Disc Golf Store
Fort Smith, AR 
Ben Geren Park - North Share
Uploaded By: ixcptmorganxi Hole #14
3 / 374ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Worth the Drive

2-4    11/2/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: MaxJal
Played: 58  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes are reachable on drive. Good and technical with plenty of trees.
Finished the course in 1 hr, 15 min.
Nicely manicured
Not a busy course for us playing on a Saturday.
Cons: Wished I knew to roll hole 14 and needed more beer.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It's a decent round of disc golf,

1    6/11/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: Dan H.
Played: 80  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent amount of hole variety: right/left dog-legs. pretty good amount of trees and a few open holes.

Easy for beginners. I played it on the shorter setting and it was very short. Lots of birdie holes for an advanced player.

some water hazard.

alternate basket positions is cool.

most of the signs were in decent condition.

good tees/baskets

not much litter.

well maintained
Cons: Very flat.

probably too short. Although when I played most of the holes seemed to be on the shorter setting. It just didn't seem challenging.

No benches to sit on. There were big rocks at every hole but they were close to the front of the tee which would distract your friends while they were teeing off if you were sitting there.

no trash cans.

Other Thoughts: This course could use some longer holes and some benches. Elevation change makes a course much more interestin and this course has almost none. It's not a bad course, but it's not great either.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good variety, and peaceful

1    3/19/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a quick playing, clean, and secluded course. This course makes you work on a variety of shots and has water threat as well.
Here are my observations of this course:

#1 Open shot, pin is nestled between trees
#2 Short 233 ft hole, ACE Run potential
#3 This hole was really neat. Has several trees right off the box to work around. You have both hyzer and anhyzer lines.
#4 Aim straight because you have a low canopy on your approach.
#5 Straight shot for the most part, cross the road to #6
#6 Short drive
#7 Gonna have to hit your mark from about 100-150 in
#8 Tunnel shot
**Be aware there is a creek to the left of #7 and #8**
#9 Has both a lefty and righty path but you must be accurate. Be aware of a long putt rolling down hill into the run off stream.
#10 For RHBH a hyzer shot around the tree will do nicely
#11 A good placed drive should set you up for a good score here.
#12 A tomahawk shot would work great if the pin is in the short position. A creek is on the far left hand side.
#13 Tee off across the creek. Trees just on the other side of the creek to contend with. Has a stone walking path thru the creek, when the water is low, to save you having to cross the bridge.
#14 Trees protecting the basket on both sides, more so on the left. A bad tee shot on this hole will be punished on the right hand side. Heavy woods and a creek on the right. Getting up and down from there is very difficult, speaking from experience here.
#15 From 14's basket head across the road to #15 tee box. You again have a small window here. The creek is well past the basket, along with thick trees, so don't overshoot on this one.
#16 You have to cross the bridge from 15's basket. Dog leg left with protected pin.
#17 You need a good straight drive that will fade left, RHBH. Basket is out towards the road. This hole plays dog leg left.
#18 When the basket is in the 325 position, you'll need a straight drive toward the big tree on the hill. After you get to the opening, the basket is towards the creek on the right. A well placed 1st shot, and then hitting the gap, will increase your chances on this hole.

Overall this is a good course with all the skills being tested. There are water hazards and there is also open areas as well. Accuracy will be tested here, but not to the point where you will give up and go home.
Cons: #14 and #17 tee markers are missing. There weren't many trashcans(however, virtually no litter). Ground will get spongey after a good rain.
Upon my visit the rough needed to be mowed, however it is tough to do this when the ground is wet, so.
Other Thoughts: This course flows logically, and can be played front 9 or back 9 only if you so desire. There are other things to do in the park, such as playgrounds, ball golf, mini golf, and other activities. If you take your family with you, there would be things for them to do if they weren't into disc golf.
I would like to see a map of this course under the links/file section. As an out of towner it would be helpful, however the course is well laid out. Personally I enjoyed this course. It challenged my thinking and wasn't just bombs away, or pitch and putt. There are walking paths from baskets to tee pads, so navigation shouldn't be troublesome for a 1st timer.
If I'm ever in the area again I will play this course again. It is secluded and peaceful, which its cross town counterpart is not.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Terrific Course

