Corbett, OR 
Benson State Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #5
3 / 157ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Only if convenient

1    5/25/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: Skeeterdonk
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.1 Years
Pros: As a beginner, this course was easy to get pars on. I enjoyed this as it was nice to hit a tree off the tee box and still end up with a decent chance at par. I usually don't keep score but this course gave me the first birdie that I know of.

Every hole is a potential birdie for a beginner unless you hit a tree. There are just enough trees to present a challenge and make this interesting.

Quick play. Not a lot of people playing when we were there. This let us throw multiple discs and still finish in record time.

Close to Rooster Rock. If you play the west course at Rooster Rock I suggest you head here next. You already paid $5 there and the receipt is good for all parks that day. Why not hit this one too.

If there was ever a course that didn't need tee box maps, this is it. There is a map at #1 and the baskets are marked. We didn't need any other direction besides the map
Cons: $5 entrance fee. Good course but if I am only going to play 9 holes I wont pay $5 for this one.

was sorta bored by #9. Even as a beginner I wanted more of a challenge here. They did great with what they had to work with but I will only return if I am passing by to play another course. The course was very short.

Congestion: In the summer I can see this being a difficult course. There are a lot of picninc/bbq areas along part of the course and I can see families playing around the tee boxes and baskets while you are playing
Other Thoughts: Conditions: Partly sunny day with no wind and not really any people.

If you paid $5 to golf here I suggest you head to Rooster Rock and throw the west 9.

good for family

5+    4/13/2014   4/13/2014
Review By: timbott
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is good with younger players who are limited by throw length from really enjoying the game. My son can flick an accurate 150 ft, so he was really inspired to be shooting at birdies . Once he got tired out, I was able to set him on a bench in middle of the park and see him while I played out another three rounds.
Cons: Very short. I would bang a tree right off the drive, and still find myself trying to make a long putt. It is also supposed to be a five dollar pay to park (I kept a close watch on my car and got away with a freebie).
Other Thoughts: Probably also good for taking noobs, or hosting an ace race.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun little course

5+    11/7/2012   11/16/2012
Review By: hukdiscs
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to follow design
Not crowded
Scenic area
Good for mid range & ace shots
In the vicinity of other fun courses
Can be more challenging on gusty days
Cons: Very short, fastest I played solo was under 10 minutes
No pads or tee signs
No trash cans
Other Thoughts: Fun to play, worth a try if passing thru
Good for introducing beginners to the sport
When I finished the course in 8 minutes it was with one disc running from shot to shot, normal play time would probably be more like 20+ minutes for a group
It's fun enough and a good course for practice

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Piss Break Ego Boost

5+    11/10/2011   1/16/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 34.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A few holes have been changed since fall 2011 to improve the course and eliminate conflicts with other users. #8 no longer throws over the bridge across the creek. This is another one of those good beginner courses that experienced players are likely to use only if they stop to stretch and pee. Makes for decent long-putt practice or ace shots. You might use a roller or skip on # 1. Shady and cool on a hot summer-driving day. In fact, when its leafed out, you almost want some artificial illumination. Also a good place to stop for a lunch break, or some light fishing at the small adjoining lake. And Multnomah Falls is 3/4 mile away, so theoretically you could have the family drop you off, play 2 rounds and then walk the train tracks down to the falls...
Cons: $5 fee or state park yearly pass, but its rarely crowded and only takes 20 min. to poach. I-84 is 50 yds away and always noisy. Rest of park is busy in summer.
Other Thoughts: As above, its OK if you needed to stop for a driving break anyways. Not really a discing destination, so better to stop at Rooster West unless you've got newbs/children who want to have a successful round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rest Area Disc Golf

1    4/8/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Benson State Park is more like a rest area on the side of the road than a State Park, there is access to it only going east on I-84 and it's only a small parking lot, bathrooms, some benches and a very short disc golf course. This is the type of place you stop at while on a family vacation and everyone needs a rest from sitting in the car so you go have a picnic and play some disc golf. Aside from all of that you have wonderful scenery in the beautiful mountains in the background and the Multnomah Waterfalls.

