Honesdale, PA 
Prompton State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 6/2013)
4 / 409ft.   4 / 508ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Yellow Basket to Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Prompting Sunblock

1    3/26/2016   3/31/2016
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 156  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 9.8 Years
Pros: Single Rubber tees with two DisCatcher baskets for each hole providing good change of pace for ams and pros. Good tee and navigational signage. Good design integration of the natural terrain features including some fun elevation changes, the dam rocks playing OB, and even the scenic Prompton Lake coming into play on a few holes. Well maintained grass fairways and little underbrush in woods. Course map at parking lot and portapotties.
Cons: Nothing major here. Some rubber tees are uneven. Muddy in places. Only one loop back to parking lot. Potential safety issues few holes playing toward the lake with people fishing. Not much variety of wooded challenges or cover from the sun and wind. No drinking water. Remote location, I had no Verizon cell phone service.
Other Thoughts: Prompton is set on the outskirts the beautiful Pocono Mountains and despite how remote the course is to major cities I was surprised to see so many disc golfers playing on a Friday afternoon, so the course seems to get a decent amount of local player support.

My favorite hole was number 2 playing an intimidating downhill shot with the basket on the edge of the lake. I also enjoyed the more challenging holes via elevation, woods or water on 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 17, and 18. I can't say there is really any bad holes hence the good rating, but the other holes are mostly just wide open bombs playing the wind and minor obstacles which just isn't my preferred style of playing as I generally prefer more wooded courses. I really enjoyed the design of the wooded holes here and wish there was more of them. If you like to grip and rip wide open bombs over some fun elevation in a scenic park then Prompton is a great course for you.

 an evening well spent

1    8/27/2015   8/27/2015
Review By: telemanjim
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
Pros: well maintained; directions on each hole pretty accurate; makes max use of available landscape; 2 cages for each hole (we did the amateur); lots of elevation changes mixed with occasional lightly wooded holes. Took me and my daughter just over 2 hours to play; Good workout, and no bugs!
Cons: lost one disc on the 17th (lots of sticker bushes on the left side not worth the pain to get it out); Course more friendly to those that can rip for great distances; was very dry when we were there but could see problems if you play in wet conditions.
Other Thoughts: I definitely want to come back here when leafs are in full fall foliage its going to look awesome. Since this course is more open would probably be nice for snow golf.

If you have time drive to nearby Honesdale. Nice little town with some good restaurants.

Not to Be Missed

2-4    5/25/2015   8/27/2015
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: Army Corp of Engineers grounds keepers and volunteers do a fantastic job and keep the course pristine. Fairways are mowed so frequently that the place looks like a pay to play ball golf course.

Beautiful scenery with the lake, dam and rolling hills in play.

Two pins for every hole, pro and am. All were in great shape. The pars set are fair, but the pro pin positions are def. for the pros.

Nice elevation changes. Must be in decent shape to complete course. Great exercise to be had.

Good signage. Only one or two pads were hard to find the first time playing through.

Plenty of chances to let it rip far and wide.
Cons: Not much in way of variety of shots. The few wooded corridor shots are very nice though.

No water fountains to be found. Portajohns here and there.

A few more benches and trash cans would be a welcome addition. Its not all that bad as is.

Water in the lake is deep and there is no swimming allowed. Once its in, its in.

Wind can get pretty wild and make the most stable of discs do some wacky things.

Rubber pads. Concrete pads would be a cherry on this delicious cake.
Other Thoughts: Probably the nicest, most well maintained course I've been to yet! I wish I lived closer. Not to be missed. It puts my home course at Field of Dreams and the surrounding courses to shame in terms of quality and cleanliness. Well worth the trip! Can't wait to play it again. Well done to the designers, grounds keepers, and volunteers who make this course a cut above the rest!

Simply Amazing!

1    5/27/2015   5/28/2015
Review By: Lance Philip
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: Beautiful views, well manicured with long and short baskets for each hole. The tee boxes are rubber and in great shape. The signage for each tee was perfect and there are signs at the end of each hole to guide you to the next tee. There were scorecards provided in a box at the end of the parking lot. There is a big map of the course posted at the start. I like to take a photo of it to refer to on the course. Out of bounds were clearly marked. Every basket is in great shape and marked with it's hole number.
Cons: Only very minor complaints here. There are no permanent bathrooms with running water, but there are plenty of porta pottys that were very clean.There's no fountain or any place to get water so make sure you bring enough water with you. The course is very long and will give newbies and short distance throwers some problems.There is a lot of walking on this course because it plays long and there are some holes that are spread far apart. There are some steep elevations which could make it hard on someone who is not in good shape. Not all holes have a bench to rest after long holes.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course I've played yet. It is beautiful, clean and the grass is well maintained. The workers who were manicuring the course even stopped to let us play through and offered advice. Long throwers and experienced players will do well but still find it interesting. Newbies and short distance throwers will find this really challenging, but it will force them to develop their game You will get a thorough workout playing here. This course is good enough to host a professional tournament. It's simply amazing.

Great layout

5+    10/18/2014   4/28/2015
Review By: tbrust311
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
Pros: Very scenic, nicely designed. Lots of long, open holes to let it rip for bigger arm players.

I like the layout of this course, starting up near the dam, throwing down hole 2 with a nice view of the lake-- it almost looks like you can throw your disc halfway across it. Then working your way around the lake, past the dam. A long walk across the dam to the hilly/wooded part of the course. A challenging hole to get out of the woods and snake left to the basket. Play along the road. Long walk down the access road to the back side of the course. A very nice course, and good exercise.
Cons: Kind of far from any other courses. Lots of walking and elevation changes. Some holes very close to the main road and water hazards. Can be windy. One tee is over a parking lot, so you have to be careful on busy days. Easy to lose track of discs in the rough on errant throws. Tee boxes can be improved.
Other Thoughts: This place will only improve with time. Bring some water with you, and I highly recommend stopping at the Waymart Hotel for some pizza and/or BBQ afterwards.

