Statesville, NC 
Bell & Howard Chevrolet DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #12 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 269ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Part This Chevy Out

1    6/18/2016   6/20/2016
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 129  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 is like disc golf with training wheels, a good place to learn how to play. It's wide open with holes ranging from really short to decently long so you can see how your new driver behaves. There are a few holes where trees are around and they're relevant but not much of an obstacle except for hole 3 (which is still pretty easy if you know how to skip a disc).

The front 9 is also really easy to navigate and you can knock it out in no time. The course basically loops around, running parallel to the street on one side and then coming back by running parallel to the creek. Old but decent concrete tees keep it worthwhile.

The back 9 gets a lot more technical and a decent test of your trick shots. I think it's hole 13 for example that's a par 5 and absolutely would be a challenge with its many low-ceiling trees and winding fairway...if you didn't know how to throw a roller at all. I threw two bad rollers and had an easy chance at Eagle. Whereas the front 9 is hard to get off the fairway, in stark contrast the back is a scrambler's paradise. Throw a get-out-of-jail shot here, a roller there, turbo-putt, etc.
Cons: The back 9 is fairly dumb. As easy as the front is, the back would be the same except the designer ramped up the flukey factor. Some of these holes are pretty decent/fun but there's disc hiding rough everywhere (lots of cedars too) and the lines get really tight and angled oddly. Like the hole after the par 5 with all the short, low-ceiling trees that is basically u-shaped. The only way this is a par 3 is if you can turn around on the tee and throw overhand over the trees and skip the fairway altogether.

It's hard enough finding the back 9 but then you find it overlapping heavily with a mountain bike trail which leads to lots of navigational headaches. You get to throw down a road for one hole, tee off park roads a couple of times, and walk across hole 12's fairway after hole 18 (said hole also throws over a park road). It's not really ideal land for putting in a disc golf course but it could still be better.
Other Thoughts: I felt like Goldilocks playing this course. The front was too easy, the back was too hard. Well, hard's not the word because it ain't that hard just annoyingly designed and full of fun-sucking vegetation. Not of enough holes were just right in terms of having a balance between fun and challenge. Your front 9 challenge is to birdie every hole and your back 9 challenge is to leave with all your discs. Throw in all the headaches of getting around the back 9 and it's just not a really worthwhile endeavor. Play here once and just skip it unless you live nearby and need a quick practice round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wait...there is a back nine?

1    1/31/2016   1/31/2016
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 58  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For two separate parcels of land that at face value don't seem to be the easiest to create a DG course, Bell and Howard puts forth a reasonably fun test of disc golf.

The front nine features mostly wide-open holes that give golfers ample opportunity for birdies. Holes 3 and 4 are standouts on that nine. 3 is a short but difficult to navigate RHBH hyzer through the trees to a tucked basket - a very nice hole. 4 is more of a longer tunnel shot that is also pretty fun to navigate.

The back nine is completely different. Mostly deeper woods, tight lines, and sharp angles. In my opinion, the standouts on this side were 15, 16, and 18. 15 is a well designed ~290 foot RHFH hyzer with a well cut path and is definitely rewarding to navigate successfully. 16 is a great par four. It is roughly 300 feet straight out through the woods, but then a snap dogleg down the hill which seemed about another 70 feet. Basket is slightly elevated on the slope. There are tons of options of how to approach that basket. 18 is a fun uphill RHFH hyzer with a basket on a small green on an earthwork hill. This hole's green complex was really fun and I appreciated the stairs to help golfers get safely up the hills.

Most of the holes at the course have nice signage and the teeboxes are large and well laid-out.
Cons: It is really nice to have multi-course sites. This is unfortunately a multi-site course.

Navigation here is very difficult. On the front nine, many holes can be seen from any point. Mostly, the navigation was intuitive, but some signs would have been nice. This really became a problem after hole nine. There is no sign or any indication whatsoever that a back nine even exists. Even when you drive the few minutes to the other bike trail site, there is no indication on that sign that there is disc golf at that facility. The navigation on the back nine is also really difficult. The bike trails often lead players in the wrong direction and there are absolutely no navigational aids. Luckily I played this side with a few local players which helped, because I think I would have definitely been very lost. The transition from 16 to 17 was especially difficult.

Though most of the teepads were very nice, holes 3 and 8 are on the paved bike path. This sets up for some potential interference. On that side, hole 1 plays close to the entrance road and many other holes play close to the bike/walking trail. Holes 2 and 8 also play across basically the same fairway space and create further opportunities for interference.

