East Bethel, MN 
Blue Ribbon Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 290ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 101
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11
I wanted to like it more

1    9/7/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: blazerico
Played: 187  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Hype is strong with BRP and the course sort of lives up to it. There are some difficult shots to be made, but there are a lot of boring shots too.
Cons: Sure the tunnel shot on #4 is memorable, but the course as a whole isn't that spectacular.

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Worth the trip

1    8/10/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very well kept course in a disc golf only property. High quality tee pads and baskets. Navigation is easy. Clearly marked out of bounds areas. Scorecard, map, and pencil included with price (a steal at $5). The snack area is a great place to take a rest halfway through. Nice landscaping and tree protection throughout. Garbage and recycling at every hole. What more can you ask for really?
Cons: A bit of a drive from the cities and not much elevation change.
Other Thoughts: I liked Bryant Lake a little better but this is definitely top notch.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Every thing you read about this coarse is true.

1    7/2/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 57  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: World class disc golf.
Professional tee pads and greens.
Well stocked pro shop.
Cons: The last 5 holes seemed repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This was the 5th coarse my wife and played on summer vacation, and the first in the top 10. We were super excited to get there and were not disappointed. The price is fair and I look forward to playing here again in the future.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

BRP, Oh My!

1    7/20/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 2.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Being in Minneapolis for Worlds, the big thing being pushed onto people was to go out and play Blue Ribbon Pines even if your group was not playing. Not wanting a chance to miss out on a great course, I drove up to BRP and was simply amazed by everything on the course.

First of all, how many other courses have a county made sign off the highway directing people to the course? Not many.

I feel that there is a huge cliche when people say that "this course will use every shot in your bag," but that cliche is true as you play 27 holes from short dog legs in the woods to monster bombs in the field. I was a huge fan of the foot signs on the 750' hole that shows how far you have thrown, a great touch. I also loved infamous hole 4, which is the 440' tight fairway hole. I have played something similar to that in Houston at Shawshank, but I just felt like the one at BPR was more challenging and better feeling.

The course has a pro shop that sells a fair variety of discs. The course is upkept well, better than any course that I have played. There is a snack bar that serves drinks and burgers that you pass multiple times during the round, which is a great touch. You can really tell that a lot of work is put into the course, and the course is respected by the players who play it.
Cons: The location isn't ideal to the rest of the twin cities. It is a pretty far north drive.
The common theme for courses in this area was elevation. This course had no elevation to speak of.
A few of the holes were short holes that felt more like filler holes than anything.
Other Thoughts: This is the absolute must hit course in the area. Forget going to courses to practice for Worlds. You will have a great unique experience at course that is one of the best in the world.
No one should be upset at paying the $5; I found paying it was the best five dollars spent on my entire trip.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Must Play

1    7/9/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 49  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Gorgeous property, highly maintained, professionally landscaped
- Some very iconic holes, such as the hole 4 tunnel of pines, and the hole 18 bomb gauge
- Snack shack and bathrooms around hole 10
- Nice variety of tight, technical and open holes
- Unique basket placements - such as down in a bowl, hanging from a chain, and up on a man-made pyramid
- Professional signs, teepads and baskets. Easy to navigate without a map.
Cons:
- Pay to play. $5 is totally worth it, but it's not free, like most course
- Not a ton of elevation change. Would have loved to see some steep incline and declines if the property had such features
- Mosquitoes were pretty bad in the woods, as one would expect in Minnesota
Other Thoughts:
If you're anywhere close to this area, this is a must-play course. It is run and maintained by a landscaping company, and it shows. That being said, it was very disappointing to see graffiti on some benches and signs. It still boggles me that someone would pay to play at such a well-maintained course and then think it's a good idea to write things like, "420 hole" or phallic diagrams on a bench. I know 99% of disc golfers have more class than that, but if you see it happening, don't tolerate it, and if you have the ability to sand it off paint over it, do it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Is This Heaven? No, It's BRP.

