East Bethel, MN 
Blue Ribbon Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: tolson Hole #4 (Taken 6/2008)
4 / 444ft.   4 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 101
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Worth the trip

1    8/10/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very well kept course in a disc golf only property. High quality tee pads and baskets. Navigation is easy. Clearly marked out of bounds areas. Scorecard, map, and pencil included with price (a steal at $5). The snack area is a great place to take a rest halfway through. Nice landscaping and tree protection throughout. Garbage and recycling at every hole. What more can you ask for really?
Cons: A bit of a drive from the cities and not much elevation change.
Other Thoughts: I liked Bryant Lake a little better but this is definitely top notch.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Every thing you read about this coarse is true.

1    7/2/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 56  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: World class disc golf.
Professional tee pads and greens.
Well stocked pro shop.
Cons: The last 5 holes seemed repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This was the 5th coarse my wife and played on summer vacation, and the first in the top 10. We were super excited to get there and were not disappointed. The price is fair and I look forward to playing here again in the future.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Must Play

1    7/9/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Gorgeous property, highly maintained, professionally landscaped
- Some very iconic holes, such as the hole 4 tunnel of pines, and the hole 18 bomb gauge
- Snack shack and bathrooms around hole 10
- Nice variety of tight, technical and open holes
- Unique basket placements - such as down in a bowl, hanging from a chain, and up on a man-made pyramid
- Professional signs, teepads and baskets. Easy to navigate without a map.
Cons:
- Pay to play. $5 is totally worth it, but it's not free, like most course
- Not a ton of elevation change. Would have loved to see some steep incline and declines if the property had such features
- Mosquitoes were pretty bad in the woods, as one would expect in Minnesota
Other Thoughts:
If you're anywhere close to this area, this is a must-play course. It is run and maintained by a landscaping company, and it shows. That being said, it was very disappointing to see graffiti on some benches and signs. It still boggles me that someone would pay to play at such a well-maintained course and then think it's a good idea to write things like, "420 hole" or phallic diagrams on a bench. I know 99% of disc golfers have more class than that, but if you see it happening, don't tolerate it, and if you have the ability to sand it off paint over it, do it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Is This Heaven? No, It's BRP.