I love this course!

5+    8/14/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: Rkilker
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16 Years
Pros: The location is beautiful and the park is well maintained especially in the past year. There is excellent use of elevation and multiple basket placements. You really get the chance to air out drives on many holes but there are still a few technical drives added in the past few years that definitely improve the overall play.
Cons: There are quite a few holes that are beautiful and long but are essentially just in an open field. This is a pro and a con because sometimes it is fun to be able to rip and not worry about losing a disc but when I used to play this course exclusively it didn't teach me to control my disc flight path.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the area hands down and one if the best courses I have ever played. It's worth the drive! It is well maintained and has brand new tee markers that allow you to easily navigate the course. If you love to launch on drives this is the place for you.

 Prompton Redone

5+    6/12/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: ekabz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The park has had some "remodeling" done the last few years and the park has been closed. The park opened back up late last summer and I think it could use another review. I am very pleased to see they kept the disc golf course!

Each hole still has a yellow basket and a red basket at a farther range. If you were a regular at Prompton, remember that the holes have changed a little bit and the order is different. Hole #1 starts off near the right side parking lot and goes down towards the lake from there. I don't believe this was the case before.

- Beautiful scenery.
- Most holes are very well maintained.
- Quiet and peaceful.
- Lake still comes in to play on a few holes. I always find this fun.
- Great balance of open field throwing for people with "big arms" and some woods play for those who like to take more approach shots, especially on red baskets.

I could play this course every weekend and be content. I've only been to a few courses in the area but this is my favorite.
Cons: - Red basket on hole #12 was very overgrown, possibly due to wetness in the area and they don't want to tear it up. (June 12th)
- Walk from Hole #5 to Hole #6 is still a bit long, but not a huge deal.
- Since they added a new building, Hole #11 was kind of just mashed in there. It's not a very good hole, but I don't really think they can put it anywhere else. You basically have the road on the left, a small valley in the middle, and to the right you have a hill of boulders and a huge platform/field where the building is on. Hard to explain, but I'm not too fond of this hole.

My suggestion for hole #11 is to keep your disc right, so you're not hitting your discs off of the boulders or the road.
Other Thoughts: If you're bored and want a good workout, scan the boulders on hole #11 for some free discs. I found a few there the last couple of days. If they were marked I'd return them, but I don't mind a few extra discs. Just be careful.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long by the Lake

5+    9/23/2005   10/23/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 38 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A really fun place to air it out. Spectacular scenery, well maintained and challenging. Holes are well thought out for scoring spread. Get your birdies where you can because you're going to card some bogeys too. It's darn near impossible to lose a disc, or even damage one here, provided you keep an eye on where you land in the tall grass.
Really good use of elevation. A wind player's dream of a course, and a nice place to be. A wonderful tournament venue.

Cons: It's remote, and not really on the way to anyplace else. That, of course is no one's fault. There are some long walks, but I've seen worse. It's far from any eating establishments.
Other Thoughts: I like Promton, but don't get there often as it's far away. Honesdale is an interesting town with lots of character and local color. It's a nice place to take a family for a day in the sun. It's not the place to take a first-time golfer. Get up there and you'll have a blast.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Big Arm Course

5+    6/17/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: Bramanws187
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Prompton State Park has two sets of tees, novice and advanced. The novice course has many holes that are twoable with all of them threeable. This is a nice open course with the neccessity of a big arm. The advanced course is excellent. There are many holes over 500 feet with four or five holes twoable and some that are extremelly difficult to 5. Not only do you need a big arm but also great approaches and putting are a must to score in the high low 60s.
Cons: The 2 problems I have with the course are that the course is too open and that it is too overgrown. There are 3 or 4 wooded holes so it is very unbalanced but still very fun to play. The advanced course on the other hand does include more approach shots that are in the woods and has a hole that is over 950 feet long! The course could use better grooming over the summer months and permanent signs would help a lot too. Also, the wind sometimes picks up and makes for a difficult round of golf.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I have played it over a hundred times easily. If you have a big arm and are up for a beautiful course it is a must to play in the area. I would travel and hour and a half from this course to play it in a heartbeat.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Promptly delivered...

1    3/28/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: adlacro
Played: 89  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes with two baskets for each tee; a shorter hole for those that suck like myself (yellow DIScatchers) and tougher locations and further throws for those that are better. Many of the tees are in great shape and almost all of the tees had a map. Many of the times you can see the basket from the tee anyway. Although more of the holes are open, there are some wooden holes (5, 7, and 17 come to mind) and there is just enough variety to throw off the fact that this course IS for big arms. Baskets are in great shape. Course a little wet in places but not muddy. Excellent usage of the land. The elevation factor is tremendous. Gorgeous area of the state. Port-o-lets on site.
Cons: I would have to say that 9 and 10 are too close to the road. Those who are strictly LHBH may find themselves OB in a hurry, especially on 9. The long walks between 5 and 6 as well as 11 and 12 are kind of annoying. No water fountains.
Other Thoughts: I drove about 90 minutes to get here, and I thought this was definitely worth the drive. Come up and have a picnic in between rounds, and take the time to throw both the yellow and red pins. Even mixing it up will spice up your round. Short drive from Honesdale as well as about 1/2 hr from Scranton/ I-81. A must play in this area of the state.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.