1    6/12/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is basically a whole new world that revolves around disc golf. This land used to be a sod farm that was then taken and turned in the the most well maintained disc golf course I have yet to see. The evidence of work on this course is present on every hole. There are phenominal tee pads and beautiful baskets that are both well maintained. There are tee signs and the course is super easy to follow from one hole to the next. The design of the course may have been done by multiple people, but there is fun at every twist and turn.It seems that every hole is rather unique and the land is very well used. In particular the land features, such as creaters in the ground and downed trees are all brought in to play on different holes. Getting off the fairway can be extremely punishing. There is a little creek that comes into play on multiple holes and is used in various different ways to cause players to think about a particular shot. There are man made lakes in a couple of places that really come into play and force a particular shot. There are so many trees on parts of the course that you will be required to throw good shots down long alleys. There is a good pro shop near the start and finish. There is a snack shop centrally located on the course. There is a nice indoor bathroom at the pro shop. The course hosts weekly events and works hard to draw a good crowd, though that is not difficult with the quality of this course. Hats off to the owners of this property for putting so much effort into this course and truly making it feel like a country club experience.
Cons: You do have to pay to play this course, though I am sure that is part of the reason why the course can be so amazing. There are a few holes that may add some fun factor to the course but are simply super short and/or not championship quality holes in and of themselves. The rest of the course makes up for that of course. There is one shared tee pad which may slow play a bit on tournament days or very busy days. Not always beginner friendly though some holes are.
Other Thoughts: This course is an experience that really shouldn't be missed in the avid disc golfers lifetime. It is so unique compared to everything else I have seen and the local crowd as well as owners clearly love this course. While I was able to come up with a few cons, they are so minor in comparison to the great things about this course that it doesn't really matter. I really had a bad round when I palyed and yet I still had a great time from start to finish. I did loose two discs during the round and got one back, but be aware of where the water is on this course. Also there are 27 holes most of the time I believe so the rounds are long, and even longer if you have to look for your disc off the fairway. The experience is well worth the price of admission and the money clearly goes back into the course. That really makes paying worth it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

BRP

5+    6/20/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: travisjkuhlman
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pros:
-Challenging
-Great proshop
-It IS a gold level course
-5$- pay to play.. you'll feel like you should be paying more after you see how great the course is.
Great mix between open/wooded holes.
-Driving range w/distance markers
-Very well kept! Greens and fairways are always trimmed.
-There's a snack shack halfway through! Burgers beer and more!
-Great course for push carts
-Dog Friendly
Cons: - Sometimes the mosquitoes can be awful. But it's our state bug for a reason. -bring bug spray.

- Long round- bring lots of water, probably a stool too.

Other Thoughts: You will probably run into other people on the weekends.. BUT! It's such a fun MN nice atmosphere about it. You'll have fun even if you end up behind a group.

This isn't the type of course you play on your way home from work.
Take the day off, take your time, and have fun!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/8/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well maintained course.
- Many well knowledgeable players all over the course to assist and give tips to beginners, like myself.
- 27 playable holes, quite longer and more advanced than any other courses I have played.
- Snack shack halfway through is great, cold beer and pop, grills cooking up hot dogs and burgers are a plus.
- Great change of pace compared to normal courses, the well maintained course is just fun to play on.
- Great employee's and very friendly.
- Dogs are welcome to come along for the day.
- Great course to spend a whole day out at and play multiple rounds.
- Basket at Hole 1 off to the left of tee pad to practice putts and approaches.
- One of the cleanest courses I have ever played, trash and recycling bins on every tee, along with a 5 gallon pail for the smokers to throw their butts in.
- I personally think it's a very challenging course, I have only been playing for 3 years though.
- If you lose a disc more than likely it will either be put in lost and found at the pro-shop or you'll receive a phone call about your disc, that's why I love playing here.
Cons: - Of course everyone will say it's a con so I will list it as a con, $5 to play, doesn't bother me whatsoever.
- Very congested come weekends, recently it took me 4.5 hours to play all 27 holes, without stopping at the shack.
- A lot of the fairways have had some standing water due to the amount of rain we have received in the last few weeks.
- Bugs are a major problem later in the evening and after a heavy rainfall, but that should be expected with any course.
Other Thoughts: - Would love to see another 9 holes made and turn it into two 18 hole courses that could possibly free up some major delays and waiting around to tee off each hole.
- Pump out the water of the holes that are way over what they should be at, too much water isn't a good thing when it comes to BRP, the pines can really mess up a good shot and send you into the drink.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the Money

1    5/31/2014   5/31/2014
Review By: Fepowerguy8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: Well groomed and clean.
Cons: Very Flat, Mosquitoes so thick it makes it difficult to see. Played many free courses that are more challenging then this one. Lots of very open holes that go over a creek.
Other Thoughts: If it was a free course I might go to it again. Just not that much of a challenge and I am no pro.

2 of 26 people found this review helpful.

A really fun course to play

2-4    5/21/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great place to go play some disc golf. Pro shop you can buy plastic, drinks, snacks, etc. from. Everything is very well manacured. Between rounds, they even put down fresh cedar chips on the infamous hole 4 (Made of some interesting shots the second round). There are a great deal of shots needed to play and shoot well at this course. Has a concession shack about half way through the round as well (I am guessing this is only open on weekends). Water comes into play, but not obnoxiously. It is very well placed. This place is definitely worth a trip to go play.
Cons: The tee signs are missing on some holes, which caused a few shots to be thrown OB. Had the signage, actually had the hole information on it, we would have thrown differently. Also, the lack of good elevation takes a little bit away for me.
Other Thoughts: Also, this seems to be the place for one-disc'ers to come and play. So be prepared for some waiting. The course is a bit out of town, so I would recommend taking food with you so you can just stay on premise and play as much dg as you can handle.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center