East Bethel, MN 
Blue Ribbon Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 277ft.   3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 114
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Blue Ribbon

1    2/22/2016   2/25/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 82  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 22.9 Years
4 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Exceptional design and flow for 27 holes.
Great mix of distances and highly technical, also featuring some hanging and elevated baskets.
Water in play and lots of OB.
Very large tee pads with paving stones to stop erosion.
Pro shop with great disc selection.
Course dog.
A nice guy named Ray who will stop to chat.

Cons: There really are no cons to a course like this, though there is almost no elevation to speak of, which is not the fault of anyone involved with this fine facility. We all have to work with the land we are given, and this is a spectacular use of the land.
Other Thoughts: If I had a con, it would be those long tunnel holes with a row of trees on either side (why are these so common in MN, when I've never seen them anywhere else in the US?). These holes are simply patently unfair in terms of disc golf. Hole #4 here, in particular, has some sort of access path to the left. A righty will hyzer and finish on that path and have a clear anhyzer to the basket for a second shot (probably under 200 feet). The lefty fades right into deep, dense woods, and any attempt to move the disc forward and leave it on the narrow (10 or 15 feet at most) 'fairway' will be met with another hyzer or kick to the right.

I chose to move it only 50 feet forward, across the fairway and to that cart path to the left of the tree line over there. Then I had a 125 foot hyzer to the pin and got my 4.

Still, unless you can throw 450 on a frozen rope 3 feet off the ground, there is no chance of a deuce and very little chance of a 3.

Holes like this should be banned.

4 of 19 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best

2-4    10/17/2015   11/7/2015
Review By: Airfishey
Played: 74  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.1 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: + Good shot variety between long open shots and tight control shots.
+ Excellent tee pads, some of which are unique and shared for multiples holes.
+ Concession stand cabin that you will pass multiple times in a round.
+ Big pro shop with lots of discs and merchandise
+ Cool wood carvings throughout the course
+ Creative uses of elevation change with hanging baskets and multi-tiered landscaped mounds.
+ Always has well maintained fairways.
Other Thoughts: Don't miss this course if you are in the area.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Blue Ribbon is a fitting name!

5+    9/1/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: Airborn Leiviska
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course and property has an atmosphere unlike any in the country. Everyone is so excited and happy to be at the place that put pay to play disc golf on the map for MN.
So much thought, care and work has been put into every hole with landscaping, colored woods chips and water features, that really make every hole have a lot of character.
Technically, one of the more challenging courses in the world, with a premium placed on getting off the tee clean. It can make for some long holes if you hit early trees.
A good variety of par 3s and 4s. Regular hole 7 is my favorite on the course (besides hole 4 of course). It requires a straight tee shot that you don't want to hyzer left on or pull right because you are playing to a lay up zone short of a man made pond at about 400 feet from tee. Your shot to the green plays around 400 over the pond, another shot that you need to finish straight instead of hyzering off the green. Green is lined with logs that will prevent you from scooting to far past the basket if you keep it low. This is a hole that even the most skilled players have to play the lay up shot, and it is the definition of a true par 4.
Snack shack halfway through the course where the grills are usually going and beverages are served.
Bonfire pits throughout the course for the cold winter leagues.
Pets are welcome!
This course is always evolving and getting even more character, and it is going to be fun seeing this place continue to grow and get better over the next 10 years and beyond...
Cons: The only con I can think of is that it is getting so popular. On a nice summer weekend day, there are ALOT of players out there and it can get slow at times and can make for a longer round than anticipated.
Other Thoughts: This is where the finals of the MN Majestic were held in 2015, and the skins match. A fitting place for such a large gallery.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Heaven on Earth at BRP!

5+    9/2/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: TimMcD
Played: 125  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a feeling you get when you go to Blue Ribbon Pines that is surreal. So much love and passion for disc golf radiates from this place. The community is great and welcoming.

Pro shop is awesome! Excellent variety. Angie, Mitch, and Ryan all do a great job running the shop.

Hole 1 is such an iconic hole. Thousands and thousands of shots have been thrown at that hole. People empty their whole bags and everyone sits around and watches, waiting for chains to be hit. What a fun experience.

The rest of the course has such great variety and will force you to throw many different shots. The landscaping is unparalleled and really brings the professionalism that we need in our sport. Tees are all nice and grippy.

