Carbondale, CO 
Gianinetti Park Share
Uploaded By: skearns2 Hole #4 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 204ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Just a Walk in the Park

1    6/26/2014   6/27/2014
Review By: Dfixmer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great for practicing finesse shots and aces!
-Well kept
-Very creative use of the layout of the park considering that there isn't very much to the park itself.
Cons: -Short (longest hole is just over 200 ft)
-Park is used for other things mostly (there can be some traffic whom may be very disinterested in dodging discs)
Other Thoughts: -This is a fun course to work on your short game. You can play it four times in a row and still feel like you're getting a good deal. This is also the kind of place where you can just walk around with two or three discs and feel comfortable.
-If you're a local, this is the place to hit up after your arm is tired from playing the ski resorts.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Run Heaven

1    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Every hole is an ace run opportunity
-The course is in a very small but nice town park. The course is all mowed grass and there is virtually no way to lose a disc is less you throw it into one of the yards that borders the park
-Baskets are all in very good shape
-On the holes that have tee-signs, the tee-sings are decent and give a good overview of the hole (Though the holes without tee-signs are easy to figure out too)
-Very good course to introduce new players to the sport and since all the holes are really short it is an encouraging course for this players that don't throw very far
-There a few very slight elevation changes on this course
-Nice rubber tee-pads on most of the holes
-Great for a putter only round or practicing your short game
Cons: -This course is very short (The longest hole is 204 feet) and will offer no challenge to an experienced player
-Hole 5 is the most boring hole I have ever played. It is a straight 48 ft shot with no obstacles at all on it. I know it is a small park but I feel like this hole could be made a little more exciting
-About half of the holes were missing tee-signs when I played it (but the course is still quite easy to navigate)
-There are very few obstacles on this course (A few of the holes have trees that come into play but most of them are wide open)
-The tee-pad for hole 6 had begun to deteriorate and was in pretty bad shape
-All the holes are pretty much straight and wide open and do not force you to use a variety of shots
-There are quite a bit of safety hazards here. Several of the holes play very close to the road. Several holes throw straight over a walking path and then several throw quite close to a playground.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses where you leave your bag in the car and just bring a couple of putters with you. Its a good course for those players that can't throw far. If you are in Carbondale and want a really quick round give it a try but dont go out of your way to play this course unless you want to check another course played off your list.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice little park course. Good Baskets and good rubber tees. Great place to practice your short game.
Cons: Not much challenge consider the longest shots are just over 200 feet. There does tend to be people walking around and on the playground. Could use a little more challenge.
Other Thoughts: Its a good warm up before playing glenwood.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 only for the final course total

1    7/16/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: kingjeremiah
Played: 80  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: S-H-O-R-T G-A-M-E !!! This is a great public park, perfect for beginners and kids, green grass, if you dont have an ace yet, come play here... you'll get one on hole 5- its like 50 ft. Good use of what they had to use.
Cons: Basically 9 holes that i only used my putter for all of them. could get old fast if your into more big arm stuff. besides bagging another course for my totals, I would not come back again.
Other Thoughts: if you want your kids to learn and feel good about themselves while starting... this is the course to use for sure

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/3/2010   3/3/2010
Review By: wraithman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lush green grass. In the summer. Very good for youth or working on your mid range game. A true definition of a par 3 course. Great signs and tee boxes
Cons: Short, Would be better if the course could be bigger. Hard to find, Have to drive around the neighborhood for a bit.
Other Thoughts: Loved this course for that fact that it was the only grass i saw while playing in colorado.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 You can make it more interesting

2-4    9/4/2009   2/16/2010
Review By: 54over14
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: OK the course is an Ace Race as designed so it is great to work on long approaches / putts but not too much if you are working with a new driver. However, when the action is slow at the course think outside the box and mix it up. We play a bit different after the first round of 9, and make up the "back 9" as we go. so say 1 tee to 2 basket...you get the idea. that way you get in some longer holes and increase the fun factor.
Cons: It's short, can get busy, has pedestrian issues if you don't pay attention, and the rest of what has been listed.
Other Thoughts: great place to warm up before running to CMC in glenwood, or up the Valley to one of the Mountain courses. Perfect for a quick round after work but before the wife gets home.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Putting course

1    5/9/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: McMarkD
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice rubber tee pads. Definate Ace run. Never seen a 48 foot hole before. The best hole is the first one because you have to go around a few trees to get to the basket.
Cons: Very short. The course is hard to take seriously after playing a tough round at Glenwood Springs. Can and should be played with just one or two discs.
Other Thoughts: I think the real reason to play this course is to add 1 to your all time played list on DGCR. It does take a lot of concentration to stay focused on each hole. This could be a good introduction to DG for a small kid, but hopefully they will rapidly move up to a tougher course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fine tune your short game

5+    9/2/2007   4/7/2009
Review By: beardown4life
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this course will only do one thing for your... improve your short game. You can play about 27 holes solo in about 45 minutes.

it does have some pros which are great rubber tees for rain or shine or barefoot rounds. very clean and nice plush grass over the entire course.

Great place to teach a first timer
Cons: no challenge on this course. some people traffic every once and a while get bothersome.
Other Thoughts: i personally enjoy this course when i have some place to be because it is a very quick round and it helps your short game .

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 No Oscar the Grouch?

2-4    8/3/2007   10/30/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2008
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let the ace runs fly! Good manicured grass, I know it is common to say that, but I felt like I could walk around barefoot. This place is a great stop between the courses in Glennwood Springs and Aspen. In the summertime, the weather is nearly a perfect ten degrees cooler than in the low country. The park and town are very pleasant, I would not worry about the local crowd. The views in this part of the world are always stunning. The park is very clean.
Cons: Positively short. The longest hole is 204. Bert and Ernie is a pretty typical nine hole pitch and putt course. I good warm up for either Aspen or Glennwood Springs, if you do not have the time to bag them all, just head straight to Glennwood Springs. For a nine hole park course, I would rank it in the bottom half.
Other Thoughts: My friend got his first ever ace when we played there. I met an awesome group in Glennwood Springs who said they have a course in their backyard. I thought they owned mountain property with a few baskets set up, it turned out that their backyard gate opens right out into this park! I played this course like four times three in the middle of the night with flashlights and glow in the dark items. It was a blast.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great Views... That's About It

2-4    7/11/2007   8/13/2008
Review By: Luke@DiscTrips
Played: 322  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's so encouraging that a small blue-collar town deep in the Rocky Mountains has a DGC! So, big points for just existing. It makes good use of a rather nondescript park, bringing some trees and small hills into play when possible. Stunning views of rocky red mountains. Perfect on a summer afternoon.
Cons: It just doesn't add up to a very compelling round, unfortunately. The holes vary slightly from one another, but it's a typical "whatever fits in the park" feeling as you make your way through. It's a popular park, so foot traffic can be distracting, too.
Other Thoughts: WHY IS IT CALLED BERT & ERNIE?? The place is very clearly called "Gianinetti Park." If anyone can explain this name's etymology, please write to me and relieve me of my strife.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center