East Bethel, MN 
Blue Ribbon Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 645ft.   3 / 545ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 106
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
 Excellent.

1    10/15/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: Johnson
Played: 36  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very professional, constantly being improved by a knowledgeable staff. Good mix of technicality and wide open power. Signature hole is glorious, a sight you just have to experience yourself. Landscaped baskets on many holes, lots of doglegs right to really test your finesse. Best I've ever played.
Cons: Towards the end you kinda shoot back and forth over a big field.
Other Thoughts: A must play, well worth 5 bucks for hours of entertainment.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 BRP

2-4    10/11/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: PTJohnston
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Course is on a privately owned sod farm. They sell beer, sandwiches and snacks at the pro shop, and at a shack out in the field. You cross the snack shack three times during normal play, hopefully its open.

There is a good mix of shots needed, and lots of chances to really air it out. Hole 19 used to be a driving range, now its a 750 footer with marks up to 500 feet out.

Also open all year round.
Cons: It's over 30 miles away from me, so I don't have the opportunity to play there as much as I want to.

They are constantly working on everything, so if there were any flaws, they will be righted in the future.
Other Thoughts: I love this place, I want to live here. My #1 course.

I've had opportunity to hang out with some of the staff, and a lot of the 'regulars' and everyone is great, friendly, helpful and fun.

Plus, being a sod farm, they have some of the nicest grass around, take the time, and indulge yourself and lay down on the grass!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the 5 bucks!

1    9/28/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: dispatch1313
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is actually a 4.25 in my book. Its better then excellent but not quite phenomenal. The layout of the holes are great. There is a lot of variety ie., holes in the woods, holes in the open, and holes with water hazards. The atmosphere is great here, $5 to play all day is a great deal.
Cons: I wish a few of the open field holes were designed a little different. Instead of throwing into the middle of a sod field, I wish more of the fairways would wrap around the woods like a traditional ball golf course. Some of the holes you keep throwing back and forth over the same sod field.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very fun course! On the longest hole (700+ ft) there are distance markers in the field so you can see how far you can throw (or can't in my case).

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Frolf Luxury

2-4    9/29/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: andre w
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Excellent signs, grooming, tees. Variety other courses don't have. Rakes and hooks for fetching out of water. BEER for sale, very friendly staff.
Cons: Just missing a big hill shot. Ponds are extremely mucky, mosquitos can get really bad.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tournement Course

5+    9/4/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2011
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great course.
-Very challenging.
-The layout is awesome and easy to follow.
-Pads are big and well kept.
-Everything is landscaped and looks great.
-Great use of man made ponds and irrigation ditches to make many risk and reward shots.
- Helpfull staff.
- Two or three porta potty's
There is a great variety of shots to throw here. I think I throw every shot I know in a round when I play here. There are open holes, wooded holes, long holes, short holes, lefts and rights, everything a disc golfer could ask for. They also change pad and pin location on a fairly regular basses witch makes the course fun because it never gets repetitive. I have heard that they will be adding some elevation this year or next year and this will make this course a 5 discer for sure.They have a snack shack in the middle of the course that serves beer. Great fully stocked pro shop. A 750ft Driving range hole. I think that the work put in on this course is remarkable and the fact that they have wood-chip fairways on some holes is ridiculously awesome. The couse is always clean has great benches and big stumps for tables. They plow the fairways in the winter and stay open year round in Minnesota whitch is hard to do. This is truly a pristine tournement quality course. I have never palyed a course that is so well maintained. They return your disks if they have your name on them and are found. Beer Beer Beer
Cons: -No elevation change. Some small changes in elevation and a few raised greens and tee pads, but for the most part it is flat.
-Can be busy!
-Not for beginners! It would be nice if they put in some short tees for beginners.
-A night/glow course would be a nice addition.
-There are a lot of wooded tunnel shots, I think they did this to make up for the lack of elevation.
-Bring your own food. All they have is snacks. I have been told that they may have a restaurant in the future.
Other Thoughts: One thing I would like to see is lights for night rounds. I don't know if they do this but it would be so sick if they did.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 very yuppie

2-4    6/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: CFH-mn
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: very well setup course, uses tree wind break so some holes need a very straight shoot, others big hooks. small ponds have disc recovery rakes.
very fancy with lots of lush grass (was sod farm)
Cons: trees have plastic condums, sod farm drainage ditchs eat discs,BRING LUNCH noplace near by to eat. we had bar pizza -made for a not good second round
Other Thoughts: bring a lunch, beer at the clubhouse.
its a tuff course but a fun day...

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/30/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: smarkquart
Played: 92  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.1 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has some of the nicest flows from forest to open shots any course has ever had. It has a great combination of long and short holes, making every shot whether in the forest or open a technical shot without being abusively punishing. Most holes have several possible lines, allow different styles of play to be competitive and giving you an opportunity to try something new every time you play.

Specifically:
-Well-groomed, little places for your disc to hide (not counting water).
- Perfect use of mature trees
- 27 Holes, each one unique
- No holes too difficult or too easy
- Perfect scenery, gives you the feeling of playing "up north"
- Pro shop well stocked and they are courteous, and will always call a lost disc with a number on it
- Maintained during the winter
- Hosts some of the best tournaments in the region
Cons: The negatives all come from your ability to keep it in bounds. Getting off the fairway is obviously a challenge, but can still be fun. However, dunking a disc into the water is likely going to lose it. The ditch running the length of the course is murky and the two ponds you play over are man-made which means no current so it is disgusting and gets deep quickly. They do have rakes to help you fish them out and have a guy who comes in weekly to retrieve everything in there. As mentioned before, they will always call a disc that has a number on it.

