Dayton, OH 
Belmont Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #6 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 228ft.   3 / 228ft.   3 / 228ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Old school

5+    11/17/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: whatweretheythinkin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice "old school" course. Good use of land for what that is worth. A few long tees. Quick round (under 2 hours) Can't really get into trouble out there which can keep the round moving pretty good. Place to buy discs close by.
Cons: Get ready for trash!!! Every time I play here, there is trash overflowing from the cans where available. Cig butts everywhere and dog crap as well. The residents must use this as a toilet for their dogs. A lot of drinking and smoking out in the open. A number of cracked tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Although I am not opposed to drinking, but this place has a lot of carreer alkys. Always someone drinking out in the open. Not a good representation of disc golfers, but Dayton seems to not care about this(at least at this course).
I see that a lot of golfers learned to play out there and it is busy most of the time. Clean up the drinking/smoking and would play this place more.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A fun play

1    10/26/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Belmont is a very nice park style course that is well kept. The course was free of debris and the grass was nicely mowed. All of the baskets and tees are in good shape. The designers of this course really maximized all the available land and came up with a really fun course that plays up, down and through some really nice hardwoods. There is a great variety in the holes also, uphill shots, downhill rippers, flat, right turning, left turning, ace runs and bombs. Each hole requires some shot shaping around large hardwood trees and there are numerous routes available on each one. The designers or the locals have also done a good job of protecting some of the pin placements where possible. This course would be a great beginner course and still can be fun for the more experienced golfer.
Cons: As much fun as this course is the terrain really limits it from ever being a high end course.
Very busy.
Other Thoughts: I played Belmont right before a huge storm ripped through the area so we had extremely heavy wind and tornado sirens to deal with. It was still a really fun course to play and I had a great time. My friend and I were able to knock out the whole course in under an hour as all of the one disc wonders scurried for their cars due to the coming storm and we got to cruise right through the course.
I always try to mention the fun factor of courses and it might be because we had the course all to ourselves or the huge storm rolling in but rarely have I enjoyed a short, deuce or die, non wooded course as much as this. This was a great first stop on our disc golf road trip.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Park Course

1    10/10/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly park with mature trees and no underbrush. Nearly every hole uses the park's elevation in some way, with a couple fun downhill bombs and some interesting uphill shots. Most holes play through mature trees with lots of different lines, but enough trees that you have to throw accurately. There's a great variety of lengths here, from ace runs to some nice long shots where you can stretch out your arm a little.

There's a nice mix of hole shapes here, many have multiple lines but they call for a good variety of shots to score well. There is even more variety in hole length and shape if you play both sets of tees on the holes where there are two. The longs add a little more length and challenge on a few holes. The tees are good concrete pads with ok texture. There is adequate signage with hole layout and distance, and the flow of the course is really easy to follow. There wasn't much litter or graffiti, and the grass was all nicely mowed.
Cons: The course felt a little run down to me, with cracked tee pads and some rusty baskets. The signs are a little faded, and don't show the current pin position. There are some erosion issues on some of the hillier portions of the course.

This course doesn't ever punish you for a bad drive, there's no trouble off the fairways so it's always pretty easy to recover for a 3. There are some safety issues here, with fairways pretty close to one another, which is even more of an issue at a crowded popular course like this one. The first hole plays along the parking lot, I saw several discs head toward parked cars while we were there.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun park style course with some cool holes and some decent elevation. It's definitely worth a stop if you're in the area. Beginners will find this course challenging but not to the point of frustration, it's pretty open, but has enough trees to push new players to try different lines. More experienced players will have fun here, but it's not all that challenging and doesn't have enough punishment for errant shots to be a top level course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/15/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice park
-lots of rolling hills
-great basket/ tee placements
-wide variety of hole distances
-wide variety shot oppurtunities
-very well maintained
-disc golf shop at location
-fun fun fun
Cons: -can get very crowded
-looks like the parking lot could fill easily
-wouldn't say this is beginner friendly only due to the complexity of some holes
-a couple holes have a road the plays behind and disc could go ob and be ran over
Other Thoughts: played here only once on a 3 course trip to the dayton area, had a blast, for some reason though we decided to bust out a deck of revenge cards and played it here.....not a great idea having never played the course. it was still a whole lot of fun and would like to check this course out again when i'm in the area

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Unemployment League

5+    9/2/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: sickem2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy course to play in under and 2 hrs of your playing on your lunch hr. Its close to downtown. Like the consession stand at #6. Church bells are nice.
Cons: Short tee pads..or leaning tower of pisa # 13. Dont much care for the gravel pits at the end of the pad either. Large groups really slow down the flow.. Keep it under 6 please. And how about throwing just one disc.
Other Thoughts: If you can have the course to yourself, its a blast.. and bring on the wind!! Can easily play this course with 2 discs.

