Dayton, OH 
Belmont Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #12 (Taken 3/2011)
4 / 346ft.   4 / 346ft.   3 / 346ft.   3 / 346ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Sneaky Good Belmont Still Holds Up

5+    4/5/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: mrclc
Played: 128  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A Dayton classic that has aged well in its many years, Belmont Park maximizes exciting elevation changes to deliver a sneakily fun round. The variety and number of these elevation changes dominate the design, and it's easy to see why. You'll play both up and down the rolling terrain, sometimes on the same hole. For example, Hole #9 (one of my favorites) undulates over a small valley and up a small ridge, with the basket located on the start of a downward slope beyond. A long enough drive will clear the valley, but leave it short and your next shot will play up enough to significantly alter your shot. Even if you clear the valley, you have to adjust for the ridge while simultaneously avoiding overshooting the basket and rolling your disc into the road. It may seem simple, but it turns what might be an otherwise ho-hum hole into a stealthy classic. Examples of this kind of subtle yet thoughtfully considered design are evident throughout the course (see also #3, #7, and #10 to name a few).

A lack of rough means it's nearly impossible to lose a disc. I like leaving with the same amount of plastic I came in with.

Concrete teepads can be found on all holes in varying (but mostly positive) states of repair. Some holes feature a short and a long teepad.

The baskets are older, but still catch pretty well.
Cons: Belmont is arguably the center of Dayton disc golf, and as a result it can get very crowded on nice days with serious players and casuals alike. Coupled with the openness of the course, it's easy to delay multiple groups with a single bad throw. If you come here on a late spring or summer day when the weather is nice, it's not uncommon to wait behind a group of a half-dozen chuckers.

Aesthetically, Belmont isn't very attractive and occasionally has a bit of a trash and graffiti problem. While no means out of control, it doesn't do the already uninspiring atmosphere and views any favors.

A lack of rough means it's easy to get back in shape when your shot goes awry. This may be a negative for some looking for creative recoveries and punishment for errant shots.

Hole #1 throws toward the parking lot, so as you enter it's a good idea to park on the left side of the lot if possible.
Other Thoughts: Belmont Park is deceptive at first glance, as it's open and not very pretty or scenic. However, any mixed feelings at the beginning of the round usually melt away by the time you get to 18's spectacular downhill drive. This is a cleverly designed, elevation-based course that you may not remember forever, but will have you coming away with the satisfaction of a fun round played.

PROTIPS: Hole 19 is located on the other side of the parking lot from the rest of the course. There's no sign, but the concrete pad plays to the basket by the maintenance sheds.

Stop by The Hazy Shade, the local disc emporium (723 Watervliet Ave) for good prices on a wide selection of discs. Friendly and knowledgeable staff are a delight to talk to and always happy to help. NOTE: I'm not affiliated with the store in any way, I just spend way too much money there!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Course with Character

2-4    5/19/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 176  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Belmont is an established and heavily played park style course that appeals to longer arms (typically Intermediate and above), with opportunities to bomb 490' downhill through mature trees on hole 11 and up to 607' across the open soccer field on hole 16. There are a few shorter deuce opportunities for us weaker arms, and a number of baskets are well-guarded by the trees and branches near the 'greens', but overall, this course reminds me a little bit of Lover's Lane in Bowling Green, Kentucky, but with more rolling elevation and more park trees to force you to choose lines. There are opportunities to go left, right, long and sometimes blind, but the character of the park makes Belmont a little special:

The flow of the course creates a couple of opportunities to socialize, like at 'the hub', where the tees for 6, 9 & 11 all join together near a picnic table and an elevated bench, so there will usually be a friend or two swinging by to trash talk you when you 'mismanage' a release. Most tees have a log for a bench, but a few have outdoor furniture, and all have trash barrels (usually painted in a unique manner), that give this place a semi-urban character. There's even an Ace Hole (Clubhouse? Annex for the Hazy Shade DG Store?) right by the #4 basket.

The tees are all level, concrete, and large enough for the distances involved. The DGA baskets catch well, despite beginning to show their age. There are multiple pin positions on many holes, and a couple of places where there are alternate tees. A friendly local told me they often get creative with the layout here for bigger (!) arm tournaments, like driving from the long tee on #12 to the 'nipple' (the raised basket on 14). I saw and played a 19th hole on the other side of the parking lot, and saw yet another basket over there, which I think would be preferable to the official practice basket.
Cons: The practice basket is really beat up and rusty, there is only a bathroom if someone has unlocked it at the shelter left of the parking lot (so some of the larger bushes become stand-inside latrines), and the signage, while decently showing major elements, distances, and mandos, don't always help the newcomer determine where the next tee is. I used a map and asked questions the two times I've been here.

