Wilmington, DE 
Bellevue State Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #16
3 / 271ft.   3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Cleaned Up

2-4    4/9/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: Neophyte
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As has been said before this is a great course for new players, focusing on your short game or a quick round. This course has a good mix of tight and open fairways. Some of the earlier reviewers mentioned the rough being very bad. I played here last summer and it was nasty but they have cleaned most of it out. I do not know if they will keep up the maintenance throughout the summer or not. Bottom line, this is a good change of pace course for those playing the longer courses in area.
There are also plenty of other distractions in the area for family, BBQ pits, playground, fishing and a walking track.
Cons: The tee pads could use a little work and the baskets could be replaced or repaired. My disc managed to hit the chains and come out the other side of the basket on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: I am not sure who manages this course but it could be so much better given the location. If one or two holes utilized the river that would vastly improve the course and give it something that no other northern DE course has, a real water obstacle.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pluses and minuses

1    11/28/2008   11/30/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Manicured fairways with clearly defined rough. Well placed obstacles on almost every fairway making your approach shots critical. Easy to navigate the course and find the next hole. Course designers would do well to study some of the holes and see how to use tree lines, shrubs and thorns to create obstacles. No problems with the rough or poison ivy when I played (november) - bad shots were punished but your life was never threatened.
Cons: I've heard horror stories about the poison ivy and thorns in the summer. Links layout causes some repitition. Elevation only occurs on the first hole (a beautiful little chute with a creek). Baskets rusted, and hole 1's chains are hanging down completely unattached at the bottom. Uneven brick teepads are slippery and even somewhat dangerous. Some signs missing.
Other Thoughts: I'd recommend giving this course a try in the winter when foliage is barren and you don't need to pay the $6 state park fee. Some bad approach shots landed in thorns right next to the basket, making me take two shots to get in from 10 feet... I wish more courses had that (the equivalent of greenside sand traps in ball golf). Playgrounds nearby for the family, nice restrooms and soda machines. Unfortunately the course doesn't use the river at all, a real missed opportunity.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 241  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mostly short course, good for beginners or those looking to finesse their approach game. Though their are a few long holes. Flat, fairly open but plenty of brush, tree and rock obstacles keep you accurate. Some holes require driving through small openings in a tree line. pond comes into play a couple times. The course is fun for a relaxing round.
Cons: The rough during the summer months is vicious and deep. You may find a lot of park goers and dog walkers on the course. The brick tee pads aren't that great, sometimes uneven. One of my friends will sometimes find himself on his butt after driving on them.
Other Thoughts: Bellevue is also a bird sanctuary so keep your eyes open for hawks and such!

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Bad Rough :-(

6/29/2007   2/29/2008
Review By: CraigC
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Short and fairly simple course. Though it's in a public park, the disc golf course doesn't rerally interfere with the other patrons.
Cons: The rough can get out of hand and it's very easy to lose discs with the narrow fairways. Came home with 2 ticks on me once, so use OFF before playing.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.