Allen, TX 
Bethany Lakes DGC Share
Uploaded By: Killer B Hole #1 (Taken 6/2007)
3 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
One of the better 9 hole courses

2-4    9/10/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mixed shot selection holes. Several challenging holes with water danger. Close to the highway. Beautiful scenery. Concrete teepads. Nice for a 9-hole course. Multiple baskets that are changed out.
Cons: A LOT of water! There are signs saying no swimming or wading, which are clearly directed at disc golfers retrieving discs. I assume if you did go in to get your disc you would be kicked out of the park. On hole #7...just forget it if your disc goes in the water. It is very far down and the water is very deep. You would literally be risking life and limb for your plastic (and I am the riskiest person i have ever met at going after discs) Poor continuity on some holes. The signage is lacking. Obviously, its only 9 holes, not 18. There is poison ivy and poison oak. The first couple of holes are really just open field shots. You really need a big arm for some of the holes on the course...especially hole 9.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1. Wide open. Boring. Hole 2. Either wide open with a few trees or the alternate pin is on the edge of the water. OK. Hole 3. Once you are at the pin of hole 2, look northeast to the corner of the park for the hole 3 teepad. It is right by the stream and behind a big pocket of trees. (This is the first of 4 teepads that are quite difficult to find.) This hole plays through trees, over the creek, and by the pond. Nice! Hole 4. This also ends near water so be careful. Hole 5. Big risk reward. Its over the pond and past trees. If the wind or a tree catches you (or just a bad throw), your water bound. Hole 6. Shorter hole with some trees. You NEED a birdie here. Hole 7. It took me at least 15-20 mins to find this teepad. After the hole 6 pin, keep walking east and head diagonally. It is past the building, benches, and trees. Look for the tee sign, which is inconspicuous. It is close to the walking path. Throw cautiously. If your disc goes in the water, it is gone for good since this is a very deep quarry. Awesome hole with great scenery though. Hole 8. Another tough one to find. After pin #7, keep walking ahead right along the very edge of the park. It is in the woods, about 400 feet ahead. Great tunnel shot hole. There are several cleared ground "lanes" heading to the pond on the left, so if you hyzer out slightly, your disc could be gone...even if its just rolling. Hole 9. The single most difficult teepad I have ever had to look for in my life!! Either walk back up the fairway, turn left at teepad #8 and go far around the woods to the left, or continue past the pin on 8, winding through the hansel and gretel style woods trail (you seriously may want to leave crumbs to find your way back), and when you get to the concrete overspill area, walk to the right. If you have come to a playground or to a building, you have gone too far. The actual teepad is right by the street close to where the parking lot is and the pin is right by the parking lot and the front building. This shot is 300 feet plus of solid water, and a bunch of trees on the right before the pin. If you don't have at least a 350-375 foot arm (and can easily throw it consistently and accurately), then you should play around it to the right, by the street. Awesome hole however. The course started off boring, but just got better and better as I played. Big risk-reward holes. I'm sure tons of people lose discs here. The signs need improvement

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Water, Itís Not Just for Drinking!

1    5/17/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 223  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a Risk Reward lovers dream 9-hole course. This place has slight elevation, lots of water, OB, woods, wide-open shots, a tunnel shot, and much more. Yes, it is hard to believe this is just a 9-hole course. Unlike other course that have lots of looks in one place, these different types of holes actually seem to transition nicely from one to the other. The first hole is a nice long wide-open warm up hole. Hole 2 incorporates water and a "sidewalk and beyond OB" that creates a narrow but fair fairway. 2 other holes are shot over lakes with #9 being a beast of a drive. #9 does have a long route to avoid the water if you are squeamish. #8 is a semi-heavy wooded tunnel shot with a hard right down to a basket just in front of a creek. This course is just beautiful and is very well maintained. Bathrooms at the building, plenty of trash cans, and some seating areas are all here. One last thing to mention here is that the wildlife here was really amazing (Geese, ducks, lizards, turtles, fish, ...).
Cons: At the time of this review, #8 basket had fallen down the pole to the ground, but I doubt that is a long-term issue. Oddly enough, I did need the map to play here the first time, as the direction of where the last couple of holes were not real obvious. #9 shot over the water is not for the beginner. It will take a good long shot to clear it. There are poisonous plants are in the wooded hole, but that is common in many Texas courses with heavy woods.
Other Thoughts: If you hate courses with risk/reward situations and holes where you could lose a disc, this may not be one of your first choices to run out and play. However, I love all types of courses for the most part and the Fun Factor here for me was pretty good. There were a few holes that I wanted to just keep driving on. I wish this was closer to my home as I would play it more often. I would recommend stopping here or even making it a stop on a road trip. It was a real surprise for me.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Tougher than it looks

1    11/6/2006   11/6/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well-maintained city park with lush grass, cool little ponds, great baskets, and quality concrete pads.

Althought it doesn't look like much when you pull up to the course, Bethany Lakes can pack a mean punch if you're not careful. The fact that it's mostly open can be a big challenge on windy days...there's a Dallas sponsored pro player who said that this is the place he goes to for wind practice.

Personally, I love water on courses...and Bethany Lakes has a lot of it, on almost every hole. The over-the-water holes aren't quite as tough as they look in the photos, with the exception of hole 9 (luckily there's an alternate route over the road on this one).

A few very unique holes...#8 and #9. Hole 8 plays through a tight tunnel with one pin dead center and anothe dowhill to the right. Be careful on this one, as there's a pond on the left side of the fairway just beyond the wall of trees. Hole 9 is a real beauty...just look at the pic. You can either throw straight ahead and try to carry over the way or play over the road and around the group of thick woods that protects the pin.

I played this course on the day it was installed, and there were multiple pin locations marked...but I don't know if they're currently being used.

As long as you stay out of the water, this would be a great course for a fast lunch-break round.
Cons: Although I listed it in the "Pros" above, the water can be a definite Con as well. As long as you land right near the edge of the water, you should be OK...except on Hole 7!!! The "pond" on that hole is actually an old quarry that's 40-something feet deep and drops STRAIGHT down on the edges...DO NOT go after your disc on this one!
Other Thoughts: I really hope to play this course again now that it's been around a while. Since I played it litereally an hour after the last basket was installed, there were still some areas that needed improvement...but judging from the photos, the course has aged beautifully.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bethany Lakes

7/1/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: climber3201
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a good course. Well-maintained course with adequate signs to orient the first-time player. Mostly open field allows for good driving practice.
Cons: Water hazards here are treacherous. In two rounds on the nine holes here, the four lakes claimed four of my discs. I have never lost a disc on any other course but this one. Also, par is difficult to make on these long holes.
Other Thoughts: If you don't want to lose $52 in discs in one day like me, then play safely and avoid the water at all costs. Especially be aware on hole #7 which can be very cruel. On this hole try to aim right or throw a forehand if you're a righty. I have heard of at least 12 discs lost on this hole.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.