The front nine, as noted above, is largely an open field. Other than a few holes, most aren't terribly interesting or memorable. Hole 9's obstacle is actually a large high voltage power line/tower. It is actually a pretty interesting throw, but high voltage lines aren't necessarily a picturesque obstacle.

The back nine has its own sets of problems. The main obstacles on holes 10 and 11 are power lines and the support wires that cut directly across the fairway. These holes are also bordered by an ugly fence on the right which gives the holes a cramped appearance. 11 also has a really nasty briar patch on the right which was not fun at all.

Hole fourteen is a pretty interesting sharp dogleg hole to the left. There is an important mando that is unfortunately not marked on the course and is only written onto the hole sign in a sharpee. It would be best if that were clearly marked on the course, since it would be easy to miss that on the sign.

The layout of hole 17 is pretty nice. It is a long, straight hole that plays to an elevated green on the right. Unfortunately, the most of the fairway is a paved entrance road which is rough on discs. The teebox is also located on this road which is not necessarily great. This hole also plays very close to sewage lines and the smell was purely rotten.

Baskets are starting to get a bit old. I noticed 1 or 2 that are missing a chain, but overall they still catch well. Unfortunately there is a lot of graffiti on them, especially on the back nine. The same goes for the hole signs, and a few are in disrepair. Graffiti on the course signs and on the surrounding buildings definitely decreases the visual appeal in places.
Other Thoughts: Rating this course is very difficult. I will go so far to state this is not a course - it is two. The layouts on the front and back are extremely different, located a significant car ride apart, and there is no indication on the front nine that a back nine exists. If I were a local, I think I would find myself visiting the back nine facility much more than the front.

Take note - it seems at some point the back nine was rerouted because some of the holes that are noted in the pictures on this site either don't exist or have changed hole number.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, but...

2-4    3/10/2015   3/22/2015
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course, being right near where I work, is great for playing 9 holes after work on the way home.

The back 9 is night and day different than the front 9, and is more fun and challenging. Wrapping in and out of the mountain bike trails, the back 9 holes use the land and woods well.

There's generally few, if anyone else playing the course. Every time I've played the course I've had it to myself, which is nice!
Cons: The front nine and back nine being separate is a big negative for me. You can walk to the back nine after playing the front, but it's just easier to drive.

The front 9 is pretty basic. Given the land where the first holes are located, they did the best they could, but there just isn't much challenge on the front 9. Mostly open field shots in varying length.

The back nine has considerably more variation in the holes, and is more challenging, however some of the holes seem artificially challenging. Meaning, the fairway is nothing but trees, or the basket placement just doesn't make sense.

If I could rate the front and back 9 separately, the front would get maybe a 1.5disc rating, while the back would be maybe a 2.5. Averaging the two together is the reason for the 2 disc rating

Other Thoughts: Overall, worth playing if you're up for a quick round, or just 9 holes. I wouldn't go out of the way to play the course though If you're from out of town, or on a golf road trip as Charlotte has much better to offer.

The separation of the course is a big negative and inconvenience, with the first 9 being mostly open, boring holes. The back nine redeems the course somewhat, and is fun to play.

In summary, its a fun, fast, and easy playing course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hmmmmm...

2-4    2/13/2015   2/13/2015
Review By: killawhale00
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice tee pads
pretty easy to navigate
nowhere to lose discs
easy to get to
Cons: back nine kind of weird, not bad just odd
Other Thoughts: well first off, i would like to add that you can walk to the back nine from the front. Its about 10 min and your on the side of the road for a 100 ft or so but it is very easy to do...

The front nine is an easy open field style of course with 2-3 holes presenting challenges in trees. However, anyone who is worth their salt at disc should be able to get par easy and maybe better.

The back nine however is a different beast. Its not exactly what i would call hard, more impossible. Par is still relativly easy to accomplish but birdies and better not so much. Some of the holes are simply...impossible. What i mean is that to get great drives you would have to have discs that can literally bust through heavy brush or make bends so physically impossible, einstein would be rolling in his grave.
Its kind of unfortunate because the peice of land this place is on has some nice potential if it was redisigned. either way though it is a fun course .