The best holes on the course - Holes one, two and eight were pretty fun and almost worth the $5 to park and play. Hole one is a very low ceiling shot with lots of tree and bush obstacles to the longest basket on the course, right at about 300 feet, definitely the hardest hole on the course, very challenging. Hole two is a short (100 feet) tunnel shot over a running creek, this is a prime opportunity for an ace but if you hit one of the bushes on the left or the right you could end up in the creek. Hole eight is longer shot over the creek but going back the other way and is a hard line to hit and this hole is a difficult hole if you don't hit that line. You don't have to worry about losing a disc in this running creek as there is enough debris to block it and there are plenty of long sticks around to fish it out pretty easily.
Cons: The biggest problem that I find with the course is the very short holes lengths that will make this place boring for just about anyone but people brand new to disc golf. The baskets are a bit of an eyesore with the chipping paint and rust, it would be nice to see some work to make them look good again, though there is nothing wrong with their ability to catch discs. It is a pain in the butt to try and get to if you're coming from westbound I-84 as there is no access.
Other Thoughts: This is the perfect place for your first ace, while we were there, both of us hit basket and were really close to getting an ace. If you take the right attitude and a catch frisbee here you can make it fun.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The first place my girlfriend beat me.

5+    6/28/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in the middle of some of the greatest courses in the country. My girlfriend loved this course before she learned how to get the distance she gets today. There are nice baskets and beautiful scenery. It is a easy on and off the Interstate if you are headed east out of Portland. There are bath rooms.
Cons: This course is very short. As the title of this review says my girlfriend beat me at this course, watch out guys your arm wont save you here. You really only need to bring your putter. In the rainy season it can be very muddy and the tees are dirt so don't bother unless you have your rubber boots. It cost 3 dollars to park unless you play fast wink wink. Paying 3 dollars is hard when you could go play one of many Portland area gems. And I mean short holes really short...
Other Thoughts: So I gave this course a passable 1.5 because for as short as the holes are it is kinda fun. They change it up and you play across a running creek on some fun tight shots. It is one that is worth marking off your list if you are in the area and wanna kill a half an hour.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 If you're in the neighborhood...

2-4    9/1/2008   2/15/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 87  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Nice setting (park/picnic area in the Gorge).
- A couple of fun shots.
- Right off the freeway, if you're headed east.
Cons: - Most holes are very short, and some are ridiculously easy.
- Hard to follow (tees are marked with half-buried 2x4s).
- No access from I-84 westbound.
Other Thoughts: Benson State Park is a day-use fee area; if you already have an Oregon State Parks sticker (or bought a day pass to play at Rooster Rock or Dabney), then you might want to check it out if you're passing through the area anyway. Otherwise I don't think it's worth the $3. Hole #1 is long enough that you're not going to easily birdie it, and there's a couple of other shots across the creek that are fun with a mid-range or putter. But a few of the others will leave you scratching your head, wondering, "why isn't the basket further away, or at least behind those trees?"

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short rundown

5/4/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Along the way, east on 84.
Quick stop
Creek running through
Cons: Small course.
Not well thought out.
Other Thoughts: No exit from the west bound traffic.
Got lucky and saw the course from the multnomah road but, it was across the train tracks, don't get lost.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

4/7/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 156  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.2 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Good place to bring first timers, co-workers, family, small children, etc.
-Close to Multnomah falls (one mile west)
Cons:
-For anyone with any amount of skill at all, this will be a very boring course.
-Natural tee pads are muddy, and difficult to find
-Baskets are pretty ugly, but still catch well enough
-Course is about 20 yards from Interstate 84.
Other Thoughts:
This course was pretty boring. Most of the holes are under 200' and pretty wide open. I can see how it would be a great course to introduce first timers to the sport, but that's really about it.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Just A Fun Little Course On The Way To Dabney!

7/21/2003   3/11/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 662  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's just a fairly short, little course in a pretty little state park. The park is pretty and green set under tall evergreen trees. The course plays close to and around some picnic areas. You won't need your driver, just work on your approach and putting game. The course designers have done a nice job with the limited amount of space they have and have created some interesting and challenging holes (They're all still short). My favorite hole crossed a small creek through a narrow opening in the brush.
Cons: No elevation, no holes to crank it up on. If you're looking for a championship course, this isn't it. If you want to play a fun round with your wife and kid, this might be the course for you.
Other Thoughts: If you're driving through the beautiful Columbia Gorge, stop here and play a quick round. You can play in less than 45 minutes and be on your way. There are other courses in the area, make it a day.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.