Disc Golf Store
Montgomery, VT
Black Falls DGC Share
Uploaded By: Johnny Betts Hole #2 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 205ft.   3 / 387ft.   3 / 387ft.   3 / 407ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Run towards the border!

5+    10/5/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: wpifarmer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Excellent layout. The holes use the terrain really well to create an excellent variety of holes.
- Challenging to all skill levels with two tees and two baskets on every hole.
- Convenient and classic outhouse.
- Discs available for purchase on site
- Well defined and maintained fairways.
- Not crowded
- Beautiful location in northern VT
- Super clean
- The owner is a super guy that is totally passionate about disc golf, and his course.
- Tasty wild berries all over the course in the right season (mid-late summer)
Cons: - Getting in the rough on some of the holes can be ROUGH. It is supposed to be rough, but watch out for wild blackberries that will cut you up.
Other Thoughts: This course really is worth the run towards the Canadian border! Such a beautiful spot and a wonderful course!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Get here to play

1    10/5/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: davistd0
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety: Each hole feels quite different from all the rest without any tacky addtions to attempt to create unique holes. This is achieved through tremendous use of elevation, excellently shaped fairways, and difficult but fair basket locations.

Signature Holes: This course has multiple! #4 plays downhill toward the base of a ridge, across a stream, and then to the top of the ridge. #5 is a shorter but exciting tunnel shot back down the ridge. #10 is a 500+ tight tunnel downhill into a more open field with the basket at the far end. #18 shoots over multiple ponds that are easily accessable to retrieve splash downs.

Options: 2 sets of tees + 2 sets of baskets = 4 layouts.

Scenery: Northern VT, in the mountains, enough said.

Tee pads: I prefer cement tees, but I can't dock Black Falls because their crushed stone tees are very level, dry, and more than large enough. Honestly, cement tees would detract from the pristine beauty of the course.

Baskets: In great shape.

Upkeep: Clean fairways, grass mowed, signage present and accurate.

Owner: Didn't personally meet him, but I have heard nothing but compliments.
Cons: Location: Not very close to anything. I understand that many people would find this a PRO since the course is never crowded.

I will add more here if I can ever think of any.
Other Thoughts: This course has an unpolished feel to it, which is different than most of the destination courses in New England. But it works! A very relaxed setting, quiet and beautiful. The respect for the course is obvious because I did not see a single piece of trash or empty can/bottle.

Super fun course to play, and it challenges your game both mentally and physically.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/7/2013   10/17/2013
Review By: Forehand-Hucker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros:
Two tees and pins per hole

Great diversity in hole lengths, elevation and tree density.
Challenge for pro's and easy for beginners.

Very well taken care of. Always mowed and tees are kept flat and solid.

Outhouse, and water available on course.

Good tee signs for easy navigation.



Cons: Parking can get tight if it is crowded. This is usually not an issue as you are more than likely to have the course to yourself
Other Thoughts: A true destination course especially paired with sister course "Cherry Hill" next door. You could play here for a week and not get tired of the golf.


1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/13/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: Wescott
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes with a good balance of long and short as well as fh/bh-friendly shots.
2 Tees & 2 Pins for every hole, course difficulty ranges from easier/beginner (Silver>Silver) to very challenging (Gold>Gold) so you can show up with a group of beginners or pro's and have a great time.
Always well maintained.
Discs and more available for sale at the shop.
Good signage to help navigate around the course.
Cons: Tee pads are crushed stone which is fine, but a couple could be a tad bigger.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful location, camping is available.
Not a con, but be aware that the course plays near/over the house/garden. Watch your language.
I really love the balance of this course with tight & technical to go with a few bomb shots.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Make the trip...

