South Lake Tahoe, CA 
Bijou Community Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #3
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun Sans Thrill

1    6/26/2014   6/27/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Tee areas: 4'x10-12' rubber, wood-framed, flat teepads. Teesigns showing all possible positions, and current position. Brooms. Benches. Picnic tables, too, at most holes.

Three loops, baskets 9, 15, and 27 near the parking lot. Water. Bathrooms.

Minimal chance to lose a disc, as the fairways are mostly dirt, and the few bushes that to grow are not dense nor found within clumps.
Cons:
Basket-2 quite near a dog park.

Crossing fairway-20 when moving from basket-22 to tee-23. A few fairways near roads. A few tees near fairways.

It's a bit of an adjustment when changing from the 12' teepads on the front nine to the 10' pads on the back eighteen.
Other Thoughts:
Course is set in a large public park, with the front nine playing amongst the tall pines near the main road and access drive, and back eighteen playing along the back of the park, amongst smaller-but-more-frequently-occurring trees, with a large meadow just beyond. There's a gentle slope separating the front from the back, but only a few holes play up/down it - the course is primarily flat.

The beginning part of the course plays amongst the tallest trees, so branches don't come into play. Quite flat, minimal shot-shaping, and if a line is missed, recovery is typically easy. Short-7, offering three different (straight-but-narrow, lefty-with trees late, right needing a steady, subtle line) lines, was an interesting hole.

The middle portion of the course is where the majority of the elevation change (down 10&16, up 15) comes into play. The holes lengthen :-) while the tees shorten :-(. A slight increase in shot-shaping, but recovery still remains relatively simple. Number-10, a downslope, right-turner the day I played, was a challenging and visibly appealing hole.

The final section of the course has the more-definitive flight paths, with increased punishment for errant shots. A number of the baskets are closely guarded, unlike the earlier parts of the course, with decent length and some minor elevation changes. Number-21, a sharp right-turner with an abundance of smaller trees to punish premature turns, was tough.

With so many possible pin positions, your mileage may vary, but the day I played, I primarily threw straight of the tee, with a fair number of right-turner needed, too - only on few occasions did I reach for an overstable disc for the tee shot. There will be more air than trees between you and the basket on pretty much every hole.

Navigation, especially with the map, is fairly straightforward, the only two small problems I experienced as a first-time visitor was the need to backtrack from basket-12 to tee-13, and mistakenly going from basket-20 to tee-23 (tee-21 is near the road).

A course quite suitable for recreation players, especially when the baskets are in the shorter positions, and both they and intermediates should have fun here. Advanced players will need to work when the baskets are in the longer positions (I played a few days before a tournament, and it seemed as if most every baskets was in its long position), but probably won't experience any thrilling moments. Overall, a fun, relaxing, solid play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

In Tahoe? Play this course!

1    3/28/2014   4/1/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great locals to play and help you navigate this course. Not that it is really needed, but having some local help is a pro in my book. Great tee pads. Baskets are kept up really well and bright yellow to locate. The maps at each tee are great and well laid out for the basket placement. Washer system helps those that have not played before locate the basket. Fresh air, great views, long and technical shots. Not too many short holes, which is good if you have a big arm.
Cons: I don't think I can come up with anything that would be a con for this course. If I had to choose something, it would be the mass amount of pine cones on the ground. That should be taken care of in the next few weeks with the help of the locals who keep this course looking nice.
Other Thoughts: Zephyr Cove is a more challenging course, so use this one as a warm up before heading to play Zephyr. Take some water, lots of water, when you play and make sure you pack out or throw away what you take in. Keep this course looking beautiful for others to play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

