Course Extinct
Birdsboro, PA 
French Creek - Pleasure Mountain Share



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Pleasure to Play

2-4    8/25/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
Pros: There was a good variety of holes. Most were heavily wooden, though there were some wide open shots. The variety was nice, and I think that is the major draw of this course. You throw down slight hills, up some hills, over some water, some hyzer, anhyzer, "s" shots. It is nice to not feel repetitive. Mid-range will probably get a good workout on this course.

Most of the holes are short. You're able to see the basket from the tee, but that doesn't mean they are all easy to get to. Most of the holes are par 3, but there is the occasional (maybe 2 or 3 on the course) par 4 in my opinion.

My favorite hole was #13. The basket is nicely guarded by a grove of trees. To get a shot at the green, you have to thread the needle on the fairway. It is short, but a 3 is an accomplishment!
Cons: The tee pads were very uneven. There wasn't a lot of signage and the jump from 15 to 16 is hard to find (hint: cross over the road towards 11 basket and keep heading towards the lake. 16 tee is by the picnic tables).

Some of the holes were really close to a road, especially #11 and #15.

There is nothing particularly memorable about the course, like no signature terrain or hole. It was just a good course.
Other Thoughts: It was really buggy out when I played. The course, overall, was good, but lacking that extra something that makes it great or excellent. It is worth a stop to play, especially since there is another 18 hole course at French Creek. I think this is the better of the two, though.

*This review is for the old course. It is new, so I will get out when it warms up and basically rewrite this review from scratch.*

 

2/21/2008   2/21/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played there about 10 years ago. Almost completely wooden course. Need to be accurate so you can leave your distance at home. I actually enjoyed playing here a great deal more than the ranking shows. Hard to follow the first time through. It seems to be in the middle of nowhere. (state park I believe) It's a fun place to play. Some elevation and water comes into play nicely. I could however see myself getting bored if I played every day.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Better than Doggy Woods

1    7/3/2007   7/4/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2008
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Haven't played there since they changed the course around. Change is quite welcome though.
Cons: None at the moment.
Other Thoughts: Course will be remodified as part of a 27 holer in late 08/early 09.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.