East Bethel, MN 
Blue Ribbon Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 325ft.   3 / 520ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 101
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11

1    5/4/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Pxranger
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What can I say, this is disc golf heaven. From the moment I arrived the staff was helpful and friendly. I was impressed by the diversity of shots needed for this course. It seemed almost every hole had separate lines of attack to be used.

I am not used to courses with this many water hazards, but I found the challenge interesting.

The level of detail for each hole from teebox to basket was evident. I saw NO trash anywhere but in cans, (a rarity for any course)

The snack shack was a welcome surprise.

The owner took some time to talk with me, once again very friendly staff.
Cons: The day I played it was pretty soggy and wet, but that really isnt the fault of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is the course by which I will measure others by. On a side note, I played a round with some locals which was fortunate beacuse there are some interesting ways to play some of the holes in order to better your score. If you are anywhere near the upper midwest, do yourself a favor and visit BRP

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the best ever

5+    4/21/2014   4/25/2014
Review By: Mblack4
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
> 27 play-able holes
> Plenty of different shot types required
> Mix of short easy holes and long challenging holes with water hazards
> Fantastic course upkeep
> Mix of both open and wooded holes
> Strictly a DGC, no other park activities going on
> Great signage and direction

Minor pros:
> Pro shop with tons of discs
> Hole 18 is a long open hole with distance markers to see how far you can throw
> You can make it to five guys burgers in Coon Rapids in about 10 minutes.
Cons:
> Lack of elevation

Minor cons:
> Can get busy at times, and causes traffic jams on later holes
> Concession shack is hardly ever open
Other Thoughts: The pros most definitely outweigh the cons at Blue Ribbon Pines. If you enjoy disc golf, and you're nearby, you have to check this course out -- it lives up to the high rating.

You'll start out in the open, but quickly head into the woods by hole 2. From there you have a mix of long and short holes, but plenty of trees and other obstacles. The signature hole is Hole 4, which offers a very long and very narrow path to the chains, guarded by trees. You also have a big water hazard on Hole 7 that has claimed many discs.

After a few more wooded holes, you come out a bit on 14, but there's a more steady mix of wooded/open from this point. As mentioned above, 18 has distance markers to measure your shot.

The final 8 holes are always worth playing, and the quality of the course stays high throughout. It would be nice if there was at least some elevation, and also if the concession shack was open, but the course is still fantastic.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course year round.

5+    12/1/2013   2/9/2014
Review By: DJ Sticky Feet
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Mix of different shots.
Shoveled in winter.
Wide range of challenges.
Pro shop where you can buy new discs.
Cons: Water is a factor.
No season pass.
Other Thoughts: Definitely check it out. It has a pleasant mix of technicality and distance, worth the visit.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course

5+    1/26/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: adampietig
Played: 170  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: It is one of the best courses around because every day in the winter Ray shovels the tee pads and plows the fairways. Angie and Ray are always super friendly and always happy to see you.
Cons: The snack shack is not always open. It would be nice if they put out coffee in the winter at the snack shack, by that point you need a little warmer!!
Other Thoughts: There are people playing everyday rain, snow, cold, sunshine, nothing can keep you away from this course!!!

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite course by far

5+    10/6/2013   1/6/2014
Review By: Discgolfer21
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2014
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This course has 27 holes and has a variety of shots ranging from straight shots over 400 feet, to a right angle hook shot around a few trees just under a few hundred feet long. I go to it all the time even though it is 75 min. from my house. I enjoy the course every time I go there. The fairways are even plowed in the winter, so you can visit the course year round! The water hazards on half the holes add a 3rd level of difficulty after trees and Mandos. The tee boxes are grippy and there is a broom next to each one for sweeping off the sticks and leaves. The roughs are very dense, so if you throw you disc into them, it may be lost. I consider this a good thing because it punishes you for your bad shots. There is a snack shack where 16 and 25 meet, so you can get a burger, chips, candy and much more. The course is very clean, and there are garbage cans at each tee. The grooming of the course is fantastic and it is one of the reasons I love this course so much.
Cons: The tee signs don't help at all. There is no map, there is only a random picture like a group of guys. I also don't like that two tees share the same box, because if a big group is on 25, you have to wait for all of them to go before you can through off 16.
Other Thoughts: If you want to go to a course not very far from the city, I'd recommend this one with its 100' pine trees and tricky shots.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.


1    9/29/2013   10/30/2013
Review By: Dilf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: 27 holes, good variety of woods and open shots including everything from a tunnel of tall pine trees, to a 90 degree turn short hole with mando, to a driving range style hole with distance markers. Nice placement around water hazards. The snack shack! Order a burger or hot dog and beer or soda mid-round. Very challenging for a first timer, I'll be back every year as much as possible. A must play for anyone from out of town.
Cons: Some say lack of elevation change but it's Minnesota, that is pretty rare.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

