East Bethel, MN 
Blue Ribbon Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 155ft.   3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 101
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
 The Basis for what is the Perfect Course

5+    4/10/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2011
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just about every aspect of the course, I'll try to hit everything here, if I miss anything - it probably belongs in this list.

Variety of Holes. With 27 holes, this course offers just about everything. Most shots require pinpoint accuracy, just a few feet left or right and it's a game of pinball with the trees and they're not usually very friendly (though apparently if you talk to them nicely they help you out, I saw it work). I'm not going to go into specifics of each hole, just know that you will need a wide variety of shots and this course will test your patience (I swore at least under my breath on just about every hole). Length was good on all of the holes, though there's nothing of great length (500′ wide open was about the longest) There was plenty of challenge, and a few opportunities for an Ace.

Landscaping. This course is beautiful, nice built up tee pads, nice paths, most holes have nice greens landscaped around the basket. You can definitely see your pay to play dollars at work everywhere on this course.

Tee Pads. Each tee was concrete, though not uniform. One pad was for two holes, 16/25 (a little confusing, make sure you're throwing in the correct direction), Some were larger than others (hole 1 seemed about twice as large as it needed to be) and some were round, even though there only appeared to be one line to the hole. Overall, nice tees, belongs in the pro section.

Navigation. I had the benefit of playing with someone that had played before, but it wouldn't have been necessary. Each tee is strategically placed near the previous hole's basket, if there may be any confusion look for a sign, the signage is well placed. Again, make sure you're throwing the correct direction if two holes share a tee pad.

Dog Friendly. For me, disc golfing with my dog is part of the experience, I will not go to a course if dogs are not allowed. Even though on the 'Terms of liability waiver' (the pass they give you at the beginning) it says "all pets must be on a leash" they do not mind at all if your dog is well behaved off leash, in fact they encourage it. Of course leave your dog home if it is aggressive or prone to going after people's discs, and clean up after your dog.

Winter Maintenance. A beautiful place to play a snowy winter round, they keep the tee pads perfectly swept off and plow the fairways, if you've never played in the snow, this is a great opportunity to give it a try.

Amenities. A pro shop at the beginning is rather well stocked with nearly any type of disc you might want (limited selection of plastics, colors and weights though), they also have a small amount of food (pizza, sandwiches) at a decent price for a between rounds lunch. And beer at a good price ($2.50 for bottles, $2 PBR). There is also a concession stand in the middle of the course (I think we passed it 3 times during the round) that carries drinks and candy bars at a reasonable price. (Truly my favorite "bar" what a place to sit and have a few beers while chatting with passing DGers)

Friendly Staff. Everybody I encountered was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Nice Baskets. Mach 5 baskets well placed on each hole, some are at different heights mounted in a pit or on top of a stump add a new challenge.
Lost and Found. Write your name on your disc, it's very likely that you may lose a disc here, there is a large supply of discs that have been found - you can hope to return and find your lost disc again.

Garbage/Recycling Every other hole or so had garbage and recycling bins, keep the course looking nice!
Cons: I'm reaching, as to not just leave this blank.

Water Though not a con in itself (I like the use of water on this course). Water comes into play on several holes, the creek and ponds are quite difficult to retrieve a disc out of (apparently the one rake on the course is the only survivor of many rakes that used to be around), the water is murky (cannot see the bottom) and the pond has no gradual depth, a disc that trickles in on the edge is 3 feet under water. Both times a member of our party threw into the water, somebody had to go in to retrieve it, in the pond that meant someone was going swimming.

Not for Beginners A. If I had started on this course, I would have way too high of a standard to expect from any other course. B. This course can be frustrating intermediate to advanced players - a beginner might get completely discouraged after scoring a +8 on hole 4.

Pay attention when approaching the tee pad, we did have a member throw down the incorrect hole - just look at the signs.
Other Thoughts: Well worth a drive out of the way for, make a day out of it. $5 covers all day play. I would recommend this course to anyone (except beginners) looking for a wonderful round of disc golf.

