South Lake Tahoe, CA 
Bijou Community Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #6
3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Park Course in Mountain World

2-4    8/4/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to follow without map
-Great simple fast golf
-Two practice baskets
-Great 'acclimation' course at 6400'
-Standard variety
-Rubber tees with brooms
-Tee signs with big numbers
-Great local vibe
-Shop on site
-Fantastic views
-DISCatchers
Cons: -Basically flat
-Not exclusive, but the people walking through were among the friendliest and most aware that I have ever seen
-Bathrooms are far (does not factor into rating)
-Somewhat lack of risk/reward shots
Other Thoughts: Bijou Community Park (pronounced Bee-Jew) in South Lake Tahoe is the only real 'park-like' course in the Tahoe basin, providing an opportunity to play a straightforward 27 hold round of golf in a reasonable period of time. While I say park-like, it is definitely in the forest with dirt terrain, towering pines, and lots of dust.

We must have visited right before or after an Ace Race because basically every pin was in its easiest position. No complaints from me though, this was well appreciated after playing all of the other courses in the area, all of which seemed to be set up in their 'F-U' positions. Easy as it was, the challenges were straightforward and simple. Dogleg left, dogleg right, straight ahead, straight ahead with obstacle in between, short, and sorta long. No blinds, either, which is also nice for a first timer. A birdie run for any advanced player and a fun attempt at par for the rest of us (my SSA940 friend shot -10 to -15 over 3 rounds).

Crowds were present, lots of families, groups of young adults, disc golfers, people with pets, and so on. Locals would stop to watch us drive before proceeding on trails through the hole. Slow golfers let us play through. We let fast golfers through and they visibly hurried to get out of our way. Very nice vibe.

My rating is not affected by amenities or the lack of them, but for the record the course does have a shop with snacks, and a water fountain which is accessible from tee 1, 9, and 16. Two practice baskets in the parking median...very nice. The restroom was off the beaten path and there aren't all that many places to duck behind a tree...very public park. Picnic pavilions, 2 dog parks, a skate park, volleyball, and NO SOCCER are some other things you will find here.

With 27 holes between 150 and 750 feet, this course really does have a well rounded variety of 'easy' holes. Most of the other courses in the area have serious ground cover and elevation, so Bijou is a great reprieve from all that and a nice place to watch your disc fly and even get a little skip!

For people on a disc vacation to the area, I would recommend hitting this park up first. As we all know disc stability changes with elevation, and with its lack of elevation and ground cover, Bijou is a good opportunity to watch how your disc flies before sending it 1200 feet over a cliff at Squaw. It's nearly impossible to lose a disc here (at least in the summer, all 'ponds' were dry). Great views, close to everything, and ease of play makes this a great course for repeat rounds and some easy going golf. Makes me wish I was a local.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/23/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: UT Discgolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is very well maintaned with an excellant layout allowing for a quick few holes or the full 24 which ever time allows.
Cons: Hole 1 with the road/parking to the left can be hazardous. I was actually hit with someones drive while exiting the parking lot. The disc came through the passanger window of our truck and put a nice bruise on my thigh.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding course!

1    7/17/1997   2/12/2012
Review By: J-Mo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Amazing course design
-Beautiful area
-Tees and baskets were in excellent shape
Cons:
-One or two of the holes weren't manicured/cleared. Had to actually climb over huge fallen trees on the fairway.
Other Thoughts:
This course is an outstanding course with a nice variance of difficulty. It took me about an hour to get there (from Citrus Heights), but it was well worth the drive.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2010   3/10/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 9.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- 27 beautiful holes of Tahoe DG
- Rubber tee pads on most holes (concrete 1 that I can remember) with brooms on most
- Good signage with nice maps including distances and pin position
- Easy navigation
- Trees used well to provide a variety of shots, often with more than one route that you can take
- Beautiful views of the mountains on the back holes
- Loops back to the parking lot so you can grab more drinks or skip some holes if there are some big groups starting
- Variety of holes. From wide open to tightly wooded. Lefts, Rights, and straight ahead shots. From short to long.
- Multiple basket placements on every hole
- Challenging, but not unfair
- Bathrooms neer hole 1
- 2 practice baskets
- Playground, dog park, and skatepark for family or friends that are with you that might not want to golf.
Cons: - A hole neer the back had a new placement on it, that wasn't on the map, making it difficult to find on our first time through
- Dusty in the summer. This is a slick dust that seems to make the disc want to slip out of your hand, so hold on tight, and bring an extra towel.
- No Beers
- No Dogs
- Police station is right next to the course
- Some blind baskets
* It would be nice if it had some more elevation change, but Zepher Cove is right down the road for that
Other Thoughts: Bijou is a wonderful peice of the pie that makes up Tahoe disc golf. Only minutes away from one of my favorite courses (Zepher Cove), Bijou is 27 holes of well laid out disc golf. When I first looked at pictures and reviews of this course I didn't think that a course that's mostly flat could be a top notch course. The hole design is wonderful, with left's, right's and straight ahead shots, usualy with multiple routes to get to each hole. During your round you will be treated to beautiful views of the mountains that are around Lake Tahoe. There is a meddow neer the middle of the course thats worth stoping and taking a deep breath and just enjoying the view for a minute. Over all I would say that this course is well worth a visit if your passing through the Tahoe area.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Tahoes Staple Gem!

