Dayton, OH 
Belmont Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #13 (Taken 3/2011)
4 / 326ft.   3 / 326ft.   3 / 326ft.   3 / 326ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Troll's Review

5+    6/12/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Hazy shade pro shop is around the corner. Its fairly open the whole way through, which is nice if you don't want to lose discs frequently
Lots of length, and elevation, the pins move around every six weeks or so....
Has a neat 5 way tee pad area in the center, they should put a roof/shelter over it, that would be cool
Cons: Its wide open, so it easy to score under if your throwing bombs and eating chains for breakfast
You are in the suburbs and only a little privacy offered
Other Thoughts: it could use more holes and certainly more trees, a pond or two can never hurt a disc golf course

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course

5+    6/28/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: zac.hancock
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out and well maintained.
Little chance of losing your discs, so introducing friends to the sport is incredibly easy at this course.
Many of the holes have different basket locations, that are moved often (by Dayton Disc Golf Assoc. I believe) for variability.
Cons: Somewhat simple for an advanced player.
It is always windy here for one reason or another.
Other Thoughts: There is a local league that plays a random draw doubles round for about $7 (non-league member cost). It is a great way to meet people and play competitively.

IF YOU VISIT THIS COURSE, make sure to go check out the Hazy Shade disc golf shop (less than 1 mile away). They are a knowledgeable staff and love the sport.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course!

1    4/11/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: Discalier
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of different throws required. There's trees on most of the holes but if you throw it right, you should be able to get around them. The holes that don't have trees are mostly wide open. Most holes have info at the tees on distance and where the basket should be. Concrete tee pads.
Cons: Baskets are not great. Old, rusty, and not marked well. It's really hard to find them if you've never played here before.
Other Thoughts: There's a pro shop on hole 4 that was a house that someone bought. Pretty cool!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  History in the backyard

5+    9/27/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: Conard
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dayton has a number of courses in the area, but Belmont is by far the most popular. This is an older course, and some of the history is lost on me, but it has aged well. There are numerous trees, but the course still feels very open.

The course reaches into the longer holes on the second nine including a three downhill bombers (11, 16, and 18) and there are very few simple RHBH hyzer holes (1, 3, 6, 8, 10, and 14 are the ones to just throw and fade). There are a number of different lines on the course and could even lead to some interesting mandos.

Belmont is located just down the street from the local store Hazy Shade, who are very active in the Dayton disc golf scene as well. The park itself has no water and plenty of space for throwing in fields.
Cons: Because of it's popularity and location in the city, a lot of the casual drunks and smokers like to play Belmont, which isn't a problem until they smash glass bottles near tee pads and leave cigarette butts everywhere. The local regulars, and city police have been trying to improve the course after the possibility of losing the course has come up.
Other Thoughts: The course has aged well, but there are are shorter holes than the more modern courses. The three downhill bombers help off set the short course feeling though.

There are rumored to be undercover police around recently to help clean up the park, so don't brink your beer.

Park on the left side of the parking lot, the first fairway goes along the right side of the lot and the best shot is a RHBH down that edge of the lot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, OK Location

1    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of mature trees and elevation changes.

Great variety in length and direction of holes. Requires long drives on some holes, finesse shots, left/right, high/low, you name it.

Very easy to transition from the basket to the next tee.

Concrete tee pads and signage with map, par, and distance listed.
Cons: Some of the tee pads are in need of maintenance. A lot of cracked pads and one has a severe slant to it. The pads vary in size which can make you adjust your throwing style. Some of the tees appear to have been extended with gravel.

The signage is very worn, and some are almost faded completely.

Some holes run very close to one another, so if it is busy, you could end up with some interference from other players.

The park is not in the greatest shape, and there is a lot of trash and broken beer bottles littered throguhout the park and course. Although I did not personally step in any dog poo, the smell was very strong, so I have to assume the potential exists.
Other Thoughts: All in all, the course is one of my all-time favorites. It is relatively open, yet has plenty of trees to get in the way. This could mean the difference in shooting par, or way over.

Some of the pars listed seemed to be high. I was able to shoot pretty low due to some short par 4s on the course. Perhaps I was just having a great day. I will know better next time I play here. There will definitely be a next time at Belmont!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Belmont

5+    11/18/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: vetonoshake
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, mostly open holes here with a variety of distances. Almost impossible to lose a disc, unless maybe you go over a fence or something. Neighbors on hole 4 have discs for sale, and there is a disc store very close. Concrete pads, great hole placement.
Cons: Not the most family friendly due to drinking and what not, but everyone is pretty nice. Can get VERY crowded, especially on nice days. Soccer field on 16 is a hazard when in use.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I ever played, and still the only place I've gotten an ace (so far). I really love playing here, but the crowds have gotten to be a bit much the last couple of years. Worth checking out if you're in the Dayton area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 always my home course

5+    12/21/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good utilization
you wont lose a disc unless you leave it behind
couple of ace runs (I got #7 hehe)
18 is a cool closer
fun fair challenge
beautiful big trees and excellent sight lines
Cons: can get crowded

Other Thoughts: the stoners and guys having a couple of beers add to the ambiance
reminds me of that line by the Who
people try to put us down just because we play a round at Belmont that is

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I Have a Blast Here

5+    12/11/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I rate this course Excellent because it has a great flow to it. It feels like a walk in the park even though there are some hills to contend with. This course challenges me to stay consistent with long drives because it is mostly open. There aren't many trees to deal with, and no woods. As a new player, this course helps me to get better. If you play bad, you can't blame it on the woods, or the water, or anything else except you.
Cons: I appreciate the maturity of this course, but alot of the baskets need to be replaced and the tee signs need updated graphics.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/15/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice park
-lots of rolling hills
-great basket/ tee placements
-wide variety of hole distances
-wide variety shot oppurtunities
-very well maintained
-disc golf shop at location
-fun fun fun
Cons: -can get very crowded
-looks like the parking lot could fill easily
-wouldn't say this is beginner friendly only due to the complexity of some holes
-a couple holes have a road the plays behind and disc could go ob and be ran over
Other Thoughts: played here only once on a 3 course trip to the dayton area, had a blast, for some reason though we decided to bust out a deck of revenge cards and played it here.....not a great idea having never played the course. it was still a whole lot of fun and would like to check this course out again when i'm in the area

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    6/9/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: DiscGolfer11
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Variety, some holes down hill some holes up hill. Diffrent pars, most ly par 4's. Most signs are intact and well made. Concrete pads, not a hard walk. Alternating goals, so the course changes up once or twice a year. Hazy Shade disc store nearby, which has a great selection of discs. Soccer field to practice (if no ones playing on it) Park is well maintained.
Cons: Some signs are down, some holes take a little work to find, but dayton disc golf has a map online for first timers. Slightly congested, but not bad on weekdays or early on weekends. Goals are old and a little rusty (but stil fine)
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course, always fun to play with friends.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.