1    6/12/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 100  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is basically a whole new world that revolves around disc golf. This land used to be a sod farm that was then taken and turned in the the most well maintained disc golf course I have yet to see. The evidence of work on this course is present on every hole. There are phenominal tee pads and beautiful baskets that are both well maintained. There are tee signs and the course is super easy to follow from one hole to the next. The design of the course may have been done by multiple people, but there is fun at every twist and turn.It seems that every hole is rather unique and the land is very well used. In particular the land features, such as creaters in the ground and downed trees are all brought in to play on different holes. Getting off the fairway can be extremely punishing. There is a little creek that comes into play on multiple holes and is used in various different ways to cause players to think about a particular shot. There are man made lakes in a couple of places that really come into play and force a particular shot. There are so many trees on parts of the course that you will be required to throw good shots down long alleys. There is a good pro shop near the start and finish. There is a snack shop centrally located on the course. There is a nice indoor bathroom at the pro shop. The course hosts weekly events and works hard to draw a good crowd, though that is not difficult with the quality of this course. Hats off to the owners of this property for putting so much effort into this course and truly making it feel like a country club experience.
Cons: You do have to pay to play this course, though I am sure that is part of the reason why the course can be so amazing. There are a few holes that may add some fun factor to the course but are simply super short and/or not championship quality holes in and of themselves. The rest of the course makes up for that of course. There is one shared tee pad which may slow play a bit on tournament days or very busy days. Not always beginner friendly though some holes are.
Other Thoughts: This course is an experience that really shouldn't be missed in the avid disc golfers lifetime. It is so unique compared to everything else I have seen and the local crowd as well as owners clearly love this course. While I was able to come up with a few cons, they are so minor in comparison to the great things about this course that it doesn't really matter. I really had a bad round when I palyed and yet I still had a great time from start to finish. I did loose two discs during the round and got one back, but be aware of where the water is on this course. Also there are 27 holes most of the time I believe so the rounds are long, and even longer if you have to look for your disc off the fairway. The experience is well worth the price of admission and the money clearly goes back into the course. That really makes paying worth it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/8/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well maintained course.
- Many well knowledgeable players all over the course to assist and give tips to beginners, like myself.
- 27 playable holes, quite longer and more advanced than any other courses I have played.
- Snack shack halfway through is great, cold beer and pop, grills cooking up hot dogs and burgers are a plus.
- Great change of pace compared to normal courses, the well maintained course is just fun to play on.
- Great employee's and very friendly.
- Dogs are welcome to come along for the day.
- Great course to spend a whole day out at and play multiple rounds.
- Basket at Hole 1 off to the left of tee pad to practice putts and approaches.
- One of the cleanest courses I have ever played, trash and recycling bins on every tee, along with a 5 gallon pail for the smokers to throw their butts in.
- I personally think it's a very challenging course, I have only been playing for 3 years though.
- If you lose a disc more than likely it will either be put in lost and found at the pro-shop or you'll receive a phone call about your disc, that's why I love playing here.
Cons: - Of course everyone will say it's a con so I will list it as a con, $5 to play, doesn't bother me whatsoever.
- Very congested come weekends, recently it took me 4.5 hours to play all 27 holes, without stopping at the shack.
- A lot of the fairways have had some standing water due to the amount of rain we have received in the last few weeks.
- Bugs are a major problem later in the evening and after a heavy rainfall, but that should be expected with any course.
Other Thoughts: - Would love to see another 9 holes made and turn it into two 18 hole courses that could possibly free up some major delays and waiting around to tee off each hole.
- Pump out the water of the holes that are way over what they should be at, too much water isn't a good thing when it comes to BRP, the pines can really mess up a good shot and send you into the drink.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A really fun course to play

2-4    5/21/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great place to go play some disc golf. Pro shop you can buy plastic, drinks, snacks, etc. from. Everything is very well manacured. Between rounds, they even put down fresh cedar chips on the infamous hole 4 (Made of some interesting shots the second round). There are a great deal of shots needed to play and shoot well at this course. Has a concession shack about half way through the round as well (I am guessing this is only open on weekends). Water comes into play, but not obnoxiously. It is very well placed. This place is definitely worth a trip to go play.
Cons: The tee signs are missing on some holes, which caused a few shots to be thrown OB. Had the signage, actually had the hole information on it, we would have thrown differently. Also, the lack of good elevation takes a little bit away for me.
Other Thoughts: Also, this seems to be the place for one-disc'ers to come and play. So be prepared for some waiting. The course is a bit out of town, so I would recommend taking food with you so you can just stay on premise and play as much dg as you can handle.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the best ever

5+    4/21/2014   4/25/2014
Review By: Mblack4
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
> 27 play-able holes
> Plenty of different shot types required
> Mix of short easy holes and long challenging holes with water hazards
> Fantastic course upkeep
> Mix of both open and wooded holes
> Strictly a DGC, no other park activities going on
> Great signage and direction

Minor pros:
> Pro shop with tons of discs
> Hole 18 is a long open hole with distance markers to see how far you can throw
> You can make it to five guys burgers in Coon Rapids in about 10 minutes.
Cons:
> Lack of elevation

Minor cons:
> Can get busy at times, and causes traffic jams on later holes
> Concession shack is hardly ever open
Other Thoughts: The pros most definitely outweigh the cons at Blue Ribbon Pines. If you enjoy disc golf, and you're nearby, you have to check this course out -- it lives up to the high rating.

You'll start out in the open, but quickly head into the woods by hole 2. From there you have a mix of long and short holes, but plenty of trees and other obstacles. The signature hole is Hole 4, which offers a very long and very narrow path to the chains, guarded by trees. You also have a big water hazard on Hole 7 that has claimed many discs.

