East Bethel, MN
Blue Ribbon Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: tolson Hole #4 (Taken 6/2008)
-- / --   -- / --   4 / 444ft.   4 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 89
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Amazing!

1    7/12/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Best course ever! That is all.
Cons: That I live 3 hours away and can't play it every day. Really the only thing I didn't like was the little 90 degree hole. Kind of seemed like they didn't plan that one out very well

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Must Play In Minnesota

1    7/6/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: Eagleclaw
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Privately family owned, and the family sees the value in investing and improving the course
- Although there are water hazards, there are water rakes to fish out your disc, and the BRP staff searches the water hazards weekly and returns any disc with info on it. Anyone found taking discs that are not theirs will have their priveleges to play revoked.
- Pro shop with plenty of inventory to choose from
- Immaculate landscaping on every hole
- Good mix of wooded and open holes with different lines to choose on each hole (besides #4)
- #4 is a 400 foot tunnel shot through majestic trees. Both frustrating and magnificent at the same time.
- One of the holes has distance boards like at a golf driving range. Fun to see how far your first drive goes.
- Snack shack about halfway through with very friendly workers who offer to buy you a drink if you get an ace and then laugh at you as you shank it off the first possible tree.
- Either a pro or a con depending on how you look at it, but there is not much elevation change. Makes for an easier 27 holes and your legs don't get worn out. Possibly to the point of wanting to go through the course twice.
- Requires shot shaping. You can't really get by with just a forehand or just a backhand on this course. Nice to be challenged to throw a little bit outside of your comfort zone.
Cons: - No season pass. $5 every day you want to play, so if you live locally you could have an expensive summer on your hands.
- Lots of water, although chances are better here that your disc will be returned
- Either a pro or a con depending on how you look at it, but there is not much elevation change. The course is on a converted sod farm so most throws you will make can be relatively flat and you aren't challenged by elevation.
- A few of the holes can seem slightly repetitive. It's kind of the same "throw it over the field and avoid the water" or "throw it through the trees and stay on course" just with different lines, distances or shots. But after 27 holes, there has to be some sort of a limit on what sort of variety you can expect from a flat course.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the drive if you live in Minnesota or are in Minnesota for business/visiting family etc. This course is on the way to my parents' house and I will leave a couple of hours early every time I visit them, just to make sure I can swing by and play this course.
I also believe I read somewhere that the family plans to keep improving on the course and possibly expand it. That makes for a fun course to keep coming back to.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

One of the best

1    6/16/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: BeauRoch
Played: 45  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great layout but the landscaping done to it is second to none. Was blown away by the real golf course feel it had.
Cons: Not located closer to my house.
Other Thoughts: Any DG'er who visits this area needs to make the trip to play this course - will be well worth your efforts.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Amazing! the one thing i miss after moving to Australia

5+    9/10/2012   5/29/2013
Review By: rarintal
Played: 77  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: this course has everything! hands down the best course i have ever played! it should have it's own national tournament and not be grouped with the minnesota majestic! it's head and shoulders above the other two courses
Cons: it's 25 minutes away from minneapolis. but you have to be far away to have trees and the size of the course
Other Thoughts: went there for my bachelor party before i left the country, best experience ever! they treat you so well!

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Pay-to-play done right

2-4    5/24/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Anon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Private, family owned
- Landscaping is taken to another level
- Signature hole after signature hole
- Amazing tee pads
- 27 holes
- Secluded and relatively uncrowded
- Snack shack/Beer shack in the woods. Really cool place to take a break.
Cons: - Really none, if I had to nitpick it would be at the lack of notable elevation... but that doesn't mean the course doesn't have any. Just none of those "top of the world" shots.
Other Thoughts: Well its been said before but this place really is a "must play" course for any serious golfer. The family that runs the place couldn't be nicer. We spoke with Ray's (the owner) father when we arrived and he told us about how the course came to be and how he is just amazed that people travel so far to come to their course. We later saw him out on the large mower cutting grass for most of the day, waving at all the golfers as they passed. He also kept the snack shack stocked up with beer of our liking for the afternoon/evening rounds.

