Allen, TX 
Bethany Lakes DGC Share
Uploaded By: Killer B Hole #7 (Taken 6/2007)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
One of the better 9 hole courses

2-4    9/10/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mixed shot selection holes. Several challenging holes with water danger. Close to the highway. Beautiful scenery. Concrete teepads. Nice for a 9-hole course. Multiple baskets that are changed out.
Cons: A LOT of water! There are signs saying no swimming or wading, which are clearly directed at disc golfers retrieving discs. I assume if you did go in to get your disc you would be kicked out of the park. On hole #7...just forget it if your disc goes in the water. It is very far down and the water is very deep. You would literally be risking life and limb for your plastic (and I am the riskiest person i have ever met at going after discs) Poor continuity on some holes. The signage is lacking. Obviously, its only 9 holes, not 18. There is poison ivy and poison oak. The first couple of holes are really just open field shots. You really need a big arm for some of the holes on the course...especially hole 9.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1. Wide open. Boring. Hole 2. Either wide open with a few trees or the alternate pin is on the edge of the water. OK. Hole 3. Once you are at the pin of hole 2, look northeast to the corner of the park for the hole 3 teepad. It is right by the stream and behind a big pocket of trees. (This is the first of 4 teepads that are quite difficult to find.) This hole plays through trees, over the creek, and by the pond. Nice! Hole 4. This also ends near water so be careful. Hole 5. Big risk reward. Its over the pond and past trees. If the wind or a tree catches you (or just a bad throw), your water bound. Hole 6. Shorter hole with some trees. You NEED a birdie here. Hole 7. It took me at least 15-20 mins to find this teepad. After the hole 6 pin, keep walking east and head diagonally. It is past the building, benches, and trees. Look for the tee sign, which is inconspicuous. It is close to the walking path. Throw cautiously. If your disc goes in the water, it is gone for good since this is a very deep quarry. Awesome hole with great scenery though. Hole 8. Another tough one to find. After pin #7, keep walking ahead right along the very edge of the park. It is in the woods, about 400 feet ahead. Great tunnel shot hole. There are several cleared ground "lanes" heading to the pond on the left, so if you hyzer out slightly, your disc could be gone...even if its just rolling. Hole 9. The single most difficult teepad I have ever had to look for in my life!! Either walk back up the fairway, turn left at teepad #8 and go far around the woods to the left, or continue past the pin on 8, winding through the hansel and gretel style woods trail (you seriously may want to leave crumbs to find your way back), and when you get to the concrete overspill area, walk to the right. If you have come to a playground or to a building, you have gone too far. The actual teepad is right by the street close to where the parking lot is and the pin is right by the parking lot and the front building. This shot is 300 feet plus of solid water, and a bunch of trees on the right before the pin. If you don't have at least a 350-375 foot arm (and can easily throw it consistently and accurately), then you should play around it to the right, by the street. Awesome hole however. The course started off boring, but just got better and better as I played. Big risk-reward holes. I'm sure tons of people lose discs here. The signs need improvement

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/22/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is one of the best 9 hole courses I have played. Almost all the holes have a water hazard. Whether you have to throw over water or the basket is right next to the water. They have a monster water hole on hole 7. it used to be a quarry that was filled in with water. Do not expect to get your disc back if you go in there.
Cons: It is just 9 holes. Since most of the holes have water hazards you might lose a few discs. I like the challenge but others may not. On top of that, they don't allow swimming or wading in the ponds so you cannot go get your disc. If you wait around till night you could probably sneak in and retrieve your disc.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 surprising 9-holer

1    8/12/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 225  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice concrete pads (maybe a little short for the longer holes) and discatchers
-surprising amount of variety for 9 holes: big distance, constant water hazards, shorter holes, tunnel shot, 2 tee shots over water.
-alternate pin locations
-beautiful park is well manicured
-not crowded
-parking lot right next to holes 1 and 9
Cons: -navigation from 7-9 is long and tricky (try and follow the obvious paths). i don't know why they don't just put another hole in between 6 and 7, looks like there is plenty of room.
-very little shade for texas summer days
-distance and/or water are the only challenges on the first 5 holes
-as the reviewer below said, alternate tees would be more beneficial here than alternate pins
-water smells horrible, full of trash, and looks pretty deep
-not a lot of trash cans and one of the few i did see was placed directly on top of hole 9 tee when i was there. no idea why.
Other Thoughts: This city park 9-holer is full of surprises. My first surprise came when seeing the distance on the first 3 holes. Not what I expected for a little 9 hole course. Not having a big arm, I was disappointed by 3 back to back wide open distance holes. Water comes slightly into play on these 3 but it is easily avoided if you have any accuracy.

