Honesdale, PA 
Prompton State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 324ft.   3 / 436ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Yellow Basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Promising Prompton

1    2/13/2009   3/8/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perhaps some of the most anticipating holes I have ever played. Some really fun holes here. Plenty of chances to get your long range driver out and see what you can do. Bombs Away here! Big crushes down hills, huge climbing drives uphills, open fields, and virtually every other type of big arm shot is available here.Over 8000 ft of disc golf driving here. 6 holes really stand out here:
#1 is a downhill drive and then a hook with the lake surrounding 2/3 of an immaculating green
#2 uphill drive to a protected basket
#3 gorgeous drive with trees on either side of a wiiiide fairway and the rock dam as a backdrop...pretty.
#11 The signature drive over 500 feet downhill bomb onto a huge elevated plateau below.....just fun to watch your disc soar in all that open space
#13 a new personal favorite of mine...a 600 foot drive across another very wide fairway to the base of a hill where it is another 300+ ft to the basket way up a hill, yeah you drive 600 feet then you drive 300 more uphill to the basket..absolutely glorious hole here!
#18 a little punch down to the basket sitting in front of the lake....very scenic and dangerous at same time.
Course is clean and in pristine condition. 2 baskets per hole! Expert baskets are usually snuggled into the woods and novice baskets are more in the open. The addition of woods in play on holes 7 and 8 adds a bit of technical skill. Hard to lose a disc here. Windy and Wonderful.
Cons: It is very isolated. A bit too heavy on just bomber golf here. I would have liked it if they could incorporate the woods a bit more. Perhaps shooting out of the woods into space a bit more often or shooting into a wooded fairway from open space. I think when 16 of the holes are just Sky golf it is very unbalanced. Needs something more. I played in winter so high grass not an issue but it looks atrocious in some of the photos. There are some really average holes here...filler? Holes 4,5,9,10,12, and 15 are just average holes. I think these really hurt the courses national prominence. Holes 9 and 10 play way too close to a road for a reckless big arm course. This is one of those courses where you look around and can visualize so much more in your mind than what is offered. Much has been said of the long walk from 5 to 6. I think 6 could start further down the hill. This would make hole 6 another memorable beast of a hole and lessen the walk. Huge concrete tees would fit in nicely on such a big open course, but instead you have lackluster tees here. Windy and Wicked.
Other Thoughts: It may seem I was disappointed here but I was not...It is just that this course is really spectacular and it has the promise to be one of the best. So much elevation, so much sky, so much green openness, so many views. This is an unmatched backdrop for disc golf. The 6 holes I mentioned make this course worth the journey. On the way there you can see huge Windmills on top of a mountain...check out how fast they are moving....If they are going slowly or are still...you are going to have a good time at Prompton!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful & Remote

2-4    8/18/2008   8/19/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 245  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.5 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are many adjectives that can be used to describe Prompton. Serene, scenic, remote, hilly, challenging, well maintained.. the list goes on. Each hole has dual baskets, red and yellow, with the reds being the more challenging of the two.

The course is well-marked and easy to follow with scorecards and pencils available at the first tee. The practice basket is also a welcome addition to the course.
Cons: The walk from hole #5 to hole #6 was fairly long but it was well marked with 3 different signs so you were never left wondering where to go.

Also, while the tee pads were nice and large, they weren't particularly level. Often times this had no effect on my run-up but it was worth a mention.
Other Thoughts: This is really one of my favorite disc golf courses. I have played it a few times over the years and the recent improvements only make a good course better. The course redesign has added two wooded holes and of course, dual baskets for each hole and a practice basket. I love the location, it's incredibly peaceful and beautiful. Often times you are the only one playing so it's like your own private disc golf course. The U.S. Army Core of Engineers takes great care of this course. They've built two bridges to get on/off the plateau that #11's baskets sit on and they will also be adding stairs to that area soon.

You'll find some serious elevation at Prompton so be prepared for a work out. I'd also recommend having something to drink with you, you'll need it. Players with big arms will love this course as even the yellow baskets play quite long. In most cases, the new red baskets aren't always much farther than the yellows but they are placed in significantly more challenging spots.

The course plays mostly open with the exception of 6 holes where some trees get involved. While that might sound a little dull, the basket placements on the open holes usually add some challenge (especially the reds) and the hills that you seem to throw up more often than down also slightly increase the challenge factor.

If I was to rate this course on a pure enjoyment level, I'd give it a 5. I happen to like more open courses and obviously the setting here is second to none. But realistically, there isn't a huge amount of hole diversity and concrete tee pads would have been preferred over the rubber ones.

When all is said and done, I would highly recommend making the trip out to Prompton. You'll be greeted by a beautiful park with a very enjoyable disc golf course.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Room to Improve

2-4    6/15/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: cdavid74
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Two pins per hole. All the baskets are brand spanking new. Very beautiful scenic area. Not busy at all. Very long course offering good aerobic walk. Great course to stretch out a big arm. The Back 9 (well 7) was a lot of fun to play.
Cons: Walk from 5th basket to 6th tee was extremely far. Grass was ankle high on many holes making it hard to find discs. Some pin placements left very little margin for error for a beginner like me. Bathroom facilities are port-a-jons.
Other Thoughts: This course looks like it's getting a lot of attention and improvements are in the works. Many areas had freshly laid sod and footbridges across tough terrain were brand new. The length of the grass and length between holes had a lot to do with me not rating this higher. A hole 5.5 would have been nice to give me something to do between 5 and 6. I'll make a return trip next summer to see what progress has been made. BTW - the sporting good store mentioned in a previous review is no longer there. A sign was in the window stating they had shut down the retail portion of the business.

UPDATE: I made a return trip to Prompton (5/25/09). Now in my sophomore DG year I had an easier time with some of the pin placements and enjoyed the challenge, however I still think 9 and 10 and dangerously close to the highway and that 12 is too close to a steep drop off. I also still think there is potential for a great hole or two between 5 and 6 and the distance between the two holes negatively impacts flow. I was happy to see a sign that said a stairway will be added to the side of the plateau which houses 11's baskets. This will greatly help flow between the front 11 and back 7. Also, this time the grass was beautifully trimmed and the park looked amazing. This more then anything made this trip better then my first. I changed my rating from a 2.5 to a 3.5 however I feel this property has the potential to yield a course that is not just very good, but something truly special.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.