Statesville, NC 
Bell & Howard Chevrolet DGC Share
Uploaded By: doink32 Hole #10 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

5+    4/27/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: johngrond
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A good course for beginners.
Cons: The par scores on most holes are okay. The two par 4's on the front should be 3's. The par 5 on the back should be a 4. The par 4's on the back seem about right, with decent distance and really tough trees to navigate. Of course, only my opinion.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/25/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: themanlevan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a nice layout (apart from the separation of the front and back nine) leaves good time to be able to make a quick 9 hole loop or play it all. The front nine is good to just be able to swing out wide and not have much to worry about because of the wide forgiving fairways. By the time your ready to play harder holes, you head to the back nine which are definitely more challenging. The presence of lots of plants lining the fairway leaves you looking for discs sometimes. Other than that its nice and I play it all the time, it being my home course
Cons: Separated back and front nine, which isn't bad when you get used to it. Lots of high grass and plants lining the fairway so that your legs stay cut and itchy. Bad smell on hole 17 (stagnant water. smells a lot like sewage)
Other Thoughts: It's my home course and I play it a lot and I am probably impartial to it. It did claim a disc of mine on hole 6. Careful there if you like to throw right sometimes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 2 9 holers

2-4    4/11/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 203  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the back 9. It has variety and is a very fun course.

A few holes on the front were fun as they went through the woods and offered some variety
like the terrain on the back especailly the hole that used to be 10...think its 18 now
Cons: The front wasn't as fun. It was holding water and it had not rained in several days.

the back 9 is on the other side of a creek which is uncrossable for the most part. I had to hike to get there(I was droped off to play) So when you finish with #9 youhave to get in the car to drive around to hole 10

Apparantly they changed things up on the back 9 and the course has changed. Hole 10 starts in a completly different spot than it used to be. I had no idea about this since I headed into the course having only glanced at the course page and got directions from a friend.

Be careful not to be confused on the back by following the bike trails
Other Thoughts: This course is really two 9 holers imo. They are completly different from one another and are not a a loop in any way and the fact that you have to drive to hole 10 is odd and takes away from the course
If they were seperate I would rate the front a 1.5and the back a 2.5 but they are not so 2 it is.

I had fun actually playing this course and would likely enjoy it more if I had a car and didnt have to hike forever to get to the back 9. If you are close and trying to kill some time check it out other wise I would recomend a road trip to somewhere else

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/26/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: rattlinchains
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open, short front nine played first round ever in about thirty mins.(two people) good array of shots with plenty of forgiveness on missed shots.
Cons: Better have a local in your group on the back nine. Can't find it and when you do can't figure out which way to go. Signs need updating don't know what hole your on half the time. No o.b. markings, no directional signs and poor distance measures on whole course(didn't know I could throw a putter 250)
Other Thoughts: Good luck to newcomers try to talk to some locals for help,

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    2/12/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: Tpro
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Front 9 has a nice looking set up, backing up against a soccer complex. There are also walking paths and nice restrooms. TONS of parking!!
-Although the front is wide open the wind usually plays some factor. Nice concrete pads other than hole 3 and 8 (they are asphalt). There is a good chance to birdie every hole on the front 9.
-Hole 18 has new stairs to walk up/down.
Cons: Walk across a pipe or drive around the corner to the back 9 and thats where the frustration begins. Very limited parking!
No new signage although im sure it will be going up soon. New holes 10 and 11 are pretty stupid quite frankly. Both holes have power poles 30-40 feet of the tee pad that force you to throw awkward shots. Hole 11 where (with the pole) I would throw a high Spike hyzer but there are two sets of power lines blocking the shot so its either throw a crap shoot dummber up over the trees or lay up for 3. 17 is now an anhyzer that plays maybe 350 into a basket position that a heavily guarded by small trees. The problem with this hole is that not only is the teepad painted onto a road but it also brings powerlines in play again! For a LHBH player it doesnt look that hard to throw a straight hyzer under the lines but for a RHBH player it forces you to throw the high anhyzer line or throw a half shot (lame). I chose the high anhyzer and it lucky worked out and put me pin high within thrity feet. But its certainly not a high percentage shot.
They lost to really fun holes in 16 and 17 im guessing because of the flood plain.
Other Thoughts: Holes 12,13,14,15,16 and 18 are the same (old 11,12,13,14,15 and 10 respectively).

