South Lake Tahoe, CA 
Bijou Community Park Share
Uploaded By: Skwirly Hole #16 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 349ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 27 Holes And What Do You Get-An Enjoyable Round!

1    8/17/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bijou Community Park Disc Golf Course features a store selling discs and other disc golf needs, rubber teepads, nice tee signs, two practice baskets, drinking fountain partway through and spinning washers on the post showing the basket positions. This is a really handy feature as some holes have up to three more added hole positions, for a total of five (5). It plays through towering mature pine trees and picnic type areas. The course is set up in sections making it easy to play it in 9 or 18 hole segments if you're not up to the entire 27 or to stop back at your car for refills.
The course is well maintained with no signs of vandalsim. No holes stood out as especially memorable but almost all were enjoyable. I didn't think of any as being filler holes.

Playing in August, it was dry so there was no water hazards on the course. Too bad as I'd like to see what the ponds are like with water. Although relatively flat, with most of the baskets in the "Longs" the course presented a fair challenge.
The course was fairly easy to navigate. The signs were big and informative.
Cons: This is a large mult-use park so you will encounter other park users time to time.

I don't think the challenge would be there for advanced to Pro type players. I see Bijou more as challenging rec course. No epics downhill throws or really memorable holes here, just 27 holes of solid disc golfing.

It's pretty but doesn't offer the epic views of some of the other area courses. That's hardly a CON, is it?

Other Thoughts: I played this course at the end of a long, hot, hard day of discing. After playing North Tahoe Lake Lions Club, North Tahoe Regional and Zephyr's Cove earlier today, I really wasn't looking forward to another 27 holes of disc golf. But the fact that I really enjoyed my round here definitely says something about this course. It's really well designed and maintained. I believe it's a course that a wide range of golfers would appreciate and enjoy playing. Which is probably why there were 50 players playing here at 6 PM and I had Zephyr's Cove completely to myself just two hours before. This is just another of the"Don't Miss" courses here in the Tahoe area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Destination Course

5+    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 224  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean, Two practice baskets that have footings, Rubber tee pads with brooms, Multiple pin placements, Course design, Signage, Easy Navigation, Little underbrush, Restrooms, Other Recreation nearby, Pavilion w/ BBQ, Snack bar, Parking close to hole 1, 27 Hole course, Friendly locals, Kiosk and best of all it's FREE!
Cons: Limited parking space, Summer months can be dry/dusty, Winter months can be covered in snow, Crowded at times, little elevation changes, Non- DGr's around, No alcohol, No dogs allowed on course?,
Other Thoughts: South Lake Tahoe is a popular family vacation hot spot that offers a plethora of outdoor recreation activities in town and the nearby resorts and including this public park. The park has a skate/bike and two dog parks which draws non DGr's to the area that may be leisurely walking near the meadows. Though most are aware of the flying discs be careful. Parking can be limited during summer months and there is no parking on Al Tahoe Blvd. There is a community college across the entrance to Bijou with plenty of parking and you don't want to park on the West side cause that is the police station!
The local Disc Golf Community is active with all aspects of their local courses and it shows from keeping the baskets constantly moving to holding PDGA tournaments and simply taking pride in what they have here. IMO the course flow and design offers a great chance for someone to experience the sport and as the course progresses it will challenge the rest with distance and increasing difficult pin placements. The course is very easy to navigate and little chances of losing plastic which is a plus any day! When I am in the area you can pencil me in for another round here year after year!
If you were to look up the definition "Destination Course" it would say Bijou Community Park DGC!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for that treeee!

1    8/24/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: tgashby
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful Scenery/Forest Smell
- Detailed and up to date signage
- Shop on site
- Just enough trees to make you cautious, but not enough to make you frustrated/angry
- Rubber pads with brooms at EVERY pad
- Other activities in the park, skatepark, volleyball, jogging course
Cons: - A few blind holes
- Not much variety
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you're passing through Lake Tahoe, not sure it's worth a long drive to get here though.
Very beautiful and check it out if you can!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Park Course in Mountain World

2-4    8/4/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to follow without map
-Great simple fast golf
-Two practice baskets
-Great 'acclimation' course at 6400'
-Standard variety
-Rubber tees with brooms
-Tee signs with big numbers
-Great local vibe
-Shop on site
-Fantastic views
Cons: -Basically flat
-Not exclusive, but the people walking through were among the friendliest and most aware that I have ever seen
-Bathrooms are far (does not factor into rating)
-Somewhat lack of risk/reward shots
Other Thoughts: Bijou Community Park (pronounced Bee-Jew) in South Lake Tahoe is the only real 'park-like' course in the Tahoe basin, providing an opportunity to play a straightforward 27 hold round of golf in a reasonable period of time. While I say park-like, it is definitely in the forest with dirt terrain, towering pines, and lots of dust.

We must have visited right before or after an Ace Race because basically every pin was in its easiest position. No complaints from me though, this was well appreciated after playing all of the other courses in the area, all of which seemed to be set up in their 'F-U' positions. Easy as it was, the challenges were straightforward and simple. Dogleg left, dogleg right, straight ahead, straight ahead with obstacle in between, short, and sorta long. No blinds, either, which is also nice for a first timer. A birdie run for any advanced player and a fun attempt at par for the rest of us (my SSA940 friend shot -10 to -15 over 3 rounds).

Crowds were present, lots of families, groups of young adults, disc golfers, people with pets, and so on. Locals would stop to watch us drive before proceeding on trails through the hole. Slow golfers let us play through. We let fast golfers through and they visibly hurried to get out of our way. Very nice vibe.

