Tulsa, OK
Blackhawk Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
4 / 450ft.   4 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Best course in the park!

1    7/20/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 46  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What an amazing setting for a disc golf course! This course plays through the woods, with defined, yet tight, fairways. It also plays through some open areas, also with defined fairways and rough. A great part of the course are the 3 holes that play right along the lake. They are such risk/reward holes. You can go big over the water and give yourself a good look, or you can lay it up and have a harder look for a higher score. This is the kind of course I love to play! I loved the defined fairways playing through the woods. It really makes you hit your line with top notch accuracy. This course is by far the best course in the park and one of the best in Tulsa that I have played. It gives you a great variety of hole distances, shot variety, and scenery. I had a ton of fun playing this course.
Cons: I would love to see even longer holes on this course. I am talking 600 and 700 foot holes. This would make the course championship caliber. I was told this course used to have even more trees on it until a storm took some down. I would love to see the club replanting some of these trees. Bugs seem to be a problem here. A local told me and my buddy that a lot of players wont play here until the first freeze. This sounds like an issue that needs to be taken care of.
Other Thoughts: After playing Redhawk, this was a great find! It offered more technique, a good amount of distance and short holes, tighter fairways, and more fun. If you only have time for one course and you are at this park, definitely choose Blackhawk!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Blackhawk

5+    2/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well thought out/designed course. I think it is probably the most challenging one in Tulsa. Fairways are narrow, surrounded by dense woods with the exception of a few holes that go around the lake. Great course to improve your technical shots. Excellent mix of long/short open/wooded shots.
Cons: No elevation change whatsoever. Does NOT drain - I pretty much don't ever play here late winter/spring because of all the standing water (bring your waders if you do). I'm not sure of the zoo's schedule, but occasionally they make you pay to park if you enter the park grounds.
Other Thoughts: Excellent Tour caliber course. Not for beginners. Also I'm pretty sure that if anyone had the balls to don a scuba tank and get in the lake that they would probably come up with about $1000 in discs.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and Nice

1    6/7/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 20  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads
Discatcher baskets
Alternates
Trash Cans and Benches
Mix of Backhand and Sidearm Shots
Cons: Almost all wooded, heavily
Muddy walkways, poor drainage
Not for beginners
Trash everywhere, sad since garbage cans are provided
Other Thoughts: Nice course on a nice park. Enjoyed the 3 holes that played around the pond. Would definitely play again!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Surprising variety

1    4/9/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a secluded part of a large multi-use park. The conflicts with other park uses that plague the Redhawk course aren't nearly as much of an issue here. Most of the holes play through wooded alleys with grassy fairways. Various widths of fairways offer some different tests, with a variety of hole shapes and lengths. The rough is thick enough that you're definitely punished for errant shots, but there are some opportunities for creative recoveries.

A few holes play a little more open, but bring a couple ponds into play. These holes offer the chance to risk throwing over water or taking a safer route with a tougher look at getting near the hole. I enjoyed the risk/reward here, and they would play even more challenging on a windy day.

Dual tees are a nice addition on several of the holes, offering less risky lines on some of the water shots and taking off some distance and making for easier shots on the longer and tougher holes. There is good signage, the course is easy to follow and with hole distance and layout there's no question of where to throw.
Cons: The grass on the fairways was a bit long when I played, and judging by other reviews it seems like that may be a recurring problem. There is also some tall grass rough in spots that can hide discs and add some frustration and lost plastic. The course is very flat and retains a lot of water in many spots without great drainage. A few signs were missing or damaged when I played.
Other Thoughts: Beginners won't find this course all that fun, with some tough lines in the woods and some tricky water shots. The Redhawk course is much more beginner friendly, and offers a nice complement in the same park. More experienced players will be challenged here, especially from the long tees. There is a nice mix of distance and technical lines, with some water hazards adding risk. I really enjoyed my round here and would definitely recommend it if you're in the Tulsa area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Meaner Mohawk

5+    1/16/2012   1/18/2012
Review By: Chuckms
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Definitely the best and most respected course in Tulsa. Most of the holes play through the woods and have many different shot requirements to score well. Good tee's and signs on most every hole. 6 holes are 300' or under but they are certainly not gimme birdies. There are three water holes that will gobble your discs with nearly any mistake. This course will challenge top pro's as well as am's wanting to take their game to the next level.
Cons: The course doubles over on itself after hole 11, make sure you've had a glance at the map in the parking lot if you're unfamiliar with the course. Once you've thrown a disc in the water, you'll be lucky to get it back. During the summers there is a $2 parking fee to get into the park. Also, the course can lack some maintenance during the summers, it's really a crap shoot at times.
Other Thoughts: If you're in Tulsa, this is the course to play. Distance is not rewarded as much as accuracy but some distance doesn't hurt either. Your entire game will need to be on to score well.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great course w/ poor upkeep

1    5/27/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course that cuts through the woods. There are a lots of challenging shots on this course. Most holes are through the woods, some have obvious paths - others, not so much. Three holes have water in play that can easily get in your head (did for me for sure).