5+    6/29/2010   1/7/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 77  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bijou Community Park is a very nice tranquil setting to play Disc Golf in...
With 27 amazing holes to throw... the layout and variety of shots make Bijou an amazingly insane place to play golf! The course comes back to the parking lot after Hole 9 and Hole 15 giving players plenty of refill stops at their car.
There is a perfect mix of technical and more "open" holes; but overall.. the course is going to give you a run for your money regardless! It's never packed either to my knowledge!
I wouldn't say there are really any signature holes here... just 27 great holes of golf to be played! If your heading to the Tahoe area, you better make this a stop during your trip! You will NOT be disappointed!
Cons: Snows a LOT in the winter, leaving it almost impossible to get a full 27 holes in. But we can't control mother nature. So there really are no cons at all! :^D
Other Thoughts: This course will make you fall in love with the sport all over again. Once you hit Hole 12-14 with the big open field and mountains surrounding you.. all you have to do is put down your bag and take a look around at where your golfing! It's absolutely beautiful!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/14/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: Rocknminerals
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love any course with 27 holes!!! This is a great local course in the middle of town. One of my favorite things about this course is that the pins are always being changed up. Some elevation change, along with a good amount of long shots. Great layout with plenty of trees.
Cons: I really don't have any complaints about the course. Maybe that there's no water shots, only in the spring.
Other Thoughts: I hope they can build more courses like this one close by. I can't wait to play here again;-)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bijou

5+    8/21/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: Swiftacle
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 27 holes. The front nine offers a good warm-up for the back 18.
Other Thoughts: Recently cleared out a ton of trees. The course now plays 5-6 shots easier, and it wasn't that challenging of a course to begin with. There are still some precise shots, but the front nine has opened up to where 7 of the holes are ace-able.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Loved It

1    8/13/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 27 HOLES! That's fantastic and the course is laid out so well that we were done relatively quickly. The course really rewards having the ability to throw different lines. The ground cover makes it easy to find ones disc which is good for players of all ability. Terrain is kid/stroller friendly.
Cons: Can be rather dusty so bring a towel to clean one's discs. Not terribly challenging bogey-wise. Never bogeyed and the course was forgiving with poor drives.
Other Thoughts: Gazebos were nice along with the other course attractions (skate park & playground.)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Play It

2-4    5/30/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Another killer Tahoe course. Wide variety of holes laid out in a city park. 27 holes, very cool!
Well laid out without much traffic once you clear the first few holes. Good markers and easy to find your way. There are brooms at every tee to clean the mat if you need to. Nice park with a skatepark, small grass area, playground, dog park and restrooms. Bring your A game to get around all the different hols on this course, long, short, clear shots, trees etc. Very very creative. They locals we met (except 2 who were way to pushy) were all super cool. They take pride in this course and it shows.
Cons: Parking on a busy day can suck, but hey its FREE
Other Thoughts: Great course, if you are near here, play it. I am already trying to talk my wife into going back in a couple weeks and we are lucky and only live a little over an hour away.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellente!

1    4/24/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: *Awesome variety of shots
*Good distance and very creative
*Some nice water holes
*Very spread out
Cons: *Puddles on some tees
*Can get mildly crowded
Other Thoughts: Upon arriving in tahoe before i had even been to the course before i was excited to check it out and it deffinately met my expectations. you start out by the parking area and work your way around huge trees soon snakeing you back into the woods where theres a cool water shot over a pond. its a great course and having 27holes never hurts, will look forward to returning.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.