Dayton, OH 
Belmont Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #10 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 251ft.   3 / 251ft.   3 / 251ft.   3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  History in the backyard

5+    9/27/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: Conard
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dayton has a number of courses in the area, but Belmont is by far the most popular. This is an older course, and some of the history is lost on me, but it has aged well. There are numerous trees, but the course still feels very open.

The course reaches into the longer holes on the second nine including a three downhill bombers (11, 16, and 18) and there are very few simple RHBH hyzer holes (1, 3, 6, 8, 10, and 14 are the ones to just throw and fade). There are a number of different lines on the course and could even lead to some interesting mandos.

Belmont is located just down the street from the local store Hazy Shade, who are very active in the Dayton disc golf scene as well. The park itself has no water and plenty of space for throwing in fields.
Cons: Because of it's popularity and location in the city, a lot of the casual drunks and smokers like to play Belmont, which isn't a problem until they smash glass bottles near tee pads and leave cigarette butts everywhere. The local regulars, and city police have been trying to improve the course after the possibility of losing the course has come up.
Other Thoughts: The course has aged well, but there are are shorter holes than the more modern courses. The three downhill bombers help off set the short course feeling though.

There are rumored to be undercover police around recently to help clean up the park, so don't brink your beer.

Park on the left side of the parking lot, the first fairway goes along the right side of the lot and the best shot is a RHBH down that edge of the lot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 B3LLm0nT

5+    7/24/2012   7/28/2011
Review By: crazypep
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of shots and terrain.
Nice pleasant home course.
It's dang near impossible to lose a disc here.
Friendly players frequent this park.
"Hippy Shack" near hole 3 !
Awesome course overall!
Hole 19 Added! and an extra practice basket!
Cons: Some of the fairways are right next to each other. (Nothing major just keep it tight)
Other Thoughts: The course gives a certain "comfortable home" feeling. The locals here work very hard to maintain a very nice local course. Thanks to all that help out. Also it is very close to the local disc shop!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, OK Location

1    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of mature trees and elevation changes.

Great variety in length and direction of holes. Requires long drives on some holes, finesse shots, left/right, high/low, you name it.

Very easy to transition from the basket to the next tee.

Concrete tee pads and signage with map, par, and distance listed.
Cons: Some of the tee pads are in need of maintenance. A lot of cracked pads and one has a severe slant to it. The pads vary in size which can make you adjust your throwing style. Some of the tees appear to have been extended with gravel.

The signage is very worn, and some are almost faded completely.

Some holes run very close to one another, so if it is busy, you could end up with some interference from other players.

The park is not in the greatest shape, and there is a lot of trash and broken beer bottles littered throguhout the park and course. Although I did not personally step in any dog poo, the smell was very strong, so I have to assume the potential exists.
Other Thoughts: All in all, the course is one of my all-time favorites. It is relatively open, yet has plenty of trees to get in the way. This could mean the difference in shooting par, or way over.

Some of the pars listed seemed to be high. I was able to shoot pretty low due to some short par 4s on the course. Perhaps I was just having a great day. I will know better next time I play here. There will definitely be a next time at Belmont!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/30/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Captain Bad
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting:
Belmont plays in a mostly open, multi-use city park. There are a couple hills and the elevation comes into play on several holes. There is a moderate amount of mature trees, but no significant ground coverage.

The course sits directly adjacent to some soccer fields, and the course often hosts dog walkers and joggers.

Equipment:
All pads are concrete. Some holes have multiple pads for some added variety and challenge. The baskets are in decent, but well used condition. Most holes have tee signs with adequate information -- hole map w/alternate pin placements, distances, and pars.

Course Design:
The flow of the course is good and easy to follow. An out-and-back element for holes 6-10 makes good use of the space available. Good variety of short and long holes make for interesting ace runs as well as opportunities for long bombs. A few holes have alternate pin placements.
Cons: Setting:
Belmont is the most popular course in the Dayton area; this leads to several crowding issues:
--Expect to wait at some tees.
--Since this is a bit of a multi-use park, dog walkers and joggers can sometimes get in the way. People often let their dogs run unleashed. --Oftentimes trashcans will be overflowing.

Equipment:
The tee pads are not all the same size. Shorter holes tend to have shorter tees and vice versa. On a couple of the shorter holes, I feel like my run-up is constrained by the size of the tee almost to the point of dictating the kind of shot I'm able to take. Also, some of the pads are starting to crack, or worse, almost separate into two sections (they were formed like sections of sidewalk rather than a continuous slab). One tee (Hole 13) significantly leans to the right.

