#1  
Old 02-08-2015, 08:59 AM
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
Mr. Anderson Mr. Anderson is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 20.3
Courses Played: 99
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 582
Wearing Shoes during sanctioned tournaments.

Possibly a simple question....

I know I have read somewhere that proper footwear must be worn during sanctioned tournaments. (no bare feet, flip flops, slippers....)

If there is casual water on the course, and your throw lands in said casual water, can you take off your shoes if you chose to play from your lie?

Lets hear what you think?

(still trying to find the blurb about footwear)
Found it http://www.pdga.com/rules/competitio.../34-dress-code
Sponsored Links

Last edited by Mr. Anderson; 02-08-2015 at 09:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2015, 09:05 AM
geoz's Avatar
geoz geoz is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Years Playing: 12.4
Courses Played: 14
Posts: 22
I'm not sure on the actual ruling for this but I feel like I remember watching a video where John e McCray did this and I believe it was during the USDGC. If it happens there then its definitely ok during any tournament.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2015, 09:12 AM
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
Mr. Anderson Mr. Anderson is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 20.3
Courses Played: 99
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 582
I've heard other stories like yours, but it was the opposite. Nate Doss at worlds telling another player you have to keep your shoes on if you are playing from a lie.

Personally I think it should be allowed, why not?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2015, 09:14 AM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 26.4
Courses Played: 609
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 8,934
Insurance liability is the basis for the current rule.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2015, 09:15 AM
MikeK MikeK is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Orleans
Years Playing: 20.3
Courses Played: 215
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 138
Ha! Excellent question Mr. Anderson. If one follows the PDGA rules as they are written, it is a courtesy violation to remove one's shoes and throw. Thanks for the thought-provoking question.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2015, 11:26 AM
TalbotTrojan's Avatar
TalbotTrojan TalbotTrojan is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Years Playing: 7
Courses Played: 110
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,405
So how many people were given the violation at last year's Memorial when the floods came? I know multiple people that took off their shoes to play out of that mess. I also know there was at least one card where the guys did not because of the rule. Thanks for letting us know why the rule is there Chuck. I understand the point, but in that situation I think they are inviting some other insurance issues as well.
Reply With Quote
 

  #7  
Old 02-08-2015, 11:59 AM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 26.4
Courses Played: 609
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 8,934
In the case of Memorial, good chance some of that overflow water on a few holes was the "treated" waste water from the fountain pond. Not sure what should have been done due to this potential added hazard. Watching it live online, it occurred to me that stopping the event and recalculating the final round for everyone in Open only from the holes completed by the top card at that time might have been appropriate.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.