East Bethel, MN 
Blue Ribbon Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 350ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 122
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Blue ribbon worthy

5+    6/11/2016   8/10/2016
Review By: Muskiebite
Played: 83  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are in great shape, and have visibility flags
-Tee Pads are in good condition, brooms on the tees
-Fairways are always mowed and in the winter time they are plowed
-Pro shop at Hole 1, Snack Shack in the middle of the course you pass twice
-Trash cans on almost every hole, never overflowing
-All bodies of water have rakes nearby to find lost discs
-Pro shop has lost and found and will contact disc owners
-Plenty of variety of shots needed
-Course is constantly tweaked, holes combined, added, dropped, pro shop is usually pretty good about notifying the changes
-Sunday mulligan league, hosts plenty of casual tournaments, ace pool
Cons: -The holes crossing over the middle are repetitive
-Almost no elevation
-It gets busy, and with long holes like hole 4 backups are common, rounds can take 3-4+ hours
Other Thoughts: This course makes for a great day of disc golfing, as you can see in the pros section there are a lot of amenities that make this course truly special and enjoyable. As you drive up there is an actual MNDOT highway sign directing you to the course, how many courses have that? Plenty of diversity in holes and different lines to hit to get to the basket. The constant tweaking is one of my favorite parts since it's always slightly different course. Most holes in the woods have their own unique features to them, there are a few basic straight forward clearing holes but they are few and far between. The holes that cross over the middle are all mostly wide open shots and play the repetitive hyper shot ,but BRP has made efforts to break these up by making some island holes, adding OB sand traps, distance markers and elevated tees, and the ever present wind always plays a factor in these holes. The owners and staff and all very welcoming and friendly people.

It seems since the Majestic people have commented BRP is soft, to many gimmick holes, but it's plenty challenging for a majority of the disc golf population, and even if a majority of the holes are birdie-able that doesn't detract from all the features and care that goes into this course. It's always a treat to play here and I'm always looking forward to the next opportunity I get to play here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

LOVE. THIS. COURSE.

1    8/9/2016   8/9/2016
Review By: Funleavy90
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2016
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Gorgeous course just on the north side of the Twin Cities.
-Course offers 27 holes with a variety of wooded and open shots, and water in play
- Every shot is as technical as the next.
-Well maintained with almost all holes have "landscaped" features including a hanging basket.
-Course is easy to follow for the most part
-Extended hangle rakes next to water features.
-Two land island greens/One water island - Hole 27 was being altered to be surrounding by water on all sides
Cons: Don't have any cons. Couldn't be more satisfied with my first visit here. For sure won't be my last!
Other Thoughts: This is a pay-to-play course but $5 for an all day pass is very well worth it.
-Well stocked Pro Shop containing variety of discs.
-Snack Shack located half way through the course (only open during weekends :/ )
-Trash/Recycling cans at every tee.


6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Best course ever!

2-4    7/25/2016   7/26/2016
Review By: Charlie Deville
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Beautiful property, manicured fairways, ladscaping everywhere, uniquely designed holes, lots of par 4s, concession stand at half way point, the list goes on and on.
Cons: Not closer to where I live!
Other Thoughts: I have been told for years to go play BRP. I arrived full of doubt and left a believer! This is the most ideal course you could ever hope for. Every detail has been paid attention to. Every hole is challenging yet memorable. A true disc golf destination.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.


1    7/6/2016   7/6/2016
Review By: redvinesfrolf
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Baskets and tees are in great condition. Multiple positions for most baskets, and although there are many tee types (concrete, brick, artificial, circular), the are all immaculate.
-Great variety and every kind of hole. 140-760 feet holes, tight and technical to bomber holes, left- and right-turning holes.
-Benches and trash cans on nearly every hole.
-They had people on the course doing maintenance in multiple places. I haven't seen course work this impressive anywhere I've been.
-Great facilities, huge disc selection, drinks and snacks.
Cons: -Tee signs are pretty basic and not as helpful as they could be. For a course of this level, it's an area for improvement.
-Little elevation, but that's not their fault.
Other Thoughts: BRP is top-of-the-line disc golf. A lot of fantastic holes, especially 4 (the tunnel), 16 (the hanging basket), 18 (760' bomb) and 26 (hole on the rock hill). It's the closest course I've seen to a ball golf course in its maintenance and facilities, which is a high compliment. Everything at Blue Ribbon is done right and it's hard to find negatives about a course like this.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Finally made it here....