My rating is not affected by amenities or the lack of them, but for the record the course does have a shop with snacks, and a water fountain which is accessible from tee 1, 9, and 16. Two practice baskets in the parking median...very nice. The restroom was off the beaten path and there aren't all that many places to duck behind a tree...very public park. Picnic pavilions, 2 dog parks, a skate park, volleyball, and NO SOCCER are some other things you will find here.

With 27 holes between 150 and 750 feet, this course really does have a well rounded variety of 'easy' holes. Most of the other courses in the area have serious ground cover and elevation, so Bijou is a great reprieve from all that and a nice place to watch your disc fly and even get a little skip!

For people on a disc vacation to the area, I would recommend hitting this park up first. As we all know disc stability changes with elevation, and with its lack of elevation and ground cover, Bijou is a good opportunity to watch how your disc flies before sending it 1200 feet over a cliff at Squaw. It's nearly impossible to lose a disc here (at least in the summer, all 'ponds' were dry). Great views, close to everything, and ease of play makes this a great course for repeat rounds and some easy going golf. Makes me wish I was a local.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    6/23/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: UT Discgolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is very well maintaned with an excellant layout allowing for a quick few holes or the full 24 which ever time allows.
Cons: Hole 1 with the road/parking to the left can be hazardous. I was actually hit with someones drive while exiting the parking lot. The disc came through the passanger window of our truck and put a nice bruise on my thigh.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding course!

1    7/17/1997   2/12/2012
Review By: J-Mo
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
-Amazing course design
-Beautiful area
-Tees and baskets were in excellent shape
-One or two of the holes weren't manicured/cleared. Had to actually climb over huge fallen trees on the fairway.
Other Thoughts:
This course is an outstanding course with a nice variance of difficulty. It took me about an hour to get there (from Citrus Heights), but it was well worth the drive.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/16/2010   3/10/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 124  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 10.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
- 27 beautiful holes of Tahoe DG
- Rubber tee pads on most holes (concrete 1 that I can remember) with brooms on most
- Good signage with nice maps including distances and pin position
- Easy navigation
- Trees used well to provide a variety of shots, often with more than one route that you can take
- Beautiful views of the mountains on the back holes
- Loops back to the parking lot so you can grab more drinks or skip some holes if there are some big groups starting
- Variety of holes. From wide open to tightly wooded. Lefts, Rights, and straight ahead shots. From short to long.
- Multiple basket placements on every hole
- Challenging, but not unfair
- Bathrooms neer hole 1
- 2 practice baskets
- Playground, dog park, and skatepark for family or friends that are with you that might not want to golf.
Cons: - A hole neer the back had a new placement on it, that wasn't on the map, making it difficult to find on our first time through
- Dusty in the summer. This is a slick dust that seems to make the disc want to slip out of your hand, so hold on tight, and bring an extra towel.
- No Beers
- No Dogs
- Police station is right next to the course
- Some blind baskets
* It would be nice if it had some more elevation change, but Zepher Cove is right down the road for that
Other Thoughts: Bijou is a wonderful peice of the pie that makes up Tahoe disc golf. Only minutes away from one of my favorite courses (Zepher Cove), Bijou is 27 holes of well laid out disc golf. When I first looked at pictures and reviews of this course I didn't think that a course that's mostly flat could be a top notch course. The hole design is wonderful, with left's, right's and straight ahead shots, usualy with multiple routes to get to each hole. During your round you will be treated to beautiful views of the mountains that are around Lake Tahoe. There is a meddow neer the middle of the course thats worth stoping and taking a deep breath and just enjoying the view for a minute. Over all I would say that this course is well worth a visit if your passing through the Tahoe area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tahoes Staple Gem!

5+    6/29/2010   1/7/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 85  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bijou Community Park is a very nice tranquil setting to play Disc Golf in...
With 27 amazing holes to throw... the layout and variety of shots make Bijou an amazingly insane place to play golf! The course comes back to the parking lot after Hole 9 and Hole 15 giving players plenty of refill stops at their car.
There is a perfect mix of technical and more "open" holes; but overall.. the course is going to give you a run for your money regardless! It's never packed either to my knowledge!
I wouldn't say there are really any signature holes here... just 27 great holes of golf to be played! If your heading to the Tahoe area, you better make this a stop during your trip! You will NOT be disappointed!
Cons: Snows a LOT in the winter, leaving it almost impossible to get a full 27 holes in. But we can't control mother nature. So there really are no cons at all! :^D
Other Thoughts: This course will make you fall in love with the sport all over again. Once you hit Hole 12-14 with the big open field and mountains surrounding you.. all you have to do is put down your bag and take a look around at where your golfing! It's absolutely beautiful!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/14/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: Rocknminerals
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love any course with 27 holes!!! This is a great local course in the middle of town. One of my favorite things about this course is that the pins are always being changed up. Some elevation change, along with a good amount of long shots. Great layout with plenty of trees.
Cons: I really don't have any complaints about the course. Maybe that there's no water shots, only in the spring.
Other Thoughts: I hope they can build more courses like this one close by. I can't wait to play here again;-)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/21/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: Swiftacle
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 27 holes. The front nine offers a good warm-up for the back 18.
Other Thoughts: Recently cleared out a ton of trees. The course now plays 5-6 shots easier, and it wasn't that challenging of a course to begin with. There are still some precise shots, but the front nine has opened up to where 7 of the holes are ace-able.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.