South Lake Tahoe, CA 
Bijou Community Park Share
Uploaded By: sansho Hole #7 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
great course

5+    6/21/2011   4/21/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 25.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 27 holes in tahoe's beautiful vista. rubber tee's, access is easy, and good distances. Shop on site
Cons: usually unplayable in winter. Wish there was more elevation changes
Other Thoughts: If your in Tahoe, this is a cant miss course

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tahoes Staple Gem!

5+    6/29/2010   1/7/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 82  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bijou Community Park is a very nice tranquil setting to play Disc Golf in...
With 27 amazing holes to throw... the layout and variety of shots make Bijou an amazingly insane place to play golf! The course comes back to the parking lot after Hole 9 and Hole 15 giving players plenty of refill stops at their car.
There is a perfect mix of technical and more "open" holes; but overall.. the course is going to give you a run for your money regardless! It's never packed either to my knowledge!
I wouldn't say there are really any signature holes here... just 27 great holes of golf to be played! If your heading to the Tahoe area, you better make this a stop during your trip! You will NOT be disappointed!
Cons: Snows a LOT in the winter, leaving it almost impossible to get a full 27 holes in. But we can't control mother nature. So there really are no cons at all! :^D
Other Thoughts: This course will make you fall in love with the sport all over again. Once you hit Hole 12-14 with the big open field and mountains surrounding you.. all you have to do is put down your bag and take a look around at where your golfing! It's absolutely beautiful!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/14/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: Rocknminerals
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love any course with 27 holes!!! This is a great local course in the middle of town. One of my favorite things about this course is that the pins are always being changed up. Some elevation change, along with a good amount of long shots. Great layout with plenty of trees.
Cons: I really don't have any complaints about the course. Maybe that there's no water shots, only in the spring.
Other Thoughts: I hope they can build more courses like this one close by. I can't wait to play here again;-)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Loved It

1    8/13/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 27 HOLES! That's fantastic and the course is laid out so well that we were done relatively quickly. The course really rewards having the ability to throw different lines. The ground cover makes it easy to find ones disc which is good for players of all ability. Terrain is kid/stroller friendly.
Cons: Can be rather dusty so bring a towel to clean one's discs. Not terribly challenging bogey-wise. Never bogeyed and the course was forgiving with poor drives.
Other Thoughts: Gazebos were nice along with the other course attractions (skate park & playground.)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Still a favorite.

5+    10/15/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: trashmonster1985
Played: 80  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very easy navigation. they usually do a good job about keeping up on the signs where the baskets are. great fairways. tons of different shot choices. lefts, rights, open fairways, tight fairways. this is one of those courses that has everything you want. since they change the pin locations regularly the course is always exciting to play. beautiful tahoe scenery, very friendly atmosphere, i love this place. great place for practicing in the beginning with two practice baskets. occasional tourneys. wide skill range of golfers. i've seen everything from pro's to beginners. 27 fun and unique holes. with the skatepark rebuilt there is also snack bar. and a fun little park to skate around in after a round of disc.
Cons: not many, the dust and occasional crowds are about the only things i've ever disliked about the course.
Other Thoughts: Bijou was the first course i played back in '07. at that point it set the standard for courses for me, and sadly no other courses compared for a long while. it is a great course for any level. or seriousness of player. in the spring you can usually do a round then still head over to sierra or another close resort and get a few runs in. beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. so much stuff to do around the course as well. still one of my favorites and always will be. plus playing at 6200 ft elevation is a rarety for most people i think. this used to be my regular course, and whenever i go back down to visit friends i always set some time aside to throw a little at the bijou. if you are near tahoe, do not miss this course!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Tahoe treat

2-4    7/21/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: springy101
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 27 holes! nice rubber teepads, great signage and brooms at most holes, not very busy, great friendly locals, up and down hill holes, and you can't forget Tahoe's beauty.
Cons: Once you finish hole 15 and you start on the "back side," the holes get really hard and also hard to find.
Other Thoughts: I went camping for 5 days and ended up playing this course 3 times.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    6/30/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: tlandegent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes, distances, types of environment barriers.
The baskets usually had between 2-3 locations, and the one it was at was usually clearly marked at the tee box.
Trees and terrain add big challenges!
Cons: The marker designating the basket location was sometimes missing, and on a few holes, the basket was not at the location marked at the tee box (maybe some hooligans changed the basket markers!)
Other Thoughts: For being "one of the top 10 courses in the country" (according to a guy playing there), I could have used more clarity in where the next hole was after completing one.
The trees were a great challenge, but proved to be HUGE challenges at times... my disc ricocheted off 2 trees per throw on a few holes... there's that many! (Also, a decent amount of sap gathered on the edge of my driver)
Be prepared to get dusty.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

2-4    5/30/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: ntwrk
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2009
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Amazing 27 hole course
Beautiful setting
Great variety of challenging holes to test your different shot types
Long, mid and short holes
Nice facilities (water on 10, bathrooms by 1-2)
Did I mention this is a great course?
Cons: Nothing really.....
Other Thoughts: If you are in the Tahoe area HIT THIS COURSE!!!!! I was only in Tahoe for two days and we played this course twice in one day. This is by far one of the best courses I've played.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 This course has almost spoiled me

5+    12/1/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: pineappaloupe
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free, laid back (beware there were rent a cops trying to enforce a no dog and no beer rule this summer), good for beginners but also challenging for pros, course changes every week, locals are great, Russ is great, losing a disc is very rare but the trees can be punishing, doesn't get old after playing 60+ times a year for 4 years... new tee pads!
The course is pretty balanced for left and right handed throwers.
Cons: As the trees and shurbs have grown in some hole placement seem masochistic (but Russ has been working to clear vegetation this year).
Can't be played year round because of snow (just go ski/board instead)
Police station near hole 7 (never been a problem but cops are cops)
Other Thoughts: The best part about this course is that you can try new throws and play aggressive without worrying about losing discs. The course can be very challenging especially when you consider that playing at 6300ft changes how discs fly (throw lower weights).
I love this course.

RE: The other review's comments on local tree huggers saying no to concrete tee pads:
This is kind of true, concrete pads could be built but it isn't worth the effort to get permits.
This problem is solved with rubber tee mats, which have proven to be awesome this year!
Thanks Russ and all of you who donate money to the course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.