Wilmington, DE 
Bellevue State Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #11
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    6/8/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bellevue is a well maintained park with several activities on site. There were many fitness enthusiasts, pavilion users, and horse stables, none interfere with the disc golf area.

The front 9 has many tunnel shots. The back 9 consists of mostly open fairways which are well defined. The rough area is knee high grass. There were usually a few tall trees/bushes in the fairways to create obstructions. Navigation was typically logical and I did not need a map.

- practice basket
- restrooms (closed for maintenance during my visit, porta-potty provided)
- plenty to do for the non-disc golf family
- water near play on a few holes
- nice mix of distances and left/right turns
- very close to I-95
- not crowded
Cons: A State Park fee of $6 (out of state) per car is not a big con but needs to be noted. The rough is deep and not fun if you need to search in it. The baskets have seen better days. The brick tee pads have also seen better days, many were uneven and slick.

- flat land is all they had to work with
- some redesign would be beneficial
Other Thoughts: When entering the park follow the signs which point you to the disc golf area. The practice basket and tee #1 are towards the pond.

My favorite hole was #18. A 300 foot shot, which starts open and leads to a wooded area guarding the basket with a strip of water lurking behind.

I enjoyed the course and would play again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quick and Refreshing

2-4    11/24/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 56  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Park and Amenities. Some nicely laid out holes with some good use of trees, bushes and shrubs as obstacles. Close to I-95. Fun quick round. Nicely laid out and navigation is not difficult.
Cons: Almost completely flat w/ little to no elevation. Park fee. Signage on some holes but not all. Old baskets that are not always very forgiving.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course a couple times before and have come back each time hoping for a more rewarding experience. This is a great course for a quick round and to get some good practice. The tees are varied and some are in need of repair. I played this course in mid-summer and the rough was brutal. However, here in mid-November the brush was much more forgiving but still noticeable providing incentive to be precise in fairways. I definitely enjoyed each round I played here and was able to practice some different shots along the way. But, coming from out of state I can't rightfully justify the $6.00 fee unless I hit up at least two other courses in the state on the same day. That being said, this course serves as a great warm up round and is quick and enjoyable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bellevue underrated

1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Thisis course has good amenities- the facilities here were nice.
The layout could get confusing (see cons). However I think that they did. good job with the land that they were given.
There were many creative pin positions that were guarded- this added diffuculty and made you think aout how you wanted to execute your
Pond/river on 18 makes for a difficult shot- this was a creative yet challenging and enjoyable way o end the course.
Cons: Some of the chains were rusted-this lead o a few drop outs and you could get cut if not careful
There was a hole that had an unrealistic 90 degree turn 50 feet off the tee- this is unfair and gives you no reasonable look at the basket from the tee.
The signage needs to be fixed- most holes did have signage, nor did they have next tee signs. This kept me wandering when transitioning from hole to hole. The holes missing signage needed it the most.
Pay to play- 3 dollars in state, 6 dollars out of state
Other Thoughts: I think that there is going to be some effort and cleanup put ino this course in the near future


0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Field course

5+    7/22/2010   8/22/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 40  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Bellevue's disc golf course is located within the eponymous state park in Delaware directly off of I-95 Marsh Road exit near the PA border. This is a great course to learn the game or take someone who is learning, because there are a lot of open throws from the tee, especially on the back 9. The visibility on most shots is very good since most of this park is more on the field side of the spectrum. Hole 6 and 7 tee shots are the only "blind" shots, barring getting yourself in trouble in the few wooded area off to the side of a couple holes or the big bushes that serve as fairway obstacles on many holes.

Since the course is situated in the middle of a huge track/path that traces the park, I think the designers did very well here. The majority of disc golf courses are in the woods and therefore naturally have plenty of obstacles and a wealth of options for designers to carve holes through the trees. But because of the non-DG pedestrian population as well as the open nature of this park, holes tucked into tree lines (1, 4, 8, 14, 17, and 18) and holes hidden behind bushes (2, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, and 16), as well as tighter gaps (1, 4, 5, 6) and relatively narrow fairways on the open holes.

It is a very unique course with a "feel" of its own, which I always appreciate in a course. This course also gives experienced players a fun alternative round of taking only a mid range and putter out, as there are only 2 holes that break into the 400' and up range. Definitely more of a tech exercise shaping around all the bushes. Players without big distance can play more competitively here.
Cons: Tee areas really dicey on some holes. Signage and markers could also really improve. Bellevue is PAY TO PLAY, which doesn't bother me most of the time, but the course doesn't quite merit pulling out the wallet since it doesn't provide many amenity perks specifically for the DG course. But it is a public park first, and all state parks in DE cost money to enter--the down side of tax free shopping!

Sometimes the fairway grass is far too long. I've lost a disc approaching dusk in the mid-summer in the fairway on a modest 300' throw that I spotted the whole way. The variety on the back 9 is a little lacking, and many holes are summarized similarly: open hole, thin fairway with TG on either side, bushes mid fairway to throw over or around, and a basket tucked in near a bush at the end. I do applaud the design given the space, but I'm criticizing the space.