5+    10/5/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: JimBailey175
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of tees and baskets makes 4 unique ways to play, challenging beginners and pros alike. The hole diversity is also outstanding with a good balance of forehand and backhand friendly lines, tight wooded alleys, open fields, orchards, streams and ponds. Lots of well-utilized elevation adds to the challenge and enjoyment of many holes. Good signage and easy navigation make it very friendly for first timers.
Gravel / natural tee pads are in good condition. Discatchers at every hole.
Cons: The only gripe I've ever had in a dozen visits is that the rough can be rough! Leave the fairway at your own peril, particularly in the spring. It helps a lot to use a spotter, particularly in the overgrown spring months.
Other Thoughts: Owners are super-friendly and Jonny's shop has a good selection to top off your bag or take home a BF-stamped disc as a memento (they just fly better).

There's always a defined fairway so no "throw and hope" shots. At the same time even the field holes are bounded with treelines and OB so you have to hit your line to stay safe.

While some quality courses lack a "signature hole" this one has at least 4! Holes 1 (especially from "tournament golds"), 4, 10, and 18 are particularly beautiful, challenging, and unique. There are no gimmes or filler holes here.

This is a great destination course. Bundle it with nearby Cherry Hill, Brewster Ridge, Wrightsville Beach, or Center Chains and have yourself an unbeatable golf road trip. Its fun any time but the autumn is gorgeous at the Falls.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Hidden Gem in Vermont

1    9/30/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: Riords
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A disc golf experience to remember for a lifetime. This is a hidden gem. On private property, with an awesome, super friendly owner. Played gold tees. Perfect distance to tees, with just tight enough fairways to challenge. great signage. Can see most baskets from tees. Innova baskets, on all 18, which I love. Throw over water on 1 and 18. Best time I might have had playing disc golf, ever. 20 years.
Cons: none. zero.
Other Thoughts: If you can play this course in the fall season, it is a heavenly experience....the colors and views are out of this world.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 NEK gem

5+    9/1/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: ndr09286
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Incredibly challenging, beautiful, well-marked, not crowded, and run by a very nice family.
Other Thoughts: Living only 30 minutes away, I did not want to review this course because I wanted it to stay a secret as long as possible. But the family who runs this course is too nice and the course is too beautiful to sit on my hands any longer.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Challenging & diverse

2-4    6/4/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: rclements
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very balanced for RHBH & forehand players
- Excellent balance of wooded holes & open holes
- 4 different ways to play
- Extremely well thought out
- Very specific signs @ tee-boxes
- Several long tee-boxes
- Jonny will sell you discs at a reasonable price in the garage (Innova & Discraft)
- Hole 10 is a dream
- New outhouse in the middle of the course
- Silver to silver is great for beginners
- $5 gets you in all day
Cons: - Easy to lose a disc if you have wild throws
- Wild throws on 17 & 18 could end up in the pond
- Very limited parking
Other Thoughts: This course is challenging, but incredibly fun to play. Since I've played there this year, Jonny has switched up some of the tee locations (#4) which makes things pretty interesting. Totally worth your $5 and long drive. Bring a beer and a lunch and play all day!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Way up There!

1    4/27/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: Mfoleybrews
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a true destination course.
Variety is the key, you had better bring your entire arsenal because you will need it.
Johnny is most hospitable, we were lucky enough to play Gold to gold and silver to silver with him.
I have spent the better part of my life vacationing in VT but I have not spent much time in the Northeast Kingdom, the ride up is long, beautiful and well worth the trip. This is a true destination course that is not to be missed. The option to camp cheap includes round fees.
Cons: UH...............gimme a mintue to think this one over.
Other Thoughts: I read about this course in an article ranking it as top in North America. We drove 6 hours just to see if that was accurate information. I wouldn't change a thing, the woods seem like something out of a fairy tale, the course maintenance is unmatched. We played gold to gold in the morning, then took a break went fishing and grabbed lunch, came back and played silver to silver. We even got Johnny to join us next door at Cherry Hill for the front nine. The day worked out to be 45 of the best holes that I have had the pleasure to play...........


