East Bethel, MN 
Blue Ribbon Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #26 (Taken 6/2015)
4 / 397ft.   4 / 397ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #26 Tee



Reviews: 108
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Manicure, Pedicure, Courseicure

1    8/8/2015   8/22/2015
Review By: Donovan
Played: 219  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is beautiful. It has water, risk/reward, OB, Mandos, wooded holes, open holes, and layouts that force a huge variety of shots. Nice wood chips to prevent muddy areas, benches everywhere, and the architecture of the holes are amazing. Viewing the photos, will show you what I mean. On the weekends, there is a snack and drink area half way through the course and a "putt for dough" mini basket that is quite "interesting". The tunnel shots are some of the best I have seen and the pin placements are tough but fair on many of the holes. They have a hanging basket and one hole as driving distance signs from a slightly elevated tee. They have a nicely stocked clubhouse with discs, snacks, drinks, accessories, and more.
Cons: The only complaint I had was without a map or guide I did get lost a couple of times, but that is really my damn fault. I should have had the map up on my phone starting alone at day break.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was truly the layout and hole designs. I can not express enough how nice the tee pads and pin placements were. It felt like you were really being spoiled with the "courseicure" presented course. I have to say that the right-angled dog-leg, short hole was a long thin wooded tunnel shots were my favorite. I will certainly go back if I am ever up there again and it was well worth the 45 minute drive and $5 to play all day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

What every course should aspire to be!

5+    8/16/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: BogeyPar Guy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Landscaped professionally
-Multiple Pins
-Multiple layouts by combining holes and splitting others
-Clubhouse fully stocked, including beer
-Pay to play
-Disc lost and found for frequent players
Cons: Is being busy a con for a P2P course? Not really, just a great indicator of success.

-Combining holes 2 and 3 doesn't make any sense. Ruins two good disc golf holes and trades them in for a terrible par 4 that turns out to be a crap shoot luck fest. I would blaze a fairway straight past 2's basket to the long position for 3. This way you'll have a legit par 4 that could rival the signature hole for difficulty and beauty.

Other Thoughts: I've been playing BRP since 2006 or 2007, whenever it opened. Its been amazing to see its transformation over the years. It easily plays 15 strokes harder than when it was first developed. Ray and his family have truly created a thing of beauty. Still, everytime I go out to BRP for the day, something is new. They never stop innovating. With VisionQuest going in a couple miles away, this is turning into a serious destination!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Incredible!!

1    6/8/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: JCowdery
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: It is easy to see why this is the best course the state has to offer!! This course is what every course should strive to measure up to!! I will come back here EVERY time I come to Minnesota!!
Cons: NONE - it is layed out so well, and it seems they have covered all of the bases :)
Other Thoughts: It is so worth planning a road trip just for this course.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Creme De La Cremè

1    5/9/2015   5/12/2015
Review By: Maxrosen
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Intangibles:
-big parking lot and huge pro shop
-friendly service, clean, trash and recycling everywhere
-super nice putting basket setup
-snack shop in middle of course
-awesome dog that chases hand shadows
The Course:
-manicured, clean, prestine
-new baskets
-a mixture of all types of shots, I found myself throwing almost equal forehand and backhand off the tee pads, probably a course more friendly to forehanders
-good amount of water obstacles
-the course will teach you some good management techniques like when to layup in front of a lake
-benches/seating a plenty
-great mix of open and wooded shots
-27 holes!!!
-awesome 700+ foot wide open hole with feet markers to see how far you can really sling it
Cons: -busy with groups of 6 slowing the pace, maybe limit groups to 4 or 5 people on weekends-- or have someone putting groups of 2/3 together to give groups a good pace
-people scraping ponds for lost discs not telling you to play through
Other Thoughts: Everyone I came in contact with at the course was super nice and friendly. Groups of college kids I guess come up on the weekends and slow people up and don't yell fore, but that's something I'm used to. I think if this place wanted to take it to the next level-- they need to educate people a little more on rate of play and some ettiquite. Also they could take a note from a ball golf course and pair up smaller groups at the first tee to ensure an organized, flowing golf course, not one that gets those annoying backups of 3-4 groups on the third tee behind two groups of 6 people.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course!

1    3/7/2015   3/27/2015
Review By: maselyk
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This course is amazing! Played it near the end of winter while wearing shoes! Feet didn't get wet once! This course is well maintained year round and has a great variety of shots that challenge even the most seasoned veterans!
Cons: No complaints here!
Other Thoughts: Will definitely recommend to everyone I know and will make the trip to play again soon!!

