Statesville, NC 
Bell & Howard Chevrolet DGC Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #7 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 415ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Average Course... but...

5+    8/30/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: extrovert
Played: 54  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some really fun holes here, especially on the back 9. 12-16 are a blast to play, with 13-15 providing some nice opportunities for rollers, as the fairways have some thick ornamental type trees that make the grass fairway a perfect place to advance the disc.
Cons: The land isn't fantastic - there can be wet areas on the front 9 and two of the holes on the back play along a sewer easement. Unlike others - I didn't require a guide, it's pretty easy to figure out how to get around.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't drive any great distance to play here - there are a lot of fantastic courses nearby. I work in Statesville, about two miles from this course, and usually get a fast 9 holes in on my lunch hour. I'm going to talk with the parks department here (I work for the county) and see if I can make a few very simple changes to the course that would (IMO) make it a solid 3 out of 5 course. It wouldn't take much. If allowed to move some tee boxes and or add more baskets and different fairways - who knows? There are some nice elevation changes that aren't being utilized.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bell & Howards

1    3/28/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Bell & Howard's Chrevrolet (B&H) consists of two unconnected 9-holers in the same suburban park. The front nine is flat and weaves inbetween the grassy park area and a small patch of trees. The front nine ends with a shot through (or around) a high tension wire tower. After hopping back in the car and driving the minute or so it takes to get to the back nine, the real fun begins. The back nine has moderate elevation changes and moderately wooded fairways that sometimes offer a few paths to the pin.
- #10's green presents a bit of a rollaway risk. #13 has a nice double path fairway with a risky direct route and a more indirect but safter hyzer layup.
- Concrete or blacktop sidewalk tees. All of good shape and size, although one was really sandy.
- Very detailed signs show things such as "Rock Sluice" and "Power Tower," as well as the more common "Walking Trail" and "Park Sign" on the hole map. Distances, par, and hole number included along with local sponsers.
Cons: - The flow is not at all obvious without a guide. One can play the front nine and easily believe that is all there is. Nothing really points out the existance of the back nine. Also, the back nine's flow itself isn't obvious the first time through. Having to either cross the drainage ditch (a dicey proposition at best) or drive to the back nine presents a bit of an inconvenience.
- The back nine abutts a sewage treatment facility that can really stink up a round.
- Lots of standing water on the front nine in wet or wintery conditions.
- No benches or trashcans.
- With the power lines, sewage treatment area, nearby apartments and Parks Department buildings B&H just isn't in abundance of natural beauty.
Other Thoughts: - B&H is largely a deuce-or-die style course where scoring well on the flat, more open front nine helps put one in good shape for the more challenging back nine.
- Apparently a bridge over the drainage ditch/stream that separates the front from the back nine is planned. Not having to drive between front and back halves would be a nice plus.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Two… two… two courses in one

2-4    10/20/2009   4/9/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
*Tee signs- the signs stand out to me as the best feature of the course. They're excellent metal signs with hole maps and sponsor names.
*Fairway shape- well balanced with lots of variety (7 St/ 5 Lt/ 3 R/ 2 S shape/ 1 L bend)
*Some elevation changes- on the back 9.
*Length variety is decent, even if the majority are in the 200-400 ft range. (1 of 175/ 7 of 200-299/ 7 of 300-399/ 3 of 400-450)
*Tees- very good raked concrete
*Easily accessible- the course is only a few minutes from I-40
Cons:
-You have to get back in your car to drive to the back nine. That's a pain.
-No elevation changes on the flat front 9.
-Some navigation issues on the back 9. Tee 11 is very hard to find, and you can't see 6 baskets from the tee (10 especially hard, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18)
-Hole 13 was very frustrating to me with a strange fairway shape and too much uncleared foliage.
- Almost no amenities. Needs a course map and score card. No bathroom, no warm up basket, and no message board, benches, or trash cans.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.) The back 9 is more challenging than the front.

The most striking characteristic of this course is that it's really two separate 9 hole courses. Most of the good features are on the back 9 and most of the areas needing improvement are on the front 9. Front 9- mostly flat, open grass holes. Back 9- some hills, and foliage, but it still feels kind of scruffy. The back 9 greens are better too because they aren't as wide open as the front.

