Disc Golf Store
Lafayette, LA 
Acadiana Park - Duzee Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #11 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 251ft.   3 / 376ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ace Run's Slightly-More-In-the-Box Big Brother

1    12/30/2013   1/27/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Duzee benefits from the same wooded environment that Ace Run plays through. It complements its little brother by playing a bit longer and at times noticeably more open, although a level of technicality is retained, particularly on the front 9, which is the course's strength for me. The shot shaping here isn't as varied or challenging as Ace Run, but there are still plenty of tight windows and tunnels to hit, and a decent amount of distance variation (two holes under 200' and two over 300', with one at 363' from the ams).

Duzee's terrain is more varied than Ace Run. Hole 1 is the perfect example of this: you're hitting a tight window that plays out of and into a more open area. Later holes mirror this half in/half out of the woods in a nice counter to Ace Run's consistently heavy wooded golf. There are opportunities to air it out here, and while these are lacking in technical interest, after 30+ holes of tight windows and focused shot shaping, it can be nice to just launch a disc with impunity. Between the longer distance and more varied woodedness, Duzee is a nice companion to Ace Run.
Cons: While I appreciate the effort towards variety on the back 9 as the course opens up, the shots in this stretch are straightforward at best and boring at worst, with little line shaping or risk. Drives have little if any obstacles to contend with, and approaches are often completely unimpeded. The complete openness of the last two holes epitomizes this. It's hard to fault the designers for wanting to offer a change of pace, but at the same time, I think both Duzee and Acadiana Park as a whole suffer a bit for it. The terrain just isn't built to offer interesting golf in the semi open, so the instances where it's tried feel forced.

Navigation gets dodgy at some points. There are a few spots in the middle holes deepest in the woods that would benefit from better signage.

No alt pin positions.
Other Thoughts: I have a hard time rating this course. The front 9 are solidly 3.0 for their wooded technicality, and are basically extensions of Ace Run, whereas the back 9 taper off noticeably. In the end the front 9 seemed strong enough to merit a 3; perhaps the presence of another very solid course on site broke the tie in favor of a higher mark.

The natural layout suggests that you play Ace Run first and Duzee second. Parking is plentiful, amenities available, and the courses themselves are easy to find. Between Acadiana Park and Pa Davis, Lafayette has quite a respectable set of courses on hand. Coming from New Orleans, I envy the locals!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/5/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 129  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The more diverse of the two courses on the site, Duzee is a bit longer but only because of the three or four open shots out of the trees this is something that was not present at Ace Run.

I would say when it comes to "Ace Run" this course seems like it would be easier to get aces on. The wooded holes are shorter and less wooded than Ace Run which should make this course have overall lower scores.

For the most part the course is easy to follow. There are colorful tee signs at each hole as well as a big course map at the beginning of the course, which is not needed but is definitely nice.
Cons: The transition from 8 to 9 is rough as you have to walk down a LONG unmarked path to get to nine.
Speaking of Hole #9...
I am not a fan of the monstrosity that is the big pile of dirt with the basket perched on top about 15' off the ground. It would be sort of fine if the hole was a straight shot at the pin but there is a big dogleg that it would be hard to get to the mound in one. I feel as if it was gimmicky and not needed, but if it stays in people's minds then I guess it is doing it's job correct.
Other Thoughts: This course can be played faster than Ace Run but to get the full experience out of Acadiana Park then it is recommended to play all 36 holes. Play Ace Run first; you will end by the start of Duzee and once you get done there you will be back at the parking lot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

14 Fun Holes

1    8/19/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 35  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Mostly tight and technical and a little longer than Ace Run but with a few more open holes. Mostly contained in well-shaded hardwood forest that helps to keep you cool in the summer. Requires a variety of throwing techniques. You will need your forehand throws here.
Cons: #1 - There were a few navigation issues, especially between #8 and #9 which requires a long walk along an unmarked trail.

#2 - There are a number of short, blind tee shots which tend to introduce a significant luck factor, especially to players new to the course.

#3 - Hole #9 has an elevated, tiered, monstrosity of a basket at the end of a remarkably good fairway that requires an accurate and long drive. Why would you end what would otherwise be a magnificent hole with a gimmick like that. Welcome to putt putt disc golf. Practice your Turbo Putt for after the layup at the end. The support wires around tiers may force you to use it.

#4 - Holes 17 and 18 are wide open.

#5 - Holes 17 and 18 are adjacent to soccer fields and are located between the soccer fields and the parking lot. This makes them virtually unplayable on weekends when soccer is being played.

#6 - Tee boxes are a bit small, especially on the longer holes.
Other Thoughts: Hole 9's elevated basket begs the same question as the sprung and hanging baskets on Ace Run. Why? Why not use the considerable effort and expense involved to build some nicer tee boxes or anything else that might add to the course? And worse, hole 9 could be one of the best holes on either course.

This course and Ace Run are fun courses to play, but the repetitive nature of blind hyzer throws in the woods detracts a little. Also this course is a bit short overall. For a better overall experience, give Pa Davis a try.

Confusing!

1    4/6/2013   4/23/2013
Review By: KimD
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park, course is mapped out through the woods, which creates lots of much needed shade.
Cons: Most of the baskets are missing the yellow band around the top. Majority of the posts/signs are gone. Very confusing to follow. We somehow completely missed a tee/basket combo. As there were no signs and many of the tees and baskets are semi close together - with no numbers on either baskets or posts you aren't sure where to throw!
There are few trashcans.
Other Thoughts: We were completely turned around and just after a while we gave up trying to figure it out and sort of made our own course out of it. With some work this could be an awesome course. The other half of the park has another course that is much better. There was a crew there working on it, hopefully they moved on to this half when they were done!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite a Duzee - But still a lot of fun.

