East Bethel, MN 
Blue Ribbon Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #26
-- / --   -- / --   4 / 397ft.   4 / 397ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #26 Tee



Reviews: 97
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 First perfect 5.0

2-4    7/23/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.2 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great baskets, complete with blue paint and an orange flag so they are both beautiful and easily seen. Practice basket!! I really love practice baskets for putting at before the round starts, so a huge plus for me.

-The landscaping is phenomenal. Rock tiers with wood chips in every appropriate place. The stump tables are great for bag holders, whereas he didn't want to put in hangers or anything of the likes because the bags would fall off. It also helps bring the wooded feel in. Grass is always kept short, and they even go out of their way to roundup poison ivy so stray shots do not only penalize you with a bad shot, but also a bad rash. Wood chipping the entire course, including stray limbs and branches. I could go on and on about landscaping, having worked a few years landscaping myself, but I will stop at that.

-Shot variety. Believe me when I say I threw every shot I had in my arsenal. I play forehand and backhand equally, and I used them both a lot. Straight shots, hyzers and anhyzers, rollers, spike hyzers.

-Elevation, it has a lot of it. The course takes full advantage of both tree obstacles and elevation changes.

-Shot variety, there are tons of in the woods accuracy shots, and a few good rip and grip holes. Placement holes are some of my favorite, these show up especially in the majestic layout, like on hole 5 pad to hole 6 pin. You really have to play to hole 5 pin in order to get a look at getting to hole 6's pin. Water usage and OB is perfect and comes into play on many holes. Great use of mandos.

-Disc Retrieval. They pay workers to retrieve discs from ponds and have bins in the pro shop for lost discs so you can come back and claim them. If you don't want to wait, there are rakes by every water hazard to fish them out.

-Pro shop and snack shack. Great multi-brand selection of discs at the Pro shop as well as other small items, including sandwhiches drinks chips, and non-edible like minis towels and bags. The snack shack you pass three times, there is a bar facing the pad of two holes where you can sit and which others tee off, or another hole coming in. Fantastic bricked square tee pad and landscaping, as well as a log cabin feel snack shack. You pass it the first time along the backside, and then twice by the square bricked pad.

-Driving range, I just love the idea of marked distances on a hole. It's also very close to the parking lot/shop so you can drive on it before you even start. Distances start at 200 and end at 500 by 50ft increments.

-Always clean, the only trash I've ever found on that course was a bryant lake pass that had likely fallen off or out of someone's bag unbeknownst (I picked it up and threw it away :D ). They have trash cans and recycleable cans on multiple holes.

-No waits. Even playing leagues today on it with over 50 people on the course, there were no waits. The course is so huge with 27 holes, it was like playing the course on our own.

-Courteous. Every person I met up with was nice, and playing a round with Ray was one of the best and most laid back rounds I'd played in a long time.
Cons: The only con is the bugs, but that is uncontrollable. They have bug spray in the pro shop for use (which is a pro)
Other Thoughts: Before today, I wasn't going to review it and had thought it was a 4.5. I went up with a friend and played leagues that we didn't know were going on but jumped on it. I got to play with Ray Jordan and really learned a lot about the course as well as future projects and all the little things that really go on at that course. Little changes that have been made, like moving a basket 6 feet to the right so it's visible from the teepad but not really a hole changer.

Ray and the other people that work on this course really put their heart and soul into this course. Him sending someone back to a hole we just got off of to sweep all the sand off the pad because it had gotten covered in sand, or moving a downed tree off the fairway by hand because the crew had cut it down but left it there are just two examples of going out of the way to keep the course top notch at all times.

Additions and maintenance is being done daily, which is just one more reason why this should be a 5 star course. The time and thought dedicated to the course, and the shops and shacks on the course are just fantastic.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Simpley the Best

5+    6/1/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: kapitan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: My 1st perfect course...and its everything a disc course should be. This is by far the best course in the state and probably will be for a long time to come. It is a step up from all of the courses in the Twin Cities, from Acorn to Kaposia this course has got them all beat... a snack shack that you cross 3 times in 27 holes is a HUGE +. If you only throw 1 time in MN this is the place you have to see.
Cons: There is NO cons....well it could use some elevation but there are some rolling hills but nothing like Kaposia
Other Thoughts: Grill food at the snack shack...lol what more could you ask for?

