are playing Best Disc format and your partner has holed out, you do not throw unless you can improve on your partner's score. Any throw made which cannot possibly improve a team's score on a hole is a practice throw.

Quote:
801.06 Practice Throws

A practice throw made during the round shall result in one penalty throw being added to the thrower's score.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2013, 07:14 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 4.6
Courses Played: 56
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenbot View Post
Thank you. Guess I could have looked myself ...

Does any practice throw/penalty count against the whole team? Other than penalties on a throw/position that was not taken.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 09-24-2013, 07:19 PM
zenbot's Avatar
zenbot zenbot is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 10,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Ensor View Post
Thank you. Guess I could have looked myself ...

Does any practice throw/penalty count against the whole team? Other than penalties on a throw/position that was not taken.
On the same page:

Quote:
Warnings and penalty throws for the following violations shall apply to the team as a whole: courtesy, practice throw, interference, late scorecard, and incorrect scorecard. All other warnings and penalty throws shall apply to the offending player only.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.