Wednesdays @ 6 is the belmont unemployment league.

Played it for the first time and me and my partner won.. -13

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Night Course

5+    6/1/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: treehuggr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great hills... love playing here at night.

One of the best courses in the area for beginners since a lot of the area pros practice here and are always willing to help!

No water holes - very little chances of losing your discs.
Cons: Could use a bit of course maintenance.

Golfers should practice the outdoor code of clearing your trash before you leave the park.
Other Thoughts: Good night course. Watch out for the neighbors though - they are used to discs in their back yard!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    7/27/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: TheBulch
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Elevation changes and trees make for interesting shots
- Some very long holes add challenge to the round
- Lots of good disc golfers here. This course obviously attracts the best in the Dayton area
Cons: - Crowded
- Very forgiving fairways drastically decrease the difficulty of this course. I did well while spraying shots in every direction.
- The course seems a bit beat up. The pads are busted and the baskets are rusty and have some graffiti
Other Thoughts: A good course with some good things and not a lot of bad things, but I dont know about the 4 star rating. It seems to be less interesting than many of the the 3 and 3 and a half star courses I have played. Still a must play in the Dayton area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun

5+    7/12/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 176  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice and long

concrete pads

multiple tee's
Cons: lacks in diversity

no real "tight" shots
Other Thoughts: This course is respectable.

The park is well taken care of and disc golf is king.

If you like to grip and rip, then this is the place for you. All of the holes are open enough to gun it. There are plenty of tree's, however, to keep you on your game. You still have to shape good lines on some holes.

The course has more elevation than you would think, upon first glance. There are steady rolling fairways throughout. There are roll-away greens and many valleys you need to navigate.

This is probably the most popular course in Dayton. On nice days, you will be waiting for tee's.

I know I rate this course below the average. I cannot rate a course any higher that has this little diversity. It is very open. If you have bad shots off the tee, don't worry. You can easily make it up on most holes. There is little in the risk/reward department. No need to plan your shots here...just gun and run.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

I <3 Belmont

5+    6/5/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: cali
Played: 62  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course. Been playing it for close to 8 years now and if you want to unleash the beast this is the place. You can shape about 100 different lines on every single hole from spikes to huge annys to looooooooooong rollers and everything in between. The Mach 3 baskets are well seasoned and very catchy, I rarely get putts spit out.
Cons: Shirtless high school kids who throw down on you while you're putting and vandalism. Nothing a couple black eyes and some missing teeth can't handle. People always try to address the issue of parking on hole 1. I say, park on the other side of the lot or on the street outside the park if you don't want your car hit. From most of the cars parked on the left side of the lot, I'd say getting hit by a disc is the least of their worries.
Other Thoughts: A course worth checking out but try to make it out before 2-3PM if you don't want to be waiting on a n00b train the entire round. Also a good day trip as Indian Riffle, Sycamore, Arthur O. and Sycamore are all just a hop skip and a jump away!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A gem in Dayton

5+    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mature trees, good use of elevation change, manageable distance, and very smart/challenging basket placements set this course apart from others in the area. The majority of holes have benches and trashcans that help when you need to take a break or deposit some garbage.

This course has some alternate tees and mando's that can be played to add challenge and distance to the course. Your average ADV-Open level player may need to ask about Out of Bounds rules, as well as typical tournament layouts to find this course challenging. However REC-INT players will be challenged to achieve a round under par
Cons: Several issues arise from the current layout that take away from the appeal of this course. Typically the parking lot is very crowded and it's hard to find a place to park. The first tee plays very close to the parking lot and discs find cars in that area often. Several of the current fairways and tee areas are directly in line with other fairways. Decent to poor shots have a good chance of placing other players in danger.

Additionally the majority of the tees themselves are cracked, too short, or not level. This is a major distraction during my rounds here and it's frustrating when playing. I would also recommend the course finds a way to get some better tee signs, the ones at this course are not very helpful or missing altogether.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and I had a great time playing here during several tournaments. The things I always take away from this course afterward are the many different routes or lines a player can take on each hole. It's fun when you think you found a truly clever way to park a hole.

Players who throw in the 350' range consistently will have no issue reaching many of the holes on this course. A couple take a true bomb to come anywhere close, however even holes that say they are 400'+ long play closer to 350' based on the elevation or errors in distance calculation.

In my opinion this course is very similar to Harbin Park in the Cincinnati area. It's a good course and can be a blast to play, I'm not sure I would recommend it to anyone on a road trip though. However if you are in the area or going to be traveling through this course wont disappoint.

The park itself is somewhat confusing to navigate too. However google maps gave me perfect directions directly to the correct parking lot.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.