Sometimes pedestrians don't like discs flying near the path, so watch out for an evil glance here or there, but most non-DG-ers here are either tolerant, friendly, or curious. The walk from 18 back to the lots is a bit far; you could fit a hole 19 and maybe even a 20 in there to add holes and break up the walk! (Upon reading up in the Delaware Disc Golf (DDG) forums, there is a new design underway apparently, with 7 scrapped holes, 7 new holes, and a bunch of altered baskets, so let's see what happens!)
Other Thoughts: Good place for a casual round. Excited to see the new design when it comes about!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Time

2-4    1/30/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: Cooper2397
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall:
This is a fair course that will reward well executed shots. There are some tight windows, some length and a need for all your shots in the bag. It is a quick playing course that will allow you to get multiple rounds in if you want. It wouldn't be the first course I would tell you to play in Delaware, but then again, it is a lot more relaxing than Iron Hill.

Amenities:
The course is easy to find(right off I-95). There is plenty of parking and real bathrooms on site. The park gets a lot of traffic but none of it really interferes with the golfing.

Course:
The course designer was really smart in using the terrain available.

Holes 1-3- narrow windows and good use of trees make these holes fun. You will get rewarded for a good shot. Hole #3 is a great example. It is a really short hole but you have to throw a wide sweeping hyzer in order to birdie, making the hole play a lot longer. If you make it around the trees, it is the easiest hole on the course. If not, you will probably end up with a bogey.

Holes 4-6- These holes start to make the zig zag through an open meadow. Some use of trees forcing hyzer and anhyzer shots. I have been playing in the winter with little growth but I can imagine that in the summer, there are plenty of lost discs if you don't make the fairway. Note: It is hard to find the fourth teepad--you through the trees on the other side of the horse rack.

Holes 7-9- These holes pull you back across the horsetrack towards the pond. Hole 8 is a stand out here. Again, it is a short hole but with a very narrow window that finishes to the right. This hole is also an absurdly easy birdie if you can throw your disc straight as an arrow. If not, hopefully you can scramble for a par or bogey.

Holes 10-12- These holes wind you down by the pond and back. Hole 12 is fun hole. It is a little longer than most and is well guarded by trees. If you can find a magic window through the trees, it is easy. I am still trying to find that perfect window on this hole--ther may not be one.

Holes 13-15- From here until the end of the course is great fun. Hole 15 is kind of unique because the basket pole is placed in a rock. This prevents you from really parking it. Every putt on this hole is a little dicey especially on windy days.

Hole 16-18- This is a nice way to finish the course. It has some challenge to it but you are warmed up and ready to take it on. Hole 18 is neat because the basket is close to the pond and the ground falls away towards the water. You will definitely think twice about trying to drive one into the heart of the chains.
Cons: Tee pads-- A lot of the teepads are brick and they get very slippery when wet. On some of the holes, I threw forehand because I was scared of falling on a backhand drive.

Trash-- I mean really? I know you are a He-man and you threw your gazelle so fast that it cracked in half mid flight from the stress- but did you have to leave it at the tee pad as a monument to your awesomeness? This is only the half of it. At some teepads, there were piles of trash. I would like to think it isn't the DGers but I know better. FWIW, this is the only trashed course in Delaware-- must be the out of staters &#61514;.
Other Thoughts: Stars- I am giving this course 2.5 stars. It is an average course that is a blast to play. None of the holes are extremely memorable (unless you get an ace). I would have given 3 stars but the trash is crazy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Windows and Fairways

1    9/9/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Bathrooms at parking lot. Practice basket. Fairly easy course to navigate despite the lack of a map. Good blend of left/right/no-turning drives needed - I used my over/stable/under drivers almost an equal amount. Plenty of things, mostly away from the course, for non-players to do.
Cons:
Single tee/basket. Brick teepads becoming uneven, weed-filled, and are slick when wet. Some signs missing or in poor condition. Baskets rusting. Depending upon how accurate you are, or aren't :-), decent chance to lose a disc in high grass - spotter advised.
Other Thoughts:
Holes #1-8, and #18, required a certain amount of finesse - throwing down a narrowing tunnel, hyzer shots with a small margin for error, or near-tee "windows" framed by treelines that you had to get through, and then do some serious turning afterwards. Holes #9-17 were in the open, the "open" meaning a large meadow filled with waist-high grasses and wildflowers, with the occasional mid-sized bush or tree at random intervals. Mow +/- 50' swaths into this, putting some turns into it, and or using the few bushes and/or trees at strategic locations, i.e. mid-fairway, to interfere with typical flightpaths, and/or closely (in some cases, VERY closely) guarding the basket.