The course is relatively well located, and easily accessible from the major roads through Dayton, but there is no park sign: you feel like you're driving into the parking lot from the servant's entrance to the park (and maybe you are?). On the positive side, this just lends another layer to the feeling that Belmont is kind of a "boy's club" course.
Other Thoughts: The infrastructure here has some really neat elements, like the large wooden slabs used as stairs up the hill to #11, and they've done a really nice job extending teepads that needed it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B3LLm0nT

5+    7/24/2012   7/28/2011
Review By: crazypep
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of shots and terrain.
Nice pleasant home course.
It's dang near impossible to lose a disc here.
Friendly players frequent this park.
"Hippy Shack" near hole 3 !
Awesome course overall!
Hole 19 Added! and an extra practice basket!
Cons: Some of the fairways are right next to each other. (Nothing major just keep it tight)
Other Thoughts: The course gives a certain "comfortable home" feeling. The locals here work very hard to maintain a very nice local course. Thanks to all that help out. Also it is very close to the local disc shop!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where it all began!!

5+    3/29/2011   4/1/2011
Review By: Darth Anovin
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: For me, the biggest pro of this course is that this is where I learned what disc golf is. It will always hold a place in my heart. That may not mean much to some, but for a lot of Dayton locals, they feel the same way I do about this course. It can be good for beginners, but if I'm working on some new shots, I always hit up Belmont. I'm not saying it's easy though. My PB there is -1. But you can definitely work on your game here because of the hole designs. There is also some decent elevation changes here and 4 holes have two different pads, while seven holes have two different basket placements. And a local disc shop, the Hazy Shade is minutes away.
Cons: Due to the amount of people and certain types of people that can frequent this course, I try to play here very early in the day when it's not crowded. And on nice days, it can get VERY crowded. For some this may not pose a problem, as you can engage in some good conversations if you get held up. But it does attract a lot of beginners. So if you're out there and get stuck behind a group of seven that are new to the sport, be patient!
Other Thoughts: What can I say about Belmont, other than, "IT'S BELMONT."

*This course scored a 30 out of 45 on my rating scale.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A fun play

1    10/26/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Belmont is a very nice park style course that is well kept. The course was free of debris and the grass was nicely mowed. All of the baskets and tees are in good shape. The designers of this course really maximized all the available land and came up with a really fun course that plays up, down and through some really nice hardwoods. There is a great variety in the holes also, uphill shots, downhill rippers, flat, right turning, left turning, ace runs and bombs. Each hole requires some shot shaping around large hardwood trees and there are numerous routes available on each one. The designers or the locals have also done a good job of protecting some of the pin placements where possible. This course would be a great beginner course and still can be fun for the more experienced golfer.
Cons: As much fun as this course is the terrain really limits it from ever being a high end course.
Very busy.
Other Thoughts: I played Belmont right before a huge storm ripped through the area so we had extremely heavy wind and tornado sirens to deal with. It was still a really fun course to play and I had a great time. My friend and I were able to knock out the whole course in under an hour as all of the one disc wonders scurried for their cars due to the coming storm and we got to cruise right through the course.
I always try to mention the fun factor of courses and it might be because we had the course all to ourselves or the huge storm rolling in but rarely have I enjoyed a short, deuce or die, non wooded course as much as this. This was a great first stop on our disc golf road trip.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Park Course

1    10/10/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly park with mature trees and no underbrush. Nearly every hole uses the park's elevation in some way, with a couple fun downhill bombs and some interesting uphill shots. Most holes play through mature trees with lots of different lines, but enough trees that you have to throw accurately. There's a great variety of lengths here, from ace runs to some nice long shots where you can stretch out your arm a little.

There's a nice mix of hole shapes here, many have multiple lines but they call for a good variety of shots to score well. There is even more variety in hole length and shape if you play both sets of tees on the holes where there are two. The longs add a little more length and challenge on a few holes. The tees are good concrete pads with ok texture. There is adequate signage with hole layout and distance, and the flow of the course is really easy to follow. There wasn't much litter or graffiti, and the grass was all nicely mowed.
Cons: The course felt a little run down to me, with cracked tee pads and some rusty baskets. The signs are a little faded, and don't show the current pin position. There are some erosion issues on some of the hillier portions of the course.

This course doesn't ever punish you for a bad drive, there's no trouble off the fairways so it's always pretty easy to recover for a 3. There are some safety issues here, with fairways pretty close to one another, which is even more of an issue at a crowded popular course like this one. The first hole plays along the parking lot, I saw several discs head toward parked cars while we were there.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun park style course with some cool holes and some decent elevation. It's definitely worth a stop if you're in the area. Beginners will find this course challenging but not to the point of frustration, it's pretty open, but has enough trees to push new players to try different lines. More experienced players will have fun here, but it's not all that challenging and doesn't have enough punishment for errant shots to be a top level course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    7/27/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: TheBulch
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Elevation changes and trees make for interesting shots
- Some very long holes add challenge to the round
- Lots of good disc golfers here. This course obviously attracts the best in the Dayton area
Cons: - Crowded
- Very forgiving fairways drastically decrease the difficulty of this course. I did well while spraying shots in every direction.
- The course seems a bit beat up. The pads are busted and the baskets are rusty and have some graffiti
Other Thoughts: A good course with some good things and not a lot of bad things, but I dont know about the 4 star rating. It seems to be less interesting than many of the the 3 and 3 and a half star courses I have played. Still a must play in the Dayton area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A gem in Dayton

5+    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mature trees, good use of elevation change, manageable distance, and very smart/challenging basket placements set this course apart from others in the area. The majority of holes have benches and trashcans that help when you need to take a break or deposit some garbage.