2-4    6/28/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: pfpro
Played: 53  Reviewed: 40
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Great variety. 27 holes, so an extra 9 compared to a "normal" course. I didn't feel like I was playing the same hole over and over again. More wooded than open, but a good mix. I played the short configuration, so the course wasn't overly long.
+ The course design was good. For the most part, the tee placements and routes were fair. The wooded holes were not easy. Some have complained the open holes were boring. I feel like they were different enough, and being able to air it out was refreshing. There is many OBs, well defined - it's easy to know if it your disc is in or out.
+ This course was manicured. The fairways were well defined. Many greens had new mulch. This is disc-golf done well. Many of the teepads were built up and landscaped. Many greens had boulders or pavers. Although you are in the MN woods, the rough was not punishing. When I did end up in the rough, I wasn't worried about not being able to find my disc in overgrown rough. I'm sure there are some spots, but in general, the rough has been beaten back. It looks like they are developing 27 into an "island" green. Since it's under construction, it's not quite up to snuff with the rest of the course.
+ I liked the flow of the course. I feel like there are several points where you could skip forward to get to a shorter round, if you are under a time crunch.
+ Benches at every tee. Garbage cans at most (all?). Port-o-potties in several places throughout the course. Pro shop with a ton of discs (didn't check the prices, assuming they are competitive), snack shop (wasn't open when I was playing).
Cons: These are all nit-picky, as this is the best course that I have played on (in my 50+ courses). There are really very minimal cons, but will put them here.
- There is no/minimal elevation change. There's not much they can do about this. There are a few artificial mounds.
- The black flies are somewhat annoying.
- The signs are descriptive enough, but several times I had to refer to the map on the back of my scorecard to make sure I was throwing to the right basket (the first time through the course).
- It's not super convenient from a location standpoint, but, it is a destination course.
Other Thoughts: My corporate headquarters are in the Twin Cities, so this course has been on my list since I started playing disc golf. Its been 6 years, and my schedule finally worked out. It was a blast, I made it out on a weekday, got there at 11:30, played two rounds in about two hours. The course was not full (maybe a dozen or so groups on the course), and played through about a half dozen groups in the two rounds - everyone was super cool about letting me play through. It was awesome. The course kicked my butt. Was playing with a downsized bag, and threw my driver in the pond the first round (am really hoping I get it back). Didn't matter, had a blast. Of the 27 holes, other than the mando short dogleg right, I felt like they were all legit holes.I met the owner(?) on top of the teepad hill for 19, got to thank him for such a beautiful property. Don't know what the "signature" holes are. #4 (the Tunnel), 440' - brutal. The two pond shots - these seem like "typical" MN holes. The bomber holes? I would love to get to play here with my full bag. I hope to get back before another 6 years. I highly recommend getting the BRP if you are in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Blue Ribbon

1    2/22/2016   2/25/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 83  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 23.1 Years
5 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Exceptional design and flow for 27 holes.
Great mix of distances and highly technical, also featuring some hanging and elevated baskets.
Water in play and lots of OB.
Very large tee pads with paving stones to stop erosion.
Pro shop with great disc selection.
Course dog.
A nice guy named Ray who will stop to chat.

Cons: There really are no cons to a course like this, though there is almost no elevation to speak of, which is not the fault of anyone involved with this fine facility. We all have to work with the land we are given, and this is a spectacular use of the land.
Other Thoughts: If I had a con, it would be those long tunnel holes with a row of trees on either side (why are these so common in MN, when I've never seen them anywhere else in the US?). These holes are simply patently unfair in terms of disc golf. Hole #4 here, in particular, has some sort of access path to the left. A righty will hyzer and finish on that path and have a clear anhyzer to the basket for a second shot (probably under 200 feet). The lefty fades right into deep, dense woods, and any attempt to move the disc forward and leave it on the narrow (10 or 15 feet at most) 'fairway' will be met with another hyzer or kick to the right.

I chose to move it only 50 feet forward, across the fairway and to that cart path to the left of the tree line over there. Then I had a 125 foot hyzer to the pin and got my 4.

