Felton, CA
Black Mouse DGC Share
Uploaded By: Danger Hole #10 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 148ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
 Black Mouse fun

1    5/13/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: Rocknmandan
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Technical, unique holes, secluded in the redwoods. It is a beautiful course in the forsest
Cons: can be easy to use discs, some starting pads are dirt. This course is hard to find if you do not know where it is prior to going.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Quality course with stunning beauty

5+    10/1/2012   4/1/2013
Review By: geoblime
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Oasis in the redwood forest
-Very challenging shots
-Not busy, feels like you're the only ones there
-Nature at it's best
-Wide variety, makes you it your lines
-Refreshing round
Cons: -Can be difficult to find your way around
-Signage could be better
-On High School property so no "extra curricular" activities
-Good walk to get to the first tee
-Some holes are blind which can be tough since this is pretty thick woods.
Other Thoughts: -This is one of the most beautiful courses in the greater Bay Area. Redwoods are gorgeous!
-Even on very hot days it's cool and refreshing.
-A MUST play if in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

FUN in the woods

5+    11/12/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: nawanda37
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + WOODED and hilly
+ Every shot must be clean and tight, or very lucky
+ No better place to work on your mid/short game. The most technical course around here. Variety of left and right finishing, up and down finishing holes.
+ Awesome hike up and down and up and down a redwood forest mountain
+ Almost no crowds
+ Friendly golfers
+ No need to bring your bag
+ Can easily play two or more rounds back to back
+ Fun
Cons: - WOODED and hilly
- No long holes...
- ...So no chance to really let anything soar
- At least half the tee pads are dirt (but redwood dirt that doesn't get as muddy, and you don't need run-ups anyway)
- Functionally no signage
- Roll-aways, especially frustrating on blind shots
- Tough on first-timers without a guide
- Standard Central-Coast PO
- Some funky baskets
Other Thoughts: Since I moved to Felton, this has shifted to my home course. I've played probably 3 rounds a week each of the last 6 weeks, and I've almost entirely stopped coming out of the mountains anymore.
My first two experiences at B Mouse (about 8 and 1 years ago) weren't positive as I spent too much time trying to find my way around. There are now "next tee" signs (keep an eye out for these) which help, but it can still be pretty rough. The google map does a decent job though, just subtract two from every hole number. This time around, I was guided by someone I met at the course. Since then, I've done the same for two others.
This course is WOODED. Seriously. Leave your DX/D plastic at home. This isn't the place to work on your drives (though I now drive my Buzzz far more often on other courses), but this course will help the rest of your game in an unparalleled way. You will need every shot in your bag except your big arm bomb. I do pack a driver for the uphill FH hyzer on 9, but honestly, you would be fine with your favorite mid and a putter, assuming these are your most accurate discs. If they aren't, YOU NEED THIS COURSE. Provided you can throw 250', hyzer and anhyzer, all that stands between you and a birdie on every hole is missing the trees, which you won't do at least once. When you do hit these trees, know that there are a few holes that can allow your disc to carry a long way down the mountain, either in the air or in a roll. This is made even worse by the few of these that are blind shots at fast fairways/greens. I threw my favorite Buzzz on #3 a couple days ago and thought I parked it. Instead, my disc vanished.
It's not a long hike, but it's steep in parts. Pack your water.
I don't know how to say this last part best, but, it's just a fun course. So fun. Everyone who plays it (with someone who knows their way around) loves it. Pure disc golfing. No pretention, none of the DeLa crowds, just fun disc golf. You'll leave with a smile on your face.
The lack of proper tees, non-uniform pins, poor/non-existent signage, etc, hurt this course's rating in those areas. The beautiful forest, the variety of shots required, and complete FUN of this course max out those portions of the rating. So, what rating to go with? I suppose it depends on what's important to you whether this course gets a 2.5 or a 4.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Alright

1    9/29/2012   9/29/2012
Review By: cgregory
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging technical shots, lots of hiking included in layout, uphill & downhill holes.
Cons: Poison oak, lots of hiking included in layout, lack of signage, dirt tees (less than half), very short holes.
Other Thoughts: Lost a disc, darn!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Course layout change

1    6/24/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: jmp55
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Cool wooded course, beautiful hike
- A good variety of technical shots
- Mild elevation changes, both up and down
- Some fun blind shots (spotter is always helpful)
- Not too big a risk of losing discs