Specifically -
- Water that scares you
- During tournaments there are bottlenecks at Hole 4 and Hole 17.
- Bring bug spray
Other Thoughts: Ray Jordan has done so much for this sport in Minnesota. Some of the best tournaments have taken place here, and not just because of the course but from the atmosphere and facilities.

Unless you are a top pro, walking away with 8 over par still feels like a great round and having several people in your group with triple digit scores is very common. It takes about 2 1/2 hours to play a casual round, but unless you are short on time, you will most likely want to play a second round.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 favorite course

1    8/9/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I think this is my favorite course that ive ever played. Amazing 27 holes. I thought it was very difficult course. The length of some the of the wooded holes was surprising but so awesome. Water hazards (ponds, creeks) and OB exists on every hole it seemed like. The man hours the owners put into this course is an unbelieavable number. So much effort and it shows. Truly amazing course. Wish i wasnt 1300 miles away.
Cons: none

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  First time out

5+    7/17/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Frolfin-it-up
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very beautiful lay out, very interesting holes, and great atmosphere. There are some very challenging wooded holes that will help with my short game but also a driving range with markers up to 500 hundred feet for the long game. Very well maintained! They have workers to retrieve your discs if they go in the water as long as it has your name on it.
Cons: Bugs, bring your bug spray!
Other Thoughts: My first time playing was here. I used my brothers discs and a plastic bag, after 1 round i went and spent 150 bucks on all new stuff and have played 3-5 rounds a week at various courses. This place is great for people of all experience levels! I highly recommend going to this course, its my favorite so far!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 First perfect 5.0

2-4    7/23/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 15.1 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great baskets, complete with blue paint and an orange flag so they are both beautiful and easily seen. Practice basket!! I really love practice baskets for putting at before the round starts, so a huge plus for me.

-The landscaping is phenomenal. Rock tiers with wood chips in every appropriate place. The stump tables are great for bag holders, whereas he didn't want to put in hangers or anything of the likes because the bags would fall off. It also helps bring the wooded feel in. Grass is always kept short, and they even go out of their way to roundup poison ivy so stray shots do not only penalize you with a bad shot, but also a bad rash. Wood chipping the entire course, including stray limbs and branches. I could go on and on about landscaping, having worked a few years landscaping myself, but I will stop at that.

-Shot variety. Believe me when I say I threw every shot I had in my arsenal. I play forehand and backhand equally, and I used them both a lot. Straight shots, hyzers and anhyzers, rollers, spike hyzers.

-Elevation, it has a lot of it. The course takes full advantage of both tree obstacles and elevation changes.

-Shot variety, there are tons of in the woods accuracy shots, and a few good rip and grip holes. Placement holes are some of my favorite, these show up especially in the majestic layout, like on hole 5 pad to hole 6 pin. You really have to play to hole 5 pin in order to get a look at getting to hole 6's pin. Water usage and OB is perfect and comes into play on many holes. Great use of mandos.

-Disc Retrieval. They pay workers to retrieve discs from ponds and have bins in the pro shop for lost discs so you can come back and claim them. If you don't want to wait, there are rakes by every water hazard to fish them out.

-Pro shop and snack shack. Great multi-brand selection of discs at the Pro shop as well as other small items, including sandwhiches drinks chips, and non-edible like minis towels and bags. The snack shack you pass three times, there is a bar facing the pad of two holes where you can sit and which others tee off, or another hole coming in. Fantastic bricked square tee pad and landscaping, as well as a log cabin feel snack shack. You pass it the first time along the backside, and then twice by the square bricked pad.

-Driving range, I just love the idea of marked distances on a hole. It's also very close to the parking lot/shop so you can drive on it before you even start. Distances start at 200 and end at 500 by 50ft increments.

-Always clean, the only trash I've ever found on that course was a bryant lake pass that had likely fallen off or out of someone's bag unbeknownst (I picked it up and threw it away :D ). They have trash cans and recycleable cans on multiple holes.

-No waits. Even playing leagues today on it with over 50 people on the course, there were no waits. The course is so huge with 27 holes, it was like playing the course on our own.

-Courteous. Every person I met up with was nice, and playing a round with Ray was one of the best and most laid back rounds I'd played in a long time.
Cons: The only con is the bugs, but that is uncontrollable. They have bug spray in the pro shop for use (which is a pro)
Other Thoughts: Before today, I wasn't going to review it and had thought it was a 4.5. I went up with a friend and played leagues that we didn't know were going on but jumped on it. I got to play with Ray Jordan and really learned a lot about the course as well as future projects and all the little things that really go on at that course. Little changes that have been made, like moving a basket 6 feet to the right so it's visible from the teepad but not really a hole changer.

Ray and the other people that work on this course really put their heart and soul into this course. Him sending someone back to a hole we just got off of to sweep all the sand off the pad because it had gotten covered in sand, or moving a downed tree off the fairway by hand because the crew had cut it down but left it there are just two examples of going out of the way to keep the course top notch at all times.

Additions and maintenance is being done daily, which is just one more reason why this should be a 5 star course. The time and thought dedicated to the course, and the shops and shacks on the course are just fantastic.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.