Honesdale, PA 
Prompton State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 6/2013)
4 / 409ft.   4 / 508ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Yellow Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Beautiful Course, but Skip the Red Baskets

1    7/15/2016   7/19/2016
Review By: PuzzledGuy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: This is a very scenic course with lots of elevation changes situated in the Pennsylvania mountains. The course features an excellent mix of holes, including a few wide open fairways for throwing bombs, some tight lanes in the woods, a few holes that have the threat of water, and lots of opportunities to shape shots. Aside from the lake, there is very limited opportunity to lose discs (though I did manage to lose one in the briars on the left of hole #2 - I was too worried about the water at the bottom). The course features good signage, making it easy to follow the course - once you find the first hole (don't turn left at the picnic area - keep following the road).
Cons: I played the red baskets, but they seemed a bit pointless. In most cases, the red baskets were just tucked into the woods near the yellow basket, and rarely seemed to have a line to follow. Felt a bit like just chucking my disc into the trees and seeing what happened. On hole thirteen, the red basket adds four hundred feet (!), most of which is played through tall weeds - there is no clear fairway. Would have been an amazing hole if there had been some fairway to the red basket.
Other Thoughts: This course is a physical workout. I played the red baskets in under two hours and walked more than four miles - and it was worth every step. Next time, I'll definitely play the yellow baskets, and I'll shoot for two rounds.

Gorgeous and open

1    6/25/2016   6/25/2016
Review By: ruraljuror
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful scenery overlooking dam/lake/park
-maps on every hole
-very good signage. won't get lost
-nice elevation changes
Cons: -some holes (2, 3, 5?, 17, some others but can't recall) are very narrow with thick rough (beware)
-spotty cell phone signal
-a few very long walks but lots of nature can take your mind off it. saw two foxes as i walked across the dam bridge


0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Prompting Sunblock

1    3/26/2016   3/31/2016
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 157  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Single Rubber tees with two DisCatcher baskets for each hole providing good change of pace for ams and pros. Good tee and navigational signage. Good design integration of the natural terrain features including some fun elevation changes, the dam rocks playing OB, and even the scenic Prompton Lake coming into play on a few holes. Well maintained grass fairways and little underbrush in woods. Course map at parking lot and portapotties.
Cons: Nothing major here. Some rubber tees are uneven. Muddy in places. Only one loop back to parking lot. Potential safety issues few holes playing toward the lake with people fishing. Not much variety of wooded challenges or cover from the sun and wind. No drinking water. Remote location, I had no Verizon cell phone service.
Other Thoughts: Prompton is set on the outskirts the beautiful Pocono Mountains and despite how remote the course is to major cities I was surprised to see so many disc golfers playing on a Friday afternoon, so the course seems to get a decent amount of local player support.

My favorite hole was number 2 playing an intimidating downhill shot with the basket on the edge of the lake. I also enjoyed the more challenging holes via elevation, woods or water on 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 17, and 18. I can't say there is really any bad holes hence the good rating, but the other holes are mostly just wide open bombs playing the wind and minor obstacles which just isn't my preferred style of playing as I generally prefer more wooded courses. I really enjoyed the design of the wooded holes here and wish there was more of them. If you like to grip and rip wide open bombs over some fun elevation in a scenic park then Prompton is a great course for you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

an evening well spent

1    8/27/2015   8/27/2015
Review By: telemanjim
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: well maintained; directions on each hole pretty accurate; makes max use of available landscape; 2 cages for each hole (we did the amateur); lots of elevation changes mixed with occasional lightly wooded holes. Took me and my daughter just over 2 hours to play; Good workout, and no bugs!
Cons: lost one disc on the 17th (lots of sticker bushes on the left side not worth the pain to get it out); Course more friendly to those that can rip for great distances; was very dry when we were there but could see problems if you play in wet conditions.
Other Thoughts: I definitely want to come back here when leafs are in full fall foliage its going to look awesome. Since this course is more open would probably be nice for snow golf.

If you have time drive to nearby Honesdale. Nice little town with some good restaurants.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not to Be Missed

2-4    5/25/2015   8/27/2015
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Army Corp of Engineers grounds keepers and volunteers do a fantastic job and keep the course pristine. Fairways are mowed so frequently that the place looks like a pay to play ball golf course.

Beautiful scenery with the lake, dam and rolling hills in play.

Two pins for every hole, pro and am. All were in great shape. The pars set are fair, but the pro pin positions are def. for the pros.

Nice elevation changes. Must be in decent shape to complete course. Great exercise to be had.

Good signage. Only one or two pads were hard to find the first time playing through.

Plenty of chances to let it rip far and wide.
Cons: Not much in way of variety of shots. The few wooded corridor shots are very nice though.

No water fountains to be found. Portajohns here and there.

A few more benches and trash cans would be a welcome addition. Its not all that bad as is.

Water in the lake is deep and there is no swimming allowed. Once its in, its in.

Wind can get pretty wild and make the most stable of discs do some wacky things.

Rubber pads. Concrete pads would be a cherry on this delicious cake.
Other Thoughts: Probably the nicest, most well maintained course I've been to yet! I wish I lived closer. Not to be missed. It puts my home course at Field of Dreams and the surrounding courses to shame in terms of quality and cleanliness. Well worth the trip! Can't wait to play it again. Well done to the designers, grounds keepers, and volunteers who make this course a cut above the rest!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Simply Amazing!

