Dayton, OH 
Belmont Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #3 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 236ft.   3 / 236ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 always my home course

5+    12/21/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 86  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 23.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good utilization
you wont lose a disc unless you leave it behind
couple of ace runs (I got #7 hehe)
18 is a cool closer
fun fair challenge
beautiful big trees and excellent sight lines
Cons: can get crowded

Other Thoughts: the stoners and guys having a couple of beers add to the ambiance
reminds me of that line by the Who
people try to put us down just because we play a round at Belmont that is

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I Have a Blast Here

5+    12/11/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I rate this course Excellent because it has a great flow to it. It feels like a walk in the park even though there are some hills to contend with. This course challenges me to stay consistent with long drives because it is mostly open. There aren't many trees to deal with, and no woods. As a new player, this course helps me to get better. If you play bad, you can't blame it on the woods, or the water, or anything else except you.
Cons: I appreciate the maturity of this course, but alot of the baskets need to be replaced and the tee signs need updated graphics.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Old school

5+    11/17/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: whatweretheythinkin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice "old school" course. Good use of land for what that is worth. A few long tees. Quick round (under 2 hours) Can't really get into trouble out there which can keep the round moving pretty good. Place to buy discs close by.
Cons: Get ready for trash!!! Every time I play here, there is trash overflowing from the cans where available. Cig butts everywhere and dog crap as well. The residents must use this as a toilet for their dogs. A lot of drinking and smoking out in the open. A number of cracked tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Although I am not opposed to drinking, but this place has a lot of carreer alkys. Always someone drinking out in the open. Not a good representation of disc golfers, but Dayton seems to not care about this(at least at this course).
I see that a lot of golfers learned to play out there and it is busy most of the time. Clean up the drinking/smoking and would play this place more.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A fun play

1    10/26/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 179  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Belmont is a very nice park style course that is well kept. The course was free of debris and the grass was nicely mowed. All of the baskets and tees are in good shape. The designers of this course really maximized all the available land and came up with a really fun course that plays up, down and through some really nice hardwoods. There is a great variety in the holes also, uphill shots, downhill rippers, flat, right turning, left turning, ace runs and bombs. Each hole requires some shot shaping around large hardwood trees and there are numerous routes available on each one. The designers or the locals have also done a good job of protecting some of the pin placements where possible. This course would be a great beginner course and still can be fun for the more experienced golfer.
Cons: As much fun as this course is the terrain really limits it from ever being a high end course.
Very busy.
Other Thoughts: I played Belmont right before a huge storm ripped through the area so we had extremely heavy wind and tornado sirens to deal with. It was still a really fun course to play and I had a great time. My friend and I were able to knock out the whole course in under an hour as all of the one disc wonders scurried for their cars due to the coming storm and we got to cruise right through the course.
I always try to mention the fun factor of courses and it might be because we had the course all to ourselves or the huge storm rolling in but rarely have I enjoyed a short, deuce or die, non wooded course as much as this. This was a great first stop on our disc golf road trip.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Park Course

1    10/10/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly park with mature trees and no underbrush. Nearly every hole uses the park's elevation in some way, with a couple fun downhill bombs and some interesting uphill shots. Most holes play through mature trees with lots of different lines, but enough trees that you have to throw accurately. There's a great variety of lengths here, from ace runs to some nice long shots where you can stretch out your arm a little.

There's a nice mix of hole shapes here, many have multiple lines but they call for a good variety of shots to score well. There is even more variety in hole length and shape if you play both sets of tees on the holes where there are two. The longs add a little more length and challenge on a few holes. The tees are good concrete pads with ok texture. There is adequate signage with hole layout and distance, and the flow of the course is really easy to follow. There wasn't much litter or graffiti, and the grass was all nicely mowed.
Cons: The course felt a little run down to me, with cracked tee pads and some rusty baskets. The signs are a little faded, and don't show the current pin position. There are some erosion issues on some of the hillier portions of the course.

This course doesn't ever punish you for a bad drive, there's no trouble off the fairways so it's always pretty easy to recover for a 3. There are some safety issues here, with fairways pretty close to one another, which is even more of an issue at a crowded popular course like this one. The first hole plays along the parking lot, I saw several discs head toward parked cars while we were there.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun park style course with some cool holes and some decent elevation. It's definitely worth a stop if you're in the area. Beginners will find this course challenging but not to the point of frustration, it's pretty open, but has enough trees to push new players to try different lines. More experienced players will have fun here, but it's not all that challenging and doesn't have enough punishment for errant shots to be a top level course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    9/15/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice park
-lots of rolling hills
-great basket/ tee placements
-wide variety of hole distances
-wide variety shot oppurtunities
-very well maintained
-disc golf shop at location
-fun fun fun
Cons: -can get very crowded
-looks like the parking lot could fill easily
-wouldn't say this is beginner friendly only due to the complexity of some holes
-a couple holes have a road the plays behind and disc could go ob and be ran over
Other Thoughts: played here only once on a 3 course trip to the dayton area, had a blast, for some reason though we decided to bust out a deck of revenge cards and played it here.....not a great idea having never played the course. it was still a whole lot of fun and would like to check this course out again when i'm in the area

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Unemployment League

5+    9/2/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: sickem2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy course to play in under and 2 hrs of your playing on your lunch hr. Its close to downtown. Like the consession stand at #6. Church bells are nice.
Cons: Short tee pads..or leaning tower of pisa # 13. Dont much care for the gravel pits at the end of the pad either. Large groups really slow down the flow.. Keep it under 6 please. And how about throwing just one disc.
Other Thoughts: If you can have the course to yourself, its a blast.. and bring on the wind!! Can easily play this course with 2 discs.

Wednesdays @ 6 is the belmont unemployment league.

Played it for the first time and me and my partner won.. -13

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Night Course

5+    6/1/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: treehuggr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great hills... love playing here at night.

One of the best courses in the area for beginners since a lot of the area pros practice here and are always willing to help!

No water holes - very little chances of losing your discs.
Cons: Could use a bit of course maintenance.

Golfers should practice the outdoor code of clearing your trash before you leave the park.
Other Thoughts: Good night course. Watch out for the neighbors though - they are used to discs in their back yard!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    7/27/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: TheBulch
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Elevation changes and trees make for interesting shots
- Some very long holes add challenge to the round
- Lots of good disc golfers here. This course obviously attracts the best in the Dayton area
Cons: - Crowded
- Very forgiving fairways drastically decrease the difficulty of this course. I did well while spraying shots in every direction.
- The course seems a bit beat up. The pads are busted and the baskets are rusty and have some graffiti
Other Thoughts: A good course with some good things and not a lot of bad things, but I dont know about the 4 star rating. It seems to be less interesting than many of the the 3 and 3 and a half star courses I have played. Still a must play in the Dayton area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/12/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 185  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 27.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice and long

concrete pads

multiple tee's
Cons: lacks in diversity

no real "tight" shots
Other Thoughts: This course is respectable.

The park is well taken care of and disc golf is king.

If you like to grip and rip, then this is the place for you. All of the holes are open enough to gun it. There are plenty of tree's, however, to keep you on your game. You still have to shape good lines on some holes.

The course has more elevation than you would think, upon first glance. There are steady rolling fairways throughout. There are roll-away greens and many valleys you need to navigate.

This is probably the most popular course in Dayton. On nice days, you will be waiting for tee's.

I know I rate this course below the average. I cannot rate a course any higher that has this little diversity. It is very open. If you have bad shots off the tee, don't worry. You can easily make it up on most holes. There is little in the risk/reward department. No need to plan your shots here...just gun and run.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.