The next 3 holes are shorter and take better advantage of the water. Hole 4 backs up to the water, hole 5 throws directly over it, and hole 6 throws from under one tree to a basket in the middle of a patch of trees.

The last 3 holes are the best, IMO, and made the round for me. Hole 7 plays right up next to water on your left. It looks like a hyzer shot but the pin is really just straight ahead and that hyzer is guaranteed to go right in the water. This hole must claim a lot of discs. Hole 8 was my other big surprise. After 7 wide open holes, 8 is a 200' tunnel. At the end of the tunnel you have a downhill upshot through some trees to a basket below just in front of a creek (very shallow). This hole was the highlight of the course for me. Tricky navigation through the woods leads you to the last hole, 300' over water and then the pin is up and around to the right. There is a path off to the right for those not willing to risk the water.

After my initial disappointment this course came through with a little something for everyone. Not the most interesting round but I wouldn't complain if it were down the street from my house. I wouldn't travel any great distance to get here but it's worth a try if you're in the area.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Something for everyone

1    6/11/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: jrcamp001
Played: 199  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a dinky course - has some good "D".
Water comes into play on most holes.
#8 is a great tunnel shot to a pin close to the creek.
Great signage.
Cons: Multiple tees would be more useful than alternate basket locations.
Poison Ivy on 7 thru 9 paths is extensive
Other Thoughts: This course has something for every golfer to not like - the big arms won't like the technical shots and the technical golfer won't like the open shots, but fact is few 9-hole courses have such a diversity of holes. And the wind on #1 thru 7 can be brutal.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Water, Itís Not Just for Drinking!

1    5/17/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 220  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a Risk Reward lovers dream 9-hole course. This place has slight elevation, lots of water, OB, woods, wide-open shots, a tunnel shot, and much more. Yes, it is hard to believe this is just a 9-hole course. Unlike other course that have lots of looks in one place, these different types of holes actually seem to transition nicely from one to the other. The first hole is a nice long wide-open warm up hole. Hole 2 incorporates water and a "sidewalk and beyond OB" that creates a narrow but fair fairway. 2 other holes are shot over lakes with #9 being a beast of a drive. #9 does have a long route to avoid the water if you are squeamish. #8 is a semi-heavy wooded tunnel shot with a hard right down to a basket just in front of a creek. This course is just beautiful and is very well maintained. Bathrooms at the building, plenty of trash cans, and some seating areas are all here. One last thing to mention here is that the wildlife here was really amazing (Geese, ducks, lizards, turtles, fish, ...).
Cons: At the time of this review, #8 basket had fallen down the pole to the ground, but I doubt that is a long-term issue. Oddly enough, I did need the map to play here the first time, as the direction of where the last couple of holes were not real obvious. #9 shot over the water is not for the beginner. It will take a good long shot to clear it. There are poisonous plants are in the wooded hole, but that is common in many Texas courses with heavy woods.
Other Thoughts: If you hate courses with risk/reward situations and holes where you could lose a disc, this may not be one of your first choices to run out and play. However, I love all types of courses for the most part and the Fun Factor here for me was pretty good. There were a few holes that I wanted to just keep driving on. I wish this was closer to my home as I would play it more often. I would recommend stopping here or even making it a stop on a road trip. It was a real surprise for me.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Eater

5+    6/4/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signs, pads, and baskets. Holes 9 is a sweet shot and it looks great when standing on the tee pad and the grass is super green. Pretty open which allows for pretty much any kind of shot. Mostly everything is reachable with a good shot but the score can skyrocket with a bad one. Doesnt favor a righty or a lefty. Bring sidewalk into play and the course gets even tougher.
Cons: Bring lots of junk plastic....there is tons of water and mostly all of it it deep and is gone if it goes in. Not alot of shade and it gets hot quickly. Long walk once you get started..even for a 9 holer. Lots of people walking around after working hours.
Other Thoughts: The wind is something else that can get you and its usually always windy. I liked this course when it was a temp 18 but it just seems it lost some of its lure over time.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course!