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It's named Blue Ribbon for a Reason!

2-4    5/11/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 177  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: From the moment you walk into the pro shop, you know that your time here will be a great experience. The shop has a decent selection of discs, merchandise and also has pre-made sandwiches, snacks and beer! You will also find these refreshments at the permanent "Snack Shack", which you will pass 3 times during your round of play.

Oh, don't forget about the course...27 holes of joy, played mostly in the woods, but several play across the large lawn that's part of the family business (sod farming). Everything is well laid out for easy navigation, and the maintenance and grounds are top notch.

The course is tight and technical with a good mixture of hole length, but I would say it plays short to medium length for the most part. The longer holes are reasonable and are usually par 4's. The fairways are tight, and where they widen, you will find additional tree obstacles to work through. Most of the open lawn holes have some water (usually at the critical landing zones - around 280-300') that will force you to crank it or let up a bit. Most holes have multiple options off the tee, so they keep you thinking all the time (the hallmark of a great course).

The signature hole #4 is truly a one-of-a-kind. It is 15' wide and 450' long. The fairway is lined by a row of large pine trees spaced about 5' apart. The fairway itself is wood chips. Any shot that strays more than 5' from the fairway is doomed- not only must you avoid the thin trees out here, but are forced to chip out to the fairway between the closely placed pine trees! It's a par 4 but you may feel GOOD getting a 5 or even a 6.

This course even has a driving range that's marked in 50' increments. I've never seen this anywhere before! They've also done a nice job with the green on #26 - it's tiered with sand and boulders up to the pin, with a steep drop-off on the back. This creates a really 3-dimensional green, and there should be more of these in disc golf.
Cons: Signature hole #4 can make or break your round- based on averages, it will probably add strokes. You may want to throw a putter - or anything that doesn't turn or fade during it's flight. I think most people will feel good to get away with a bogey 5.

Not really a beginner's course- short tee pads would correct for some of this (but still would be very difficult). Also, lacks in elevation (there are some very minor slopes). These are the only things detracting from an otherwise perfect disc golf facility.
Other Thoughts: At only 30 minutes from Minneapolis, I suggest to make the trip if you're in the area. This is truly a full disc golf experience and the people are really nice and accommodating.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course in MN

5+    5/13/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: Albatross
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Best Course I've ever seen!
Awesome Landscaping
Holes that are listed as par 3, are actually tough to get par or under
There are baskets that are elevated, and dug into the ground
Cons: Difficult for Beginners, other than that it's awesome
Other Thoughts: This 27 hole course is probably the best $5 you'll ever spend

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch!

5+    5/4/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: gbpremo
Played: 59  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Creative holes. Great tee boxes and pins. Beautiful landscaping, and the nicest staff in town. The course is huge so flow is great. If your worried about the 5 dollar day pass your fears will melt away when you step on to the first beautifully built tee box and see the pin across the sod.
Cons: Elevation is all this course is missing.

Other Thoughts: Plowed fairways in the winter.
Staff gets discs out of ponds and gives them back in pro shops lost and found so if you go in the pond GIVE DISCS WITH NAMES ON THEM TO THE PRO SHOP!

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 hole lotta golf

1    5/2/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: chad-o
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Amazing feilds and tee pads. This used to be a sod farm so the grass feilds are perfect. The tee pads are all landscaped and profesional. It make you step up your game alot, to just feel worthy to play it.
Cons: The only time you can complain is when you are not good enough to play a hole on this course. But when that happens it makes you practice more and try again later.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the all day pass for $5. They also serve beer at the pro shop and have a stand half way through for more.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Basis for what is the Perfect Course

5+    4/10/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1149  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2011
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just about every aspect of the course, I'll try to hit everything here, if I miss anything - it probably belongs in this list.