I don't foresee playing this course again, but if I'm driving by on I-40 and can't resist the urge, then I'll just play the back 9.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

~My detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Two 9 Hole Courses Separated by a River

1    3/14/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 294  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Note: This 18 Hole disc golf course is in reality two different 9 Hole course separated by a river. Both 9's can be connected… However, they are both so completely different in terms of hole style and quality, that two different 9's is a better description than one 18.
Pros:
- The Back 9. If this course was only the back 9, it would be considered one of the best 9-Hole courses anywhere. The Back 9 was really unique, was aesthetically pleasing, required a variety of shots off the tee, was challenging but gettable, offered tons of elevation, and was FUN. Holes 10, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17 and 18 were dope… with 12 and 16 being Fantastic.
- Proximity to Interstate. The course is conveniently located a few blocks off the I-77 and a few miles from the I-40. Extremely easy to find… and lots of food and gas around.
Cons:
- The Front 9. The Front 9 was not bad… but, definitely not good. 5 of the Holes were wide open with little to nothing in the way. It was FLAT… and due to the fact that it was on the edge of the river, the ground was waterlogged and there were standing puddles all over the course (it did rain hard for two days before we played… and it looked like the river had flooded its banks… but I could still see this being a problem).
- Signed Par. While I enjoy getting two eagles in one round (a 3 on a 5 and a 2 on a 4), I believe the signed Par could have been a little questionable. 390' flat Par 4's and 500' Par 5's - albeit with fairly tight fairways and tons of punishment for bad shots - are not necessarily legit. The Par 5's should probably be Par 4's and the Par 4's should probably just be long Par 3's. However, I can see how the signed Par would be attractive to lesser experienced players.
Other Thoughts:
They're never going to build a bridge to connect the two 9's (it would simply be too costly to build the bridge just for the disc golf course). SO…
- How do you find the Back 9??? You can get to the Back 9 by crossing the sewer pipe that crosses the river after Hole 5 (kinda sketchy)… then play the Back 9 (starting on Hole 17 and finishing on Hole 16)… then re-cross the river (via the pipe) and continue playing Holes 6-9 back to the car.
(or)
Simply play the Front 9… get in your car… drive out of the park… turn Left… make another Left at the light… then make an immediate Left into the Park's Maintenance Yard… You'll find the Back 9 DG Parking lot there. You will see Hole 10 on the other side of the fence.
(or)
Simply ditch the boring Front 9 all together and play the Back 9 twice.
- My Score: -6

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Very good back 9, not so good front 9

2-4    3/18/2010   3/20/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This isn't a true 18-hole course. It's really two 9-hole courses around the corner from each other.
- The front 9 is your typical 9 hole course - mostly open, little elevation, aimed at beginners and casual players, not many challenges. #4 & 7 are good holes, with #7 being the best. It's a 415 ft open tee shot to a basket in the woods to the left. Keep your tee shot in the middle of the fairway. The further to the left it goes, the less angle you have to work with, leaving a tougher second shot.