1    6/14/2007   5/28/2009
Review By: Killer B
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful fairways, cement tee pads, DISCatcher baskets, and great looking signs. Course traffic was very minimal which makes for a peaceful game.
Cons: Only 9 holes. This not a normal con from a small course, but since the course is so beautiful, you just want more. The pin placement on some the holes are in odd locations as well, like hole 8's alternate pin.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful! One of the best kept courses I've been to. Great wide open fairways, rolling hills, and 3 lakes make for a wonderful game. Though most of the holes are fairly risk free, there are still a few baskets close to the lake that that make for risky play. Hole 9 requires at least a 300 ft drive just to make it over the lake.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bethany Lakes

1    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun and short. It doesn't take any time at all to finish a round. The park is very nice, and well maintained. All tees are in good shape with all the signs present. The baskets are nice, and there are two pins for every hole, so I imagine that the baskets get moved from time to time. It is especially nice at the end of the course. I like the holes that you drive over the lake on.
Cons: Water hazards will swallow your discs on all but two holes. When mine went in, it was easily retrievable, but it could definately be a problem. The park is heavily used, and the sidewalk comes into play a few times in the course. (not always a problem) The whole course plays fairly close to the roads around the park, so there are cars on one side and water on the other. A little confusion going from 8 to 9, but we found it.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun round that makes you think about your shots. We went on an extremely windy day, so that makes things even more exciting. Not a bad little course. I really enjoyed the walk, and there were a ton of ducks and other aquatic wildlife. Hole 8 is awesome. You drive through a tunnel, then the basket is down a nice hill in front of a small creek, very pretty.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I'll take a seven on hole 2

1    2/6/2009   2/7/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 201  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some of the best out-of-bounds and beyond with water hazard combined of any DFW course,Loved to play here in fifteen-twenty plus mile an hour wind days.Hole two and nine I saw some pretty rough numbers on that scorecard.
Cons: People abound walking and jogging on weekends,You only need a floating disc on maybe two holes.Nowhere to sit,The road comes into play if you over shoot seven.Tire marks on your discs likely.In no wind situations this course is a sinch for easy par.
Other Thoughts: Sac up on hole nine over the pond(best over the water hole in DFW).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tougher than it looks

1    11/6/2006   11/6/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well-maintained city park with lush grass, cool little ponds, great baskets, and quality concrete pads.

Althought it doesn't look like much when you pull up to the course, Bethany Lakes can pack a mean punch if you're not careful. The fact that it's mostly open can be a big challenge on windy days...there's a Dallas sponsored pro player who said that this is the place he goes to for wind practice.

Personally, I love water on courses...and Bethany Lakes has a lot of it, on almost every hole. The over-the-water holes aren't quite as tough as they look in the photos, with the exception of hole 9 (luckily there's an alternate route over the road on this one).

A few very unique holes...#8 and #9. Hole 8 plays through a tight tunnel with one pin dead center and anothe dowhill to the right. Be careful on this one, as there's a pond on the left side of the fairway just beyond the wall of trees. Hole 9 is a real beauty...just look at the pic. You can either throw straight ahead and try to carry over the way or play over the road and around the group of thick woods that protects the pin.

I played this course on the day it was installed, and there were multiple pin locations marked...but I don't know if they're currently being used.

As long as you stay out of the water, this would be a great course for a fast lunch-break round.
Cons: Although I listed it in the "Pros" above, the water can be a definite Con as well. As long as you land right near the edge of the water, you should be OK...except on Hole 7!!! The "pond" on that hole is actually an old quarry that's 40-something feet deep and drops STRAIGHT down on the edges...DO NOT go after your disc on this one!
Other Thoughts: I really hope to play this course again now that it's been around a while. Since I played it litereally an hour after the last basket was installed, there were still some areas that needed improvement...but judging from the photos, the course has aged beautifully.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.