Fort Smith, AR 
Ben Geren Park - North Share
Uploaded By: ixcptmorganxi Hole #14
3 / 374ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Worth the Drive

2-4    11/2/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: MaxJal
Played: 58  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes are reachable on drive. Good and technical with plenty of trees.
Finished the course in 1 hr, 15 min.
Nicely manicured
Not a busy course for us playing on a Saturday.
Cons: Wished I knew to roll hole 14 and needed more beer.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good variety, and peaceful

1    3/19/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a quick playing, clean, and secluded course. This course makes you work on a variety of shots and has water threat as well.
Here are my observations of this course:

#1 Open shot, pin is nestled between trees
#2 Short 233 ft hole, ACE Run potential
#3 This hole was really neat. Has several trees right off the box to work around. You have both hyzer and anhyzer lines.
#4 Aim straight because you have a low canopy on your approach.
#5 Straight shot for the most part, cross the road to #6
#6 Short drive
#7 Gonna have to hit your mark from about 100-150 in
#8 Tunnel shot
**Be aware there is a creek to the left of #7 and #8**
#9 Has both a lefty and righty path but you must be accurate. Be aware of a long putt rolling down hill into the run off stream.
#10 For RHBH a hyzer shot around the tree will do nicely
#11 A good placed drive should set you up for a good score here.
#12 A tomahawk shot would work great if the pin is in the short position. A creek is on the far left hand side.
#13 Tee off across the creek. Trees just on the other side of the creek to contend with. Has a stone walking path thru the creek, when the water is low, to save you having to cross the bridge.
#14 Trees protecting the basket on both sides, more so on the left. A bad tee shot on this hole will be punished on the right hand side. Heavy woods and a creek on the right. Getting up and down from there is very difficult, speaking from experience here.
#15 From 14's basket head across the road to #15 tee box. You again have a small window here. The creek is well past the basket, along with thick trees, so don't overshoot on this one.
#16 You have to cross the bridge from 15's basket. Dog leg left with protected pin.
#17 You need a good straight drive that will fade left, RHBH. Basket is out towards the road. This hole plays dog leg left.
#18 When the basket is in the 325 position, you'll need a straight drive toward the big tree on the hill. After you get to the opening, the basket is towards the creek on the right. A well placed 1st shot, and then hitting the gap, will increase your chances on this hole.

Overall this is a good course with all the skills being tested. There are water hazards and there is also open areas as well. Accuracy will be tested here, but not to the point where you will give up and go home.
Cons: #14 and #17 tee markers are missing. There weren't many trashcans(however, virtually no litter). Ground will get spongey after a good rain.
Upon my visit the rough needed to be mowed, however it is tough to do this when the ground is wet, so.
Other Thoughts: This course flows logically, and can be played front 9 or back 9 only if you so desire. There are other things to do in the park, such as playgrounds, ball golf, mini golf, and other activities. If you take your family with you, there would be things for them to do if they weren't into disc golf.
I would like to see a map of this course under the links/file section. As an out of towner it would be helpful, however the course is well laid out. Personally I enjoyed this course. It challenged my thinking and wasn't just bombs away, or pitch and putt. There are walking paths from baskets to tee pads, so navigation shouldn't be troublesome for a 1st timer.
If I'm ever in the area again I will play this course again. It is secluded and peaceful, which its cross town counterpart is not.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Round

1    4/22/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: Sandman01
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Flow was good. I like the rocks by most of the tee boxes. Clean park. More trash cans would be nice. Friendly locals.
Cons: This park gets a lot of disc golfers (a pro as well) but parking seems to be limited.