That's about all the positives of the front 9. Now to the best part of the course.
- I love the "back" 9. If this were only a 9-hole course, it'd be the best one I've played anywhere. A lot of tough holes, with great layouts, very few chances for low scores. Holes #10 - 15 have elements that remind me of a Whopper Jr. version of Renny. Windy holes with narrow fairways, and the thick trees. Some holes really do a great job of emphasizing directional golf. On holes #7, 10, #15 (among others), if your tee shot is on the wrong side of the fairway, you have an extremely difficult angle to approach the basket for your second shot. On these hole, throwing shorter, but on the correct side of the fairway is much more important than distance and the wrong side.
- #11 is the only hole on the back 9, I consider birdieable. It's a 260 ft open tee shot to a basket on a hill. Some underbrush near the basket will keep some shots from skipping in close.
- Great use of elevation on the back 9, especially #15 & 16.
- A lot of work has gone into improving the back 9. A lot of underbrush, trees, branches have been cleared making some fairways more defined, and the rough a lot more forgiving.
- All the poles for the tee signs have the hole number written on every side. This is crucial because some tee pads are close to each other.
- If you have common sense, the entire course is navigable without a problem, with one small exception. There's a walking trail behind #10's basket that doesn't lead to #11's tee. Keep an eye out for #11 tee while walking up #10's fairway and you'll be fine.
Cons: The fact the front and back nine don't connect is a HUGE issue. Walking on a pipe over the creek isn't a legitimate, or safe, way of crossing, so I don't count that. You should never have to get in your car to finish your round.
- As mentioned above, the front and back are aimed at different skill sets. So between that and the whole "not connecting" thing, it feels like 2 different 9-hole courses.
- The tees for #3 & 8 are just blue boxes on the walking path. Not an issue for #3 because the hole isn't long, but for #8, there's not enough room for a full run-up.
- Lack of amenities on the back 9. There's a lot of park & rec equip near #18. Last time I played, there were 2 soccer nets on the fairway. Plus, there's no real parking area. A couple cars can park at the back 9, more than that may be a problem.
- As mentioned above, something as simple as arrows, or coloring spokes on the basket, to point to the next tee, would avoid any confusion on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: I'm giving this course an overall average score of 2.5. The front 9 would be a 1.0 - 1.5; the back 9 a 3.0 - 3.5, so 2.5 is the happy medium. The front 9 is far less than average, the back is far above average, so it's difficult getting an exact grade.
- I first played the course in August 2008 and I thought the holes on the back 9 were too unfair - no real fairways, too much underbrush, just a total crapshoot. It's come a long way since then.
- It's hard not thinking of thinking of this as 2 distinct 9-holers. I wish they added 9 more holes to the back 9 and made that a complete 18. That'd be a legitimate 3.5+ rated course. Leave the front 9 all to itself.
- If you play the course, spend most, if not all of your time on the back 9.
- Holes #15 & 16 are my favorite holes on the course. The basket for #15 is on a slope, always presenting a challenging set-up shot and putt. #16 has a good drop off from the tee to the basket. Be careful walking down the hill, or be smart and use the stairs.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: hycard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Complete 18-hole course if you can locate both 9-hole loops.
Great warmup layout on front nine.
Lot of diverse players, young to older, enjoying this beautiful park. Decent length on front loop but better distance and challenge on back nine.

Signage at each hole was top-notch.

Easy acces from I-40 and I-77.
Cons: Better directions for those wanting to experience back nine would be nice. My group stumbled upon holes 10-18 first, played these, then asked a local for directions to front nine. when playing front nine, a group asked us how to get to the back nine.

Definitely challenging on the back nine with disc eaters rather than fairways. A little maintenance could bring the course rating up 1.5 in my opinion. The proposed bridge to connect the two loops is vital.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed the dangerous shot on hole 16 - huge downhill throw requires accurate placement between a creek on the left and barbed wire fencing on the right. Awesome risk vs. reward.

Would enjoy playing this course again knowing how to navigate the two separate loops. Great stop on I-40 between Hickory and Triad area courses.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Its alright

2-4    6/19/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: hookonwavs
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The front 9 are great to get some practice on. The one downhill shot I think is hole 16 is fun for forehand throws.
Cons: I spent most of my time searching in the bushes finding my disc more than actually playing through the back 9 holes. I did get lost finding the holes.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 is the best part of this course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good ol' statesville

5+    6/3/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: chingaling
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well i live right down the road, and this was my first course to play on several years ago, the front nine is great for beginners because its very open through hole 3 then it gets pretty tough, concrete pads are new, maps on the holes are easy to follow(on the front 9)
Cons: the rough(OB) and fairways are horribly taken care of, its like throwing your disc into a briar patch over and over, back 9 is challenging, but a pain in the *** to walk through due to the low, low ,low maintnance, hole 16 is almost a dangerous slope to have to get to the fairway at the bottom(due to almost no walkway), please be careful

i'm not positive on the hole, i believe it to be 13, has a basket missing, most likely a theft. but has been missing for months.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Terrible

1    5/22/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: sloshed
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great signage (for holes)
good mix of open and wooded
Cons: No signage to direct you to next hole
Terrible condition of course, especially back nine, overgrowth everywhere
Very little risk reward
missing a basket on back nine
too hard to get from front to back 9
not much use of elevation change
Other Thoughts: The only reason this even got a 1.5 is because of the signage and condition of front 9. My wife and I played this on our vacation and were extremely disapointed. To have such a nice park and facility and let it go the way they have. I think the whole course needs to be redesigned and maintained better. Would not recomend to anyone.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: honeycu4
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Almost two completely different 9 hole courses. Front nine open and easy. Back nine narrow and much more difficult. Never crowded.
Cons: Kind of a junky park. Front and back nine are not located next to each other and there is a long walk between them. A few holes on the back nine have less than ideal layout and could be tweaked to provide better flow. Doesn't get played much so many over hanging limps and narrow fairways.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.