I really think hole #7 (#6 in the majestic layout) is one of the finest examples of how a par 4 should be done. Total risk-reward on the first shot to carry the water. Laying up means a bomber 2nd to get up near the green. I just can't describe enough how cool this hole was in particular.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 wet

5+    10/22/2012   3/30/2013
Review By: pooman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: always changing. lots of diffrent teepad options. grass is cut all the time. sweet proshop too
Cons: water. lots of water on most holes. lost lots of discs out there
Other Thoughts: fun course for $5. not far from the cities or st. cloud area.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Best course I've played

5+    7/6/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 54  Reviewed: 24
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great landscaping. Good use of short and long holes. The signature holes are awesome. The blue ribbon pines emblem like the pbr looks cool. Has netting on the trees to protect them. Driving range is really cool. Great tee signs. Easy to navigate. 27 holes of beauty. Drink stop halfway through. No trash laying around. Teeboxes are clean. Bottle caps pressed into tree stumps around the courses looks very cool.
Cons: Pro shop is sweet, but last time i went in there though some cocky kid was working saying i can help you with any information on discs your interested in being as i can throw some over 500. That was a turn off. No elevation changes. Some people go extremely slow on the course, waiting at every hole turns 27 holes taking over 5 hours.
Other Thoughts: Could play there all day. Plenty of different shots to try. Would easily go miles and miles out of my way to play this beauty. Definitely one not to miss out on.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in MN and Midwest

5+    7/2/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely amazing and is quite hard to describe, you just gotta go and play it. Signature Hole 4 is the coolest hole I have ever seen/played. The course offers the best variety of holes and shot opportunities of any course in Minnesota. There are a variety of open holes, long holes, short holes, and unique lines that can and have to be taken in the woods. Hole 3 and 8 come to mind here, where there is an island of trees in each fairway that have open lanes to the left and right, which can allow you to backhand hyzer/anhyzer or forehand to get around them. The landscaping, tee pads, baskets, and erosion control are by far the best I've ever seen/played. The tee pads are massive, there are wood chips and freshly cut grass on every fairway and around every basket, and the variety of basket locations are awesome and unique. Not to mention the bar in the woods is a nice place to rest. One of the unique features of the course are the ponds that play a key role on several holes in the woods, including Holes 7, 20, and one more I believe. There are also several protected pin locations, including Hole 17, which is down in a gully and Hole 10, which is a very short hole with a mando. There are also several key hazard/out of bounds areas including the tall grass on Hole 6 and Hole 16, which has an island green sometimes. There is also a hole near the end that has an elevated green about 15 ft. off the ground and surrounded by large boulders. Pins are also shifted around regularly, which makes every round different, depending on how often you play it. The owners will also return your disc if you happen to lose one in one of the ponds in the woods. $5 to play this course all day is an absolutely awesome deal.
Cons: The only bad thing I have to say about the course is how bad the mosquitoes and horse flies are in the summer. I highly recommended bringing bug spray. I wouldn't say that this is necessarily a con, but it could have definitely been a pro if the course had some elevation change. If the course had elevation change, it would be on an entirely different level. It would also be awesome if there were campgrounds on the property, so people could make a weekend out of it, much like Justin Trails offers. Instead of 27 holes, the course could have also been a much more challenging 18 hole championship course. However, being that it is 27 holes, it offers many more birdie opportunities and short, technical shots in the woods.
Other Thoughts: The holes in the woods/trees are amazing, nothing like it. The pine trees are big and thick, but there is relatively little brush, which is nice. The designers also did an awesome job of creating different lanes/tunnels to hit in the woods, providing a great opportunity to work on your accuracy, and really forces you to work on your shot selection. The elevated greens, water hazards, and protection pin placements are also some unique features. BRP ranks in the top 3 courses I have ever played, including Justin Trails and Bryant Lake. Justin Trails offers a lot more in the way of elevation change, but the maintenance and upkeep of BRP certainly tops it. BRP is an absolute must play for anyone in the Twin Cities area, regardless of how far you have to drive, so grab your bag and make the trip, it's definitely worth it.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Paradise

1    9/25/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: JC AceHole
Played: 240  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful. When you Pull in the lot you are Greeted by a huge semi trailer that is painted with the blue ribbon pines logo with a guy putting. Go into the club house and you can stock up on food, drinks or adult beverages and buy any discs you may need. Course is pay to play but worth every penny. You can tell all the proceeds go right back into the course.

Perfectly manicured fairways, awesome concrete tees. Short holes, long holes, technical and open holes, several water holes, this course has it all. Concession stand half way through to replenish your drinks if necessary.