Favorite Hole:
Hard choice, I'd like to go with the signature #4, it's a beautiful hole, but oh so frustrating, I wanted to whip my disc so far out of bounds that nobody would ever see it again. I'll go with #19, a quite challenging 535′ hole with an accuracy drive off the tee over the pond and a slight dogleg right up and over a hill past some small trees to a difficult 3 score.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  27 holes of Sod and sun, possibly heaven on earth..

5+    3/14/2010   3/16/2010
Review By: Team Dank
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: 27 holes on a sod farm interlacing throughout woods, powder coated mach 5's, big observation deck, friendly staff, "disc golf pro shop", not very crowded if its not tournament time.
Cons: as if
Other Thoughts: 5 bucks to play all day. i always make a full day out of it, and soon they will have plasma tvs and food. I played this past Sunday in a tournament and there were 127 people playing in it! very fun

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal

2-4    11/20/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2010
8 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Fantastic use of the land. Every available unique natural feature was used.
- Very demanding fairways, you must hit your line or pay heavily.
- First time threw I had a lot of "head-scratchers" on what to throw.
- To score well every aspect of your game has to be spot-on.
- Benches and trash cans are abound.
- Raised baskets and rock garden greens made for several interesting approaches.
- You can also purchase drinks (including booze) and snacks at their stand in the middle of the course.
-Easy flow to the course. Fairways and tees are obvious.
- They are very welcoming of dogs being off-leash!!!
- Large teepads and well marked tee signs.
- Locals are friendly and helpful
- Just truly a beautiful course and a fun time.
- The care and maintenance is astounding. Best keep park I have ever been to!!!!
Cons: - it be nice if they accepted credit cards or had an ATM.
- The water on the course is some nasty stuff that you dont want to go in after your disc.
- Pro shop is lacking in the disc variety department
Other Thoughts: The Twin Cities area is a fantastic place for disc golf, to have so many high caliber courses so close to another is amazing. Whats even more special is for a course to stand out above the rest. BRP does just that. It is the most demanding for every aspect of your game.
When you first pull into BRP you may kinda wonder why everyone raves so much about this course. If you stand along the patio at the pro shop and look out over the course you can't quite see whats in store for you. As you play the first few holes you still cant understand whats so amazing about it. Then you hit hole #4 and the real fun begins. Official OB and water forces one to be accurate and have a good mental game. Even if youre not playing well the vibe of the course still makes it enjoyable.

Favorite hole.......so difficult to chose...... #17 - A realitive straight 250'ish hole with basket slightly to right of the tee. The fairway plays slightly uphill for about the first 50-80' then levels out until the basket with is placed in bowl shaped depression. Several large trees shape the fairway and surround the basket. An ever so slight turnover shot that levels out is the ideal line. The trees are punishing if you hit them. Its a nice birdie right before 19 and 20.

8 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous facility, excellent experience, destination course!

1    10/7/2009   12/7/2009
Review By: orcchmp
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2011
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is immaculate. Well kept up and private. Pay to play keeps the dirtbags out and keeps the traffic lower so that you can enjoy your round. You will be able to lose yourself here and want to stay all day to play. This course offers mostly wooded holes, so it satisfies that itch for me (and many others). The design of each hole is well thought out as well as the layout of the whole course. I like the style holes that begin in the woods and play into an open field (and sometimes back into the woods) - or vice versa, and there are a few of them here. Being 27 holes is sure to bring good balance, and the left, right, straight number of holes does not favor one type of shot. Water also comes into play for some OB and risk versus reward.
Cons: The features of the land are simply not varied enough or shall I say drastic enough to really "look" like a neat/awesome course - not nearly enough elevation! It is mostly flat pine plantation. Pay to play is a con in how it affects ratings, only because this affects how I think about the course and my overall rating. I have had the privelage to play some top notch courses, and unfortunately when paying is involved, I expect a whole 'nother level. BRP really does bring it though, the amenities and upkeep are amazing so the pay to play is worth it.
Other Thoughts: BRP is an amazing course. I am truly glad I played, and will definitely be back (hopefully with more friends so they can also enjoy it!). You will not be sorry you played. But in comparison to other courses I reviewed, the land here is just not enough to make a truly awesome course. Winter Park by comparison has some amazing terrain that it fully utilizes, and Bryant Lake has some decent elevation, while Highbridge has it all. To no fault of it's own, the BRP property is not the same "experience" as the other 5 disc courses, but it should still be considered a first class course! More holes here could make it that much more appealing (like HHSC), but the terrain will still not offer what Highbridge can!
UPDATE: I played HHSC on the way to visit some friends and must say that BRP is not as fun as Granite Ridge, but due to other amenities and 27 holes, I'll rate them the same.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 My first 5 rated course