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/27/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: johngrond
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A good course for beginners.
Cons: The par scores on most holes are okay. The two par 4's on the front should be 3's. The par 5 on the back should be a 4. The par 4's on the back seem about right, with decent distance and really tough trees to navigate. Of course, only my opinion.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/25/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: themanlevan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a nice layout (apart from the separation of the front and back nine) leaves good time to be able to make a quick 9 hole loop or play it all. The front nine is good to just be able to swing out wide and not have much to worry about because of the wide forgiving fairways. By the time your ready to play harder holes, you head to the back nine which are definitely more challenging. The presence of lots of plants lining the fairway leaves you looking for discs sometimes. Other than that its nice and I play it all the time, it being my home course
Cons: Separated back and front nine, which isn't bad when you get used to it. Lots of high grass and plants lining the fairway so that your legs stay cut and itchy. Bad smell on hole 17 (stagnant water. smells a lot like sewage)
Other Thoughts: It's my home course and I play it a lot and I am probably impartial to it. It did claim a disc of mine on hole 6. Careful there if you like to throw right sometimes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 2 9 holers

2-4    4/11/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 343  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love the back 9. It has variety and is a very fun course.

A few holes on the front were fun as they went through the woods and offered some variety
like the terrain on the back especailly the hole that used to be 10...think its 18 now
Cons: The front wasn't as fun. It was holding water and it had not rained in several days.

the back 9 is on the other side of a creek which is uncrossable for the most part. I had to hike to get there(I was droped off to play) So when you finish with #9 youhave to get in the car to drive around to hole 10

Apparantly they changed things up on the back 9 and the course has changed. Hole 10 starts in a completly different spot than it used to be. I had no idea about this since I headed into the course having only glanced at the course page and got directions from a friend.

Be careful not to be confused on the back by following the bike trails
Other Thoughts: This course is really two 9 holers imo. They are completly different from one another and are not a a loop in any way and the fact that you have to drive to hole 10 is odd and takes away from the course
If they were seperate I would rate the front a 1.5and the back a 2.5 but they are not so 2 it is.

I had fun actually playing this course and would likely enjoy it more if I had a car and didnt have to hike forever to get to the back 9. If you are close and trying to kill some time check it out other wise I would recomend a road trip to somewhere else

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/26/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: rattlinchains
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide open, short front nine played first round ever in about thirty mins.(two people) good array of shots with plenty of forgiveness on missed shots.
Cons: Better have a local in your group on the back nine. Can't find it and when you do can't figure out which way to go. Signs need updating don't know what hole your on half the time. No o.b. markings, no directional signs and poor distance measures on whole course(didn't know I could throw a putter 250)
Other Thoughts: Good luck to newcomers try to talk to some locals for help,

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    2/12/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: Tpro
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Front 9 has a nice looking set up, backing up against a soccer complex. There are also walking paths and nice restrooms. TONS of parking!!
-Although the front is wide open the wind usually plays some factor. Nice concrete pads other than hole 3 and 8 (they are asphalt). There is a good chance to birdie every hole on the front 9.
-Hole 18 has new stairs to walk up/down.
Cons: Walk across a pipe or drive around the corner to the back 9 and thats where the frustration begins. Very limited parking!
No new signage although im sure it will be going up soon. New holes 10 and 11 are pretty stupid quite frankly. Both holes have power poles 30-40 feet of the tee pad that force you to throw awkward shots. Hole 11 where (with the pole) I would throw a high Spike hyzer but there are two sets of power lines blocking the shot so its either throw a crap shoot dummber up over the trees or lay up for 3. 17 is now an anhyzer that plays maybe 350 into a basket position that a heavily guarded by small trees. The problem with this hole is that not only is the teepad painted onto a road but it also brings powerlines in play again! For a LHBH player it doesnt look that hard to throw a straight hyzer under the lines but for a RHBH player it forces you to throw the high anhyzer line or throw a half shot (lame). I chose the high anhyzer and it lucky worked out and put me pin high within thrity feet. But its certainly not a high percentage shot.
They lost to really fun holes in 16 and 17 im guessing because of the flood plain.
Other Thoughts: Holes 12,13,14,15,16 and 18 are the same (old 11,12,13,14,15 and 10 respectively).

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/12/2012   2/12/2012
Review By: badsmurph
Played: 146  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: teepads are nice except ones on asphalt (slick). looks like alot of work has been done in the past two years since i've been there.
Cons: the new 10 and 11 have power lines in the lanes and really take away from course. like the old holes a lot better. still don't see a fairway for 14 i believe. also sign need to be changed.
Other Thoughts: maybe another two years until i get back out here. only lane i saw on 11 was a thumber over the trees to the left which was parked but shady

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.