Dayton, OH 
Belmont Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #8 (Taken 3/2011)
4 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
A bit of a let down

2-4    9/5/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: JDS3105
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 9/27/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide open so there's very little chance of loosing discs. Fairly easy to play. Good if you want chances to really let some drives loose.
Cons: Always busy, grass isn't cut often enough, some shady people there at times. Some people take their dogs with them and don't clean up after them. Little chance to work on accuracy and learn to recover from bad shots.
Other Thoughts: I heard tons of people raving about this course. After playing it, I have to say overall it was a real let down. If you're close by, it's suitable but this isn't a course I would ever go out of my way to play. If I'm at Hazy Shade I might swing over and play, but most likely I'd just swing by Indian Riffle. Some locals can tell if you're not from the area and can be rude. Example- I saw two girls playing and some guys were making some inappropriate remarks towards them. I'd never bring my wife here to play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A classic

5+    7/3/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: jscincy1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
Pros: -Great layout and great space between fairways
-a lot of changes in distance and shot selection though out the course
-the mature tress and the rolling terrain are what really set this course off
-good signage (though old)
-great amount of benches and trash cans
-this course may not be a pro level course but it makes you pay for poorly placed shots off the tee
Cons: -basket and tee pads are getting old. Though I would call them functional obsolete
-course can be a little crowded at times so pace can be a little slower and if you have a errant tee shot be prepared to yell.
-some of the trashcans are not emptied regularly
Other Thoughts: All in all this this course (in my opinion) is the brass standard for the area. HAH and Buck Creek are a close second but I can not go to Belmont, play a round and have a bad time. Such a great community of golfers in the Dayton/Springfield area and it shows bright at Belmont.

Sneaky Good Belmont Still Holds Up

5+    4/5/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: mrclc
Played: 112  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 1.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A Dayton classic that has aged well in its many years, Belmont Park maximizes exciting elevation changes to deliver a sneakily fun round. The variety and number of these elevation changes dominate the design, and it's easy to see why. You'll play both up and down the rolling terrain, sometimes on the same hole. For example, Hole #9 (one of my favorites) undulates over a small valley and up a small ridge, with the basket located on the start of a downward slope beyond. A long enough drive will clear the valley, but leave it short and your next shot will play up enough to significantly alter your shot. Even if you clear the valley, you have to adjust for the ridge while simultaneously avoiding overshooting the basket and rolling your disc into the road. It may seem simple, but it turns what might be an otherwise ho-hum hole into a stealthy classic. Examples of this kind of subtle yet thoughtfully considered design are evident throughout the course (see also #3, #7, and #10 to name a few).

A lack of rough means it's nearly impossible to lose a disc. I like leaving with the same amount of plastic I came in with.

Concrete teepads can be found on all holes in varying (but mostly positive) states of repair. Some holes feature a short and a long teepad.

The baskets are older, but still catch pretty well.
Cons: Belmont is arguably the center of Dayton disc golf, and as a result it can get very crowded on nice days with serious players and casuals alike. Coupled with the openness of the course, it's easy to delay multiple groups with a single bad throw. If you come here on a late spring or summer day when the weather is nice, it's not uncommon to wait behind a group of a half-dozen chuckers.

Aesthetically, Belmont isn't very attractive and occasionally has a bit of a trash and graffiti problem. While no means out of control, it doesn't do the already uninspiring atmosphere and views any favors.

A lack of rough means it's easy to get back in shape when your shot goes awry. This may be a negative for some looking for creative recoveries and punishment for errant shots.

Hole #1 throws toward the parking lot, so as you enter it's a good idea to park on the left side of the lot if possible.
Other Thoughts: Belmont Park is deceptive at first glance, as it's open and not very pretty or scenic. However, any mixed feelings at the beginning of the round usually melt away by the time you get to 18's spectacular downhill drive. This is a cleverly designed, elevation-based course that you may not remember forever, but will have you coming away with the satisfaction of a fun round played.

PROTIPS: Hole 19 is located on the other side of the parking lot from the rest of the course. There's no sign, but the concrete pad plays to the basket by the maintenance sheds.