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Day of Disc Golf and Disc-Shaped Food

1    3/15/2015   3/22/2015
Review By: TEDIUM
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 27 holes
Pro Shop at beginning, snack shack halfway through course, serves burgers, brats, and beer
Good variety of shots (tunnel, basket in pit, basket in air, driving range, all sorts of shaped shots)
Course is maintained daily
Rakes around all water to fish your disc out, lost and found for discs they retrieve
Cons: Can get crowded ESPECIALLY at hole 4 (the tunnel)
Other Thoughts: Yeah, you gotta pay $5, but really, it's worth every penny. This course is great fun, very secluded, the only people you meet will be disc golfers, and everyone is friendly and patient. Several holes can get your head scratching, from the ponds and OBs to even how to hit that perfect line on hole 10, all in all, a great day to just go out and throw. This course can be daunting, but is fun enough to keep you going for a second round, or coming back another weekend. A+

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

BRP, Oh My!

1    7/20/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 153  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 3.3 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Being in Minneapolis for Worlds, the big thing being pushed onto people was to go out and play Blue Ribbon Pines even if your group was not playing. Not wanting a chance to miss out on a great course, I drove up to BRP and was simply amazed by everything on the course.

First of all, how many other courses have a county made sign off the highway directing people to the course? Not many.

I feel that there is a huge cliche when people say that "this course will use every shot in your bag," but that cliche is true as you play 27 holes from short dog legs in the woods to monster bombs in the field. I was a huge fan of the foot signs on the 750' hole that shows how far you have thrown, a great touch. I also loved infamous hole 4, which is the 440' tight fairway hole. I have played something similar to that in Houston at Shawshank, but I just felt like the one at BPR was more challenging and better feeling.

The course has a pro shop that sells a fair variety of discs. The course is upkept well, better than any course that I have played. There is a snack bar that serves drinks and burgers that you pass multiple times during the round, which is a great touch. You can really tell that a lot of work is put into the course, and the course is respected by the players who play it.
Cons: The location isn't ideal to the rest of the twin cities. It is a pretty far north drive.
The common theme for courses in this area was elevation. This course had no elevation to speak of.
A few of the holes were short holes that felt more like filler holes than anything.
Other Thoughts: This is the absolute must hit course in the area. Forget going to courses to practice for Worlds. You will have a great unique experience at course that is one of the best in the world.
No one should be upset at paying the $5; I found paying it was the best five dollars spent on my entire trip.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

BRP

5+    6/20/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: travisjkuhlman
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Pros:
-Challenging
-Great proshop
-It IS a gold level course
-5$- pay to play.. you'll feel like you should be paying more after you see how great the course is.
Great mix between open/wooded holes.
-Driving range w/distance markers
-Very well kept! Greens and fairways are always trimmed.
-There's a snack shack halfway through! Burgers beer and more!
-Great course for push carts
-Dog Friendly
Cons: - Sometimes the mosquitoes can be awful. But it's our state bug for a reason. -bring bug spray.

- Long round- bring lots of water, probably a stool too.

Other Thoughts: You will probably run into other people on the weekends.. BUT! It's such a fun MN nice atmosphere about it. You'll have fun even if you end up behind a group.

This isn't the type of course you play on your way home from work.
Take the day off, take your time, and have fun!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    5/4/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Pxranger
Played: 52  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What can I say, this is disc golf heaven. From the moment I arrived the staff was helpful and friendly. I was impressed by the diversity of shots needed for this course. It seemed almost every hole had separate lines of attack to be used.

I am not used to courses with this many water hazards, but I found the challenge interesting.

The level of detail for each hole from teebox to basket was evident. I saw NO trash anywhere but in cans, (a rarity for any course)

The snack shack was a welcome surprise.

The owner took some time to talk with me, once again very friendly staff.
Cons: The day I played it was pretty soggy and wet, but that really isnt the fault of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is the course by which I will measure others by. On a side note, I played a round with some locals which was fortunate beacuse there are some interesting ways to play some of the holes in order to better your score. If you are anywhere near the upper midwest, do yourself a favor and visit BRP

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course year round.

5+    12/1/2013   2/9/2014
Review By: DJ Sticky Feet
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Mix of different shots.
Shoveled in winter.
Wide range of challenges.
Pro shop where you can buy new discs.
Cons: Water is a factor.
No season pass.
Other Thoughts: Definitely check it out. It has a pleasant mix of technicality and distance, worth the visit.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.