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/12/2012   2/12/2012
Review By: badsmurph
Played: 132  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: teepads are nice except ones on asphalt (slick). looks like alot of work has been done in the past two years since i've been there.
Cons: the new 10 and 11 have power lines in the lanes and really take away from course. like the old holes a lot better. still don't see a fairway for 14 i believe. also sign need to be changed.
Other Thoughts: maybe another two years until i get back out here. only lane i saw on 11 was a thumber over the trees to the left which was parked but shady

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/12/2012   2/12/2012
Review By: xcrunner134life
Played: 71  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to follow course
Good mix of wooded and open
Course is great if you're looking to get in a quick 9 (back or front)
The back 9 just got an upgrade (old 16, 17, and 18 are different now. You don't have to play by the sewer).
Cons: Front and Back 9s are split, you have to drive to get between each course.
If it rains, the course will be soupy. There's a big puddle right next to hole 6 basket (if it rains).
Other Thoughts: They just changed several holes on the back 9.
The course is nice to play, but having to get back in the car and drive back up the block to the back 9 is a little annoying (I'm a stay at home dad, so I push a stroller when I usually play).
Course par is marked as a 60 at the course, but it's more like a 58.
The back 9 upgrade isn't finished yet. There are still signs that need to be re-made, but the upgrade has turned the course from a 2.5 to a good 3.0

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It's really two 9 hole courses split by a creek

5+    1/21/2012   1/21/2012
Review By: pmaxhen
Played: 55  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 2/17/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The front nine is more of a flat links type course, great place to tune in your game before the real fun starts. The back nine is more of a technical course that almost looks like it was supposed to be a separate course.
Cons: Obviously, no pedestrian bridge to the back nine.
The back nine really just needs a sign or two to point out where the next hole/tee box, outside of that hole ten could use some stairs.
Other Thoughts: While some might not agree with the par for some holes, this course seems to be balenced, for every short par 4 there seems to be a long par three that takes the stroke right back. Great place to practice and compete. Not the most beautiful course around but it's fair.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/29/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: racer99
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Front 9 - great section for new and developing players, good mix of open and technical and long and short. A lot of fun in a park type setting.
Back 9 - the evil twin. very technical. multiple paths on many holes. Trees, elevation changes make this half a real chalenge for all.

all nice concrete pads - easy to follow course layout.
Cons: a short 2 min. drive from the front 9 to the back 9 is a minor inconvenience.
Other Thoughts: This course continues to develop with good support form the local States Vegas disc golf club, and the Statesville Recreation department.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 2 courses in one!

1    3/14/2010   9/22/2011
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a tale of two extremes. The front 9 plays through a park with mostly flat, open shots. Large concrete tee pads offer excellent footing. Nice park setting with mown grass fairways. The color tee signs are very descriptive. The problem is that you have to get back in your car & drive to the back 9. There is no way across the creek to get to the back 9. It's not too bad. Just a little strange. The back 9 has more trees in play & there is some elevation in play here. Sandy dirt & grass mix as you play through & around a creek bed.The tee pads are 'natural' & range from grass to sandy dirt. There are short & long throws. Open to wooded & vise-versa. I love hole #9 where you shoot through the base of the electric tower. #16 was a great shot too! There is some elevation on the back 9. Some water hazards (creek & water puddles).
Cons: No benches. Some of the tee pads on back 9 were loose sandy dirt & hard to get good footing. The front 9 layout is somewhat boring. I liked the back 9 better.
Other Thoughts: We threw at a couple courses in the area & this was a pretty fun course to play. I'm glad I checked it out! Not too crowded. They def need a bridge from the front 9 to the back so you dont have to drive. But the area looks like it is prone to flooding so the bridge would have to be pretty substantial. This will cost $$.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.