Stop by The Hazy Shade, the local disc emporium (723 Watervliet Ave) for good prices on a wide selection of discs. Friendly and knowledgeable staff are a delight to talk to and always happy to help. NOTE: I'm not affiliated with the store in any way, I just spend way too much money there!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Solid course in a quiet middle American town

1    11/15/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 169  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Relatively open, solidly designed course traverses the perimeter of what looked to be a well maintained city park that sees a fair amount of traffic.
• Makes great use of available elements. Rolling terrain is a factor on the majority of holes to make them play longer/shorter than posted or bump up risk/reward on pin placements. Only sparsely wooded, but tees and pins are placed well to maximize the property's potential.
• Fairly good mix of distances, with a few holes you can open up on, (especially if you play from the long tees and the pins are in the long position), but still provides Ace Runs and plenty of birdie opportunities.
• Fairly open design allows for many different lines to the pin, encouraging some degree of decision making and line shaping (but not much). Every hole has at least a small potential to cost you a stroke, some more than others.
• Most of the dual tees created at least reasonably different looks at the pin. Rotating baskets through two pin positions provides 4 possible layouts to help locals from getting bored over time.
• Two practice baskets across the parking lot from 1st hole.
• Equipment's showing its age, but still quite serviceable. Tee markers aid navigation and distances seemed accurate. Routing was a bit confusing in few spots - not much of a problem on the whole, but glad I printed the map. Tees and baskets were a non-issue. Trash cans and benches placed frequently enough around the course.
• No underbrush to speak of, essentially no chance of disc loss.
• Makes good use of the sections of the park I doubt would see much use otherwise. Trying not to seem biased, I think tees and baskets generate more traffic here than picnic tables and grills would have. I don't see what else they could have done in these sections of the park that would have served the community any better.
Cons: Most of the cons are limitations imposed by the landscape, but nothing major really.
• Doesn't require a well-rounded shot making repertoire. I like at least a few holes that force you to execute a particular line to score well… "Here it is… can you do it?" Although you can throw all sorts of shots here, none of the holes challenge you in that manner. You can do OK here with only one or two types of shots in your bag.
• Often no penalty (or very little) for errant tee shots. Missing your line (even badly) need not cost you a stroke.
• Plays close to backyards and roads in some spots - possibility of wind-blown discs making it into traffic or a backyard.
• Some holes play close to each other with no barriers between them. If there are others around, be ready to yell "Fore!" or alert for others to do the same.
Other Thoughts: More fun than it is challenging, Belmont's well worth playing if you're in the area, but not worth going out of your way for. I can see why locals love it (with good reason): it's a fun, friendly round, looks to be aging nicely, allows you to play several layouts and try out all kinds of shots. It's a good city-park course that's reasonably well executed, does what it does well, but it's not unlike many others I've played.

Very well suited to beginners and intermediate players alike, it's a wonderful place for newbs to learn the following aspects of the game without fear of losing discs:
• Shot shaping
• How elevation affects effective hole length.
• Evaluating whether to lay-up or run the pin on putts and approaches.
• How wind affects your shots (open layout means light breezes have plenty of time to work on your disc).

Does quite well with the palette the designers were given, has obviously stood the test of time and appears to get a decent amount of traffic.

Had the course played flat for the vast majority of the holes, I'd have pegged it as "decent/typical," but the wonderfully rolling terrain enhances it enough to merit a higher rating. No glaring deficiencies jump out at you, but with no truly distinguishing features to warrant the label of "very good," I have to say this course fits quite solidly in the "good" category, hence a rating of 3.0 seems well deserved.

Looks like locals have made a "19th" (and possibly a 20th) hole using the practice baskets.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

5+    6/12/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Hazy shade pro shop is around the corner. Its fairly open the whole way through, which is nice if you don't want to lose discs frequently
Lots of length, and elevation, the pins move around every six weeks or so....
Has a neat 5 way tee pad area in the center, they should put a roof/shelter over it, that would be cool
Cons: Its wide open, so it easy to score under if your throwing bombs and eating chains for breakfast
You are in the suburbs and only a little privacy offered
Other Thoughts: it could use more holes and certainly more trees, a pond or two can never hurt a disc golf course

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course

5+    6/28/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: zac.hancock
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out and well maintained.
Little chance of losing your discs, so introducing friends to the sport is incredibly easy at this course.
Many of the holes have different basket locations, that are moved often (by Dayton Disc Golf Assoc. I believe) for variability.
Cons: Somewhat simple for an advanced player.
It is always windy here for one reason or another.
Other Thoughts: There is a local league that plays a random draw doubles round for about $7 (non-league member cost). It is a great way to meet people and play competitively.

