Allen, TX 
Bethany Lakes DGC Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #1
3 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 I'll take a seven on hole 2

1    2/6/2009   2/7/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 249  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some of the best out-of-bounds and beyond with water hazard combined of any DFW course,Loved to play here in fifteen-twenty plus mile an hour wind days.Hole two and nine I saw some pretty rough numbers on that scorecard.
Cons: People abound walking and jogging on weekends,You only need a floating disc on maybe two holes.Nowhere to sit,The road comes into play if you over shoot seven.Tire marks on your discs likely.In no wind situations this course is a sinch for easy par.
Other Thoughts: Sac up on hole nine over the pond(best over the water hole in DFW).

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tougher than it looks

1    11/6/2006   11/6/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well-maintained city park with lush grass, cool little ponds, great baskets, and quality concrete pads.

Althought it doesn't look like much when you pull up to the course, Bethany Lakes can pack a mean punch if you're not careful. The fact that it's mostly open can be a big challenge on windy days...there's a Dallas sponsored pro player who said that this is the place he goes to for wind practice.

Personally, I love water on courses...and Bethany Lakes has a lot of it, on almost every hole. The over-the-water holes aren't quite as tough as they look in the photos, with the exception of hole 9 (luckily there's an alternate route over the road on this one).

A few very unique holes...#8 and #9. Hole 8 plays through a tight tunnel with one pin dead center and anothe dowhill to the right. Be careful on this one, as there's a pond on the left side of the fairway just beyond the wall of trees. Hole 9 is a real beauty...just look at the pic. You can either throw straight ahead and try to carry over the way or play over the road and around the group of thick woods that protects the pin.

I played this course on the day it was installed, and there were multiple pin locations marked...but I don't know if they're currently being used.

As long as you stay out of the water, this would be a great course for a fast lunch-break round.
Cons: Although I listed it in the "Pros" above, the water can be a definite Con as well. As long as you land right near the edge of the water, you should be OK...except on Hole 7!!! The "pond" on that hole is actually an old quarry that's 40-something feet deep and drops STRAIGHT down on the edges...DO NOT go after your disc on this one!
Other Thoughts: I really hope to play this course again now that it's been around a while. Since I played it litereally an hour after the last basket was installed, there were still some areas that needed improvement...but judging from the photos, the course has aged beautifully.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ok Course

5+    9/26/2008   9/26/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a nice location in a very well maintained park. I don't think I'll ever seen a peice of trash on the ground. The course is pretty challenging. Ecspecially 8 and 9. This is a good course to work on your power. Some of the baskets are pro and some are regular so it makes if interesting. The signs acurrate and none are missing.
Cons: -Water every where. I've lost two discs to this course. One on hole 2 and one on hole 5 . I don't recommend going in after any discs either. The water is a little scarey in places. On the pond by 7 and 8 there are signs up all over that say NO SWIMMING.
-8 and 9 are neat holes to play but getting from eight to nine can be difficult. The choices are to go through the woods and over the concrete overflow of the pond for 9 or too back track to the side walk and walk around.
Other Thoughts: 8 is a tricky hole. From the tee pad you can't see the basket. It is about 150 through the tunnel of trees and 20 to 30 feet down the hill consealed in the woods on the right hand side. You can pick a map of the course in the recreation building buy the parking lot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/31/2008   7/18/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very beautiful course around multiple small lakes.

Water is a huge factor on this course. You have to throw over two lakes. One hole's basket is on a peninsula surrounded by water. There are three holes where water is imediately to the left and since all backhand thrown discs fade left, good luck.

For a nine hole course there are some very long open holes that will test your arm.

This course is very fun if you have good control and distance. If you don't you could lose discs.

Cons: Not enough shade for Texas. Better in winter but then wind becomes a factor.

The first 7 holes have great flow and can be played in about 15 minutes. The last two holes take about 20 minutes because of the distance between holes, the crossing of a deep creek with no bridge between 8 and 9 and the distance back to the parking area and tee pad #1.

I did not play #9 because the sign says it is 300' just to get across the water.
Other Thoughts: A must play for the water shots.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Frustrating

7/1/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: JimBeam
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, it provides a challenge for both beginner and advanced players. The course is well marked and the holes provide a lot of variety keeping the round interesting. Never crowded.
Cons: The course can be extremely frustrating. The water hazards can wreak havoc on your bag. they are deceivingly difficult. Disc retrieval is all but impossible in many of the holes dues to the depth of the water even only a few feet from the edge. The occasional sighting of cotton mouth snakes in and around the largest of the lakes also discourages recovery of the discs.
Other Thoughts: Hole # 7 is strangely difficult. It has claimed at least 13 discs to my knowledge 2 of which were my own PLAY THIS HOLE WITH CAUTION or loss of a disc is likely.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bethany Lakes

7/1/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: climber3201
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a good course. Well-maintained course with adequate signs to orient the first-time player. Mostly open field allows for good driving practice.
Cons: Water hazards here are treacherous. In two rounds on the nine holes here, the four lakes claimed four of my discs. I have never lost a disc on any other course but this one. Also, par is difficult to make on these long holes.
Other Thoughts: If you don't want to lose $52 in discs in one day like me, then play safely and avoid the water at all costs. Especially be aware on hole #7 which can be very cruel. On this hole try to aim right or throw a forehand if you're a righty. I have heard of at least 12 discs lost on this hole.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.