Disc Golf Store
South Lake Tahoe, CA 
Bijou Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
In Tahoe? Play this course!

1    3/28/2014   4/1/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great locals to play and help you navigate this course. Not that it is really needed, but having some local help is a pro in my book. Great tee pads. Baskets are kept up really well and bright yellow to locate. The maps at each tee are great and well laid out for the basket placement. Washer system helps those that have not played before locate the basket. Fresh air, great views, long and technical shots. Not too many short holes, which is good if you have a big arm.
Cons: I don't think I can come up with anything that would be a con for this course. If I had to choose something, it would be the mass amount of pine cones on the ground. That should be taken care of in the next few weeks with the help of the locals who keep this course looking nice.
Other Thoughts: Zephyr Cove is a more challenging course, so use this one as a warm up before heading to play Zephyr. Take some water, lots of water, when you play and make sure you pack out or throw away what you take in. Keep this course looking beautiful for others to play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

S. Lake Disc Golf Paradise

5+    9/19/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bijou is a great addition to the Lake Tahoe area courses. Unlike the other area courses Bijou is relatively flat. There are a few minor elevation changes but nothing over 40-50 ft. It also is the largest course in Tahoe with 27 interchangeable holes. There are multiple pin positions per hole. Pin positions can change the same hole from a 200ft par 3 to an 800 ft par 5. The local club takes excellent care of the course using a hole adoption program to make sure each hole gets the attention it deserves. As of this summer (2013) there are new tee signs that include all of the pin locations and their correct distance from the tee. With a wide variety of tight and open, left and right pins this course offers something for everyone. The course layout is also very convenient, there are 3 separate holes you can start from in the parking lot and two practice baskets.
Cons: On a weekend with nice weather this course can get bogged down. During a tournament play is slow at bestů Only other con would be the dust during a dry spell, bring a good towel.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play, with a good club backing it. There are monthly tag rounds and weekly doubles during the summer. The crowds can be frustrating at times. A close neighbor and highly underutilized course is Zephyr Cove only 10 minutes away. It's the complete opposite of Bijou and much more challenging.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun times in South Lake

5+    12/27/2012   1/23/2013
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bijou is a great 27 hole course set in beautiful South Lake Tahoe. Nice rubber tees, large pine trees, shop on site, multiple pin locations, and great tee signs. The course is very well maintained by the locals and most are very friendly to play with. This is a great tourney course allowing for good flow and challenging layouts. Plenty of trash cans, benches, and loop backs to the car area. Summertime in Lake Tahoe is one of my favorite places to be in the summer time. Good parking that starts you at hole 1 and finishes you at hole 27. There is a good putting area with cement markers for putting contest or practice.
Cons: I personally do not have any issues with this course but I will mention some that I have heard. Wintertime DG in Tahoe is difficult due to snowfall. Summertime can be dry and dusty. The front nine is pretty easy (unless if set long). Can get pretty crowded but most people let you pass. Dogs have to be on leash or you can get a ticket. I'm not 100% but drinking is not allowed in the park. Lack of elevation for being in the mountains (I find that with what is available on the property that they do a pretty good job). There is only one drinking fountain by holes 10&15.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses to go and play regardless of the season. Not only does South Lake have great courses but the locals are some of the best. This course's biggest tourney of the year would be the battle of Bijou which is a B-tier in the Tahoe Series (this is a great event). It also used to host the national tour event King of the Lake. I know many people that hold this course high on their top courses but I have also met people who don't think much of the course. My explanation for this would be that compared to some of the other epic courses in the Tahoe basin this might not be as incredible. I think you are kidding yourself in saying you would be upset if this was your local course. With Zephyr Cove being about 20 minutes away you can easily play both in one day. Come play the Tahoe basin especially Bijou!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/20/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Large course with 27 holes.
-Good signage at each hole.
-Beautiful area
-Rubber pads with brooms
Cons: -Not very much elevation change
Other Thoughts: An easy course to find. Although there are numerous courses in the area that I would rate higher than this one its still worth checking out if you're in the area.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 27 Holes And What Do You Get-An Enjoyable Round!

1    8/17/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bijou Community Park Disc Golf Course features a store selling discs and other disc golf needs, rubber teepads, nice tee signs, two practice baskets, drinking fountain partway through and spinning washers on the post showing the basket positions. This is a really handy feature as some holes have up to three more added hole positions, for a total of five (5). It plays through towering mature pine trees and picnic type areas. The course is set up in sections making it easy to play it in 9 or 18 hole segments if you're not up to the entire 27 or to stop back at your car for refills.
The course is well maintained with no signs of vandalsim. No holes stood out as especially memorable but almost all were enjoyable. I didn't think of any as being filler holes.

Playing in August, it was dry so there was no water hazards on the course. Too bad as I'd like to see what the ponds are like with water. Although relatively flat, with most of the baskets in the "Longs" the course presented a fair challenge.
The course was fairly easy to navigate. The signs were big and informative.
Cons: This is a large mult-use park so you will encounter other park users time to time.

I don't think the challenge would be there for advanced to Pro type players. I see Bijou more as challenging rec course. No epics downhill throws or really memorable holes here, just 27 holes of solid disc golfing.

It's pretty but doesn't offer the epic views of some of the other area courses. That's hardly a CON, is it?

