Tulsa, OK 
Blackhawk Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #7 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Blackhawk

5+    6/9/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: JWood311
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a tight, challenging course. The tee boxes are really good. Not too many blind shots. Good variation of length and hyzer - anhyzer transitions
Cons: Gets overgrown with thick brush and tall grass when it goes unkept. Plenty of opportunities to get wet.
Other Thoughts: Got a retriever? Great place to fish!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

1    5/26/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 14.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained and well laid out course. You need to be able to throw all types of shots here. Tight gaps,short and long, hyzer, turn-over, and the baskets are all well protected so putting around obstructions is a must. If you enjoy wooded courses you will like this one. There are a few holes that enter into large clearings in the woods but trees are still a factor.

Two sets of tees level the playing field for those with not as big an arm.
Cons: A high possibility of losing discs. Very tall grass off the main path in the woods when I played cost me some time searching for discs. Some areas can be very wet and marshy. holes 8,9, and 10 all play around a very large, deep and murky pond so if you go in it is a goner.
Other Thoughts: Only play here if you want to be challenged. This is a championship level course. Very tight fairways, thick and tall underbrush off the beaten path and some water in play.

In the same park is the RedHawk Course. I did not have the chance to play it, but a local told me that it is more open and a bit longer.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid

1    3/17/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 13.4 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Blackhawk is an honest tournament ready course that caters to tournament level players and provides multiple challenge varieties. The round that I played went by way too fast. It was totally enjoyable. The character at Blackhawk is long, but reachable, wooded fairways, some narrow tree-lined, others creek-lined, guarded but doable basket locations, wet with a head scratching lake in the middle. All adding up to a very fun experience, where I imagine a local can play here many times over without getting bored.

The course has good concrete tee-pads. Some doglegging blind shots that you may wish to take a short scouting mission for to truly gauge where the basket is. The trees were mostly protective of the wind. Blackhawk is a hard but not ridiculous course, I would be very proud of a good score from here. It is not as busy as I had imagined considering how famous this course is.

Redhawk's presence ensures that a player can drive out to the park to play Blackhawk and still have another option if Blackhawk is overcrowded. I should point out that there was no sign of overcrowding when I played not counting a massive function taking place at the nearby zoo.
Park facilities are close and yet the Blackhawk course is tucked away in a natural setting, for this, Blackhawk has the best of both worlds.
Cons: I heard a few horrid tick stories but I did not experience it myself. Not for water phobic players, be sure to practice your floaters before you come. I understand that the grass can get really high in the summer, but when I played in March the grass conditions were perfect.
Other Thoughts: I'm unsure of how the maps and directions stack up since I had a great tour guide which always heightens the experience of a new course up a notch. I have a hunch that due to the potential growth of the rough and the added challenge from when the trees fill in, that March is nearly the perfect time of year to play Blackhawk and that conditions get tougher in the summer. I flew to Oklahoma to play disc golf and this course was on my short list, in the end I was not disappointed. I had high expectations for this course going in and it met them

I would suggest a round at Blackhawk for more experienced players and be confident that a beginner who doesn't mind perhaps losing a disc in the water will still have an enjoyable time.

This is a solid course, probably one of Oklahoma's best.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 If you love wooded courses...

1    5/13/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 8.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really love a course with a bunch of technical wooded holes, and this course really delivers! And the solitude is great, only saw a few non-DGers on the course in the 2 hours during my round.

All concrete tee pads, plenty large and in great shape. Innova baskets, mostly in very good condition (one looked like it had been broken and repaired a couple times). Tee signs are great, and the course maps linked on here help even more, though I saw a couple of discrepancies between the two on a couple of holes. Facilities available, though Spartan through most of the course.

After the first couple holes, most after that are wooded and tight, with the exception of a few semi-open water holes in the middle.

My memorable holes:
1 - Start out right with a nice tunnel shot, not too short not too long.
5 - Long straight out shot with a dogleg left and 150 more feet. Made for a nice drive, upshot, and putt hole(even though I 5'd it)..
7 - Throw out from a stand of trees to an open pin. You'd think it was easy, but think again.
8 - Big hyzer over the lake, or you can play through the trees. Not too long to go over the water, but make sure you don't wuss out on the throw or it's bye bye disc.
9 - have to lay up between the two ponds on a narrow fairway (unless you can clear the water, nearly 400 feet). I got lucky, went for it and landed right in the middle
12 - Long hole with a nice "S" to the fairway, stay left on the drive or you'll end up behind a nice big stand of trees, which I had to throw a thumber over just to have an upshot.
16 - Holy ^#*$, over 700 feet, and accuracy is key. I can't believe how much this hole kicked my butt. But it is also why I love courses like this, a supreme challenge.