1    5/27/2015   5/28/2015
Review By: Lance Philip
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful views, well manicured with long and short baskets for each hole. The tee boxes are rubber and in great shape. The signage for each tee was perfect and there are signs at the end of each hole to guide you to the next tee. There were scorecards provided in a box at the end of the parking lot. There is a big map of the course posted at the start. I like to take a photo of it to refer to on the course. Out of bounds were clearly marked. Every basket is in great shape and marked with it's hole number.
Cons: Only very minor complaints here. There are no permanent bathrooms with running water, but there are plenty of porta pottys that were very clean.There's no fountain or any place to get water so make sure you bring enough water with you. The course is very long and will give newbies and short distance throwers some problems.There is a lot of walking on this course because it plays long and there are some holes that are spread far apart. There are some steep elevations which could make it hard on someone who is not in good shape. Not all holes have a bench to rest after long holes.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course I've played yet. It is beautiful, clean and the grass is well maintained. The workers who were manicuring the course even stopped to let us play through and offered advice. Long throwers and experienced players will do well but still find it interesting. Newbies and short distance throwers will find this really challenging, but it will force them to develop their game You will get a thorough workout playing here. This course is good enough to host a professional tournament. It's simply amazing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great layout

5+    10/18/2014   4/28/2015
Review By: tbrust311
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic, nicely designed. Lots of long, open holes to let it rip for bigger arm players.

I like the layout of this course, starting up near the dam, throwing down hole 2 with a nice view of the lake-- it almost looks like you can throw your disc halfway across it. Then working your way around the lake, past the dam. A long walk across the dam to the hilly/wooded part of the course. A challenging hole to get out of the woods and snake left to the basket. Play along the road. Long walk down the access road to the back side of the course. A very nice course, and good exercise.
Cons: Kind of far from any other courses. Lots of walking and elevation changes. Some holes very close to the main road and water hazards. Can be windy. One tee is over a parking lot, so you have to be careful on busy days. Easy to lose track of discs in the rough on errant throws. Tee boxes can be improved.
Other Thoughts: This place will only improve with time. Bring some water with you, and I highly recommend stopping at the Waymart Hotel for some pizza and/or BBQ afterwards.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love this course!

5+    8/14/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: Rkilker
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The location is beautiful and the park is well maintained especially in the past year. There is excellent use of elevation and multiple basket placements. You really get the chance to air out drives on many holes but there are still a few technical drives added in the past few years that definitely improve the overall play.
Cons: There are quite a few holes that are beautiful and long but are essentially just in an open field. This is a pro and a con because sometimes it is fun to be able to rip and not worry about losing a disc but when I used to play this course exclusively it didn't teach me to control my disc flight path.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the area hands down and one if the best courses I have ever played. It's worth the drive! It is well maintained and has brand new tee markers that allow you to easily navigate the course. If you love to launch on drives this is the place for you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Prompton Redone

5+    6/12/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: ekabz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The park has had some "remodeling" done the last few years and the park has been closed. The park opened back up late last summer and I think it could use another review. I am very pleased to see they kept the disc golf course!

Each hole still has a yellow basket and a red basket at a farther range. If you were a regular at Prompton, remember that the holes have changed a little bit and the order is different. Hole #1 starts off near the right side parking lot and goes down towards the lake from there. I don't believe this was the case before.

- Beautiful scenery.
- Most holes are very well maintained.
- Quiet and peaceful.
- Lake still comes in to play on a few holes. I always find this fun.
- Great balance of open field throwing for people with "big arms" and some woods play for those who like to take more approach shots, especially on red baskets.

I could play this course every weekend and be content. I've only been to a few courses in the area but this is my favorite.
Cons: - Red basket on hole #12 was very overgrown, possibly due to wetness in the area and they don't want to tear it up. (June 12th)
- Walk from Hole #5 to Hole #6 is still a bit long, but not a huge deal.
- Since they added a new building, Hole #11 was kind of just mashed in there. It's not a very good hole, but I don't really think they can put it anywhere else. You basically have the road on the left, a small valley in the middle, and to the right you have a hill of boulders and a huge platform/field where the building is on. Hard to explain, but I'm not too fond of this hole.

My suggestion for hole #11 is to keep your disc right, so you're not hitting your discs off of the boulders or the road.
Other Thoughts: If you're bored and want a good workout, scan the boulders on hole #11 for some free discs. I found a few there the last couple of days. If they were marked I'd return them, but I don't mind a few extra discs. Just be careful.


3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long by the Lake

5+    9/23/2005   10/23/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 38.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A really fun place to air it out. Spectacular scenery, well maintained and challenging. Holes are well thought out for scoring spread. Get your birdies where you can because you're going to card some bogeys too. It's darn near impossible to lose a disc, or even damage one here, provided you keep an eye on where you land in the tall grass.
Really good use of elevation. A wind player's dream of a course, and a nice place to be. A wonderful tournament venue.

Cons: It's remote, and not really on the way to anyplace else. That, of course is no one's fault. There are some long walks, but I've seen worse. It's far from any eating establishments.
Other Thoughts: I like Promton, but don't get there often as it's far away. Honesdale is an interesting town with lots of character and local color. It's a nice place to take a family for a day in the sun. It's not the place to take a first-time golfer. Get up there and you'll have a blast.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.