Moses Lake, WA 
Blue Heron Park Share
Uploaded By: Tromavilcitizen Hole #5 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Park First, DG Course Last

1    5/18/2013   5/18/2013
Review By: SKizzUMATIK
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some holes are quite fun, but none are very challenging. A nice rest stop spot, and it has baskets. The park was immaculate, pads, signs, and baskets all in superb shape. Locals seem friendly.
Cons: The wind today was extreme, being by the water. The park was FILLED with families having picnics and relaxing. Mysteriously there are picnic benches right in the fairways of some holes. This is no place for a DG course.
Other Thoughts: We had to wait a VERY long time on many occasions for people to clear the way. We never got the chance to really open up for fear of hitting people.
Putting baskets into this park was just a bad idea. There is unused space just north of the park that would have made more sense. This is not a DG course, this is a park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Blue Heron DGC

5+    8/10/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: Tromavilcitizen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide open.
Easy to navigate.
New restroom off of hole 6.
Access to lake for swimming.
Cons: Lots of people like to move picnic tables into the middle of the fairways.
caution on hole 8 if the wind is in the wrong direction you may lose a disc on the freeway.
Other Thoughts: Playing in the early AM is ideal as most people will start to show up after noon.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Blue Heron Park

1    5/25/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Blue Heron Park in Moses Lake is located on the eastside of Washington State. This nine hole course is right off Interstate 90 on the way to Spokane. Because of its proximity to the highway, it makes for the perfect stop to stretch the legs, use the restroom, and even grab a snow cone (shaved ice shop onsite) on warm sunny days.

The course plays in a grassy multi-use park with some elevation and a variety of trees spread throughout the area. Blue Heron Park has a combination of long and short holes ranging anywhere from 215-480 feet and includes eight Par 3's with one Par 4 making Par for the course 28. Elevation is present on holes three through five with water really only coming in to play on hole four. The kiosk has some helpful information and navigation/flow is not an issue. The cement tee pads and DISCatchers are in great shape and a nice touch, adding some character to this fairly average nine hole course.

Favorite Hole(s): Hole #3 and Hole #5
Cons: Wind can play a HUGE factor, as the day I was there the wind was over 55 mph, making my round almost unbearable! The courses SSA changes dramatically depending on the weather conditions so just be prepared.

Also, the tree line on hole five can eat discs so beware. When I played on an extremely windy day my disc carried into them and didn't come down for quite some time. However, they are easily avoidable if worried, just stay left!

Last, as others mentioned, the amount non-disc golfers on the course can make it rather difficult to get a full round in on nice days. Make sure you get to the course early or closer to sundown to avoid these issues. I was there on a Friday at 10:30 in the morning and had no problem.

Least Memorable Hole(s): Hole #6
Other Thoughts:
Blue Heron Park in Moses Lake is a wonderful place to bring the family and have a picnic. There is a large playground, a boat launch and plenty of room to run around and be free. The course seemed very safe and was a quick play. The hole variation allowed for some ace runs and some more strategic shots with nice distance. If you are ever traveling across the state of Washington this course is a must!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 easy access...great break

1    12/24/2009   5/30/2011
Review By: jon_mt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 37.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open course - good for trying different shots.Easy walking.
Cons: Was difficult to follow course layout.
Other Thoughts: This is a great stop when travelling across Washington, but as others have noted, this is a general purpose park and it could be crowded.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for others!

2-4    5/16/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park itself is very well kept, and for the size of the park, there are some very nice, long holes with a mixture of shorter ones. You could play here barefoot and you won't have a problem. The lake is very pretty especially with the sun beading off of it; good scenery.
Cons: This park get extremely busy with other people playing in the park or having a picnic or whatever, and there are a lot of outdoor parties that make this course almost unplayable during the summer unless you go early in the morning.
Other Thoughts: Pretty decent little park just off of the freeway on interstate 90, in fact that's how I found the course, I was driving towards Spokane when I saw baskets and pulled over to play a couple rounds. Family friendly but still a decent challenge on some holes. Pack some water when you go!

*****UPDATE*****

Now with concrete tee pads and signs!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little break during a drive.

5/23/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Considering the lack of any other courses anywhere near here, this isn't a bad start. The teepads are nice, the holes vary in length between 215 and 480 feet (though most are in the 200s) and the park is well kept up. The signage is good for the most part, and there is a map of the course near the parking lot by the first tee.
Cons: It would be nice to have something at the hole which directed you to the next tee. Also, the walk between 1-6 and 7-9 takes you from one section of the park to another, although it really isn't very long.
Other Thoughts: We played this course on our way from Tacoma to the Spokane area on Friday, May 23rd, and again on the way home, Monday, Memorial Day, May 26th. The two rounds were very different. On Friday, around 1:30 in the afternoon, the winds were whipping. When we started I would guess 20-25 with gusts near 35, and by the time we finished I would say 40-45 with gusts of at least 55-60. It was the most brutal wind I have ever played in. My wife quit playing after 3 holes out of frustration, but I toughed it out. There were times when I wasn't sure what I needed to to to get through the wind, but somehow, I managed. On the way back through, there was almost no wind at all, though we had to play around several groups of Memorial Day picnickers. Considering how new this course appears to be, I was pleasantly surprised to see 8 other golfers, in 4 separate groups, playing rounds of golf. I probably wouldn't go out of my way to play this course, but as a quick stop during a boring drive, it makes a nice break.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center