S. Lake Disc Golf Paradise

5+    9/19/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bijou is a great addition to the Lake Tahoe area courses. Unlike the other area courses Bijou is relatively flat. There are a few minor elevation changes but nothing over 40-50 ft. It also is the largest course in Tahoe with 27 interchangeable holes. There are multiple pin positions per hole. Pin positions can change the same hole from a 200ft par 3 to an 800 ft par 5. The local club takes excellent care of the course using a hole adoption program to make sure each hole gets the attention it deserves. As of this summer (2013) there are new tee signs that include all of the pin locations and their correct distance from the tee. With a wide variety of tight and open, left and right pins this course offers something for everyone. The course layout is also very convenient, there are 3 separate holes you can start from in the parking lot and two practice baskets.
Cons: On a weekend with nice weather this course can get bogged down. During a tournament play is slow at bestů Only other con would be the dust during a dry spell, bring a good towel.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play, with a good club backing it. There are monthly tag rounds and weekly doubles during the summer. The crowds can be frustrating at times. A close neighbor and highly underutilized course is Zephyr Cove only 10 minutes away. It's the complete opposite of Bijou and much more challenging.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ok park course

1    9/22/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a beautiful park with nice pine trees and great views of the surrounding mountains. The course starts out pretty short and straightforward, with some longer and tougher holes toward the end. The pines make you do some line shaping, though you generally have multiple options on each hole. The mix of holes where the easiest shot is left or right turning is fairly even, and there's a good balance of reachable holes with some longer shots where you can throw a driver.

The park is nicely maintained, with good tees (and brooms for sweeping off pine needles). The tee signs are plenty informative, and I always appreciate pin position indicators. The multiple positions add some variety, they were in a nice mix of shorter and longer positions when I played.
Cons: The first nine are pretty short and straightforward, without much excitement or interesting challenge. The course gets better later, but it's a disappointing start. Too many of the holes are straight, you don't have to be too creative with different lines to score well here. With no real underbrush there isn't any punishment for a bad shot, you can almost always recover for par even with a horrible tee shot.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for beginners, with little punishment and straightforward shots. There are some longer holes but not so many that newer players will get frustrated. Experienced players can have a good time here, but don't expect a real test of line shaping or recovery skills. This is a great place to warm up for some of the more intense courses in the area, and worth a stop while you're in Tahoe.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

great course

5+    6/21/2011   4/21/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 25.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 27 holes in tahoe's beautiful vista. rubber tee's, access is easy, and good distances. Shop on site
Cons: usually unplayable in winter. Wish there was more elevation changes
Other Thoughts: If your in Tahoe, this is a cant miss course

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun times in South Lake

5+    12/27/2012   1/23/2013
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bijou is a great 27 hole course set in beautiful South Lake Tahoe. Nice rubber tees, large pine trees, shop on site, multiple pin locations, and great tee signs. The course is very well maintained by the locals and most are very friendly to play with. This is a great tourney course allowing for good flow and challenging layouts. Plenty of trash cans, benches, and loop backs to the car area. Summertime in Lake Tahoe is one of my favorite places to be in the summer time. Good parking that starts you at hole 1 and finishes you at hole 27. There is a good putting area with cement markers for putting contest or practice.
Cons: I personally do not have any issues with this course but I will mention some that I have heard. Wintertime DG in Tahoe is difficult due to snowfall. Summertime can be dry and dusty. The front nine is pretty easy (unless if set long). Can get pretty crowded but most people let you pass. Dogs have to be on leash or you can get a ticket. I'm not 100% but drinking is not allowed in the park. Lack of elevation for being in the mountains (I find that with what is available on the property that they do a pretty good job). There is only one drinking fountain by holes 10&15.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses to go and play regardless of the season. Not only does South Lake have great courses but the locals are some of the best. This course's biggest tourney of the year would be the battle of Bijou which is a B-tier in the Tahoe Series (this is a great event). It also used to host the national tour event King of the Lake. I know many people that hold this course high on their top courses but I have also met people who don't think much of the course. My explanation for this would be that compared to some of the other epic courses in the Tahoe basin this might not be as incredible. I think you are kidding yourself in saying you would be upset if this was your local course. With Zephyr Cove being about 20 minutes away you can easily play both in one day. Come play the Tahoe basin especially Bijou!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/20/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Large course with 27 holes.
-Good signage at each hole.
-Beautiful area
-Rubber pads with brooms
Cons: -Not very much elevation change
Other Thoughts: An easy course to find. Although there are numerous courses in the area that I would rate higher than this one its still worth checking out if you're in the area.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 27 Holes And What Do You Get-An Enjoyable Round!

