Dayton, OH 
Belmont Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #16 (Taken 3/2011)
5 / 607ft.   5 / 607ft.   4 / 607ft.   4 / 607ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice course - but crowded

2-4    3/19/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: Smithcok
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great change of scenery for players that are used to courses with tight, tree-lined fairways. Most holes are wide open in a field with a few trees in the way. Nice changes in elevation (some holes are down, some are up, some are thrown over a big "gully").

One hole in particular (16 I think) is a high tee throwing into a wide open field. This is a great hole for people with big distance.

Ample parking.
Cons: Currently missing the pin for hole 18 (talked to some regulars, they said it was damaged and is being replaced soon).

Even on weekdays, the course got pretty crowded. There were a lot of people yelling, and plenty were throwing cigarette butts all over the place. Also there were some vandalism problems.

Sometimes its hard to tell where the tees/pins are. There are nice signs at each tee showing the pin placements, but no indication of which placement is currently active.

Lots of people bring their dogs apparently (which is great), but not all seem to pick up dog doo (which is not great).
Other Thoughts: Really a nice course - could be better if people took care of it a little more.

Watch for big crowds!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: Elksrunner17
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love this course! Very different holes. Some long, some short, some open, some technical, both left and right fade shots. This is also my home town course. Just got new hole signs which is great! Good tee pads and directions, hard to get lost. perfect place for a beginner.
Cons: Crowded because its so good.
Other Thoughts: Check it out. You won't be disappointed.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    6/9/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: DiscGolfer11
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Variety, some holes down hill some holes up hill. Diffrent pars, most ly par 4's. Most signs are intact and well made. Concrete pads, not a hard walk. Alternating goals, so the course changes up once or twice a year. Hazy Shade disc store nearby, which has a great selection of discs. Soccer field to practice (if no ones playing on it) Park is well maintained.
Cons: Some signs are down, some holes take a little work to find, but dayton disc golf has a map online for first timers. Slightly congested, but not bad on weekdays or early on weekends. Goals are old and a little rusty (but stil fine)
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course, always fun to play with friends.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Belmont Rocs

2-4    4/19/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: hilega
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting holes an terrain. Good mix of trees, hills up and down, left-hand, right-hand shots, some open holes and some pretty good distance holes including a 607-footer. ~11 holes longer than 300ft.
Cons: Some missing signs, a few confusing walks between tees (just print a map up and bring it) for first timers, I played the wrong basket a couple of times (hole 5, and maybe 12 - didn't see basket up agains rightside tree line), but some locals helped me, so I could replay (guess that is a pro), baskets are pretty old. Very busy on a Saturday afternoon. Quite a bit of erosion around some of the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Great course, plays in about 1:15 with 1-2 people in your group. Start at 10:00am or before on the weekends and you will have a pretty empty course. No real dog-leg holes. Speak of dogs, a lot of people play with their dogs in tow (I am new to the sport and I don't know the etiquette - probably course specific - is this cool or not?). Stop by the Hazy Shade for a huge selection of discs and chat up the employees for tips and suggestions.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Dayton City Course

5+    12/20/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course in old wooded area. Easy to follow. Challenging pin placements make running for long deuces risky. Variety of distances to please all arms. Uphill and downhill shots with rolling opportunities. Wind can be a factor. No thick rough. Course is heavily played, so if you don't know the track, you can join a group that does.
Cons: Plays close to some residential yards. Minor vandalism.
Other Thoughts: Hidden behind a residential area in Dayton. Once you're done with your round, head over to Hazy Shade and pick up some plastic.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

5+    9/18/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Good Mix of Shot Types
Nice Mix of Distances
Great Use of Elevation
Mature Trees Add Challenge
Locals Are Friendly and Helpful
Benches and Trash Cans Throughout
Beautiful Park Setting
Very Well-Maintained
Course Map Near First Tee
Plenty of Large Shade Trees
Cons:
Parking Lot is Small
Can Get Crowded
No Restrooms
Off Throws Can Land in Fenced Yards
Other Thoughts:
This is one of my favorite courses to play in Ohio. It has a beautiful setting with rolling hills and mature trees. They make great use of the elevation changes which is challenging and a lot of fun. My favorite hole is #9, you tee off a top a hill, basket is located across a little valley with the basket on top of the other side.

Course is always clean and grass is always cut. There are a few trash cans throughout the course, and it has always been litter free when I have played, so please be sure to throw your trash away. While the course can get very crowded most the people I have encountered are true golfers, friendly, helpful, and respectful, they way every course should be.

The course is fairly easy to navigate, however there can be a couple spots that are tricky. There is a map available online and there is also a large map near the first tee, so you should have no problem navigating if you have these.

The course has great variety. There are a mix of left to right and also straight shots. The are also a great mix of up hill and down hill shots which can add challenge to even some of the shorter holes. While the course is fairly open there are also some large mature trees that create obstacles and add even more challenge and beauty to the course as well.

The course can get very crowded on evening and weekends, so if you like to avoid the crowds as much as possible you will want to visit during the day. If crowds don't really bother you visit whenever you can. Some courses I like to avoid the crowds on, but most of the people I have talked to here were very friendly and respectful, true dg-ers on this course. I would recommend this course to anyone in the area, if you only have time for one course in the area this is it.

The park itself can be a little hard to get to, the entrance to the course is off of Highridge Ave. at the intersection of Lynhurst Ave. As I stated there is a bulletin board/map near the first tee, so just look for that near the back of the parking lot.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Neighborhood Course

1    10/29/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: Nivek9
Played: 117  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice legacy course. This course has been around and it shows, from the crowd of diehards hanging out on an Autumn Wednesday afternoon to the obvious age of the baskets and signage. I felt like I was throwing Dayton's answer to KCs Swope Park course only in a nicer neighborhood.
Cons: Some signs were missing causing me to doubt whether I was throwing at the right basket but I did choose right throughout.
Other Thoughts: If I lived in the area I would be happy to call this my home course. There was a pro-shop next to #3 basket but it wasn't open at the time. This seems like a great place to hang out. Visit, you'll be glad you did. I was on a tight schedule and was still able to hang out around the bed of a pickup with some locals and shoot the breeze for a few. Disc golf love lives here.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Belmonte

5+    10/21/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: xs9095
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: rolling hills and very natural, not CUT-OUT like some courses. concrete pads+ optional pin placements. Everyone ive met has been very friendly,and cool :)
Cons: Due to the courses popularity,it tends to get very crowded sometimes.
Other Thoughts: I wish they would move the goals around at some time...at this point its only 2 times a year,as far as i know. this is my local course... :) KEEP IT CLEAN!!!!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 True Dayton

5+    6/15/2008   8/15/2008
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to follow layout...significant elevation changes...moderate challenge. The best thing about this course is the people who play there. True Dayton, OH disc golfers frequent this course and they are always friendly, never ornery (or as they say in Dayton..."awwww-nry").
Cons: Some of the holes can get muddy in the rain. There are no official water hazards (another drawback), but you might feel like there are when the bog-like conditions develop.
Other Thoughts: Stop by Belmont for a fun, hassle-free round in the heart of the D.Y.T. (Dayton)!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/15/2008   8/15/2008
Review By: volleyballnick
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course, reasonably open but enough trees to be a challenge at times, nice park.
Cons: The holes are a little hard to find at times and some of the signs are missing.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure why, but playing this course was the most fun I've had disc golfing in a while. Probably not the place to go if you're looking for a major challenge, but a great place to work on shots or just play a relaxing round.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.