1    4/27/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is for players who love tight and technical. It plays immediately into the wooded area throughout the front nine, and only coming back out to breathe in the open areas a bit on parts of the back nine. It still felt quiet and secluded, which is impressive since the day we played there were probably 100+ college kids yelling and screaming by the basketball courts, and you didn't even hear or notice them when you're in the trees.

The course is laid out well, and easy to follow, although a few holes transition back on each other. Also, watch the #13 to #14 transition - it's very easy to turn right to #17 instead of into the woods to #14. It would be a shame to miss, because I really enjoyed this trio before opening up to #17 and #18. Note that #9 pro pin (There are two pins in place on this hole) feels a bit gimmicky, but I personally thought it's ballsy to build it up the way they did. I haven't played to a pin like that since playing in the Colorado Mountains.

The park itself has basic amenities to keep people happy and looks to receive a fair amount of traffic. This isn't a big deal, because the course plays away from these areas, and even when the course does open up to the grassy holes, only #18 plays relatively close to the park action. There are concrete tees and quality signage, albeit a bit short for my taste. However, it's a short course so run-ups aren't a big deal. Another thing about Duzee were the open holes in the park area where the grass was so well-manicured it was like playing on a ball golf course fairway and definitely worth a mention.

BEST HOLE/S: #1; #9; #15; #16
Cons: Although this course is longer, I felt that the drive lines were more open and effectively easier than Ace Run. Not considerably, but I you have a substantial amount possible birdies and some real looks at getting an Ace. However, even though the course is longer, as with Ace Run - it would still be considered too short by most advanced players. However, this is the perfect course to hook a novice on to improve their skills and build their addiction to the sport. Note the transition from #8 to #9 - it was well marked, but you have to backtrack a bit.

Also, on a personal note - I think someone switched the names of the two courses. This was the easier course with much more chances at an ace. Having played Duzee first, I finished thinking, if Duzee was that open to an ace every few holes then Ace Run should be a breeze - not so much. My suggestion is play Ace Run first, and then go hit Duzee for that ace.

WORST HOLE/S: #17
Other Thoughts: It took me longer than usual to write my Acadiana reviews, because of all of the courses I played on my mini-road trip this was the park I would have loved to have hit again. I personally liked Duzee just slightly better for the higher combination of open shots mixed with varied lines and interesting layouts. Having said that however - both courses great fun for a causal round. There's enough elevation to keep things interesting, and it's just hard enough to make you gun for bird be but happy with par. I would definitely make the stop here when traveling through Bayou country. Two quality courses in one location and surrounded by a million Cajun places to eat at afterwards - sounds like a winner to me.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mostly wooded course

1    5/4/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As with the adjacent Ace Run Course, most of this course is a beautiful walk through the woods with shade. The course provides a very good white/blue level challenge with a good variety of required shot shapes.

The course provides a good mix of finesse shots and opportunities to take advantage of power.

There is a second set of "gold" tees (albeit natural) that provide additional challenge, a couple of which are very nice holes.

Hole 9's massively elevated basket is lots of fun.
Cons: The navigation is a little disjointed in a couple places and the course could use additional "next tee" signs.

Holes 5 and 8 are a little poke 'n' pray.

All par 3's.

The rough is pretty thick and it's possible to lose discs.

Hole 18 runs between the soccer fields and parking lot where people are likely to be crossing.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't forget the Gold tees

5+    4/27/2011   3/27/2012
Review By: MikeK
Played: 202  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For those looking for a tough challenge, the Gold tees provide it. The gold tees aren't marked very well unfortunately, but they add a considerable amount of distance and challenge to the Duzee. Par from the gold tees is a very good score.

The concrete tee course provides a lot of shade which is great for hot Louisiana summers. A bit of elevation and thick, punishing rough. The Duzee is a balanced mix of tight and open holes, a few more wooded than open, but with a good variety of shots required to excel.

Hole 9 has a really, really elevated green which was completed around 2011.

Some holes are very secluded, and there is very little interference from other park activities.
Cons: The concrete tees have maybe a couple too many hyzer shots for a righty, which might get a little stale for some. The gold tees are not well-marked.
Other Thoughts: Definitely the best course in Lafayette.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Dueces at Duzee

1    3/20/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: TheCarGuy
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I had fun playing this course. It is easy to navigate. It was clean and maintained. It has pleasant scenery throughout.
Cons: It is short. It gets repetitive. It is pretty much birdie or bust. It does not have really any holes that make you think.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play. It can be a real confidence builder. I liked this course better than the other course on sight.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Overall

2-4    4/4/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: littleshoe
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plenty of seating, large open field for practice. Nice mix of wooded, clear, and semi-clear holes. Several shorter holes offer bird and ace potential. Fair variety of holes offers a nice array of shots.
Cons: Not alot of options or choices to be made on this course. Alot of "thread the needle" type holes. Not a good beginner course. Several fallen trees and random tree placements indicate a course that wasn't well planned.
Other Thoughts: Beware of snakes, nearly stepped on one at this course. Bringer your shorter and more accurate discs for success on this course, longer shots are few and far between.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center