After a few more wooded holes, you come out a bit on 14, but there's a more steady mix of wooded/open from this point. As mentioned above, 18 has distance markers to measure your shot.

The final 8 holes are always worth playing, and the quality of the course stays high throughout. It would be nice if there was at least some elevation, and also if the concession shack was open, but the course is still fantastic.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

this is how you design a course

2-4    9/15/2013   10/10/2013
Review By: namar
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.4 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Fantastic landscaping throughout, from elevated tees and pins to defined greens and landing zones.
-Super, super clean. Garbage and recycling cans at every tee, pretty much no trash on the course.
-The snack shack is so very rad. The fact that you can get cooked-to-order hot dog or burger and a cold beer while waiting to tee off is clutch. I was damn hungry halfway through the second round of the day, and that hot dog made me feel like post-spinach Popeye.
-Huge, level and grippy pads. Probably the best I've ever seen, and I don't think they could be improved.
-The few water hazards are used very well, requiring a bit of cost/benefit analysis when picking your disc and lane.
-Most of the roughs are pretty punishing, which I consider a positive. It requires precision throughout, and rewards you accordingly. Expect to concede a stroke or two if you shank one off the pad or get a bad kick into the woods.
Cons: -The tee signs really don't help at all, they're just a picture of the view off the pad with no indicator of pin location.
-No real elevation changes. There are a couple holes that have some undulation from tee pad to pin, and a couple elevated greens but that's it. It is a sod farm in MN so it's hard to dock points due to local geography, but some up and down is key and would make this an easy 5 star course.
Other Thoughts: If you play disc you like being outside. If you like being outside you probably like big ol' pine trees. How about playing disc on a great course laid out amongst 100+ ft tall pines, that sound alright?

If you are RHBH, you'll need a solid anhyzer shot here. And hyzer. And lazer beam. BRP requires pretty much every shot type, and even though there are a few repetitive spots, they layout is done so well that hole to hole variety remains strong.
Our group drove 5 hours to play BRP for a bachelor party based on overall course reputation and DGCR reviews, and after playing it I'd gladly travel twice as far. This place is as good as it gets, given the local terrain. If you are a serious golfer you should have Blue Ribbon Pines on you to-do list.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Keeper

2-4    6/10/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: discgolfrules
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well maintained, great holes, awesome tee signs. i particularly enjoyed the tee signs on water holes with the distnace to the water included. Liked the hole 18? with the distances so i could see how far i was throwing that day.
Cons: Didnt care for the elbow hole sure i dueced it but seemed out of place on a course of this caliber like it was fit in remaining space?? This is the only negative i could find about this course
Other Thoughts: the first time i played it was in 2012 the week before minnesota majestic and it was a long course as they were preparing for the event. I have played in many states and course and this is the best one i have played.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Pay-to-play done right

2-4    5/24/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Anon
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Private, family owned
- Landscaping is taken to another level
- Signature hole after signature hole
- Amazing tee pads
- 27 holes
- Secluded and relatively uncrowded
- Snack shack/Beer shack in the woods. Really cool place to take a break.
Cons: - Really none, if I had to nitpick it would be at the lack of notable elevation... but that doesn't mean the course doesn't have any. Just none of those "top of the world" shots.
Other Thoughts: Well its been said before but this place really is a "must play" course for any serious golfer. The family that runs the place couldn't be nicer. We spoke with Ray's (the owner) father when we arrived and he told us about how the course came to be and how he is just amazed that people travel so far to come to their course. We later saw him out on the large mower cutting grass for most of the day, waving at all the golfers as they passed. He also kept the snack shack stocked up with beer of our liking for the afternoon/evening rounds.

I really think hole #7 (#6 in the majestic layout) is one of the finest examples of how a par 4 should be done. Total risk-reward on the first shot to carry the water. Laying up means a bomber 2nd to get up near the green. I just can't describe enough how cool this hole was in particular.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.