Variety of Holes. With 27 holes, this course offers just about everything. Most shots require pinpoint accuracy, just a few feet left or right and it's a game of pinball with the trees and they're not usually very friendly (though apparently if you talk to them nicely they help you out, I saw it work). I'm not going to go into specifics of each hole, just know that you will need a wide variety of shots and this course will test your patience (I swore at least under my breath on just about every hole). Length was good on all of the holes, though there's nothing of great length (500′ wide open was about the longest) There was plenty of challenge, and a few opportunities for an Ace.

Landscaping. This course is beautiful, nice built up tee pads, nice paths, most holes have nice greens landscaped around the basket. You can definitely see your pay to play dollars at work everywhere on this course.

Tee Pads. Each tee was concrete, though not uniform. One pad was for two holes, 16/25 (a little confusing, make sure you're throwing in the correct direction), Some were larger than others (hole 1 seemed about twice as large as it needed to be) and some were round, even though there only appeared to be one line to the hole. Overall, nice tees, belongs in the pro section.

Navigation. I had the benefit of playing with someone that had played before, but it wouldn't have been necessary. Each tee is strategically placed near the previous hole's basket, if there may be any confusion look for a sign, the signage is well placed. Again, make sure you're throwing the correct direction if two holes share a tee pad.

Dog Friendly. For me, disc golfing with my dog is part of the experience, I will not go to a course if dogs are not allowed. Even though on the 'Terms of liability waiver' (the pass they give you at the beginning) it says "all pets must be on a leash" they do not mind at all if your dog is well behaved off leash, in fact they encourage it. Of course leave your dog home if it is aggressive or prone to going after people's discs, and clean up after your dog.

Winter Maintenance. A beautiful place to play a snowy winter round, they keep the tee pads perfectly swept off and plow the fairways, if you've never played in the snow, this is a great opportunity to give it a try.

Amenities. A pro shop at the beginning is rather well stocked with nearly any type of disc you might want (limited selection of plastics, colors and weights though), they also have a small amount of food (pizza, sandwiches) at a decent price for a between rounds lunch. And beer at a good price ($2.50 for bottles, $2 PBR). There is also a concession stand in the middle of the course (I think we passed it 3 times during the round) that carries drinks and candy bars at a reasonable price. (Truly my favorite "bar" what a place to sit and have a few beers while chatting with passing DGers)

Friendly Staff. Everybody I encountered was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Nice Baskets. Mach 5 baskets well placed on each hole, some are at different heights mounted in a pit or on top of a stump add a new challenge.
Lost and Found. Write your name on your disc, it's very likely that you may lose a disc here, there is a large supply of discs that have been found - you can hope to return and find your lost disc again.

Garbage/Recycling Every other hole or so had garbage and recycling bins, keep the course looking nice!
Cons: I'm reaching, as to not just leave this blank.

Water Though not a con in itself (I like the use of water on this course). Water comes into play on several holes, the creek and ponds are quite difficult to retrieve a disc out of (apparently the one rake on the course is the only survivor of many rakes that used to be around), the water is murky (cannot see the bottom) and the pond has no gradual depth, a disc that trickles in on the edge is 3 feet under water. Both times a member of our party threw into the water, somebody had to go in to retrieve it, in the pond that meant someone was going swimming.

Not for Beginners A. If I had started on this course, I would have way too high of a standard to expect from any other course. B. This course can be frustrating intermediate to advanced players - a beginner might get completely discouraged after scoring a +8 on hole 4.

Pay attention when approaching the tee pad, we did have a member throw down the incorrect hole - just look at the signs.
Other Thoughts: Well worth a drive out of the way for, make a day out of it. $5 covers all day play. I would recommend this course to anyone (except beginners) looking for a wonderful round of disc golf.

Favorite Hole:
Hard choice, I'd like to go with the signature #4, it's a beautiful hole, but oh so frustrating, I wanted to whip my disc so far out of bounds that nobody would ever see it again. I'll go with #19, a quite challenging 535′ hole with an accuracy drive off the tee over the pond and a slight dogleg right up and over a hill past some small trees to a difficult 3 score.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  27 holes of Sod and sun, possibly heaven on earth..