1    9/13/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 735  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
18 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 1) Nice concrete tees (a few of them are pavers but done very well and large enough). #1 tee complex is awesome with a cool bench, paver teeing area and a deck where you can watch the aspiring pro disc golfers throw their first shots of the day.

2) Not a single hole doesn't challenge you in some way. Even the holes that go across the sod field have somethng that could cost you. The boulders on #1, the river on 14, 15, 16.. There are tight wooded holes including the 15' wide fairway on #4, there are multiple ponds that can catch and errant throw, slight elevation changes to affect the way you need to land your disc.

3) The amenities on this course are incredible. Stocked proshop including snacks and drinks. A deck to take a break to eat lunch between rounds. Snack shop in the middle of the course assume is only open on really busy days and tourney days.

4) Brooms, garbage and benches on every tee.

5) Landscaping is done perfectly. It isn't overdone like Bryant Lake. It serves its purpose by retaining the soil, mulch, and improving the overall look of the course.

6) #4 is an awesome tough hole. Keep it between the trees to avoid an easy bogey. 15' wide fairway with very large mature spruce/pines.

7) Next tee signs are awesome and well placed. They helped me get through this course for the first time.

8) Good use of wood chips to cover soil around greens and in a lot of fairways.

9) Two portopottys on the course are always a nice sign if needed.

10) Model course for pay to play. Provide a facility and all the extras and feel free to charge for it!

11) Nice variety in hole distances gives you all sorts of different shots and multi shot holes are always a positive in my mind.

12) These holes will challenge you many different ways. There are a lot of shot options so you get to pick the shot you want or are most comfortable with. Alternative lines on many holes.

13) Tee signs are very well done and really help you to decipher where you want to go.

14) A lot of creative hole design. A 90 degree dogleg with a mando. It isn't 50-75' to the dogleg either. Almost gimmicky enough for me to dislike this hole, but it certainly is creative.
Cons: 1) Not beginner friendly because of some of the really tough holes. I cant fault it and take it down too much because of this because it was simply designed for better players. It isnt like the maintenance of the course is what keeps it from being beginner friendly.

2) Dangerous acorns falling all over this course.

3) Pond on #7 ate my favorite destroyer!

4) Lack of large dramatic elevation changes.

5) Flags would be helpful on a few of the tough to find baskets.

6) The gravel road going to the course is rutted badly. I felt my car actually sliding because of the gravel. I just thought I would mention it even though it doesn't effect the course rating.
Other Thoughts: Well I had to wait a few weeks to really think this rating and review over because I had played quite a few courses that were borderlne 4.5 - 5 disc rated courses in the recent weeks. Bryant Lake Park (missing only a better challenge), Winter Park (Missing only concrete teepads or at the very least level teepads), Silver Creek (Missing only a little bit of maintenance). I had also played a couple other pretty highly ranked courses like Freeman Lake, The Sinks, Brown Deer and Dretzka. If Blue Ribbon isn't a 5 rated course I apologize but I do plan on hitting one or two of the top 10 courses on my way to Florida and I can evaluate it then compared to those courses. I thnk I would consider the top 20 courses as 5 rated courses if they had everything. If the course is missing something very important it might get a 4.5. In my opinion the dramtic elevation you get on ski hill courses is not 10% essential. It is just a different type of course.

