Tulsa, OK 
Blackhawk Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #5 (Taken 4/2014)
4 / 560ft.   4 / 485ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 If you love wooded courses...

1    5/13/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7.7 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really love a course with a bunch of technical wooded holes, and this course really delivers! And the solitude is great, only saw a few non-DGers on the course in the 2 hours during my round.

All concrete tee pads, plenty large and in great shape. Innova baskets, mostly in very good condition (one looked like it had been broken and repaired a couple times). Tee signs are great, and the course maps linked on here help even more, though I saw a couple of discrepancies between the two on a couple of holes. Facilities available, though Spartan through most of the course.

After the first couple holes, most after that are wooded and tight, with the exception of a few semi-open water holes in the middle.

My memorable holes:
1 - Start out right with a nice tunnel shot, not too short not too long.
5 - Long straight out shot with a dogleg left and 150 more feet. Made for a nice drive, upshot, and putt hole(even though I 5'd it)..
7 - Throw out from a stand of trees to an open pin. You'd think it was easy, but think again.
8 - Big hyzer over the lake, or you can play through the trees. Not too long to go over the water, but make sure you don't wuss out on the throw or it's bye bye disc.
9 - have to lay up between the two ponds on a narrow fairway (unless you can clear the water, nearly 400 feet). I got lucky, went for it and landed right in the middle
12 - Long hole with a nice "S" to the fairway, stay left on the drive or you'll end up behind a nice big stand of trees, which I had to throw a thumber over just to have an upshot.
16 - Holy ^#*$, over 700 feet, and accuracy is key. I can't believe how much this hole kicked my butt. But it is also why I love courses like this, a supreme challenge.

Cons: I know I have to consider the amount of rain that Tulsa had gotten over the several weeks before I played but MAN. The course was a swamp! I would try to play when the weather is more dry so you don't have to skirt 9-10 fairways because they have 4" of standing water and much. My experience would have been completely awesome had I not had to walk around in wet shoes because the course was so soggy.

Possibly related to the excess moisture on the course, but the grass was insanely high. Don't think the disc will do anything but stop where it lands

I didn't let any of these factor into my rating, since this course really rocks minus the minor seasonal issues listed above
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 is based on the fact that the course is very fun, and very well laid out. It could rate higher if there were any elevation changes...at all....Overall I was pretty happy with the course even considering the relatively miserable conditions I was playing in

I feel this course is a MUST PLAY if you are in the Tulsa area, as it is only 10 minutes tops from the airport.

Also, as a hint, the beginning of the black course is right next to the nature center building, just across the access road from the Tulsa Zoo. I found it a little difficult to find the first tee when I was there, but after that the course flowed very easily with the marked tines on the basket bottoms pointing out the next holes, and the maps are great help.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/28/2006   11/28/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.5 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Tough course.Heavily wooded with a few open shots.Concrete T Pads.Signs,Toughest Tulsa has to offer.A PURE Disc Golf course.Nobody out there but the golfers.
Cons: Can't get there enough.Needs alternates. "T Pads" you can't run up on without stepping up.Distracting,Could be an ankle twister.A 5 with a few mods.
Other Thoughts: A definate MUST PLAY if you ever get the chance.Pack it in because your gonna be in there a while.TDSA rocks.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 tough, fair, long, jungle

1    9/7/2008   9/7/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 17.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked with all signs intact, showing length, fairway, and next tee. Baskets have a bottom rung painted to point to next tee (why doesn't everyone copy that?). Well maintained, even though this winter an ice storm destroyed many large trees, they've cut 'em up and cleared 'em out, even mowing into the woods holes. Water hazard pond shots. Long, technical holes through tightly packed trees mixed with more open tunnel fairways lined with thick woods and high grass.
Cons: Some poison ivy in play..just enough to make sure you touch it, not enough to surround your disc or kill ya. The rough can get rough, but a pro is expected to not go more than a few feet off the fairway. Water hazards are murky and won't give up a disc.
Other Thoughts: With 2 courses in this park, both clean and well marked and very different, it's a can't miss destination. Easy to miss however since the directions were so poorly written but I fixed that.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    7/30/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: skeeter11
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2009
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: extremely challenging course... well kept tee pads and accurately marked...All the baskets are well kept and fairways are narrow..Very tough water holes losing discs is very possible... OB's are everywhere
Cons: You will lose alot of discs and alot of stagnant water when I played it... Plays extremely well for a right hand thrower and i happen to be left handed
Other Thoughts: Hardest course in oklahoma if not Central US....

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Welcome to the Jungle

6/27/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: lyrefly
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long holes. Creative shots. Shade. Beautiful lake for swimming. Close to an easier course. Clear signs with next tee locations indicated. Excellent concrete teepads. No long lines.
Cons: Jungle. Liquid all over the course, just beyond most fairways. If not marshland, than often dense and overgrown foliage to catch your shank. Difficult to find discs sometimes even when in the fairway due to overgrown grass and plants. Snakes don't appear in lake until after swimming. Maybe that is a pro and not a con. Mosquitos, poison ivy, chiggers, and ticks dwell here in force. More poison ivy on a course than I have ever seen anywhere else.
Other Thoughts: This is a very tough, but very enjoyable course. Most of the toughness resides in finding your disc and playing through the annoyances of bug bites and the threat of worse creatures and poison ivy. There are some very nice long holes here that a good drive will reward you with a birdie attempt, so your score should not get out of control. It's free and within a large nice park. No reason to come to Tulsa and miss this course. Bring long pants despite the weather and take a dip in the lake. I can vouch for at least three discs sitting on the bottom...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 T-Town's toughest

5/17/2008   5/19/2008
Review By: Highryder
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a fairly new course, that has just been cleaned again after our ice storm. great pads! 16 of 18 baskets are in great shape. The ice storm debris has been cleaned up! Fairways are wider now.
Cons: There are still a couple of hanging limbs and 2 baskets were damaged by ice storm. However they are still in decent shape and definitely playable. Beware of ticks, poison ivy, snakes, and mosquitos.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough course through the woods. The fairways are good size, but there are some tricky gaps. There are some water holes, but if you have a 300+ drive aren't bad at all.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge Seekers

4/22/2008   4/22/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, challenging hole after challenging hole.
Cons: Any inaccuracy is very likely to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: This course was built for the Ams Championships when they came to tulsa recently. That should give you an idea of the caliber, and time spent on this course. It is a very good course.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


3/29/2008   3/31/2008
Review By: ixcptmorganxi
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great and challenging course. This course will deffinately test your skill at disc golf. Course is beautiful and well kept. Multiple tees, good signs, and an awesome course in general. Lots of trees also ensure that theres no wind to mess up your shots on those long drives.
Cons: It had rained the day before we played so course was really muddy and had some water holes. Made the course even harder. Lots of trees but rather than be a hindrance they were a nice challenge and provided many different ways to throw.
Other Thoughts: Course is a nice challenge and fun to play. On three holes you end up playing around a pond and your right next to it the entire time. Make sure to bring a floating disc or be confident in your throws. A great course and a recommended play for anyone.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

3/29/2008   3/29/2008
Review By: jfraosu
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a very good course with some of the longest drives I have seen. It is a fairly lengthy course and is a decent challenge. All the holes seemed to be accurately marked and the next tee was shown on the signs and was very helpful. It did seem as if the all the signs were about to fall over with any type of breeze though
Cons: On this particular day it was a little moist the course held a lot of water that is not generally there, and it had not been a real rainy time. there is still alot of debris through the course that could be cleaned up.
Other Thoughts: Overall if this course had been maintained and did not hold water so well it would have been ranked a little higher

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.