1    8/17/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bijou Community Park Disc Golf Course features a store selling discs and other disc golf needs, rubber teepads, nice tee signs, two practice baskets, drinking fountain partway through and spinning washers on the post showing the basket positions. This is a really handy feature as some holes have up to three more added hole positions, for a total of five (5). It plays through towering mature pine trees and picnic type areas. The course is set up in sections making it easy to play it in 9 or 18 hole segments if you're not up to the entire 27 or to stop back at your car for refills.
The course is well maintained with no signs of vandalsim. No holes stood out as especially memorable but almost all were enjoyable. I didn't think of any as being filler holes.

Playing in August, it was dry so there was no water hazards on the course. Too bad as I'd like to see what the ponds are like with water. Although relatively flat, with most of the baskets in the "Longs" the course presented a fair challenge.
The course was fairly easy to navigate. The signs were big and informative.
Cons: This is a large mult-use park so you will encounter other park users time to time.

I don't think the challenge would be there for advanced to Pro type players. I see Bijou more as challenging rec course. No epics downhill throws or really memorable holes here, just 27 holes of solid disc golfing.

It's pretty but doesn't offer the epic views of some of the other area courses. That's hardly a CON, is it?

Other Thoughts: I played this course at the end of a long, hot, hard day of discing. After playing North Tahoe Lake Lions Club, North Tahoe Regional and Zephyr's Cove earlier today, I really wasn't looking forward to another 27 holes of disc golf. But the fact that I really enjoyed my round here definitely says something about this course. It's really well designed and maintained. I believe it's a course that a wide range of golfers would appreciate and enjoy playing. Which is probably why there were 50 players playing here at 6 PM and I had Zephyr's Cove completely to myself just two hours before. This is just another of the"Don't Miss" courses here in the Tahoe area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Destination Course

5+    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean, Two practice baskets that have footings, Rubber tee pads with brooms, Multiple pin placements, Course design, Signage, Easy Navigation, Little underbrush, Restrooms, Other Recreation nearby, Pavilion w/ BBQ, Snack bar, Parking close to hole 1, 27 Hole course, Friendly locals, Kiosk and best of all it's FREE!
Cons: Limited parking space, Summer months can be dry/dusty, Winter months can be covered in snow, Crowded at times, little elevation changes, Non- DGr's around, No alcohol, No dogs allowed on course?,
Other Thoughts: South Lake Tahoe is a popular family vacation hot spot that offers a plethora of outdoor recreation activities in town and the nearby resorts and including this public park. The park has a skate/bike and two dog parks which draws non DGr's to the area that may be leisurely walking near the meadows. Though most are aware of the flying discs be careful. Parking can be limited during summer months and there is no parking on Al Tahoe Blvd. There is a community college across the entrance to Bijou with plenty of parking and you don't want to park on the West side cause that is the police station!
The local Disc Golf Community is active with all aspects of their local courses and it shows from keeping the baskets constantly moving to holding PDGA tournaments and simply taking pride in what they have here. IMO the course flow and design offers a great chance for someone to experience the sport and as the course progresses it will challenge the rest with distance and increasing difficult pin placements. The course is very easy to navigate and little chances of losing plastic which is a plus any day! When I am in the area you can pencil me in for another round here year after year!
If you were to look up the definition "Destination Course" it would say Bijou Community Park DGC!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for that treeee!

1    8/24/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: tgashby
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Beautiful Scenery/Forest Smell
- Detailed and up to date signage
- Shop on site
- Just enough trees to make you cautious, but not enough to make you frustrated/angry
- Rubber pads with brooms at EVERY pad
- Other activities in the park, skatepark, volleyball, jogging course
Cons: - A few blind holes
- Not much variety
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you're passing through Lake Tahoe, not sure it's worth a long drive to get here though.
Very beautiful and check it out if you can!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.