Spearfish, SD 
Black Hills State University Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 246ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beauty of the Black Hills

2-4    8/24/2011   7/12/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is surrounded by the BHSU campus in the beautiful Black Hills making it very scenic, and also making it have great weather!
-Nice baskets
-Good signage and tee pads, there were a few benches near the tee pads which is good because you might need to sit and wait for people
-The course is mostly open but uses a decent amount of trees and a crystal clear creek that runs through campus. The creek is fast moving but you probably won't lose a disc in there.
-The holes are generally on the shorter side so there are many longer ace runs but the holes aren't extremely short or easy.
-This course is on a college campus in a fairly wealthy town so there won't be too many chuckers out there smoking, throwing trash everywhere, vandalising, etc. This course looks nice.
-This course is good for introducing the casual college player to more serious play.
-There were multiple pin positions for most holes.
-For being in SD you might be able to play during the winter. It often reaches the 50s and 60s in the Black Hills. That would very rarely happen in eastern SD.
-You can find and should find a map at the bulletin board near hole 1. The flow is good and you shouldn't have much trouble finding the next tee box except for a few. Hole 14 is painted on the sidewalk!
-The people here are genuinely nice and will help you find your way around the course
-Some decent risk/reward shots on some of the slight inclines.
Cons: -It is on a college campus so you have to watch out for students, athletes, faculty, etc. The course winds through some pretty populated areas. 3 holes play next to the practice football field and other wind around dorms.
-It isn't overall a very challenging course.
-They fit 18 holes in a smaller part of campus and the tees are often not too far from the previous baskets or the fairways but very close together so you also have to watch out for fellow disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: If you are making a Black Hills trip this is my order of courses to play:
1. Spearfish Canyon (Spearfish)
2. Pagent Hill (Custer)
3. Jackson Park (Rapid)
and then this one. The first two are true black hills courses and the other two are just nicer city park type courses. I think it's only a matter of time before somebody puts in a nice private course out in the Black Hills, it could be great! If you were to play this course, I think that June would be ideal but anytime in the summer would work best. You would be relatively free of pedestrians and the number of people on the course overall would be lower. I would recommend a stop here along with Spearfish Canyon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Course I Discovered the Game On

5+    5/19/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: DarkSasquatch2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners
Good variety of holes
Beautiful setting
Hitting the water hazard doesn't result in losing a disc
Clean
Cons: Can be crowded
Pedestrians can sometimes be an issue, but most people know the course is there and behave as such
Other Thoughts: An all around fun course. A good place to bring people who have never been exposed to the game before. If you went to high school in Spearfish, this was probably the first place you even learned that disc golf existed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 No BS @ BHS

2-4    6/28/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
* Great use of terrain and available features.
* Due to location, course is clean and well maintained.
* Good course for players of various skill levels.
* Opportunity for a variety of shots.
* Mistakes are not punished.
* Course difficulty and hole length increases as you play.
* Multiple pin positions for most holes.
* Alternate holes for #13, 14, and 15 to accommodate practice fields.
* Good size concrete tees / adequate tee signs
* Mix of Mach & other older baskets - Most catch pretty well
* Good Parking / Course info Board / Benches / Trash cans
* Restrooms (Maybe in the buildings?)
* Not far from downtown amenities and interstate.
* Nice views of surrounding Black Hills.
Cons:
* Open design and format may not challenge experienced players.
* Due to location, moving targets and impedance to play may be plentiful.
* Fairways are sometimes close or cross, so keep your head on a swivel.