5+    3/14/2010   3/16/2010
Review By: Team Dank
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: 27 holes on a sod farm interlacing throughout woods, powder coated mach 5's, big observation deck, friendly staff, "disc golf pro shop", not very crowded if its not tournament time.
Cons: as if
Other Thoughts: 5 bucks to play all day. i always make a full day out of it, and soon they will have plasma tvs and food. I played this past Sunday in a tournament and there were 127 people playing in it! very fun

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal

2-4    11/20/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2010
8 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Fantastic use of the land. Every available unique natural feature was used.
- Very demanding fairways, you must hit your line or pay heavily.
- First time threw I had a lot of "head-scratchers" on what to throw.
- To score well every aspect of your game has to be spot-on.
- Benches and trash cans are abound.
- Raised baskets and rock garden greens made for several interesting approaches.
- You can also purchase drinks (including booze) and snacks at their stand in the middle of the course.
-Easy flow to the course. Fairways and tees are obvious.
- They are very welcoming of dogs being off-leash!!!
- Large teepads and well marked tee signs.
- Locals are friendly and helpful
- Just truly a beautiful course and a fun time.
- The care and maintenance is astounding. Best keep park I have ever been to!!!!
Cons: - it be nice if they accepted credit cards or had an ATM.
- The water on the course is some nasty stuff that you dont want to go in after your disc.
- Pro shop is lacking in the disc variety department
Other Thoughts: The Twin Cities area is a fantastic place for disc golf, to have so many high caliber courses so close to another is amazing. Whats even more special is for a course to stand out above the rest. BRP does just that. It is the most demanding for every aspect of your game.
When you first pull into BRP you may kinda wonder why everyone raves so much about this course. If you stand along the patio at the pro shop and look out over the course you can't quite see whats in store for you. As you play the first few holes you still cant understand whats so amazing about it. Then you hit hole #4 and the real fun begins. Official OB and water forces one to be accurate and have a good mental game. Even if youre not playing well the vibe of the course still makes it enjoyable.

Favorite hole.......so difficult to chose...... #17 - A realitive straight 250'ish hole with basket slightly to right of the tee. The fairway plays slightly uphill for about the first 50-80' then levels out until the basket with is placed in bowl shaped depression. Several large trees shape the fairway and surround the basket. An ever so slight turnover shot that levels out is the ideal line. The trees are punishing if you hit them. Its a nice birdie right before 19 and 20.

8 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous facility, excellent experience, destination course!

1    10/7/2009   12/7/2009
Review By: orcchmp
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2011
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is immaculate. Well kept up and private. Pay to play keeps the dirtbags out and keeps the traffic lower so that you can enjoy your round. You will be able to lose yourself here and want to stay all day to play. This course offers mostly wooded holes, so it satisfies that itch for me (and many others). The design of each hole is well thought out as well as the layout of the whole course. I like the style holes that begin in the woods and play into an open field (and sometimes back into the woods) - or vice versa, and there are a few of them here. Being 27 holes is sure to bring good balance, and the left, right, straight number of holes does not favor one type of shot. Water also comes into play for some OB and risk versus reward.
Cons: The features of the land are simply not varied enough or shall I say drastic enough to really "look" like a neat/awesome course - not nearly enough elevation! It is mostly flat pine plantation. Pay to play is a con in how it affects ratings, only because this affects how I think about the course and my overall rating. I have had the privelage to play some top notch courses, and unfortunately when paying is involved, I expect a whole 'nother level. BRP really does bring it though, the amenities and upkeep are amazing so the pay to play is worth it.
Other Thoughts: BRP is an amazing course. I am truly glad I played, and will definitely be back (hopefully with more friends so they can also enjoy it!). You will not be sorry you played. But in comparison to other courses I reviewed, the land here is just not enough to make a truly awesome course. Winter Park by comparison has some amazing terrain that it fully utilizes, and Bryant Lake has some decent elevation, while Highbridge has it all. To no fault of it's own, the BRP property is not the same "experience" as the other 5 disc courses, but it should still be considered a first class course! More holes here could make it that much more appealing (like HHSC), but the terrain will still not offer what Highbridge can!
UPDATE: I played HHSC on the way to visit some friends and must say that BRP is not as fun as Granite Ridge, but due to other amenities and 27 holes, I'll rate them the same.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center