Felton, CA 
Black Mouse DGC Share
Uploaded By: Danger Hole #11 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A Slice of Redwood Fun

1    5/22/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 45  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Course is easy to find
Beautiful location
Warm-up area on the soccer field
Baskets are in good shape
Cons:
Difficult to navigate
Tee pads are hit and miss. Some are paved and/or defined. Some you'll have to look for posts, sticks, or worn areas to figure out where they are.
LOTS of Poison Oak, particularly on the front side
Very criss-crossy. Might not be an issue depending on the course congestion which wasn't bad on a Saturday afternoon.
Restrooms were all closed when I was there. Not sure if it's like that all the time, but you have been warned. There was a water fountain though that I used to wash up.
Other Thoughts:
Tips
Your best friends on this course are the little white 8" square signs on the ground telling you where the next tee is. Be on the lookout.
Even so, a map is a MUST. Even with the maps, you're going to have trouble so definitely look ahead for baskets and tees. Speaking of which...
When I was there, basket #1 had been moved to the far left.
I'm not completely sure but there might be mandos on 3 and 4.
Don't go long on 6. Something tells me going over that fence sucks.
Yes, 9 tee pad is past 10. Keep walking.
It seems that 13's tee pad is actually to the left of #12 basket, where 14A was? I never found a pad to the right as shown on the map, but that doesn't mean it's not there.
A spotter is not a bad idea, although not quite required. I suppose it depends on how tree-wacky your game is.
Throw short accurate shots. None of the baskets are as far as you think, and they're very frequently tucked into a tight grove of trees.
Lastly, a lot of baskets are misnumbered so don't trust that.
Pack out your trash people! I picked up as much as I could but there was still a fair bit left.
Donate to the course in the collection pole by the entrance.

Random Thoughts:
So if you're a player that needs to work on threading a needle with a disc from 150-200', this course is for you. While you'll probably never throw full power on this course, it will have no bearing on your score. This is a very tightly wooded course that if you succeed in not hitting a tree will set you up nice for a birdie shot, but if you even nick one, you will likely be walking away with bogey. Baskets frequently only have 1 or 2 attack angles so missing the fairway is not a good idea. But here's the good news. It's beautiful in there! I actually stopped to take pictures in a couple spots because of how nice the trees are. And you're going to need a little peace because trying to find the next tee box is some kind of cruel experiment. It's a repeated exercise of 'find the little white sign and look for a flat area with scuff marks'. And then, you very likely can't see the basket. You'll have to walk ahead and find it and then figure out the best path to get there. But once you do all that, you do get rewarded with a challenging risk/reward shot.


Bottom Line: Despite the lackluster course conditions and frustrating navigation, this is a great course for working on your game. While short, it has a variety of shot shapes that demand precision and are fair in the risk/reward arena. Advanced players might decimate this course, but I, as a beginner/intermediate player, found it enjoyable and helpful. With a few improvements and a hostile takeover of the Poison Oak Posse, this course could really shine.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 totally under-rated bad ass course

5+    6/5/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: chipper408
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in the Santa Cruz Mountains for starters. very secluded. beautiful scenery. long and short shots. pretty technical course. plenty of parking. never crowded. lots of shade (sometimes too much if you go too late) nice "hang out" areas throughout course. the donation box is cool. at least a few opportunities for an ace.
Cons: on school grounds. no smoking/drinking. trees galore. gets dark rather quick due to many tall trees. extremely hilly during a few areas of the course. only open after school hours. no restrooms. long walk to the first tee from parking lot. not a tee pad on every hole. also, you must walk from basket #8, past tee #10 (its weird) to get to tee #9.
Other Thoughts: lots of up n down walking. not so good for beginners except for the last 5 or 6 holes. dont throw your favorite discs there... use mid-ranges or putters... i only threw my driver on 1, 2, 6, 18 and maybe a couple others. i got a birdie on 4 holes in a row- i think 14,15,16 and 17. this is a very cool under-rated course. they finally (recently) added a few new benches and small tee signs guiding you through the confusing course... all they need are a few new tee pads and its on!!! its a MUST PLAY if anywhere near the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Birth of a Disc Golfer