Other Thoughts:
I happened to play this course during late June when not many classes were in session. So I had a pleasant, fun-filled afternoon playing on a college campus. But I can imagine that once school is in session the fun level may take a bit of a hit with all the potential foot traffic and potential moving targets. The course twists and turns its way around dormitories and other campus buildings. So many footpaths crisscross throughout the course. Other than that, I could not find much wrong or annoying about this course. For where and what it is, it's a cute little joint. I bet it gets many new folks interested in the sport and there were a few people playing the afternoon I was there.
The flow was pretty easy to follow. Being on a college campus, the tee signs really stand out in the landscape. Just remember that #14 is marked on the sidewalk by the door of the building to the left of pin #13. Lucky I got some help finding that one. I really like how they have alternate holes to accommodate use on the practice fields that the course plays through. They also aid in giving you a little change up from round to round. The design is pretty open. Most of the risk is utilized around the pin placements. One of my favorite aspects is the creek that wonders its way around the course and often comes into play. There are opportunities for some ace runs but because most of the baskets are guarded by the available trees, it will have to be a sweet run. On the flipside, because the fairways are pretty open, an errant drive is not going to penalize you into a pout. Most of the holes are reachable with a mid range or fairway driver but there are a few long ones that let you try to air it out and keep you coming back. All in all I had a lot fun playing this course.
When I visit SD, my base is Rapid City. Though this might not be my first recommendation to play in the area, I would suggest it if you're looking for something new, fun and that won't beat up your game. Definitely worth the run if you're in the Sturgis / Rapid City areas.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/27/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - short, fun holes that lead to ace opportunities
- very nice, new tee signs that are descriptive
- creative layout considering it is on campus
- nearly empty if you play in the morning, otherwise expects to contend with students/faculty
Cons: - some holes, like #3, are a little bit gimmicky
- most holes are straight throws
- many pins very close to other tees
- very busy during the school year
Other Thoughts: I actually found this course somewhat hard to follow, despite the nice tee signs. They don't tell you where the next tee is, there are no numbers on the baskets to identify which hole they belong to, and are few tees signs are missing on tees that are close together. This made guessing if I was playing the right hole pretty frustrating. Otherwise, this course is short and fun, but overall pretty easy because there aren't too many obstacles in your way. Good course for beginners and for BHSU students.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all

1    7/28/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: jcdillon28
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is layed out very well and very easy to play. There are excellent signs by each tee. It was pretty easy to spot each basket and the next tee.

The course has an excellent mix of obstacles and wide open shots. The use of the creek and trees for the course add some nice skill shots.
Cons: Due to the fact it is on campus there are people wandering around. This makes for the greatest obstacle.

Our group had to stop and wait for peole a few times.

The course was pretty busy with both players and people doing other things, but this should be expected for a collage campus.

A majority of the holes are all the same length so the challenge is more in the up close obstacles.
Other Thoughts: This is the first time i have played this course. It was really cool that a local was there acting like an attendent. He was extremely polite in showing us the course.

Every player we bumped into was very polite and really made a day of golf a great experance.

I want to back when school is in session to play the alternate holes.

Ohh and hole 15 is a hoot. This is one of the funnest drives i have yet to throw.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 campus course

1    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: dosahl
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: course is a fun play. There are holes with streams, trees and just about everything you would expect on a South Dakota camups.
Cons: Course lacks hole variety. Holes seem to be a consistant length with no real challenging holes (except maybe the basket behind the ROTC training wall)
Other Thoughts: overall a nice playable course. Map at the beginning is helpful. Course was played in the summer when no courses were offered so there were no real random interferences. Course is fun play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Watch for pedestrians

1    9/4/2008   9/20/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Above average signs and teepads with a few benches thrown in for good measure.
- Good variety... a lot of open holes, but some incorporate trees and a creek that runs through campus.
- Maps available from bulletin board at beginning of course.
- Nice scenery, and I'm not necessarily talking about the Black Hills...
- A good all-around beginner course.
Cons: - You're playing on a college campus for a majority of the holes so you'll spend a lot of time waiting for clueless folks to get out of your way.
- Even with the map, sometimes finding the next hole can be challenging.
- A few holes play along a football practice field adjacent to the campus. The course would be unplayable during football practice.
Other Thoughts: - Be prepared for anything. While we were playing a deer came out of nowhere and jogged up the practice field as if it were running for a touchdown. After it reached the endzone it looked around to see if anyone was watching and then walked away.
- In conclusion, it's a nice relatively short recreational course for beginners (college students, obviously) who are just getting into the game. Not a serious challenge for intermediate to advanced players.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.