Disc Golf Store
Fort Smith, AR 
Ben Geren Park - North Share
Uploaded By: ixcptmorganxi Hole #2
3 / 297ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Excellent Basic Course

5+    4/20/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: EvansD
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: This is a very fun, if casual course. I was able to take my 3-year-old with me and take my time (letting other people pass as needed) with no worries as far as sheer drops or overgrown vegetation.

I have played this course many times, and it offers challenging as well as vanilla holes. The fact that the city guys maintain the course so well goes a long way. They also alternate each basket within two locations (I think to avoid too much dead grass for all the traffic) which makes for very different approaches to each hole.

Always a staple, will go again many times. Great course.
Cons: As the other reviews mention, this is a flat one (with minor exceptions). Most of the holes are very similar, but a few offer real challenges.

It would be nice to have some sort of water fountains (or even freakin bottled water machines)
Other Thoughts: Also offers some nice secluded areas for... well, you know...

 decent course, def. worth taking a look

2-4    1/12/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: C-rad22
Played: 64  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signs provided path to basket and next tee pads. Absolutely worth taking a look if in town. Im from Texas, where in fact, the holes are bigger and longer. So I had to stop by and I am used to the holes 350+
Cons: Very flat. Hardly any elevation changes and if you keep it low, its possible to birdie many holes. Thats not to say some are short though. TWO TRASH CANS!!!
Other Thoughts: Halfway through my first round a guy was going through and changing the baskets, so I got a few different views/throws at some of the holes. Just stopping through town and played it 2 different days/ 5 rounds.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 open to opions

1    12/20/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: dirtydmix
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: I enjoyed seeing a different type of throw on each hole. This place was really pretty. I think they water can get up on the creek, but it wasn't when i was there.

Meet 2 really friendly players there. Seems like its not a course where rift raft comes.
Cons: Would be diff to know exactly where to go since you have to cross a major road three times. however i don't think that there is much traffic down that road.

no where to pee.

very muddy and had to cross some ditches with mucky water in em.
Other Thoughts: i think this course would become very difficult if it were windy because it is so open.

If a guy holding 4 discs and two towels offers to play you for $$ dont do it. :)

 Wish I could Move it to Fayetteville

5+    8/7/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: Mayo
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.7 Years
Pros: Great teepads, signage, baskets, trashcans. There are boulders at every hole that can be used as benches or to put your bag on. Multiple pin placements. Well maintained. Can vary in difficulty depending on pin placement.
Cons: Not much elevation to be had. No restrooms/water fountains. Can flood.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to bring water because there are no facilities nearby. Easily one of the best courses in the state.

 Pretty Damn Good

1    4/16/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: mcduffiejc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well this course definitely changed my mind after playing it. I am originally from Colorado and I ended up going out to Arkansas to see some of my family and so have it I just happened to find a disc golf course close by and of course I had to play it.

This course is great!
1. First off there were signs directing you to the disc golf parking area right as you enter the park.
2. Concrete tee pads for each hole.
3. Signs giving description of each hole.
4. Every type of hole you could ask for (water, distance, short ace hole, trees, hyzer, anhyzers, overhand, etc).
5. Course design is awesome!
Cons: Honestly the only cons I found was that a few holes could have had better placements but still the placements were good. Also it had rained about a week before and there was still a few crazy mud holes but that only made the shots more interesting.
Other Thoughts: The course is setup in a figure 8 design. The parking lot sets you up to start off at hole 1 and the course does a full loop and makes hole 9 end up back at the parking lot where you started. Then the other half of the figure 8 starts with hole 10 and loops out and back to the parking lot also ending at 18. The course has a great setup incase you only want to play the front or back 9, it only makes you go in a circle. If you want to do the whole course you can do the figure 8 and you end up back at the car. The other great thing is that you can pack a cooler up in the car, lock it up, and pick up some fresh water after hole 9. One of the best courses ever played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

5+    11/1/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: underpar24
Played: 118  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: concert pads. a little water. partly open partly in trees. good combination. monster hole 18
Cons: a little too flat, but they did the best possible with the terrain.
Other Thoughts: bring some water it gets hot out there.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ben geren

5+    4/12/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: silverbullet
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome course! Concrete pads with signs. you meet a ton of great people at this course.
Cons: the course is completely flat almost but it still has some great shots.
Other Thoughts: Parking can be a pain on busy days and there are no bathrooms

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/27/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 38.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alternate Pins,Concrete Pads,Good Signs,Play the front or back from the parking lot(The best way to set up a course)
Cons: Yeah it's flat and water will stand.Bugs and Ivy are addressed several times a year.(We ARE in Arkansas)Contact Judge Hudson or the Parks Dept office to keep em on their toes.Oh yeah NO REST ROOMS yet,Parking is gettin tight as well.
Other Thoughts: I am proud to have been involved with this course and it's design.Contact me at tommypitchfordjr@yahoo.com for course design info and any ideas you might have for the future of this course.We've been ready to add another 9 holes for some time now,I've actually laid it out.This will add REST ROOMS and better parking as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, short course

1    11/2/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: Purple Dog
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads are always nice, and this course also has good signs. The grass was well mowed and it's an easy course to find.
Cons: It was a little over crowded. It's also a little short. Several holes looked very similar, short with lots of small trees to weave through. The entire course is flat as a pancake.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a good course and definitely worth playing. Beginners will probably find it more appealing than more experienced players.

There was one guy that was just running through the course. He would throw the disc, run to it, throw it again, etc. Basically, he disrupted play on the entire course. If you want to go jogging, fine. Just don't do it on the golf course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A favorite

5+    10/9/2008   10/9/2008
Review By: ajbridg
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two different tee positions
Concrete tee pads
GREAT signage
Diverse and difficult shots
Cons: lots of bugs/poison ivy/other irritants in the summer
After rain... forget it.
Other Thoughts: I wish I started disc golf earlier so I could play this one more growing up. Great course. Good for beginners and seasoned players alike

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.