Brandon, SD 
Big Sioux Rec. Area DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiSCRoCKeR Hole #4 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 206ft.   3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Just Awesome

1    7/21/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: KillaKPaz
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads on the front 9 with great signage
Nicely mowed fairways
Alternate pin locations
Scorecards / Maps available
Cons: Threateningly rough roughs with several blind shots.
The river comes into play on a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: Everything you could want in a course. Amazing variety in shots and difficulty. Elevation, woods, open shots, and even a hanging basket. Super cool, and they do $6 per car, so cram all your buddies in a van and make a trip to Brandon, SD to check out Big Sioux. Then go to Sioux Falls to play Tuthill.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem!

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: vikes_rule84
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Some challenging shots / holes
- Good variety of holes (open / wooded / water)
- Not as busy as Sioux Falls course
- Main fairways were well maintained
Cons: - Navigating the course can be confusing at times
- Back 9 needs some work
- Long grass / brush could gobble up discs pretty easy
- Course is easily flooded being right on the river
Other Thoughts: This course is a great alternative to Tuthill park. Its more of a challenge with far less traffic. I've tried playing the course a few times and its often flooded (especially in the spring). As long as the weathers been dry its worth the drive out to Brandon!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    3/11/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: Tned10
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Quality baskets
- Cement tee-pads
- One hanging basket
- Big Sioux River
- Camping
Cons: - Floods easy when it rains
Other Thoughts: If you are a golfer who enjoys throwing mostly tight shots with minimal fairway, this is the course for you. Not every hole is densely wooded, but most are very tight. There are a couple long holes that are also challenging.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/22/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides thee most technical challenging course in the greater surrounding area...Not only do you have Wooded rich "Gap" shots on the majority of Holes you also have a significant Water Hazard on multiple Holes....Beautiful setting in a very unique area in the Heart of the Mid-West....Good mix of length & technicallity...The Front 9 has excellent Tee Pads and most of the holes have good signage.
Cons: The back 9 are verly poorly marked, and for a new-comer it can be hard to navigate even wih a map! The signage is not the greatest and it goes from all cement Pads to "hard-to-find" dirt Pads that, in some cases, are missing part of their numbered Tee! (for example Hole 16 just says 1 rather than 16)....If the Big Sioux River fills up and starts to rage, this course becomes un-playable..
Other Thoughts: I truly enjoyed this course. In fact it is probably thee best and most challenging course for the general area (up to 100 miles away)..If in the Area, Tut Hill (Sioux Falls) & Larson Park (Brookings) are a nice Trio of courses to play...All 3 are located near I-29 so it is an easy transition that can be played in one, well-planned, day....This course reminded me of a Colorado Mountain course (Minus elevation but add Water), so it really posed a unique challenge. There also seemed to be a good Disc Golf scene which, certainly, improved my like for the course....One unique stature is that Hole 4 is hanging from a Tree (The basket literally hangs from a tree by chains) I'm not sure if this be default, due to the Big Sioux flooding, or if it is built into the design... but it adds to the culture of this course.........Over-all this is a unique & challenging course, and if any where near the Brandon/Sioux Falls area, or traveling along I-90, this one it is worth the stop.....Late Summer and Fall are the best times to play as Spring causes the River to swell and flood the course....Bring your whole Bag as you'll need it!.......

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth it!

5+    6/1/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: Makomyday20
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Requires you to throw controlled/finesse shots and stay in fairways for the most part. You will use a wide array of shots. I love the hanging basket to add some elevation. Very scenic course that doesn't get too busy vs. the Sioux Falls course. Two basket placements.
Cons: I think that the park should spray the nettles down in a lot of areas and maybe mow the fairways a little wider on some holes. Holes I don't care for or could be changed are 3 long needs a better lane maybe open up a risk shot over the water from the pad.13 could be opened up a little more on the right side.15 long I don't see the point of. Sixteen short could be shorter and more attainable. and 18 just don't like. The bugs out here can be ridiculous. It costs money, I hope it goes back into the course. Hardly any elevation. It would be great to use the area over the river!! No cement pads and signs on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Great course and fairly new just needs to be completed and it would go up in my rating. Well worth it to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good and getting better!