Cons: - The course has been revised to start at hole #3, and then finish at hole #2. Not all the baskets and tee pads have been renumbered yet, so the course is a little tricky to navigate. I posted a revised map that hopefully will help a bit.
- If you overdrive #4 (old #6) then kiss your disc goodbye into the fenced off area (lost my first disc here)
- Poison Oak
- No real big drives
Other Thoughts: When we were there Hole #14 (old #16) was being repaired, so if there's no basket present, play tee pad #15 (old #17) down to basket #17 (old #1). Then just go back up and play 15 again to it's normal basket.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Among the Redwoods

1    3/21/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: BlackCrow77
Played: 154  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool atmosphere-Redwoods everywhere. There was a good mix of mostly mid-range caliber type of shots and a couple longer drives. This was a fun and challenging course that would be suitable for beginners.
Cons: I thought the navigation was ok; I started on 17 by accident. Also, only a few tees had signs available and info was incorrect. For the locals: due to the location, this course is open later in the day during the week (open all weekend).
Other Thoughts: This course came as a recommendation from a local after I had finished up a course nearby. I'm glad I went here. The forest was very cool and I had not played in that kind of surrounding before. Although, the course had many blind shots, I actually enjoyed this technical-challenging aspect of the course. But, I wouldn't mind seeing 1-2 longer hole positions.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Redwoods Golf!

1    11/24/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 4.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -In the redwoods
-Good variety of short holes
-In the redwoods
-Surprisingly easy to navigate with a map (The GOOGLE map linked here, not the other one)
-Fantastic seclusion from the world
-FUN
-In the redwoods
Cons: -No big-arm shots
-Very little signage (only a few on tees and none provided accurate info)
-Restricted playing times
-More than enough blinds, but the course is short so they usually require only a short walk
Other Thoughts: Black Mouse plays along a heavily wooded hillside behind a Middle School. The redwoods tower above the holes while smaller trees grow closer to the bottom of the course, and ground cover varies from beautiful green ferns to bare, spongy dirt. Some of the trees were much taller than the holes were long. For me, this is heaven.

The course is very tight, both in the design of the holes and the course itself; the 18 holes cover a surprisingly small area. With a map, though, we had no issue navigating. There was always a trail that headed precisely in the direction the map told us to.

Upon arriving at the top of the stairs, you are immediately greeted with the first tee, which plays uphill into the forest. You end up near the school a couple of times in the first few holes, but after hole 7 its just you and the woods. Hole 6 is a wonderful downhill hole, narrow, steep, and scenic.

Hole 7 appeared to us to have three tee pads. No other holes had obvious multiple tees, but this one did. Perhaps this is one of those 'confusing' parts of the course, but we were pretty easily able to figure it out.

The back half of the course is really just a peaceful, secluded experience in the woods. Voices echo, the sun is hidden, and everything maintains a universal calm. A deer grazing right off the course fit right into the scene. Places with multiple trails usually had signs indicating 'next tee,' and we never spent more than a minute figuring out where the next hole is (except for the three tee's on 7). Other groups in the area could be heard but not always seen. All the while, you are...oh yeah... playing disc!

The final 5 holes or so play in the same general region, following more or less a back and forward pattern working its way downhill. These were by far the most 'typical' golf holes, with no extreme elevation or crazy tree riddled fairways. 18 itself is a short right turning dogleg (as are quite a few holes here), but down a steep hill. It ends within feet of hole 1, begging you to go for a 2nd round.

This is a course I will make some time for every time I am in the Santa Cruz area. While DeLaveaga is the obvious destination course, and even has a couple holes sort of like the ones at Black Mouse, there is just a really really cool solitary vibe up here that can't be had anywhere south. The big arms may complain that they can't open up, and the ultra-beginners may find some 'un-fairways,' however after a round here, it's hard to leave without a big smile on your face and a little bit of peace of mind.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful + Challenging

1    9/3/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: BADman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
* Beautiful old redwoods provide a classic Californian background for this course *
* Many holes are tightly wooded, requiring careful shots *
* Soccer field right before first teepad lends itself to a great warm-up practice *
* High difficulty due to tight shots, elevations changes, and a rugged hike *
* The whole course is shaded from the sun *
Cons:
* Many teepads are too small, also with some scary drop-offs, off of the front of the pads even *
* Almost every hole can be described as "dog leg to the right, basket is out of sight" *
* Course is located on a middle school, not playable during the school hours *
Other Thoughts:
This course is a great course, however needs some upgrades and maintenance. I would like it so much more if there were formal teepads on every hole, instead of the dirt pads with roots popping out of them, knocking you off into steep declines, and breaking your ankle or neck.