this is how you design a course

2-4    9/15/2013   10/10/2013
Review By: namar
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.5 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Fantastic landscaping throughout, from elevated tees and pins to defined greens and landing zones.
-Super, super clean. Garbage and recycling cans at every tee, pretty much no trash on the course.
-The snack shack is so very rad. The fact that you can get cooked-to-order hot dog or burger and a cold beer while waiting to tee off is clutch. I was damn hungry halfway through the second round of the day, and that hot dog made me feel like post-spinach Popeye.
-Huge, level and grippy pads. Probably the best I've ever seen, and I don't think they could be improved.
-The few water hazards are used very well, requiring a bit of cost/benefit analysis when picking your disc and lane.
-Most of the roughs are pretty punishing, which I consider a positive. It requires precision throughout, and rewards you accordingly. Expect to concede a stroke or two if you shank one off the pad or get a bad kick into the woods.
Cons: -The tee signs really don't help at all, they're just a picture of the view off the pad with no indicator of pin location.
-No real elevation changes. There are a couple holes that have some undulation from tee pad to pin, and a couple elevated greens but that's it. It is a sod farm in MN so it's hard to dock points due to local geography, but some up and down is key and would make this an easy 5 star course.
Other Thoughts: If you play disc you like being outside. If you like being outside you probably like big ol' pine trees. How about playing disc on a great course laid out amongst 100+ ft tall pines, that sound alright?

If you are RHBH, you'll need a solid anhyzer shot here. And hyzer. And lazer beam. BRP requires pretty much every shot type, and even though there are a few repetitive spots, they layout is done so well that hole to hole variety remains strong.
Our group drove 5 hours to play BRP for a bachelor party based on overall course reputation and DGCR reviews, and after playing it I'd gladly travel twice as far. This place is as good as it gets, given the local terrain. If you are a serious golfer you should have Blue Ribbon Pines on you to-do list.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite

5+    9/20/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: firebotter
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This is a very well layed out course! It offers a great challenge with all types of players. Friendly staff and regulars. By far the nicest course I have ever seen!
Cons: A bit of a drive from my house. Not really a con for others but I love this course.
Other Thoughts: When I die I want my ashes spread on this course. Love it!

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

TLC in MN

1    8/22/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 117  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2014
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of the most cared-for courses I've played. Tee pads are spacious and concrete, often limned with brick retaining walls. The greens are covered in red mulch, and any area that could be wet after a rain is covered in hay. It's tough to ask for much more in terms of course manicuring. No problem with mowing on the open holes, either.

About two thirds of the course is wooded, and many holes feature multiple lines to the basket. These were fun holes, and they held my interest until the very end.
Unlike many people, I appreciate a good water carry, and Blue Ribbon Pines has several. None were exceptionally challenging, but they were enough to get in your head and to make the power throwers reconsider if they could get all the way over the pond (one caveat: the ponds were covered in algae, and if your disc goes in, I assume you won't find it).

Hole 4 is maybe the most photographed hole in the game with the long alley between symmetrical rows of tall trees. These are the kind of holes you daydream about.

Hole 7 was a cool shot with a pond lurking about 2/3 up the fairway. Again, if you have a huge arm, you could clear it, but otherwise you are considering how much you can safely put on your drive to lay up. This is how ball golf structures holes, and I love it when disc golf does, too.

One of the late holes has a downed tree parallel to the ground about 5-6 feet off the ground. It felt a little artificial (I don't think it fell like that), but I like it. It gets in your head. If you can throw low and flat under it, it's an ace run. You can throw an easy shot over it and card the safe par, too. Either way, you're thinking about your options.
Cons: No elevation at all. Obviously the designers can't help this, but this is an absolute requisite for a 5.0 for me, and probably for a 4.5.

Tee signs bordered on useless. They were just pictures of what you could see with your own eyes (tee signs are supposed to show what I CAN'T see from the tee). On a wooded course like this, I'd like to know where the trouble lies and where the lines are without having to walk the whole fairway.

The throws across the open space felt a little bland. I'm all for adding open holes to the technical course, but you can still have the greens be wooded (or the tee areas wooded) so that there is a gap that needs to be hit. On too many of these, it was basically "throw in that direction as far as you can," and these holes just felt like filler between the two wooded sections.

Finally, criticism of one hole: hole 9 was a 140-foot hole with a 90-degree dogleg right. Getting a 3 was trivially easy, but getting a 2 would require nailing a very long putt, and a 4 would require completely botching the hole on multiple throws. This felt like a crammed-in hole.

Update: I've been told there is a legit line to the basket on this hole, and I'll trust the locals.
Other Thoughts: A 4.0 signifies an "Excellent" course. Blue Ribbon Pines is excellent, and the enthusiasm of the locals is very evident. I love that Minnesotans plow this in the winter. I was born in the Twin Cities, but I lost that level of heartiness along the way. This is a must play if you are in the Twin Cities, and I look forward to my next visit.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    8/3/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: BirdieMachine
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.7 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Greatest course I've played and I've played all the best around the Twin Cities area. Nice sized concrete tees, manicured greens and fairways. Excellent variety of holes. All are unique in some way. I only live 5 minutes away! Lost discs with name and number get turned into the proshop. 27 holes and maybe 36 one day!
Cons: They really only have two right to left holes (Hyzer for RHBH) (optimal route) #7 379' and #8 160'. I guess you could count #14 as well though a straight drive works there. Costs 5 dollars to play but well worth it. Deer flys are bothersome from early- mid July to Mid-Late August. Pesty things.
Other Thoughts: Really happy with this course and the owners are very nice as well!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.