I'm still trying to come up with at least one CON and can't! Keep up the dedication to the sport Johnny you certainly have a gem way up there. Many thanks for your hospitality hope to see you in July!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pure DG Fun!

1    8/6/2012   12/6/2012
Review By: duckychucky
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -SCENERY is possibly the best part of this course (even though the golf is also great). The holes that play along the creek reminded me off a forest that would have been fun to play in as a kid. A dark glen under giant pines with ferns on the banks of a magical creek (that happened to have disc golf baskets too). As much fun as I was having golfing, just walking this beautiful forest was worth the $5.
-FUN GOLF is the best way I can explain it. Of course Black Falls has all the obvious features you hear all the time "great mix of wooded and open", "favors righties and lefties equally", "great use of elevation and water", all the aspects that make for a top notch course. I think what made it really fun was the perfect density of trees on the edge of the wooded fairways. The narrower fairways were so rewarding when the shot was executed properly, however the shots that drifted off the fairway made for really exciting aproach shots, with enough trees that you were punished but enough open pockets to
tempt risky up shots to the pin. To me that is fun golf.
-CHARACTER. It was more than the just following a designers checklist that went into this course. The property has a great mix of different sections of different species trees and the designer placed many holes within these tree pockets so that many of the walks from basket to next hole was a transition into a different type of forest, giving a different flavor to each hole, like turning the page to a new chapter in a book. The huge downhill bomb on hole 10, the dark wooded tunnel on hole 5 and the ball golf like ponds on hole 18 show the great variety of this course.
-TEE PADS. I loved the crushed stone pads. Cement pads would look out of place on the side of this mountain. Johnny keeps the pads flat and smooth and they just feel and look more natural. If Johnny puts in cement pads I'll knock down this rating!
-LAYOUT was easy to follow. I played it after the slight redesign to a couple holes on the back 9 that previously had less obvious flow. Although we played with Johnny the owner i dont think we would have needed a map.
-DOUBLE TEES/DOUBLE BASKETS is the perfect way to fit four layouts on this property. Silver to Silver=Red, Silver to Gold=White, Gold to Silver=Blue. Gold to Gold=Gold (duh). We played only one one round and really wanted to play a 2nd round to try a different layout but forced ourselves to play Cherry Hill (the sister course up the road) instead.
-CHERRY HILL up the road is on Johnny's sisters land and makes this into a 36 fairway/54 basket/72 tee/108 "hole" disc golf destination.
-PRO SHOP with a good selection.
-CAMPING available.
Cons: None of these cons are real bad but just enough to keep the course from being a 5 (perfect in every way)...
-TEE SIGNS. They work, but a beauty of a course deserves nicer looking signs. Rustic burned wood signs would be perfect.
-WHITE & BLUE TOO CLOSE IN LENGTH. The silver-to-gold and gold-to-silver layouts are only 90 feet different. The gold tees add challenge other than sheer length so the blue layout is harder than white but it seems like some different basket placements could make the blue play even longer and harder than white.
-HOUSE AND CARS. The course would feel even more like a magical forest if Johnnys house wasnt right on top of it. One of his cars was parked near hole 9 and my wife joked about having to call Progressive Insurance if she gripped locked her drive. It doesnt take away from the golf and it certainly is a beautiful house but just took a little away from that middle-of-nowhere feeling. (This was one of the things that i liked better about Cherry Hill, all the holes were away from the house.)
Other Thoughts: -THE PICS ON THIS SITE ARE OLD. Some of the holes are a little different now and the course is landscaped nicer now than pics show.
-ONE DAY WAS NOT ENOUGH. I would have loved to play a hard layout here and the easy tees at Cherry Hill one day and then easy at BF and hard at CH the next.
-To me BF was a mix of beauty and pure fun, while CH was a mix of beauty and pure challenge.
- I have always wanted to buy property in Montgomery for the epic snow and skiing at Jay, now I NEED to get a cabin there so I can play these courses more!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.