5+    12/29/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: starete
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Addicting, almost every basket begs for an ace but they always elude me. The greatest disc golfer I know, Jose J, can be seen playing here often. This is the course that got me addicted to the game, showing the potential for having a great time and getting some exercise while enjoying the beauty of a redwood forest. I have only lost one disc there and it happened my first time ever playing.
Cons: I got poison oak there once. If you don't have someone that knows the course with you, you might get confused at a couple spots.
Other Thoughts: I never pass up a chance to play. Even compared to the mighty DeLa it isn't a dissappointment to play here. If I lived close enough I would play every day until I aced every hole.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/24/2009   10/25/2009
Review By: sharkbait
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short, technical course with all kinds of shots required.I played it with my 5 year old and had a blast.Great setting in a redwood forest, nice and cool under the trees.
Cons: Trees, trees and more trees, it makes up the character of the course but its tight. A little poison oak, but not to bad. Hard to navigate, easy once you know but with out a map or someone whos played it before you might get confused.
Other Thoughts: Had a lot of fun out there and will be going back for sure. We played on a sat afternoon and there was only 1 guy coming off of 18 and as we finished there was a 3some teeing off. Great short course, put my stingray to the test.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Heavily Wooded and lots of fun

2-4    8/6/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent Course to play during summer, school is out and the area is very shaded by trees. Tons of glorious elevation changes! Course is chalked full of interesting shots, as well as birdie chances.
The risk/reward aspect of this course also makes it very fun! For example you can go for the basket and take a difficult route, with the risk of hitting a tree and putting you in the rough. Or you can also play safer by keeping your shot low and setting yourself up for a managable second shot. Secluded layout actually takes you through a small portion of forest.
Cons: Biggest con is the Very Limited Signage it can be a little confusing navigating to the next hole, just look for the arrows.
There are some blind tee shots where you'll need to walk out onto the fairway to see the basket.
1 or 2 holes feel like you are throwing on the side of a hill, which wasn't too fun.
There can sometimes be a lot of poison oak around, but thats because you are in the Santa Cruz mountains!
Some tees are just flattened dirt, and some have those pesky mandatory flight routes (arrows on trees)
Other Thoughts: Course is a blast to play, bring a map just to be on the safe side. I liked this course because it is more about shot placement rather than power, very challenging. Highly recommended if you are in the area, or you are looking for something different than DeLa.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Die Fledermaus

1    7/16/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 401  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Lots of huge redwoods to throw amidst and about.
Cons:
Combining the many, large trees with hard-packed dirt, a steep slope, and smattering of underbrush at the bottom of the slope means the chance of losing a disc is fairly high - you'll probably want to play with a spotter.

Basket numbering, especially on the front nine, is incorrect. #2's basket is labeled #5, and visa versa. #6's basket is labeled #7. I think there is another #5 later. Ignore the numbering (which improves for the back nine), and just trust the map. Baskets are difficult to spot from a distance, with only a small orange band on the pole to make them stand out.

Only a few holes, mostly on the back nine, have any type of sign or marker at the teepad, After the first four holes, the course changes from small concrete teepads to small square areas of flattened dirt, so don't spend an eon on #5 looking for a concrete teepad - that flattish area of dirt you stumble across is likely #5's tee location.

Holes 8-10 all parallel each other and play in the same direction, with #10 being located between #'s 8 and 9, so after playing #8, you'll effectively backtrack upon yourself, walk past tee #10 to #9, and after playing it, backtrack to tee #10. Obviously this would become a bit of a chokepoint if the course was crowded.
Other Thoughts:
USE THE MAP.
TRUST THE MAP.
Without it, a first-time visitor is going to have a miserable time attempting to navigate the course, given the lack of tee signs, next-hole direction signs, and mis-labelling of baskets.