1    10/31/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: Zfreeman43
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout, Challenging, some holes have a good chance for ace if put at the right spot, they move the baskets every month between point a and point b, signs have distance for a and b and are detailed, nice course over all
Cons: flat and short holes, need more longer holes
Other Thoughts: great course will play again if in the area

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the hour drive!

1    10/31/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice and maintained! Holes were clearly marked and laid out well. Tee pads were good, and signs were very helpful. I like the rocks at every hole to place nags on or sit.
Cons: None really. I cant really complain. Maybe cut the grass a little more often if anything.
Other Thoughts: Very nice, should be rated higher in the ratings for the state! Will go back again for sure.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Round

1    4/22/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: Sandman01
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Flow was good. I like the rocks by most of the tee boxes. Clean park. More trash cans would be nice. Friendly locals.
Cons: This park gets a lot of disc golfers (a pro as well) but parking seems to be limited.

Not a real con but first couple tee pads I threw from I stepped off end edge. Seems to be a little higher then I am used to but a little adjustment to my run up and all was good. First course I played in Arkansas so was hoping for elevation but park seems to be pretty flat. Not the most challenging but fun all the same.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this park and would recamend if in the Fort Smith area. Always a plus when you beat a local at his home course :-).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fort Smith's Favorite

2-4    2/3/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: dustincade
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, Multi pin, friendly locals, beginner friendly, Wide open on most holes, good signs,
Cons: Flat and muddy (I know it's been said in every review), no simple pathways across ditches and streams, trash on course (i know that's players, but a few more trash cans would be nice, could use a restroom/ concession stand, limited parking.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. It was the first I played, and I enjoy it a lot. Most holes, I don't have to think much about my shots, I just grip and rip. There are a few places to be really careful, but not many. Experienced players can play many shots w/o much fear of disaster, and beginners have room to learn w/o being too frustrated. Go play this course! Don't litter! Have a great time!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/6/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: WillG
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros: Very nice well laid out course.. This was the first course I played at and have loved it since then. Dual pin positions are great, concrete tee pads, well kept. This course will help some players with there distances due to some long holes.
Cons: When it rains you may as well be prepared to dodge puddles and insects cause this course is bad about standing water. Sometimes parking can be a pain.. You have joggers, disc golfers, bikers and etc.. that park in a lot that might be big enough for 15-20 cars and it fills up very quick.
Other Thoughts: Add more parking, of course better drainage somehow would be awesome.

I was told years ago they were in the process of adding additional holes to this course and had a layout already planned and Pitchford commented on it as well here, but since then I have yet to see anything. This is a great area and more holes would be nice!

 Big arms welcome

1    6/27/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: jeffm516
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great for long shots. They even have two pin for most holes. Most of the short shots are technical. The layout is done well it flows nicely, no problem finding your way around. Maintained very well trees are trimed and grass is cut with reason.
Cons: Very flat can flood from time to time. some big distance on some of the holes so it can be hard for amateurs and even Rec players to get par
Other Thoughts: Love the course over all. If you have any question please send me a message or jump on NWADGC.com for more information.

BE A POSITIVE REVIEWER :)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 a little bit of everything

5+    6/1/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: kevinj
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You have the wooded holes the open holes and then you have everything in between.

concrete teepads.
teesigns.
easy to navigate.
and best of all....multiple pins!!!
discatchers!
Cons: Flat flat flat out here there is a ton of standing water.
some of the baskets are crooked where you can literaly slip the discs out of the bottom without touching metal
no bathrooms
Other Thoughts: You have the option to play only the front nine or the back nine....or of course both.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center