Also since there is a ton of shade, and elevation changes, its easy for your disc to fall out of sight, and into some bushy clusters. Keep an eye on that flight at all costs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 MegaFunTastic Mouse

1    11/25/2010   4/20/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 627  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Black Mouse might not be a fantastic championship caliber course like some of its nearby brothers, but it certainly is a Funtastic challenge through tight woods and great elevation. Along with this Funtastic rating, the course also caters to a wide variety of skill levels. Newer players will find several uber short holes where they can find some birdies and harder holes where they'll have to hit safe landing zones. More skilled players are going to have to throw accurately through some tightly wooded fairways and probably have to make a good save or two for a clean round.

Terrain and variety: Most of the holes here are moderately to tightly wooded and shortish so players won't really have too much opportunity to air out big drives but everyone will be required to throw a variety of shots off the tee. Several downhill holes require keen distance control on putter/midrange shots and several uphill holes complement this nicely with demands on accuracy and power. All types of twists and turns will have players reaching for backhands, sidearms, and perhaps a tomahawk or thumber to achieve maximum opportunities for birdies.

Natural beauty: This course really feels like a quiet walk in the woods even though you are just a few hundred feet from a large playfield and several residences. There are points which are quite serene and beautiful, especially when bumping up against a few old giants of the forest - huge tree trunks that must be very old indeed.
Cons: Distance/Challenge: The Black Mouse needs just a bit more evilness if you ask me. Many holes require only a long putter or midrange and there aren't really any true multiple shot holes although the potential is certainly there for a few bigger holes. If I had my way, I'd likely cut down on the total number of holes (a violation of the 'magic number', 18) and put in a couple of bigger par four holes to complement the variety of par threes already available.

Navigation: For the most part, it isn't that hard to find your way around but near the end, the course plays back and forth over a small side hill where the holes aren't numbered all that well. There isn't much signage here, or through the rest of the course, but this is the section that seemed particularly challenging to navigate and we had to back track more than once to make sure we found all of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Black Mouse has one of the best methods of raising course funds that I've ever seen - players have outfitted an old metal blocker post with a small hole and locking hinge that you can drop a few bucks in to help support the course. Of course we dropped a few dollars in before the round and after playing, felt compelled to clean out the rest of the change from our disc golf bags as a testament to the fun we had playing the course. Really this course aims to please a wide range of skill levels from somewhat new players who will find a great challenge to veterans who will rack up bunches of birdies but will have to throw good shots to do so.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/22/2009   3/10/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 109  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful redwood grove that this course is in provides shade and cool from the summer heat
- On the grounds of a School so Kids get exposed to the sport
- Tight and technical course with lots of good lines through the woods. Requires accuracy not distance.
- Short distances around the course help even out rounds betwen big armed throwers and people who can't get it over 300'
- Benches around the course
- Holes vary from straight ahead to hyzer and even anhyzer shots.
- Lots of elevation change providing up hills, down hills and side hills
- Well manicured fairways with alot of the underbrush taken out
- Small next white tee signs around course help with flow
- Easy to find course, close to highway 9
- Close to De LaVeaga
Cons: - No real "grip it and rip it" holes, most are around 200-250
- Can be hard to find your way around the first time, even with a map
- Tee pads are sometimes shorter than I would like, but you usualy don't need a run up.
- You can only play after school hours
- Baskets are tucked up behind trees and you will often have to walk up the hole to see where the basket is
- Some poison oak and blackberrys off the fairway
- Numbering is wrong on some baskets
- On school grounds so no drinking / smoking
Other Thoughts: Just minutes off of Highway 9 lies the beautiful little 18 hole course known as Black Mouse. Located in the redwoods next to the local school this course is perfect to take beginers and pros to. Elevation comes into play constantly on the course and you need to keep your accuracy in check. Your better off here if you can throw 200-250' accuratly than if you can throw 500' in an open field. The redwoods provide shade and cool from the summer heat, as well as reminding me of home (my home course is The Redwood Curtain). Signs around the course are prety trashed, but you have to expect this when it's on the grounds of a school. I was lucky and had a guide when I was finding my way around, he made sure to point out to me that there were these little white next tee signs around the course. Keep a lookout for them. Definatly worth a visit if your traveling through. If your there on a weekend play it as a warm up to DeLa, on a weekday it makes a good cool down round.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.