18 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 over hyped but fun

1    9/17/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: djphilzy
Played: 23  Reviewed: 17
3 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: had a blast. great locals quiet mellow lots of holes. great layout, genius in fact! Well maintained.
Cons: Not much elevation not on par with Highbridge or tower ridge. The chemicals in the water freek me out a bit (locals said the grass from the sod farm in treated with chemicals). Of course chemicals make nice green sod so Im not whining, I just would rather write off a disc than go swimming.
Other Thoughts: Certainly worth playing if your in the area, respect to all you Minnesotans!

3 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/18/2008   8/30/2009
Review By: GB Phil G
Played: 101  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Pay to play, excellent pads and baskets. Water hazards. Quiet and pleasant atmosphere.
Cons: Water hazards are too deep for disc retrieval. Don't throw in there
Other Thoughts: Was it always 27 holes? Expansion is a side effect of the pay to play. Helps that a landscape contractor is handling course beautification. Keep it up!

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Reviews can't do it justice!

5+    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 41.3 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Where to start??? I've been reading the reviews and hearing the buzz about this place for a few years now. So I went up there expecting something pretty special. I was not let down one bit. WOW. Being an old school frolfer, I can't believe what pay to play has done for this sport. Between Bryant and now Blue Ribbon, the future of disc has finally got over the hump. The quality of the experience makes you forget that it probably took you 45 minutes to get there from the metro.

The course has it all. I'm not going to break it down hole by hole, they are all great and vary in so many ways, Skill, shape, difficulty (#4 is out of the future), beauty, creativity, par 4's (5's for me), and so much more.
Cons: Lack of elavation is the only negative and that is a positve for many.
Other Thoughts: WOW. Make a day of it. Morning rounds are so pieceful. Order up a Heggies Pizza with 4-5 holes to go and you'll have lunch waiting for you on the deck, Round 2!!!! Bring your friends if you want to impress them on where the sport is heading.

WOW

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Minnesota's Finest

2-4    8/9/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.5 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Best course that I have ever played. This is an extremely difficult course that requires every shot you got. Mostly wooded holes with multiple paths to the basket. All the amenities you can imagine. Club house with discs and beverages, well marked signs, best baskets I have ever seen, paver and cement tees on every hole. Water holes are plenty and really make you think about your throws. Well worth the $5 dollars for 27 unbelievable holes.
Cons: Not much for elevation changes on this course. No extra long open holes. This course is for people who have played and not the greatest choice for beginners. Can be very frustrating on some holes and may even seem unfair at times. Pretty far away and in the middle of nowhere(could be a pro or con)
Other Thoughts: $5 will cover the whole day, so I would plan on making a day out of it if your going to make the long drive.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your A game!

1    7/31/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: Miller
Played: 98  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.3 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is amazing! It's $5 to play and worth it. The teeboxes are very concrete, big and long, and even have a broom if they are too dusty for you. There is a map at each hole telling you exactly what you need to do and the baskets are all custom powdered coated with a blue paint and a flag on top so they are easy to see. Each hole even has a nice bench to sit on. There is a nice pro shop that will sell you anything you need and are very friendly.

As for the course itself, it is hard, but oh so enjoyable. This is the kind of course you could play again and again and still come back because it keeps on challenging you. With 27 holes there is almost everything at this course. You have left turns, right turns, short and technical, and then hole 4 which is looooooong, straight, and tight. The only thing missing is elevation, but by the end you'll be grateful.
Cons: Not much to speak of. There are no elevation changes really, but you don't notice since the course challenges you in so many other ways.
Other Thoughts: We played a nice 9-hole course on the way as a warm up that worked well. You can also play as many times as you want that day for the $5. We got done and if I hadn't had to be somewhere I think I would have been ready to play again.

I played Bryant Lake and this course both for the first time this week and I loved both of them. I think I would say Bryant Lake is easier, but more fun. But with Blue Ribbon I think I would find myself wanting to play it more often just because of the challenge it would pose everytime you play it.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.