Other Thoughts: I played this course at the end of a long, hot, hard day of discing. After playing North Tahoe Lake Lions Club, North Tahoe Regional and Zephyr's Cove earlier today, I really wasn't looking forward to another 27 holes of disc golf. But the fact that I really enjoyed my round here definitely says something about this course. It's really well designed and maintained. I believe it's a course that a wide range of golfers would appreciate and enjoy playing. Which is probably why there were 50 players playing here at 6 PM and I had Zephyr's Cove completely to myself just two hours before. This is just another of the"Don't Miss" courses here in the Tahoe area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Destination Course

5+    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean, Two practice baskets that have footings, Rubber tee pads with brooms, Multiple pin placements, Course design, Signage, Easy Navigation, Little underbrush, Restrooms, Other Recreation nearby, Pavilion w/ BBQ, Snack bar, Parking close to hole 1, 27 Hole course, Friendly locals, Kiosk and best of all it's FREE!
Cons: Limited parking space, Summer months can be dry/dusty, Winter months can be covered in snow, Crowded at times, little elevation changes, Non- DGr's around, No alcohol, No dogs allowed on course?,
Other Thoughts: South Lake Tahoe is a popular family vacation hot spot that offers a plethora of outdoor recreation activities in town and the nearby resorts and including this public park. The park has a skate/bike and two dog parks which draws non DGr's to the area that may be leisurely walking near the meadows. Though most are aware of the flying discs be careful. Parking can be limited during summer months and there is no parking on Al Tahoe Blvd. There is a community college across the entrance to Bijou with plenty of parking and you don't want to park on the West side cause that is the police station!
The local Disc Golf Community is active with all aspects of their local courses and it shows from keeping the baskets constantly moving to holding PDGA tournaments and simply taking pride in what they have here. IMO the course flow and design offers a great chance for someone to experience the sport and as the course progresses it will challenge the rest with distance and increasing difficult pin placements. The course is very easy to navigate and little chances of losing plastic which is a plus any day! When I am in the area you can pencil me in for another round here year after year!
If you were to look up the definition "Destination Course" it would say Bijou Community Park DGC!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for that treeee!

1    8/24/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: tgashby
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Beautiful Scenery/Forest Smell
- Detailed and up to date signage
- Shop on site
- Just enough trees to make you cautious, but not enough to make you frustrated/angry
- Rubber pads with brooms at EVERY pad
- Other activities in the park, skatepark, volleyball, jogging course
Cons: - A few blind holes
- Not much variety
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you're passing through Lake Tahoe, not sure it's worth a long drive to get here though.
Very beautiful and check it out if you can!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Park Course in Mountain World

2-4    8/4/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to follow without map
-Great simple fast golf
-Two practice baskets
-Great 'acclimation' course at 6400'
-Standard variety
-Rubber tees with brooms
-Tee signs with big numbers
-Great local vibe
-Shop on site
-Fantastic views
-DISCatchers
Cons: -Basically flat
-Not exclusive, but the people walking through were among the friendliest and most aware that I have ever seen
-Bathrooms are far (does not factor into rating)
-Somewhat lack of risk/reward shots
Other Thoughts: Bijou Community Park (pronounced Bee-Jew) in South Lake Tahoe is the only real 'park-like' course in the Tahoe basin, providing an opportunity to play a straightforward 27 hold round of golf in a reasonable period of time. While I say park-like, it is definitely in the forest with dirt terrain, towering pines, and lots of dust.

We must have visited right before or after an Ace Race because basically every pin was in its easiest position. No complaints from me though, this was well appreciated after playing all of the other courses in the area, all of which seemed to be set up in their 'F-U' positions. Easy as it was, the challenges were straightforward and simple. Dogleg left, dogleg right, straight ahead, straight ahead with obstacle in between, short, and sorta long. No blinds, either, which is also nice for a first timer. A birdie run for any advanced player and a fun attempt at par for the rest of us (my SSA940 friend shot -10 to -15 over 3 rounds).

Crowds were present, lots of families, groups of young adults, disc golfers, people with pets, and so on. Locals would stop to watch us drive before proceeding on trails through the hole. Slow golfers let us play through. We let fast golfers through and they visibly hurried to get out of our way. Very nice vibe.

My rating is not affected by amenities or the lack of them, but for the record the course does have a shop with snacks, and a water fountain which is accessible from tee 1, 9, and 16. Two practice baskets in the parking median...very nice. The restroom was off the beaten path and there aren't all that many places to duck behind a tree...very public park. Picnic pavilions, 2 dog parks, a skate park, volleyball, and NO SOCCER are some other things you will find here.

With 27 holes between 150 and 750 feet, this course really does have a well rounded variety of 'easy' holes. Most of the other courses in the area have serious ground cover and elevation, so Bijou is a great reprieve from all that and a nice place to watch your disc fly and even get a little skip!

For people on a disc vacation to the area, I would recommend hitting this park up first. As we all know disc stability changes with elevation, and with its lack of elevation and ground cover, Bijou is a good opportunity to watch how your disc flies before sending it 1200 feet over a cliff at Squaw. It's nearly impossible to lose a disc here (at least in the summer, all 'ponds' were dry). Great views, close to everything, and ease of play makes this a great course for repeat rounds and some easy going golf. Makes me wish I was a local.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/23/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: UT Discgolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is very well maintaned with an excellant layout allowing for a quick few holes or the full 24 which ever time allows.
Cons: Hole 1 with the road/parking to the left can be hazardous. I was actually hit with someones drive while exiting the parking lot. The disc came through the passanger window of our truck and put a nice bruise on my thigh.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding course!

1    7/17/1997   2/12/2012
Review By: J-Mo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Amazing course design
-Beautiful area
-Tees and baskets were in excellent shape
Cons:
-One or two of the holes weren't manicured/cleared. Had to actually climb over huge fallen trees on the fairway.
Other Thoughts:
This course is an outstanding course with a nice variance of difficulty. It took me about an hour to get there (from Citrus Heights), but it was well worth the drive.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center