IF YOU VISIT THIS COURSE, make sure to go check out the Hazy Shade disc golf shop (less than 1 mile away). They are a knowledgeable staff and love the sport.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Course with Character

2-4    5/19/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 164  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Belmont is an established and heavily played park style course that appeals to longer arms (typically Intermediate and above), with opportunities to bomb 490' downhill through mature trees on hole 11 and up to 607' across the open soccer field on hole 16. There are a few shorter deuce opportunities for us weaker arms, and a number of baskets are well-guarded by the trees and branches near the 'greens', but overall, this course reminds me a little bit of Lover's Lane in Bowling Green, Kentucky, but with more rolling elevation and more park trees to force you to choose lines. There are opportunities to go left, right, long and sometimes blind, but the character of the park makes Belmont a little special:

The flow of the course creates a couple of opportunities to socialize, like at 'the hub', where the tees for 6, 9 & 11 all join together near a picnic table and an elevated bench, so there will usually be a friend or two swinging by to trash talk you when you 'mismanage' a release. Most tees have a log for a bench, but a few have outdoor furniture, and all have trash barrels (usually painted in a unique manner), that give this place a semi-urban character. There's even an Ace Hole (Clubhouse? Annex for the Hazy Shade DG Store?) right by the #4 basket.

The tees are all level, concrete, and large enough for the distances involved. The DGA baskets catch well, despite beginning to show their age. There are multiple pin positions on many holes, and a couple of places where there are alternate tees. A friendly local told me they often get creative with the layout here for bigger (!) arm tournaments, like driving from the long tee on #12 to the 'nipple' (the raised basket on 14). I saw and played a 19th hole on the other side of the parking lot, and saw yet another basket over there, which I think would be preferable to the official practice basket.
Cons: The practice basket is really beat up and rusty, there is only a bathroom if someone has unlocked it at the shelter left of the parking lot (so some of the larger bushes become stand-inside latrines), and the signage, while decently showing major elements, distances, and mandos, don't always help the newcomer determine where the next tee is. I used a map and asked questions the two times I've been here.

The course is relatively well located, and easily accessible from the major roads through Dayton, but there is no park sign: you feel like you're driving into the parking lot from the servant's entrance to the park (and maybe you are?). On the positive side, this just lends another layer to the feeling that Belmont is kind of a "boy's club" course.
Other Thoughts: The infrastructure here has some really neat elements, like the large wooden slabs used as stairs up the hill to #11, and they've done a really nice job extending teepads that needed it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    10/8/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Belmont Park seems to be a popular course and I see why, the fun factor is pretty high here. The course is semi open with large mature trees and rolling hills so there are elevation changes on many of the holes. There is a decent shot variety with a few holes forcing a turnover shot for RHBH players and the mature trees sometimes give multiple routes to throw to the basket. There is an excellent variety of hole distances ranging from the low 200's to 600 feet with most holes in the 200-350 foot range. A few of the longer holes are downhill so they can still be reached by for someone with decent distance. The course is a little on the open side, but there are enough mature trees and elevation changes to keep you thinking about every shot.

There are concrete tee pads, tee signs that list the hole distance and a practice basket by the parking lot. Navigation is pretty easy once you get started, although the walk from 11 to 12 can be a little tough your first time.
Cons: The tee signs are looking a bit faded, but still get the job done. The practice basket is in terrible condition, but it's better than nothing. The baskets are starting to show their age.

There are mature trees on every hole and no hole is completely wide open, but there is rarely trouble off the tee so bad shots are not punished. This makes getting par quite easy on every hole even with a bad first shot.

The parking lot comes into play on hole one which is a bit of a safety concern, but the rest of the course seems to be away from the surrounding roads and fences. Some of the baskets seem a bit close to other fairways in a few spots so keep an eye out for other golfers.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course that caters to a wide variety of players. Newer players will especially like that there is no underbrush so the chance of losing a disc is minimal.

I really enjoyed playing this course, traversing the holes and navigating the trees. The course is excellent for newer players. For a more advanced player, the course is a bit on the open side.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/10/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 Hole course in Dayton, very open has some long shots too for good drives. Easy to understand tees.
Cons: always older guys sitting in chairs in the parking lot, gives the park a bad mood i think, all shots are open, no wood shots, have to keep going up to the mound for a few holes. A long walk for some. Needs new and betters tee signs if you ask me.
Other Thoughts: A popular course in Dayton, this older course is love it or hate it.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course!

1    4/11/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: Discalier
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of different throws required. There's trees on most of the holes but if you throw it right, you should be able to get around them. The holes that don't have trees are mostly wide open. Most holes have info at the tees on distance and where the basket should be. Concrete tee pads.
Cons: Baskets are not great. Old, rusty, and not marked well. It's really hard to find them if you've never played here before.
Other Thoughts: There's a pro shop on hole 4 that was a house that someone bought. Pretty cool!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.