This course will challenge your control of your drives as well as your approaches. One bad shot can easily kill your score on a hole due to the thick flora on the 'sides' of the holes.

The overhead canopy is thick and doesn't lend itself to thumbers/overhead shots very easily.

The concrete tee pads are of adequate length with signage on most located somewhere close to the pad. Not all signs were in their original location - some were in trees, some were laying on the ground, but I believe there were only 2 or 3 signs missing.

All the baskets had the yellow bands on the top that allowed for easy location - even in the woods.

There is a restroom located at #1/#18.
Cons: Ticks. Everyone in my group had them.

For one of, if not the highest rated course in OK, it was NOT maintained. We played on the Friday before Memorial Day and the course appeared to have not been mowed in a few weeks. I would have expected this to be almost pristine, but instead there was high-shin to knee-high grass on every hole - and it only got taller as the holes went on.

As stated above, not all tees had their signs and/or they were hanging from trees.

There are no trash cans, but the course itself had very little trash on it.

There was standing water on some of the holes in rutted out locations.

Navigation was a little difficult when there was no signage nor an online map. We did have a hard time finding the correct pads where the course gets close to crossing over itself on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, even though I played it terribly. I would have rated it higher (4) if it had even the impression of being maintained/mowed - especially on the holiday weekend.

Hole #9 can kiss my tail. If anyone finds my ion in the water to the right, I'd like it back. Unfortunately, I had no name/number on it, but it was dyed with my kids feet from their birth certificates - seen here: http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/showthread.php?p=595937#post595937

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Variety of Difficulties

1    5/27/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Extremely challenging with tons of shot variety and different looks. Short, tight tunnels; a few park-like holes; heavily-wooded doglegs (both ways); true par 4's and 5's; dispicable pond placements; and a couple of ace runs. A variety of lengths including the 700+ monster through the woods. The fairways are extremely tight and many have a canopy that takes OH shots off the table and forces control and shot selection to the top of the menu. Power is rarely rewarded on this course. If the photos look like a wall of woods on some of the holes, that's because it is. Good quality benches on several holes and excellent signage (see photos) on about 90% of the holes. Plenty of shades (in the woods) and baskets were marked toward the next tee (painted spoke) for fairly straightforward navigation. Good basket visability (DISCatcher with bright yellow chastity belts). Restrooms/water fountain at the beginning/end of the course. For me, the signature hole was 8 throwing over the pond with a natural RHBH fade to the basket tucked behind a row of older trees. I say signature because a disc with my name on it is at the bottom of the pond....
Cons: Several of the fairways in the woods were pretty high. It wasn't just grass, it was weeds, wildflowers, and thick ground cover/underbrush. You should be able to find a disc in a fairway, in my opinion. That wasn't easy on a couple of holes. Being the woods, there's a constant threat of poison ivy/oak so keep your eyes peeled when you end up in the brush below the canopy. Standing water on a couple of holes, but the area had seen heavy rain two days earlier. Still, the rest of the course was dry so there appears to be some problem areas where the ground has been rutted by tractors/mowers. Flatter than Greece's tax income. No real open bomb holes. Probably the only flavor missing from this course. A couple of missing signs and a few more that were laid next to the tee or temporarily hanging from a tree adjacent to the tree. Even with signs, some holes required some scouting. No online map that I could find.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course even though my scorecard didn't and I came out with a lighter bag than I went in. Frustration was high due to my play, but I see the value of the course. It's supposed to be hard and has reached that goal. This is a 4-disc rating at least, but I think I'd take a quarter to half off due to some of the maintanence issues (tall fairways, missing signage, standing water in rutted areas). This was troublesome to me due to the fact that this was the Friday before Memorial Day and I expect the course to be patronized a ton in the coming days/weeks. Bring a towel (for drying off you and discs from dew/water/pond) and patience. Not a course to be or feel rushed on.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/30/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: Apoth
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is, without a doubt, the closest thing in Oklahoma to a world-class championship level course. Blackhawk has everything you could ask for: true par 4s and 5s, holes that require every type of shot in your bag, and many holes that make you decide if the risk is worth the reward.

