South Lake Tahoe, CA
Bijou Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #26
3 / 236ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #26 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/23/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: UT Discgolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is very well maintaned with an excellant layout allowing for a quick few holes or the full 24 which ever time allows.
Cons: Hole 1 with the road/parking to the left can be hazardous. I was actually hit with someones drive while exiting the parking lot. The disc came through the passanger window of our truck and put a nice bruise on my thigh.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding course!

1    7/17/1997   2/12/2012
Review By: J-Mo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Amazing course design
-Beautiful area
-Tees and baskets were in excellent shape
Cons:
-One or two of the holes weren't manicured/cleared. Had to actually climb over huge fallen trees on the fairway.
Other Thoughts:
This course is an outstanding course with a nice variance of difficulty. It took me about an hour to get there (from Citrus Heights), but it was well worth the drive.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2010   3/10/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 109  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.9 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- 27 beautiful holes of Tahoe DG
- Rubber tee pads on most holes (concrete 1 that I can remember) with brooms on most
- Good signage with nice maps including distances and pin position
- Easy navigation
- Trees used well to provide a variety of shots, often with more than one route that you can take
- Beautiful views of the mountains on the back holes
- Loops back to the parking lot so you can grab more drinks or skip some holes if there are some big groups starting
- Variety of holes. From wide open to tightly wooded. Lefts, Rights, and straight ahead shots. From short to long.
- Multiple basket placements on every hole
- Challenging, but not unfair
- Bathrooms neer hole 1
- 2 practice baskets
- Playground, dog park, and skatepark for family or friends that are with you that might not want to golf.
Cons: - A hole neer the back had a new placement on it, that wasn't on the map, making it difficult to find on our first time through
- Dusty in the summer. This is a slick dust that seems to make the disc want to slip out of your hand, so hold on tight, and bring an extra towel.
- No Beers
- No Dogs
- Police station is right next to the course
- Some blind baskets
* It would be nice if it had some more elevation change, but Zepher Cove is right down the road for that
Other Thoughts: Bijou is a wonderful peice of the pie that makes up Tahoe disc golf. Only minutes away from one of my favorite courses (Zepher Cove), Bijou is 27 holes of well laid out disc golf. When I first looked at pictures and reviews of this course I didn't think that a course that's mostly flat could be a top notch course. The hole design is wonderful, with left's, right's and straight ahead shots, usualy with multiple routes to get to each hole. During your round you will be treated to beautiful views of the mountains that are around Lake Tahoe. There is a meddow neer the middle of the course thats worth stoping and taking a deep breath and just enjoying the view for a minute. Over all I would say that this course is well worth a visit if your passing through the Tahoe area.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tahoes Staple Gem!

5+    6/29/2010   1/7/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bijou Community Park is a very nice tranquil setting to play Disc Golf in...
With 27 amazing holes to throw... the layout and variety of shots make Bijou an amazingly insane place to play golf! The course comes back to the parking lot after Hole 9 and Hole 15 giving players plenty of refill stops at their car.
There is a perfect mix of technical and more "open" holes; but overall.. the course is going to give you a run for your money regardless! It's never packed either to my knowledge!
I wouldn't say there are really any signature holes here... just 27 great holes of golf to be played! If your heading to the Tahoe area, you better make this a stop during your trip! You will NOT be disappointed!
Cons: Snows a LOT in the winter, leaving it almost impossible to get a full 27 holes in. But we can't control mother nature. So there really are no cons at all! :^D
Other Thoughts: This course will make you fall in love with the sport all over again. Once you hit Hole 12-14 with the big open field and mountains surrounding you.. all you have to do is put down your bag and take a look around at where your golfing! It's absolutely beautiful!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/14/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: Rocknminerals
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love any course with 27 holes!!! This is a great local course in the middle of town. One of my favorite things about this course is that the pins are always being changed up. Some elevation change, along with a good amount of long shots. Great layout with plenty of trees.
Cons: I really don't have any complaints about the course. Maybe that there's no water shots, only in the spring.
Other Thoughts: I hope they can build more courses like this one close by. I can't wait to play here again;-)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bijou

5+    8/21/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: Swiftacle
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 27 holes. The front nine offers a good warm-up for the back 18.
Other Thoughts: Recently cleared out a ton of trees. The course now plays 5-6 shots easier, and it wasn't that challenging of a course to begin with. There are still some precise shots, but the front nine has opened up to where 7 of the holes are ace-able.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Loved It

1    8/13/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 27  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 27 HOLES! That's fantastic and the course is laid out so well that we were done relatively quickly. The course really rewards having the ability to throw different lines. The ground cover makes it easy to find ones disc which is good for players of all ability. Terrain is kid/stroller friendly.
Cons: Can be rather dusty so bring a towel to clean one's discs. Not terribly challenging bogey-wise. Never bogeyed and the course was forgiving with poor drives.
Other Thoughts: Gazebos were nice along with the other course attractions (skate park & playground.)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Play It

2-4    5/30/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Another killer Tahoe course. Wide variety of holes laid out in a city park. 27 holes, very cool!
Well laid out without much traffic once you clear the first few holes. Good markers and easy to find your way. There are brooms at every tee to clean the mat if you need to. Nice park with a skatepark, small grass area, playground, dog park and restrooms. Bring your A game to get around all the different hols on this course, long, short, clear shots, trees etc. Very very creative. They locals we met (except 2 who were way to pushy) were all super cool. They take pride in this course and it shows.
Cons: Parking on a busy day can suck, but hey its FREE
Other Thoughts: Great course, if you are near here, play it. I am already trying to talk my wife into going back in a couple weeks and we are lucky and only live a little over an hour away.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellente!

1    4/24/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: *Awesome variety of shots
*Good distance and very creative
*Some nice water holes
*Very spread out
Cons: *Puddles on some tees
*Can get mildly crowded
Other Thoughts: Upon arriving in tahoe before i had even been to the course before i was excited to check it out and it deffinately met my expectations. you start out by the parking area and work your way around huge trees soon snakeing you back into the woods where theres a cool water shot over a pond. its a great course and having 27holes never hurts, will look forward to returning.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Stunning and plenty of holes.

1    10/27/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with 27 holes.Great use of land.Very few weak holes.

Incredible tees.These might be the best tees I've played.I don't know what the material is but I never lost my footing (something that happens occasionally even on concrete).

You will need every shot to do well.Back hand,sidearm,hyzer,anhyzer and the occasional overhand.Though I found myself throwing a lot of high hyzers as that is my best shot there were plenty of options on just about every hole.
Cons: There were more than a few times I had trouble finding the next tee.I think this has a lot to do with being in a forest.However I feel more could've been done to address this.

An abundance of blind baskets.I spent a lot of time trying to find the basket from the tee.I would've liked to see more done to let the player know the current basket location.With that being said the times I couldn't find the basket I threw down the middle and was in good shape.
Other Thoughts: Great course you should play if you get the chance.The scenery was amazing.


3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.