Cons: I know I have to consider the amount of rain that Tulsa had gotten over the several weeks before I played but MAN. The course was a swamp! I would try to play when the weather is more dry so you don't have to skirt 9-10 fairways because they have 4" of standing water and much. My experience would have been completely awesome had I not had to walk around in wet shoes because the course was so soggy.

Possibly related to the excess moisture on the course, but the grass was insanely high. Don't think the disc will do anything but stop where it lands

I didn't let any of these factor into my rating, since this course really rocks minus the minor seasonal issues listed above
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 is based on the fact that the course is very fun, and very well laid out. It could rate higher if there were any elevation changes...at all....Overall I was pretty happy with the course even considering the relatively miserable conditions I was playing in

I feel this course is a MUST PLAY if you are in the Tulsa area, as it is only 10 minutes tops from the airport.

Also, as a hint, the beginning of the black course is right next to the nature center building, just across the access road from the Tulsa Zoo. I found it a little difficult to find the first tee when I was there, but after that the course flowed very easily with the marked tines on the basket bottoms pointing out the next holes, and the maps are great help.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/28/2006   11/28/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 40.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Tough course.Heavily wooded with a few open shots.Concrete T Pads.Signs,Toughest Tulsa has to offer.A PURE Disc Golf course.Nobody out there but the golfers.
Cons: Can't get there enough.Needs alternates. "T Pads" you can't run up on without stepping up.Distracting,Could be an ankle twister.A 5 with a few mods.
Other Thoughts: A definate MUST PLAY if you ever get the chance.Pack it in because your gonna be in there a while.TDSA rocks.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 tough, fair, long, jungle

1    9/7/2008   9/7/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 18.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked with all signs intact, showing length, fairway, and next tee. Baskets have a bottom rung painted to point to next tee (why doesn't everyone copy that?). Well maintained, even though this winter an ice storm destroyed many large trees, they've cut 'em up and cleared 'em out, even mowing into the woods holes. Water hazard pond shots. Long, technical holes through tightly packed trees mixed with more open tunnel fairways lined with thick woods and high grass.
Cons: Some poison ivy in play..just enough to make sure you touch it, not enough to surround your disc or kill ya. The rough can get rough, but a pro is expected to not go more than a few feet off the fairway. Water hazards are murky and won't give up a disc.
Other Thoughts: With 2 courses in this park, both clean and well marked and very different, it's a can't miss destination. Easy to miss however since the directions were so poorly written but I fixed that.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/30/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: skeeter11
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2009
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: extremely challenging course... well kept tee pads and accurately marked...All the baskets are well kept and fairways are narrow..Very tough water holes losing discs is very possible... OB's are everywhere
Cons: You will lose alot of discs and alot of stagnant water when I played it... Plays extremely well for a right hand thrower and i happen to be left handed
Other Thoughts: Hardest course in oklahoma if not Central US....

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Welcome to the Jungle

6/27/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: lyrefly
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long holes. Creative shots. Shade. Beautiful lake for swimming. Close to an easier course. Clear signs with next tee locations indicated. Excellent concrete teepads. No long lines.
Cons: Jungle. Liquid all over the course, just beyond most fairways. If not marshland, than often dense and overgrown foliage to catch your shank. Difficult to find discs sometimes even when in the fairway due to overgrown grass and plants. Snakes don't appear in lake until after swimming. Maybe that is a pro and not a con. Mosquitos, poison ivy, chiggers, and ticks dwell here in force. More poison ivy on a course than I have ever seen anywhere else.
Other Thoughts: This is a very tough, but very enjoyable course. Most of the toughness resides in finding your disc and playing through the annoyances of bug bites and the threat of worse creatures and poison ivy. There are some very nice long holes here that a good drive will reward you with a birdie attempt, so your score should not get out of control. It's free and within a large nice park. No reason to come to Tulsa and miss this course. Bring long pants despite the weather and take a dip in the lake. I can vouch for at least three discs sitting on the bottom...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 T-Town's toughest

5/17/2008   5/19/2008
Review By: Highryder
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a fairly new course, that has just been cleaned again after our ice storm. great pads! 16 of 18 baskets are in great shape. The ice storm debris has been cleaned up! Fairways are wider now.
Cons: There are still a couple of hanging limbs and 2 baskets were damaged by ice storm. However they are still in decent shape and definitely playable. Beware of ticks, poison ivy, snakes, and mosquitos.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough course through the woods. The fairways are good size, but there are some tricky gaps. There are some water holes, but if you have a 300+ drive aren't bad at all.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge Seekers

4/22/2008   4/22/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, challenging hole after challenging hole.
Cons: Any inaccuracy is very likely to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: This course was built for the Ams Championships when they came to tulsa recently. That should give you an idea of the caliber, and time spent on this course. It is a very good course.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.