After finishing #3, cross the broad path, take a narrow path through the woods, cross another path, and then find tee #4 behind a bush. After finishing #8, cross the path and go left to find tee #9. Average distance is about 300', with half the holes in the 200's, most others in the 300's, and the long #15. Boulder guarding basket #16, and #17 surround by bushes and backed by trees - good luck getting your disc near its basket!

Favourite hole #15 515': Long drive down a slight left-turning fairway. Long second , left-turning shot to basket tucked a few feet into the edge of a wood.

This course is very well designed for the land it is on, maximizing the use of the moderate number of trees available at the beginning, and turning the open and flat meadow into a fun challenge with the fairways cut into it and taking advantage of the few taller plants scattered about it. Considering just the holes themselves, I'd rate this course a bit above average; However, the deteriorating condition of the tees, signs, and baskets are a real drag on the overall rating, and make me wonder if the course is not going to be maintained, i.e. if they don't keep the fairways mowed, half the course would become unplayable.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Kind of bland

1    9/10/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Avoids other park users pretty well and it wasn't crowded even on a nice Sunday. There are a few good holes in there!
Cons: Not very challenging, lines are pretty open and require little navigation. Definitely be careful of thorns etc on a few holes.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: Dr.awesome
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great holes to say the least!!!!!! Hard at points, while still giving you a relaxing game. Great mowed fairways. Park walkers, bikers, etc. come far out of play, being isolated giving a great game. Perfectly placed bushes make your game get a little harder. If you are a beginner as am i you will enjoy this course greatly!!
Cons: Tee signs are dated. Short course with mean rough. can get really wet after rain. large lake does not come into play unless you have a really bad throw on 1, and or 18. Some holes are unoriginal. the entry fee to the park.
Other Thoughts: This course is under appreciated. Play this course during winter months, then it happens to be FREE!!!!!!!

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 You bleeds in the weeds!

1    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A typically solid Delaware disc golf course. Course makes excellent use of limited terrain available. Use of trees, treelines, shrubs, pond on 18, etc. is exemplary and maximizes sites topographic potential. Doubtful that pond could be used more due to many people fishing and generally crowds are closer to those areas. Course has a mildly technical opening eight followed by a more wide open middle nine before the final semi-technical approach to 18 in front of the pond. The brick tee pads were a first for me and once I got used to them were sufficient. I found them unique not bad. Hole 1 is a fun little drive down between two banks of a ravine to a basket in front of a small stream...Probably the signature hole on the course. Holes 2 and 3 mimick one another using trees and bushes as obstacles to test your shot placement and landing skill as well as your approach. Then you cross the wide path to holes 4-8. These are all similiar holes in that they all utilize a tree line to break up two fields. So you get to test your drive accuracy by negotiating windows/doorways through trees midway trouble on the fairway. These are excellent holes. Hole 8 is particularly tight and technical with trouble early, middle and a protected basket. Then you cross the path to the ultra wide open portion of the course. Holes 9-17 are all similiar in that they utilize booming drives to protected baskets that hide between,amongst, or behind trees/shrubs. Lot's of open air followed by clever approaches make for some interesting holes. You don't just throw into a field to a basket you have to often land your disc in a strategic manner that sets up your second shot to make par. Course is isolated from the most parkgoers. Basically the course is set inside an infield of what appears to have been a horse racing track at one time and runs counter clockwise around the infield.
Cons: Rusted old single chained baskets. I had fun throwing at these antiques but some might not enjoy these relics. There is no elevation and no true woods. For this reason any serious player will probably rather play the ultra hilly Brandywine across town for a wide open but HILLY challenge and other experts will prefer the uber challenge of Iron Hill with it's massive forrest holes this is a few miles to the south. That leaves beginners and novices. Problem is it's not beginner/novice friendly due to the amount of wind and the infestation of thorns all along every fairway from tee to basket and even in some cases as an actual obstacle such as protected by thorns green of hole 14. This makes any errant throw miserable. With no shade available most will want to wear shorts which is an awful choice due to the absolutely inescapable thorns that line the fairways. If you can place 300 foot drives on a 30 foot wide mowed fairway this is for you but if not be prepared to bleed in the weeds. The wide open nature also makes your throws prone to drift far off course due to no knock down trees and all that wind. The 6 bucks to play ensures an ouch to your wallet as well as your legs.
Other Thoughts: If it wasn't for the thorns this course would be a pleasant play with a little big arm fun and some technical baby holes. Good for a relaxed round. But due to the thorns you really spend too much time prancing about in pain here and the fun factor is ruined. That big wide open track is pretty cool I would love to know if this was a race track at one time.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/22/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: lennyb6
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent beginner course. Holes are mainly wide open and holes are easy to find/navigate. Tees have been upgraded to brick and are nicer than the gravel that could be flooded.
Cons: Brush can be a nightmare if you go off the path. Thorn bushes everywhere and I've come out of there with some poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: Don't get crazy on 18 or you are going for a swim, the disc will hit and run right into a pretty deep section of the creek.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.