This course has some alternate tees and mando's that can be played to add challenge and distance to the course. Your average ADV-Open level player may need to ask about Out of Bounds rules, as well as typical tournament layouts to find this course challenging. However REC-INT players will be challenged to achieve a round under par
Cons: Several issues arise from the current layout that take away from the appeal of this course. Typically the parking lot is very crowded and it's hard to find a place to park. The first tee plays very close to the parking lot and discs find cars in that area often. Several of the current fairways and tee areas are directly in line with other fairways. Decent to poor shots have a good chance of placing other players in danger.

Additionally the majority of the tees themselves are cracked, too short, or not level. This is a major distraction during my rounds here and it's frustrating when playing. I would also recommend the course finds a way to get some better tee signs, the ones at this course are not very helpful or missing altogether.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and I had a great time playing here during several tournaments. The things I always take away from this course afterward are the many different routes or lines a player can take on each hole. It's fun when you think you found a truly clever way to park a hole.

Players who throw in the 350' range consistently will have no issue reaching many of the holes on this course. A couple take a true bomb to come anywhere close, however even holes that say they are 400'+ long play closer to 350' based on the elevation or errors in distance calculation.

In my opinion this course is very similar to Harbin Park in the Cincinnati area. It's a good course and can be a blast to play, I'm not sure I would recommend it to anyone on a road trip though. However if you are in the area or going to be traveling through this course wont disappoint.

The park itself is somewhat confusing to navigate too. However google maps gave me perfect directions directly to the correct parking lot.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course - but crowded

2-4    3/19/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: Smithcok
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great change of scenery for players that are used to courses with tight, tree-lined fairways. Most holes are wide open in a field with a few trees in the way. Nice changes in elevation (some holes are down, some are up, some are thrown over a big "gully").

One hole in particular (16 I think) is a high tee throwing into a wide open field. This is a great hole for people with big distance.

Ample parking.
Cons: Currently missing the pin for hole 18 (talked to some regulars, they said it was damaged and is being replaced soon).

Even on weekdays, the course got pretty crowded. There were a lot of people yelling, and plenty were throwing cigarette butts all over the place. Also there were some vandalism problems.

Sometimes its hard to tell where the tees/pins are. There are nice signs at each tee showing the pin placements, but no indication of which placement is currently active.

Lots of people bring their dogs apparently (which is great), but not all seem to pick up dog doo (which is not great).
Other Thoughts: Really a nice course - could be better if people took care of it a little more.

Watch for big crowds!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

5+    9/18/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Good Mix of Shot Types
Nice Mix of Distances
Great Use of Elevation
Mature Trees Add Challenge
Locals Are Friendly and Helpful
Benches and Trash Cans Throughout
Beautiful Park Setting
Very Well-Maintained
Course Map Near First Tee
Plenty of Large Shade Trees
Cons:
Parking Lot is Small
Can Get Crowded
No Restrooms
Off Throws Can Land in Fenced Yards
Other Thoughts:
This is one of my favorite courses to play in Ohio. It has a beautiful setting with rolling hills and mature trees. They make great use of the elevation changes which is challenging and a lot of fun. My favorite hole is #9, you tee off a top a hill, basket is located across a little valley with the basket on top of the other side.

Course is always clean and grass is always cut. There are a few trash cans throughout the course, and it has always been litter free when I have played, so please be sure to throw your trash away. While the course can get very crowded most the people I have encountered are true golfers, friendly, helpful, and respectful, they way every course should be.

The course is fairly easy to navigate, however there can be a couple spots that are tricky. There is a map available online and there is also a large map near the first tee, so you should have no problem navigating if you have these.

The course has great variety. There are a mix of left to right and also straight shots. The are also a great mix of up hill and down hill shots which can add challenge to even some of the shorter holes. While the course is fairly open there are also some large mature trees that create obstacles and add even more challenge and beauty to the course as well.

The course can get very crowded on evening and weekends, so if you like to avoid the crowds as much as possible you will want to visit during the day. If crowds don't really bother you visit whenever you can. Some courses I like to avoid the crowds on, but most of the people I have talked to here were very friendly and respectful, true dg-ers on this course. I would recommend this course to anyone in the area, if you only have time for one course in the area this is it.

The park itself can be a little hard to get to, the entrance to the course is off of Highridge Ave. at the intersection of Lynhurst Ave. As I stated there is a bulletin board/map near the first tee, so just look for that near the back of the parking lot.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.