Brandon, SD 
Big Sioux Rec. Area DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiSCRoCKeR Hole #5 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 385ft.   5 / 555ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket (long placement)

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Rollin' by the River

2-4    4/16/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 132  Reviewed: 122  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is built in within a bend in the Big Sioux River, and brings the river into play on a number of holes.

Good variety of hole lengths from 175' out to 575', with most being in the 200' - 400' range.

About half of the holes are completely in the woods, with the other half being quite a bit more open. Even the wooded holes are not really tunnels, as the trees are large and spread out.

Seven of the holes play alongside or toward the river, and on each of those holes there is a real potential to lose a disc. The river is wide and murky with steep banks, so you'll probably lose a disc that gets out there. Hole 5 is a great one at 555', curving alongside the river.

A single concrete teepads for each hole. Flat with perfect texture.

Two pin positions for each hole. When I played they were pretty evenly mixed between the "A" and "B" position. Baskets were all in good shape, though they are tough to pick out of the shadows on some of the wooded holes. Hole 4 has a hanging basket which is interesting, but at about the same height as a regular basket so it doesn't add much.

A bulletin board at the parking area has scorecards and a map. You'll need the map to navigate so grab one.
Cons: Tee signs were missing on about half of the holes, and even the posts were gone on a few.

A walking path runs throughout the course so there is potential conflict with other park users. Check the paths before you drive. There were also other users in the large field that Holes 16, 17 and 18 occupy.

The three finishing holes were just big drives across a grassy field. Not as interesting as the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: We camped at this park for three nights in April and pretty much had it to ourselves. It is great that South Dakota has included this course in one of their parks.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth it!

5+    6/1/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: Makomyday20
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Requires you to throw controlled/finesse shots and stay in fairways for the most part. You will use a wide array of shots. I love the hanging basket to add some elevation. Very scenic course that doesn't get too busy vs. the Sioux Falls course. Two basket placements.
Cons: I think that the park should spray the nettles down in a lot of areas and maybe mow the fairways a little wider on some holes. Holes I don't care for or could be changed are 3 long needs a better lane maybe open up a risk shot over the water from the pad.13 could be opened up a little more on the right side.15 long I don't see the point of. Sixteen short could be shorter and more attainable. and 18 just don't like. The bugs out here can be ridiculous. It costs money, I hope it goes back into the course. Hardly any elevation. It would be great to use the area over the river!! No cement pads and signs on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Great course and fairly new just needs to be completed and it would go up in my rating. Well worth it to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 An Unknown Gem

1    8/26/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 14.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - dual tees
- multiple good/challenging pin positions on every hole
- great layout, and easy to follow
- upkeep is very good, seems as if they mow the fairways weekly
- not crowded, smooth rate of play
Cons: - no cement pads
- no signs. there are little laminated squares of paper that give the distances to each of the pin positions, but no maps, etc.
- the course is a little short to be championship caliber, but from long tees to the longest pin positions it is very close
Other Thoughts: The long tees on the front nine were ready to be cemented while I was playing, but just haven't been yet. They may be as of this review. None of the short tees are ready for cement, and the boxes to cement the back 9 long, are not in yet either.

Overall, I didn't go into this course expecting too much. I was going because I hadn't played in South Dakota before, but I came out happy as I could be. With a little bit more development, which it looks like is happening, this course will be among the country's best. It is definitely worth going a little bit out of your way to play, and if you're a local the dual tees/multiple pin positions offer a new course to play every time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New and Improved

5+    6/29/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 112  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging and fun new 18 hole river bottom course. There used to be an old 9 hole that wasn't very fun to play but it was removed earlier this year and then the new, bigger 18 hole course was added that utilizes the area of the park much more nicely. Holes 1 - 15 play throught tight woods and tall prarie grass fairways that truly test your accuracy game. 5 of the holes play along or next to the Big Sioux river, one of these holes being number 5 which also plays as a par 5 on the longer pin placement. Holes 16 - 18 are the open bomb throws of the course playing through the area that housed the old 9 hole.
Cons: Poison ivy. Flat terrain. Very easy to lose a disc here during summer when the prarie grass gets tall, up to 6 feet or more!! Good to have spotters for some of the holes during these times. It is also easy to lose a disc into the river if you over throw, especially holes 4, 5 and 15. Dirt tees for now but people are trying to get sponsors for cement tees and signs. Course is hard to navigate without a map first time or two playing through. Stop by the park office for a map. $4 park fee per car.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to challenge most aspects of your game. I have been forced to learn new ways to throw because of this course that are really helping to improve my game. Leave contact info on your discs. If park workers find any lost discs they will contact the number and try to return them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.