1    5/23/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 341  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual tees
-Nice, new baskets
-One hole has a hanging basket
-Blind tees
-2 pin positions on every hole
-Mowed regularily
-River and tall grass as obstacles
-Good signs on the front 9 with map, par and distance
-Pretty easy to follow and there's signs to help guide you. Not a lot of walking distance between holes but it was far from crowded either. The course also starts and finishes in the same spot.
-Decent amount of people playing but not too many that you had to wait
-Good amount of woods to challenge but not too much that it takes out some of the fun
-No two holes are the same and none of them are easy. The only open holes are at least 350 ft and the others are wooded.
-Bathrooms, garbages, drinking fountains at the start/finish of course.
-Relatively scenic course for this area.
Cons: -Other people hiking, biking, etc that you may have to wait for
-Tees are natural, could be cemented- huge upgrade
-Could lose a disc in the tall grass if you're not careful
-The signs on the back 9 were not good, only showed distance and par. It was sometimes hard to find the hole especially with multiple pin positions.
-Pay to play as it's in a state owned rec area. This also does keep it maintained better though.
-Not a lot of elevation
-A few bugs, could be much worse.
Other Thoughts: With cement tees and upgraded signage on the back 9 this course would become even better. It was an enjoyable play despite the 85 degrees and very high humidity. I will be here to play again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 An Unknown Gem

1    8/26/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - dual tees
- multiple good/challenging pin positions on every hole
- great layout, and easy to follow
- upkeep is very good, seems as if they mow the fairways weekly
- not crowded, smooth rate of play
Cons: - no cement pads
- no signs. there are little laminated squares of paper that give the distances to each of the pin positions, but no maps, etc.
- the course is a little short to be championship caliber, but from long tees to the longest pin positions it is very close
Other Thoughts: The long tees on the front nine were ready to be cemented while I was playing, but just haven't been yet. They may be as of this review. None of the short tees are ready for cement, and the boxes to cement the back 9 long, are not in yet either.

Overall, I didn't go into this course expecting too much. I was going because I hadn't played in South Dakota before, but I came out happy as I could be. With a little bit more development, which it looks like is happening, this course will be among the country's best. It is definitely worth going a little bit out of your way to play, and if you're a local the dual tees/multiple pin positions offer a new course to play every time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/20/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: justindfpr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and pin placements for every hole. Great mix of long and short shots. There was no better way of designing this course. You'll use every disc in your bag along the way. Writing a 2 on your scorecard gives you a good feeling while walking to the next tee. Stresses finesse on a lot of drives but gives you a rare power finesse shot on other drives. Great place to learn how to control your disc and stay on the fairway. Makes you learn how to play smart. Very peaceful surroundings. Trees block the wind on almost every hole, so a windy day isn't much of a factor.
Cons: Stinging nettles. Thats my only problem. And it isn't that big of one as long as you keep it where you're supposed to. I guess the lack of cement tee pads is a problem but that is apparently next on the agenda.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New and Improved

5+    6/29/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 104  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging and fun new 18 hole river bottom course. There used to be an old 9 hole that wasn't very fun to play but it was removed earlier this year and then the new, bigger 18 hole course was added that utilizes the area of the park much more nicely. Holes 1 - 15 play throught tight woods and tall prarie grass fairways that truly test your accuracy game. 5 of the holes play along or next to the Big Sioux river, one of these holes being number 5 which also plays as a par 5 on the longer pin placement. Holes 16 - 18 are the open bomb throws of the course playing through the area that housed the old 9 hole.
Cons: Poison ivy. Flat terrain. Very easy to lose a disc here during summer when the prarie grass gets tall, up to 6 feet or more!! Good to have spotters for some of the holes during these times. It is also easy to lose a disc into the river if you over throw, especially holes 4, 5 and 15. Dirt tees for now but people are trying to get sponsors for cement tees and signs. Course is hard to navigate without a map first time or two playing through. Stop by the park office for a map. $4 park fee per car.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to challenge most aspects of your game. I have been forced to learn new ways to throw because of this course that are really helping to improve my game. Leave contact info on your discs. If park workers find any lost discs they will contact the number and try to return them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Very Basic DGC...

1    6/19/2005   3/1/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is a good course to take your family/children to play on. It is part of a state recreation area that caters to family campers and RV camping. It is not crowded and the holes are short. The course is simple and straight forward without many technical challenges. It has mowed fairways and quality baskets.
Cons: The purpose of the course is to serve those patrons camping at the recreation area. These are primarily families with children and senior citizens. The course is just one of many fun activities the recreation area has to offer. With this point in mind, I do not really have any cons for this course. The course serves a certain type of disc golfer and it does it well.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I camped at the Big Sioux Recreation area during a road trip to Washington State. It is a nice recreation area as a whole and waking up with a disc golf course right outside the tent door was a definite plus. However, coming from Iowa, where many of the state park courses are beautiful and challenging 18+ hole courses, I was a bit disappointed to find such a simple course. This is not the kind of course you travel out of your way to go play.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.