Still, unless you can throw 450 on a frozen rope 3 feet off the ground, there is no chance of a deuce and very little chance of a 3.

Holes like this should be banned.

5 of 22 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best

2-4    10/17/2015   11/7/2015
Review By: Airfishey
Played: 82  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: + Good shot variety between long open shots and tight control shots.
+ Excellent tee pads, some of which are unique and shared for multiples holes.
+ Concession stand cabin that you will pass multiple times in a round.
+ Big pro shop with lots of discs and merchandise
+ Cool wood carvings throughout the course
+ Creative uses of elevation change with hanging baskets and multi-tiered landscaped mounds.
+ Always has well maintained fairways.
Other Thoughts: Don't miss this course if you are in the area.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Blue Ribbon is a fitting name!

5+    9/1/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: Airborn Leiviska
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course and property has an atmosphere unlike any in the country. Everyone is so excited and happy to be at the place that put pay to play disc golf on the map for MN.
So much thought, care and work has been put into every hole with landscaping, colored woods chips and water features, that really make every hole have a lot of character.
Technically, one of the more challenging courses in the world, with a premium placed on getting off the tee clean. It can make for some long holes if you hit early trees.
A good variety of par 3s and 4s. Regular hole 7 is my favorite on the course (besides hole 4 of course). It requires a straight tee shot that you don't want to hyzer left on or pull right because you are playing to a lay up zone short of a man made pond at about 400 feet from tee. Your shot to the green plays around 400 over the pond, another shot that you need to finish straight instead of hyzering off the green. Green is lined with logs that will prevent you from scooting to far past the basket if you keep it low. This is a hole that even the most skilled players have to play the lay up shot, and it is the definition of a true par 4.
Snack shack halfway through the course where the grills are usually going and beverages are served.
Bonfire pits throughout the course for the cold winter leagues.
Pets are welcome!
This course is always evolving and getting even more character, and it is going to be fun seeing this place continue to grow and get better over the next 10 years and beyond...
Cons: The only con I can think of is that it is getting so popular. On a nice summer weekend day, there are ALOT of players out there and it can get slow at times and can make for a longer round than anticipated.
Other Thoughts: This is where the finals of the MN Majestic were held in 2015, and the skins match. A fitting place for such a large gallery.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Heaven on Earth at BRP!

5+    9/2/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: TimMcD
Played: 125  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a feeling you get when you go to Blue Ribbon Pines that is surreal. So much love and passion for disc golf radiates from this place. The community is great and welcoming.

Pro shop is awesome! Excellent variety. Angie, Mitch, and Ryan all do a great job running the shop.

Hole 1 is such an iconic hole. Thousands and thousands of shots have been thrown at that hole. People empty their whole bags and everyone sits around and watches, waiting for chains to be hit. What a fun experience.

The rest of the course has such great variety and will force you to throw many different shots. The landscaping is unparalleled and really brings the professionalism that we need in our sport. Tees are all nice and grippy.

BRP is a disc golf experience unlike any other. Go check it out.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Manicure, Pedicure, Courseicure

1    8/8/2015   8/22/2015
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is beautiful. It has water, risk/reward, OB, Mandos, wooded holes, open holes, and layouts that force a huge variety of shots. Nice wood chips to prevent muddy areas, benches everywhere, and the architecture of the holes are amazing. Viewing the photos, will show you what I mean. On the weekends, there is a snack and drink area half way through the course and a "putt for dough" mini basket that is quite "interesting". The tunnel shots are some of the best I have seen and the pin placements are tough but fair on many of the holes. They have a hanging basket and one hole as driving distance signs from a slightly elevated tee. They have a nicely stocked clubhouse with discs, snacks, drinks, accessories, and more.
Cons: The only complaint I had was without a map or guide I did get lost a couple of times, but that is really my damn fault. I should have had the map up on my phone starting alone at day break.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was truly the layout and hole designs. I can not express enough how nice the tee pads and pin placements were. It felt like you were really being spoiled with the "courseicure" presented course. I have to say that the right-angled dog-leg, short hole was a long thin wooded tunnel shots were my favorite. I will certainly go back if I am ever up there again and it was well worth the 45 minute drive and $5 to play all day.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.