The signs that do exist are alright, but they could use an update/upgrade.

Course Design:
Although there's a good variety of distances at Belmont, the relatively open nature of the course doesn't allow for much shot variety. The holes are all straightforward and don't require much creativity to find a workable line. Punishment for an errant shot is relatively weak allowing for fairly easy recoveries.

To go along with the crowding issues above, the tees for holes 6, 9, and 11 are all packed into one area. It's not rare to come up to those tees and find 2 or more groups there as well. Add in a picnic table and you've got a lot of (talkative) people in not a lot of space.

Several of the holes run a bit close to one another, so there's a potential safety issue there, but I've never experienced a problem myself. The parking lot runs directly parallel to Hole 1. I suggest parking on the far side of the lot to minimize any risk of your car getting hit.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Belmont is a fun, relatively well-maintained course. Although it can get very crowded, the people are generally friendly. Several holes may prove especially long for a beginner, but the open, straightforward design of the course is beginner friendly as it lends itself more to a "grip it and rip it" style of play than it does a strategic finesse game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where it all began!!

5+    3/29/2011   4/1/2011
Review By: Darth Anovin
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: For me, the biggest pro of this course is that this is where I learned what disc golf is. It will always hold a place in my heart. That may not mean much to some, but for a lot of Dayton locals, they feel the same way I do about this course. It can be good for beginners, but if I'm working on some new shots, I always hit up Belmont. I'm not saying it's easy though. My PB there is -1. But you can definitely work on your game here because of the hole designs. There is also some decent elevation changes here and 4 holes have two different pads, while seven holes have two different basket placements. And a local disc shop, the Hazy Shade is minutes away.
Cons: Due to the amount of people and certain types of people that can frequent this course, I try to play here very early in the day when it's not crowded. And on nice days, it can get VERY crowded. For some this may not pose a problem, as you can engage in some good conversations if you get held up. But it does attract a lot of beginners. So if you're out there and get stuck behind a group of seven that are new to the sport, be patient!
Other Thoughts: What can I say about Belmont, other than, "IT'S BELMONT."

*This course scored a 30 out of 45 on my rating scale.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/27/2010   3/30/2011
Review By: streetz.2
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Fairly open with only a few large trees in play which makes for some fun yet challenging shots
-Decent tee pads
-Good signage
-Good mix of distance so you have to finesse on some holes and grip and rip on others.
-Some fun elevation change
-Locals have been friendly every time I have played here
Cons: Sometimes can be fairly crowded on nice days
Other Thoughts: I really have no major complaints about this course. I think it's a great course to play. It's a really fun course to play with a good mix of elevation changes. I love to play here and would recommend it to anybody looking to have a great enjoyable round.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Simply Excellent

5+    10/2/2010   2/2/2011
Review By: bigred
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A little bit of everything, from length to elevation, good tees, well made sign, the course also flows very nicely.
Cons: Could use a few more absticals but not bad over all
Other Thoughts: for how young the sport was when this course was layed out, the disigner had great vision.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Belmont

5+    11/18/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: vetonoshake
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, mostly open holes here with a variety of distances. Almost impossible to lose a disc, unless maybe you go over a fence or something. Neighbors on hole 4 have discs for sale, and there is a disc store very close. Concrete pads, great hole placement.
Cons: Not the most family friendly due to drinking and what not, but everyone is pretty nice. Can get VERY crowded, especially on nice days. Soccer field on 16 is a hazard when in use.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I ever played, and still the only place I've gotten an ace (so far). I really love playing here, but the crowds have gotten to be a bit much the last couple of years. Worth checking out if you're in the Dayton area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 always my home course

5+    12/21/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good utilization
you wont lose a disc unless you leave it behind
couple of ace runs (I got #7 hehe)
18 is a cool closer
fun fair challenge
beautiful big trees and excellent sight lines
Cons: can get crowded

Other Thoughts: the stoners and guys having a couple of beers add to the ambiance
reminds me of that line by the Who
people try to put us down just because we play a round at Belmont that is

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I Have a Blast Here

5+    12/11/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I rate this course Excellent because it has a great flow to it. It feels like a walk in the park even though there are some hills to contend with. This course challenges me to stay consistent with long drives because it is mostly open. There aren't many trees to deal with, and no woods. As a new player, this course helps me to get better. If you play bad, you can't blame it on the woods, or the water, or anything else except you.
Cons: I appreciate the maturity of this course, but alot of the baskets need to be replaced and the tee signs need updated graphics.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.