The course is well-maintained with concrete tee-pads on all holes and alternate tees in many places. The course largely plays through woods that are not travelled by the non-disc golfers that can flood the rest of the park in the summertime. This means that you rarely have to worry about hitting non-players that happen to wander across the course (unlike the sister park, Redhawk, where there are sections where you play dangerously close to picnic areas). Both times I've played this course, it hasn't been crowded so the pace of play has always been nice.

The holes that really stood out to me are as follows:

Hole 1 - This hole sets the tone for the rest of the course. It's not very long, but its a deceptively difficult tunnel shot that can catch many unsuspecting players off-guard.

Hole 3 - This is the first hole that plays through the woods that make up the majority of the course. The rest of the holes have a similar look with a clear fairway, but thick rough on each side. The dogleg right puts righties on notice that this isn't going to be a course where hyzers are available on every hole.

Hole 7 - Another deceptively difficult hole. The basket is straight ahead and short, but a narrow tunnel of trees stands right off the teepad and makes accuracy very important.

Holes 8-10 - The water holes. When thought of objectively, they're not ridiculously difficult holes, but the pucker factor is very present and I suspect the two ponds here have eaten plenty of discs. Stay calm, play conservatively and you can make it through.

Hole 16 - The "big momma" hole of the course. A par 5 at over 700 feet. It's nowhere near an open fairway and both distance and accuracy are important. If you try to bomb a disc and don't land it in the center of the fairway, you've got THICK rough to contend with. Even after your first shot, if you can make it to the hole on the next shot, you'll have a scattered group of trees guarding the basket to contend with. A birdie is possible, but can be difficult. If you make par, be happy.
Cons: The biggest con is the fact that this course retains water like no other I've played. The first time I played the course was in may after the spring rains had hammered the state for a few weeks. Virtually the entire last half of the course was under a few inches of water. Even the holes that weren't under water had their rough turned into marshes with stagnant water. The second time I played was in March after we'd had a winter drought. There wasn't a drop of water on the course and it was a much more pleasant experience.

Some of the holes are missing their signs and that's unfortunate. If the signs were all in place, I would probably kick my rating up another notch.

This course can eat discs. I personally like the risk that this type of course gives you, but for many, losing discs is a huge downer. I would definitely make sure you bring a few "throw away" discs for the water holes at least. I personally lost two destroyers and a predator on those three holes last time I played (one grip lock, two bad gambles).
Other Thoughts: This is definitely worth checking out. Make a day of it and play both Blackhawk and Redhawk on the same day. Redhawk is a nice warm up for its more difficult sister.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf on a nature trail...

1    3/26/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located in a very wooded part of Mohawk park, which contains another course very close to this one. There are a lot of technical holes that will test your accuracy. All of the fairways were clear and the trees weren't overgrown. There's a lot of variety of holes at Blackhawk. Anything from a 280 ft. anhyzer hole to a 800 ft. S curve hole. The distances were a good variety also. The water holes provide a good challenge, but if you don't want to risk a disc you can tee off from one of the short tees. Dual tees are great. All are concrete and are great if you have a younger or new player.Tee pads were textured nicely. Even on a rainy day, you can get plenty of grip. Baskets were DISCatchers and were in great condition. Baskets are very visible from the tee. Tee signs were nice (when they were there). Navigation was fairly easy since one part of the basket is painted to show where the next tee is.
Cons: No elevation at all. That is expected in Oklahoma, but there's not any elevation changes. It really is the only thing that keeps this course from being a perfect design. Several of the tee signs were out of the ground and a few of them were missing. There's a lot of graffiti on the baskets. A few of the walks to the next hole can be long or confusing. There were a few non-discers on some holes. One guy was fishing in the pond and one guy was "wild onion hunting?".
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It was very challenging, but not ridiculously hard. My favorite part of this course is that there are legitimate par 4's and 5s. You should definitely play this course if you are ever in the area.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    3/3/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: Spackler
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Large concrete tee pads, great signs. I'm a newer player and this course is probably a little much for my skill level but it still seems like a very fair although challenging course. Lots of trees and water on several holes plus a good variety of long and short holes. Also, I played in the dormant season, this course would be a lot tougher in summer.
Cons: Very flat which is only a con on this difficult course because of a lot of standing water. About half the holes had standing water and/or sloppy mud in the fairways which is likly only present after spring rains.
Other Thoughts: This course kicked my tail with a score about 5 strokes higher than my average but I loved playing it and would recommend it to anyone who has been playing a while. If you are a new player Redhawk may be a less frustrating experience. This is a must play if you are in the Tulsa area.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.