As others have said, hole 4.... View from the tee is outstanding. Best disc golf hole ever??

Along with this course, you can pair it with kaposia, Bryant lake, the valley, Lakewood hills or oakwood park to name a few for a nice vacation of disc golfing as all those other courses are top notch as well.
Cons: No real elevation however with the quality of the holes, this wasnt really an issue
Other Thoughts: A real gem. This is what discgolf is supposed to be like. You can tell that there was so much effort put into this place and it shows. I wish I lived closer, this is by far the best course I have ever played. Can't wait to come back. Disc golfers in Minnesota.....I am very jealous of you...

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun for everyone!

1    7/23/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on a large piece of private property, with plenty of room for the disc golf. Nothing here to interfere, it is completely devoted to the game!
- Good amount of the holes here are set in a forest populated with lots of tall trees, with a variety of lines carved out. A wide variety. There are RHBH hyzers, like #2 which is pretty straightforward, #26 that is a long, constantly curving one, and #6 is shorter with OB all along the left. Also some RHBH anhyzer lines, like a super sharp right turn on #10, a lesser one on #14, and a funky uphill slight right turn on #17. Also a large collection of dead straight shots, like the famous signature tunnel shot on #4. Lesser know is the very tight, short #9 (roller?) with OB behind, the tunnelish fairway on #8, and the tough snaking line on #11, among others.
- On top of these lines that pretty much offer only one path to the basket (pretty much), there are others that give you an option. #3 is open to a lefty or righty shot, either forehand or backhand depending on the route taken. #22 also has a split fairway, though it is further along and really needs good line shaping to get around the cluster of trees.
- There are holes outside of the woods as well, but they still provide some interesting looks and challenges. #1 is as easy as it gets, an open shot with the basket tucked slightly in the trees. #15 is similar, but the basket is in denser forest with rough away from the clearing. #16, #24, and #27 are the most open of them all, but there is a small, nasty creek running perpendicular to the fairway that can swallow discs in the murky, muddy water.
- One of the best features at this course are the small ponds present on some of the tougher holes. The water hazards are serious, and well-placed. #7 is a beast at 620', with the water definitely a factor for shot placement. #19 has a big, murky pond at the bottom of the wooded fairway. Making it through the first gap is only part of the challenge, you either have to lay it up short or blast over the pond. It is within reach for most players, but accuracy is also important. Not to mention the basket is even farther out of the woods. #20 has the pond directly in front of the green; making it in one shot takes decent distance, good accuracy, and a
lot of chutzpah.
- Some tricky and/or tough basket placements here. Some of the more open holes have the baskets tucked within trees or rough, and #17 has the basket sunk into a small crater. #25? or #26? has a very big built up green with boulders; definitely an elevated basket that might make you want to lay up. #16? had markers for an island green when I was there, that added challenge to the water in front of the basket.
- With the 27 holes here, there is almost every combination of hole shape, length, and difficulty here. There are
shorter holes, some tight, some open, some with a funky line. Also some very long holes of varying difficulty and length as well, a la #4, #7, #19, #26, and such. Plenty those in between 200'-400' as well, the average hole length is 334', and all are well represented.
- Amenities at the course are top notch; great baskets, teepads, navigation is easy, and there are current tee signs even for alternate layouts. Rakes by the water hazards help to retrieve discs, a pro shop with lost discs is up front, and a snack shack! is located by two teepads. Top notch.
Cons: - The only gripe I have with this course is the pretty flat terrain. There are some elevated teepads, and a few very small hills in the forest, and an elevated basket, but overall most holes are dead flat. It is amazing what they were able to accomplish to add artificial elevation changes, but it is still lacking to be a 'perfect' course.
Other Thoughts: - Well, this course is top notch, no doubt. Excellent variety with the wooded holes, enough open/semi open holes to keep things interesting, and serious hazards in the form of ponds and some smaller creeks. Tight and technical, bomber holes, tough fairways, layup options, ace runs, it has nearly everything. I was a little unsure how the course would stack up at first, by the end I was seriously considering playing a second time through (which I have never done on a road trip).
- This course is fantastic for almost every skill level. True beginners might to hold off due to the possibility of losing a disc in multiple spots, but otherwise it should be fun and challenging to everyone.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.