Not a real con but first couple tee pads I threw from I stepped off end edge. Seems to be a little higher then I am used to but a little adjustment to my run up and all was good. First course I played in Arkansas so was hoping for elevation but park seems to be pretty flat. Not the most challenging but fun all the same.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this park and would recamend if in the Fort Smith area. Always a plus when you beat a local at his home course :-).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fort Smith's Favorite

2-4    2/3/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: dustincade
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, Multi pin, friendly locals, beginner friendly, Wide open on most holes, good signs,
Cons: Flat and muddy (I know it's been said in every review), no simple pathways across ditches and streams, trash on course (i know that's players, but a few more trash cans would be nice, could use a restroom/ concession stand, limited parking.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. It was the first I played, and I enjoy it a lot. Most holes, I don't have to think much about my shots, I just grip and rip. There are a few places to be really careful, but not many. Experienced players can play many shots w/o much fear of disaster, and beginners have room to learn w/o being too frustrated. Go play this course! Don't litter! Have a great time!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Basic Course

5+    4/20/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: EvansD
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: This is a very fun, if casual course. I was able to take my 3-year-old with me and take my time (letting other people pass as needed) with no worries as far as sheer drops or overgrown vegetation.

I have played this course many times, and it offers challenging as well as vanilla holes. The fact that the city guys maintain the course so well goes a long way. They also alternate each basket within two locations (I think to avoid too much dead grass for all the traffic) which makes for very different approaches to each hole.

Always a staple, will go again many times. Great course.
Cons: As the other reviews mention, this is a flat one (with minor exceptions). Most of the holes are very similar, but a few offer real challenges.

It would be nice to have some sort of water fountains (or even freakin bottled water machines)
Other Thoughts: Also offers some nice secluded areas for... well, you know...

 decent course, def. worth taking a look

2-4    1/12/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: C-rad22
Played: 54  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signs provided path to basket and next tee pads. Absolutely worth taking a look if in town. Im from Texas, where in fact, the holes are bigger and longer. So I had to stop by and I am used to the holes 350+
Cons: Very flat. Hardly any elevation changes and if you keep it low, its possible to birdie many holes. Thats not to say some are short though. TWO TRASH CANS!!!
Other Thoughts: Halfway through my first round a guy was going through and changing the baskets, so I got a few different views/throws at some of the holes. Just stopping through town and played it 2 different days/ 5 rounds.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 open to opions

1    12/20/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: dirtydmix
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: I enjoyed seeing a different type of throw on each hole. This place was really pretty. I think they water can get up on the creek, but it wasn't when i was there.

Meet 2 really friendly players there. Seems like its not a course where rift raft comes.
Cons: Would be diff to know exactly where to go since you have to cross a major road three times. however i don't think that there is much traffic down that road.

no where to pee.

very muddy and had to cross some ditches with mucky water in em.
Other Thoughts: i think this course would become very difficult if it were windy because it is so open.

If a guy holding 4 discs and two towels offers to play you for $$ dont do it. :)

 nice course

5+    11/1/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: underpar24
Played: 118  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: concert pads. a little water. partly open partly in trees. good combination. monster hole 18
Cons: a little too flat, but they did the best possible with the terrain.
Other Thoughts: bring some water it gets hot out there.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/27/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 38.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alternate Pins,Concrete Pads,Good Signs,Play the front or back from the parking lot(The best way to set up a course)
Cons: Yeah it's flat and water will stand.Bugs and Ivy are addressed several times a year.(We ARE in Arkansas)Contact Judge Hudson or the Parks Dept office to keep em on their toes.Oh yeah NO REST ROOMS yet,Parking is gettin tight as well.
Other Thoughts: I am proud to have been involved with this course and it's design.Contact me at tommypitchfordjr@yahoo.com for course design info and any ideas you might have for the future of this course.We've been ready to add another 9 holes for some time now,I've actually laid it out.This will add REST ROOMS and better parking as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, short course

1    11/2/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: Purple Dog
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads are always nice, and this course also has good signs. The grass was well mowed and it's an easy course to find.
Cons: It was a little over crowded. It's also a little short. Several holes looked very similar, short with lots of small trees to weave through. The entire course is flat as a pancake.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a good course and definitely worth playing. Beginners will probably find it more appealing than more experienced players.

There was one guy that was just running through the course. He would throw the disc, run to it, throw it again, etc. Basically, he disrupted play on the entire course. If you want to go jogging, fine. Just don't do it on the golf course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.