The course plays on a steep, wooded slope which contains many redwoods. While most holes have some change in elevation, only a few (#1 up, #6 and #18 down come to mind) have significant changes. The other holes play along the side of the slope, so you'll find yourself mostly walking, vice throwing, up/down the slope. There aren't any long holes - maybe 250' maximum? I didn't use a distance driver at all, but the Stingray got quite a workout. Each hole will involve a turn (about an even mix of left and right, the right turns being a bit sharper). For the most part, turns will come into play very near to the basket - only a few happen during the middle part of the flightpath. There are reasonable flightpaths on every hole, some being quite challenging.

Favourite hole: #12. About 165' with a sharp right turn at the end to the basket set in the midst of a "fairy ring" (over a dozen redwoods set in a circular formation).

Despite the many navigational cons, if you've never had the opportunity to play a course with many redwoods in play, you should definitely play a round at this course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course!

1    5/18/2008   4/27/2009
Review By: Mtn Huckin
Played: 74  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A cool Red Woods course not to far from Dela.
Great Topography. Not a huge course but lots of cool shots.
Cons: Where in the world are holes 3-5????
Other Thoughts: Now that is some California Dreamin'.
Easy course that would be a great warm up for a Dela round

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 throwing discs and stuff

5+    3/19/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: gtodd
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great place to cool off and play a game when its hot out,

lots of tecnical holes.

dont have to worry about crowds or seeing other people

Cons: your not supposed to play during school hours. but its hidden from campus.

The flow is weird on two holes and those two are hard to find
Other Thoughts: All 18 holes are complete now. most tees are being cemented. also the course changed a little so its easier to follow and there are a couple longer holes

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/10/2008   3/5/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 92  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.4 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Challenging without being too frustrating
- Elevation comes into play in a big way
- Course design makes excellent use of its environment
- Most fairways are well-defined and there isn't too much brush.
- Pretty good flow (if you know where to go)
- Amazing setting
Cons:
- Closed during school hours
- Confusing labels on signs and baskets
- Only a few concrete tee pads
- A small amount of poison oak, mostly on #3 and #4
Other Thoughts:
I first played Black Mouse back in 2002; someone explained to me that the numbers on the signs and baskets didn't quite match reality because a few holes down near the creek had to be removed. When I went back to play again four years later, and again in late 2008, I found that everything was STILL off by a few numbers. Eventually I'm sure they'll get it right... meanwhile, don't let it discourage you from playing here, just be sure to bring a map.

But signage issues aside, I love this course. Even though the longest hole is only about 300 feet, it's challenging and a great complement to the monster at DeLaveaga Park a few miles away. There are NO wide-open holes; with the exception of some live-oak terrain in the lower elevations near the school buildings, almost the entire course plays through a steep hillside full of big redwood trees. Some holes go straight downhill, and some play along the hillside -- with roll-aways an ever-present danger. (Curiously, only a couple of holes go uphill.) Some baskets are inside or just behind "fairy rings" of redwoods. Bring your mid-range game; a Stingray will be more useful than a Wraith here.

The biggest drawback to Black Mouse is that it's on the grounds of San Lorenzo Valley Junior High, which means you can only play the course after 3:00 or on weekends. The good news is, it plays well in all seasons; the redwoods keep it from getting too hot in the summer, and keep you from getting too wet in the winter.

Note: because this is school property, drinking and smoking are prohibited; please respect the rules, or the course could end up closed to the public or removed entirely.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/1/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -great use of space behind the school
-in the redwoods for that majestic feel
-plenty of elevation and shot variation
-short holes aren't easy
Cons:
-no maps, next tee can be pretty hard to find
-can't play during school hours (til 3)
-some holes seemed hopelessly wooded, but i'm the only one here that said that, so maybe i need to go back and improve my aim.
Other Thoughts: much love to whoever pushed for and designed the course. we appreciate it... hit the donation box before 1 with a buck if you have it.

this rating may have been higher if i hadn't gone there on a very rainy and windy day.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.