BRP is a disc golf experience unlike any other. Go check it out.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Manicure, Pedicure, Courseicure

1    8/8/2015   8/22/2015
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is beautiful. It has water, risk/reward, OB, Mandos, wooded holes, open holes, and layouts that force a huge variety of shots. Nice wood chips to prevent muddy areas, benches everywhere, and the architecture of the holes are amazing. Viewing the photos, will show you what I mean. On the weekends, there is a snack and drink area half way through the course and a "putt for dough" mini basket that is quite "interesting". The tunnel shots are some of the best I have seen and the pin placements are tough but fair on many of the holes. They have a hanging basket and one hole as driving distance signs from a slightly elevated tee. They have a nicely stocked clubhouse with discs, snacks, drinks, accessories, and more.
Cons: The only complaint I had was without a map or guide I did get lost a couple of times, but that is really my damn fault. I should have had the map up on my phone starting alone at day break.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was truly the layout and hole designs. I can not express enough how nice the tee pads and pin placements were. It felt like you were really being spoiled with the "courseicure" presented course. I have to say that the right-angled dog-leg, short hole was a long thin wooded tunnel shots were my favorite. I will certainly go back if I am ever up there again and it was well worth the 45 minute drive and $5 to play all day.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

What every course should aspire to be!

5+    8/16/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: BogeyPar Guy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Landscaped professionally
-Multiple Pins
-Multiple layouts by combining holes and splitting others
-Clubhouse fully stocked, including beer
-Pay to play
-Disc lost and found for frequent players
Cons: Is being busy a con for a P2P course? Not really, just a great indicator of success.

-Combining holes 2 and 3 doesn't make any sense. Ruins two good disc golf holes and trades them in for a terrible par 4 that turns out to be a crap shoot luck fest. I would blaze a fairway straight past 2's basket to the long position for 3. This way you'll have a legit par 4 that could rival the signature hole for difficulty and beauty.

Other Thoughts: I've been playing BRP since 2006 or 2007, whenever it opened. Its been amazing to see its transformation over the years. It easily plays 15 strokes harder than when it was first developed. Ray and his family have truly created a thing of beauty. Still, everytime I go out to BRP for the day, something is new. They never stop innovating. With VisionQuest going in a couple miles away, this is turning into a serious destination!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Incredible!!

1    6/8/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: JCowdery
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: It is easy to see why this is the best course the state has to offer!! This course is what every course should strive to measure up to!! I will come back here EVERY time I come to Minnesota!!
Cons: NONE - it is layed out so well, and it seems they have covered all of the bases :)
Other Thoughts: It is so worth planning a road trip just for this course.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Creme De La Cremè

1    5/9/2015   5/12/2015
Review By: Maxrosen
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Intangibles:
-big parking lot and huge pro shop
-friendly service, clean, trash and recycling everywhere
-super nice putting basket setup
-snack shop in middle of course
-awesome dog that chases hand shadows
The Course:
-manicured, clean, prestine
-new baskets
-a mixture of all types of shots, I found myself throwing almost equal forehand and backhand off the tee pads, probably a course more friendly to forehanders
-good amount of water obstacles
-the course will teach you some good management techniques like when to layup in front of a lake
-benches/seating a plenty
-great mix of open and wooded shots
-27 holes!!!
-awesome 700+ foot wide open hole with feet markers to see how far you can really sling it
Cons: -busy with groups of 6 slowing the pace, maybe limit groups to 4 or 5 people on weekends-- or have someone putting groups of 2/3 together to give groups a good pace
-people scraping ponds for lost discs not telling you to play through
Other Thoughts: Everyone I came in contact with at the course was super nice and friendly. Groups of college kids I guess come up on the weekends and slow people up and don't yell fore, but that's something I'm used to. I think if this place wanted to take it to the next level-- they need to educate people a little more on rate of play and some ettiquite. Also they could take a note from a ball golf course and pair up smaller groups at the first tee to ensure an organized, flowing golf course, not one that gets those annoying backups of 3-4 groups on the third tee behind two groups of 6 people.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course!

1    3/7/2015   3/27/2015
Review By: maselyk
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This course is amazing! Played it near the end of winter while wearing shoes! Feet didn't get wet once! This course is well maintained year round and has a great variety of shots that challenge even the most seasoned veterans!
Cons: No complaints here!
Other Thoughts: Will definitely recommend to everyone I know and will make the trip to play again soon!!

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Day of Disc Golf and Disc-Shaped Food

1    3/15/2015   3/22/2015
Review By: TEDIUM
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 27 holes
Pro Shop at beginning, snack shack halfway through course, serves burgers, brats, and beer
Good variety of shots (tunnel, basket in pit, basket in air, driving range, all sorts of shaped shots)
Course is maintained daily
Rakes around all water to fish your disc out, lost and found for discs they retrieve
Cons: Can get crowded ESPECIALLY at hole 4 (the tunnel)
Other Thoughts: Yeah, you gotta pay $5, but really, it's worth every penny. This course is great fun, very secluded, the only people you meet will be disc golfers, and everyone is friendly and patient. Several holes can get your head scratching, from the ponds and OBs to even how to hit that perfect line on hole 10, all in all, a great day to just go out and throw. This course can be daunting, but is fun enough to keep you going for a second round, or coming back another weekend. A+

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.